?
? !
8 photos
Weber Portable Charcoal Series

Weber Portable Charcoal Series

Go-Anywhere, Smokey Joe, Jumbo Joe
4.6 from 33 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

4.6

33 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.7 (7)
  • Value for Money
    4.7 (7)
  • Ease of Use
    4.3 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.4 (7)
  • Preheating Speed
    3.8 (6)
  • Even Heat DistributionYes (6) · No (1)
  • Safety
    4.4 (7)
Previous
Next
Techy Guy

Techy GuySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 24 reviews
  • 14 likes

Is this the perfect portable charcoal BBQ? Probably

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Catch for $110.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
That bloke again ..

That bloke again ..North West, QLD

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love it!

published

Bought this mainly because the Weber Q2200 doesn't do low temp cooking.. it's awesome to cook ribs etc. Can't fault it!
Easy clean,and hasn't caught fire!
The handles had the wrong screws ( added some little washers) , but it is Chinese. So no biggie. Very good product!

Purchased in September 2020 for $129.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Thanks for your review! We're glad to hear you're loving your Go-Anywhere Barbecue.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jungle

JungleRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Don’t Listen to the negative reviews

published

Great little charcoal bbq & totally worth the small price. Don’t listen to the people who say that it goes out - They obviously don’t know what they are doing. Cooking with charcoal takes a bit of getting used to. I’ve been grilling and doing long slow 8 hr cooks on this thing with great results for a couple of years now. Super efficient on charcoal and very portable.

Purchased in June 2017 at Barbeques Galore for $160.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Jungle, thanks for your great review! We're so happy to hear that you're loving your Smokey Joe! If you're looking for more inspiration for new cooks, then check out our recipes here: https://www.weber.com/AU/en/recipes/weber-31811.html

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Charcoal BBQs

Find out how Weber Portable Charcoal Series compares to other Charcoal BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
A_Nother_Consumer

A_Nother_ConsumerPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

25 years old and still going strong

published

I've had my Go Anywhere for almost 20 years now and it's still as good as the day I got it. Great for small roasts, steaks, smoking fish, chicken wings, even small pizzas. Great in all weather however if it's windy you need to shelter it to retain the heat. Nothing better than cooking over charcoal. I love this thing almost as much as my 1985 Weber Kettle BBQ. Typical well built Weber quality.

Purchased in June 2002 at Kmart Retail Stores for $50.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Thanks for your review. We're happy to hear you are loving your Go-Anywhere and we hope it continue to serves you for more years to come!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Techy Guy

Techy GuySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 24 reviews
  • 14 likes

Not a closed grill BBQ

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Catch for $109.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Don't you love your J.

Don't you love your J.Sydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great Bbq

published

Portable and light weight great for grilling or roasting over coals , perfect steaks , grilled prawns i have even cooked a small leg of lamb in this little beauty , you will not be dissapointed

Purchased in March 2016 for $50.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Brendan

Brendan

  • 2 reviews

A great cooker but beware and be gentle

published

A word of warning. Just be careful when trying to place the lid on its bracket. The second time I used it, I must of pushed the lid too hard trying to feel for the bracket and then the whole bbq fell off the table onto my deck hot coals and all. I may have to practice this manoeuvre but it is a bit unsteady on its bracket legs.

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alyce

AlyceSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews

Very cute sized bbq

published

The size & portability of the BBQ is very user friendly. However, it seems like it takes a long time to heat up food with the coal as it is so far away from the grill. When you try to cook the food by putting the lid on, the fire just goes out. We tried to use it once but it took so long we ended up taking the food back to cook on the pan in the kitchen. We have yet to use it again.

Purchased in July 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Faye

Faye

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Amazing

published

It’s small
Easy to clean
Easy to store
Great to take to the beach or on a boat great taste from the food cook beef lamb pork roast and it’s been amazing only no issues have come up yet the best this is bbq looks more expensive that what it is great value for money

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Charcoal BBQs

Find out how Weber Portable Charcoal Series compares to other Charcoal BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Eleni C.

Eleni C.Albany

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Brilliant little BBQ

published

Received this as a Christmas present and have used it a couple times camping. It takes a little while to get hot but once its going it brilliant for cooking food and keeping warm. We cooked everything on this weber and had no problems at all. It's really good at retaining heat and every morning the coals would still be hot making breakfast nice and easy. Due to the simple design of the weber it is really easy to clean and its compact design is really handy if you don't have much space when camping.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Milo

MiloSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 9 reviews

Love it

published

Love my recently purchased portable smokey joe bbq. Went into the store and fell in love with it , great quality, perfect size for a family gathering at home or at the park. Fits in the boot easy. Quality is worth paying, i got it on special at the time.

