??!
9 photos
Weber Summit

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
14
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
2

Deborah Thomas

Deborah ThomasGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Transformative For Grilling and Outdoor Entertaining

published

Purchased in February 2019 for $4,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Preheating Speed
Safety
Even Heat DistributionYes
See all answers

Ben

BenMazatlan

Great grilling experience

published
Date PurchasedMar 2017
David W

David WSydney

  • 3 reviews

Love it - coming up to 9 years old and going strong

published
Date PurchasedJul 2009

Expensive, but great all round BBQ

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018

Ben

BenNewcastle

  • 4 reviews

Reliable and enjoyable to use

published

This BBQ works great for a small family and small get togethers. Great for a couple of kilo of sausages and a few steaks/veges on the grill. If you have larger requirements than that then you should look at a larger BBQ. The cooktop doesn't show any signs of rust which is great.

Date PurchasedSep 2014

Ryan Carter

Ryan CarterMelbourne

  • 2 reviews

I now BBQ 3-4 times a week

published

The flavours are so much better, I have grilled, fried, smoked and roasted in mine and it is like an oven and a BBQ in one. Cleaning is simple, cooking time is halved. I was sceptical about bbqing with the lid closed but the results are juicier and tastier. Best BBQ ever

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Graham b b q

Graham b b qLincoln uk

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Awesome best BBQ on market

published

Arrived well packaged assembly was easy and it swiftly moved into place
Gbs system brilliant as is the built in smoker
Looks great next to my traeger 850 and my Heston hub and complements the Alfa 4 pizza oven my decking is now complete and we cook outdoors as much as possible

Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi, thanks for your review and support. Happy barbecuing!


domestic99

domestic99Brisbane

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Apple of the BBQ world

published

Love my weber. Who knew when taking out that second mortgage to buy a 4 burner BBQ that it would become a beloved cooking appliance... The weight of the hood sold us on the quality of the product and how efficient it would cook. Supreme heavy weight grills and swappable flat plate. Back burner for rotisserie cooking useful and I have done a whole suckling pig to perfection. Separate smoker box makes low and slow smoking a breeze, although hard to keep temp low enough, sometimes I just have the smoker box burner going. Ignore the gimmicky lights on handles and knobs etc, the cooking functionality is superior. Oh and the searing station for finishing off reversed seared steak is just loads of fun!

Date PurchasedOct 2016
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi, thanks for your review and support. Happy barbecuing!

J.M

J.MCoburg, VIC

  • 25 reviews

Overpriced

published
Date PurchasedApr 2016
3 comments
J.M
J.M
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
J.M
J.M
goose2001

goose2001Perth

  • 2 reviews

Best money ever spent

published

After seeing some bad reviews on here or this BBQ I had to reply!!!! (I came across them when looking for a second one for our holiday house on gumtree but no luck so far). I purchased this BBQ about two years ago. It is the best $4000 I have ever spent. So sure you can get an imitation at The big green hardware store (you know who i mean) for probably $300 but they just do not come close. Cooking on a grill is quite different from what I was used to at first rather than a bbq plate but once I mastered that our steaks now taste like they are from a restaurant. The last two xmas we have had at our place and now I'm known for the best roasts. Every sunday I do a chicken or roast on the rotisserie. Unbelievably good...

Date PurchasedSep 2014
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi, thanks for your review and support. Happy barbecuing!


Terrible

published

I purchased this weber BBQ thinking I would top all my mates BBQ's and friends and family alike would admire this awesome BBQ for not just the ludicrous amount of money I paid for it, but it's brilliant stainless steel cooking surface. Well the veges fall right through the stainless steel grill plates, and there's stuff all grill plate space to cook for more than two or three adults. My mates laugh at me for wasting so much money and for the fact I still have to use my old BBQ when they come over. The only thing more inadequate to cook for my mates now is this BBQ. Don't buy this BBQ unless you want to be as disappointed as I am.

1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

SteveFlavel

SteveFlavelAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst family investment you will ever make.

published
4 comments
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
SteveFlavel
SteveFlavel
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Steve,
I have sent you a private message with some options. I look forward to hearing from you.


Rig30mechanic

Rig30mechanicAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

The best BBQ-bar none.

published

Having a large family requires a heavy-duty BBQ. My hooded Beefeater (gift from departing neighbours) was getting old, so I went to Barbeques Galore to look at a Ziegler and Brown and was immediately underwhelmed. Not impressed by the quality at all. Went searching.
Gumtree gave me a gem in a lightly used and well priced Weber Summit E470 with Rotisserie, Wok burner, Smoker (built in), flame-thrower ignition, in a beautifully built, high quality BBQ. The great customer service (free cookbook) from the distributer is also excellent.
Not one bad experience to date. Expensive to buy, but quality is remembered after the price is forgotten. I've frequently tried to save money only to learn that "a poor man usually pays twice".

Love it.

1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi, thanks for your review and support. Happy barbecuing!


Thomas flanagan

Thomas flanagan

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

The ultimate bbq

published
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

So glad to hear you love it Thomas - it WILL give you many years of Happy Webering!
Enjoy!
Dave@WeberAustralia

Rob

Rob

  • 5 reviews

This is not a BBQ its a mans dream cooking machine.

published
1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi, thanks for your review and support. Happy barbecuing!

niftyone

niftyoneAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Excellent

published
4 comments
foolio
foolio

Hi niftyone ... do you have a web address or name for the supplier you used? cheers

Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber
CaptDan
CaptDan

slowshuffler

slowshufflerAU

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Couldn't find a better bbq!

published

After having a weber kettle, when we moved into a house with a (very) old oven, we wanted to purchase a bbq that could do the work of the oven. Even though this was expensive it was quite possibly the best buy we've ever made. It does take a little getting used to, as you need to cook with the lid down and for most this goes against the way they have cooked on their bbq. The best thing of all is the husband now has most of the cooking duties as nothing does it as good as the weber. We have had the bbq for 4 years now - the ignition switch went about 6 months ago. I e-mailed weber and within 2 days had a free, unasked for ignition switch arrive in the mail.
Reliable, efficient, produces great meals
Expensive

1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi, thanks for your review and support. Happy barbecuing!


tao15

tao15Sydney, NSW

  • 15 reviews
  • 11 likes

Excellent

published

A terrific BBQ for the money and is all that it says it is. Great customer service - you can call and ask how to cook something and they are happy to tell you everything you need to know for a perfect result every time. Website has handy tips and also great recipes so that you can keep trying new things. My husband was a steak and sausages man when it came to cooking on the BBQ but now he is a gourmet chef due to being inspired by having such a great BBQ to cook on.
great looking BBQ. Ridiculously long warranty - cant believe its so good. Well built and works perfectly.
Does tend to get surface rust very quickly - we bought the full stainless model and were surprised to see surface rust within 3 months.

1 comment
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi, thanks for your review and support. Happy barbecuing!

Questions & Answers

SteveFlavel

SteveFlavelasked

Is the Summit really worth it over the Genesis?
Does it get that much hotter?

4 answers
Rig30mechanic
Rig30