Date PurchasedJune 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Zoe

ZoeBalwyn

  • 5 reviews

Love it!

published

Love my Smokey Joe. We moved from the country to a small city apartment and I missed BBQ's soooo much, the stove top just isn't the same. This is so easy to use for basic snags and burgers and my partner has smoked some amazing meats using this. We only have a very small balcony but Smokey Joe has allowed us to be able to BBQ regardless of living in a small apartment with no back yard.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ross

Ross

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent coal fired BBQ - love it

published

Really good BBQ. The handles make it very easy to carry. The rectangular shape makes it large enough to feed 6 people comfortably. Unlike the kettle version, it is packable to include all the equipment (i.e. tongs, knife, coal) within it and folds together in one easy pack. The design also makes it easy to light as the coals receive sufficient oxygen. This is my favourite coal style portable bbq that I have ever owned.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
maxpick

maxpickGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

fantastic little bbq

published

we have had ours for close to 20 years it is the first model with wood handles but the rest of the bbq is the same and we sill love it we have cooked snags to roast lamb and the flavour was to die for. if i ever needed to replace it i would look no further than weber
Max

Date PurchasedMar 1998
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Marko

MarkoSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Weber lives up to the reputation

published

Well designed and tough.
Easy to clean and able to cook 5kg off meat in one go.
Good replacement to my old charcoal BBQ which has fallen apart. I suggest to clean it fill with coal and leave in the boot off your car. You will be able to cook in 30 minutes.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Charcoal BBQs

Find out how Weber Portable Charcoal Series compares to other Charcoal BBQs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pickers

PickersMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Love This BBQ

published

This completely suits me as I have limited space and I love traditional barbecues. I can get the juiciest most perfectly cooked steaks on this. I just cant see how a gas one could ever come close. I enjoy the routine of getting the charcoal fired up and relaxing with a coldie until the temperature is just right. It is small and packs away neatly when i am done. Top little barbie.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Snake

SnakeGold Coast

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

One of the family

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ryan

Ryan

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

This is perfect

published

This product is really too good.
It is not a big barbecue, but it doesn't bother to use it lightly with my friends.
Others don't know, but it's hard to clean the glass plate, so I buy the glass plate in Daiso and use it and throw it away.^^
I want to use a new one, but it's a secret that it's not broken.

Date PurchasedDec 2010
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Josh

JoshToowoomba

  • 8 reviews
  • 13 likes

Great, but expensive

published

Bought a jumbo joe as a gift and will now buy one for myself. Good construction, small enough to easily move/store/clean, but big enough to do roasts on. Handy that the lid can rest in the handle while cooking as a sort of wind shield. Weber are really the only choice for (decent) charcoal cookers in Australia which I guess is why they are hideously overpriced

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Min Ai

Min AiSydney, NSW

  • 11 reviews
  • 6 likes

The perfect carry on accessory for any picnic

published

Such a portable BBQ where you can put the beads and everything is contained. Food is amazing with coal cooking as usual. Found that you can't overload with beads or it gets way to hot and good stats to burn easily. But if you control the amount of beads, it's a perfect BBQ

Date PurchasedJuly 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Faypa

Faypaasked

Go-Anywhere

I'm just wondering can this unit be used indoors. thinking here of when the power goes out. I don't really have an outdoor area that I cna stand it on to use.

3 answers

Absolutely

Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Faypa, thanks for your question. We highly recommend against using any of our barbecues inside and in particular charcoal barbecues. Charcoal barbecues produce large amounts of carbon monoxide which can be fatal if not in a properly ventilated area.

Being a portable barbecue, hopefully you're able to find a place that is outdoors (like a park or beach where bbq is permitted) to take the unit should you need to barbecue.

Faypa
Faypa

Thanks for your reply Weber Barbecues I might buy one off the ones with legs then as I dont have a car and really wanted a small one for home use.

Rachel M

Rachel Masked

Go-Anywhere

Would the Weber Baby Q accessories such as the breakfast & roasting packs be suitable for use with the Weber Go Anywhere? I saw on the instructions that fatty meats such as sausages should be cooked in cast iron cookware instead of directly over the rack & coals & wondered whether these are compatible.

2 answers
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Rachel, I think it would be down to personal preference on how you want your sausages cooked, but those accessories should fit in the Go Anywhere barbecues.

Rachel M
Rachel M

Thank you for responding.

Oxford

Oxfordasked

Go-Anywhere

Can it be used for 1 or 2 people and can the fuel be snuffed out for use next time? Cheers!

4 answers
maxpick
maxpick

i have never done it but would think that it would be hard to snuff out even when you close it completely it still keeps burning
and by the time you have cocked a roast chook there is not much fuel left to save
hope this helps regards max

Eleni C.
Eleni C.

Yes it cooks for two people easily!! Once it gets going it cooks food really quickly. We always had coals left in the morning after use. We did small stuff like steaks and sausage so not sure how it would go on a roast.

Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Oxford, you definitely should be able to! Especially if you're using our Weber BBQ Briquettes, as they are hot enough and long-lasting to be used in multiple cooks :)

See all Weber Portable Charcoal Series questions

Get an answer from our members and Weber representatives

Weber Portable Charcoal Series

Details

Compare all 3 Weber Portable Charcoal Series
Weber Jumbo Joe

Weber Jumbo Joe

No reviews yet
CategoryCharcoal BBQsCharcoal BBQsCharcoal BBQs
Price (RRP) $129.95$109.95$169.00
TypePortablePortablePortable
Cooking Plate / Grill MaterialSteelSteelSteel
FeaturesGrill and HoodedGrill and HoodedGrill and Hooded
Colour / FinishBlackBlackBlack
Dimensions 369 x 534 x 310 mm432 x 361 x 369 mm500 x 500 x 520 mm
Manufacturer Warranty10 year(s)10 year(s)10 year(s)
Release dateSept 2007Sept 2007
Compare all 3 Weber Portable Charcoal Series

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.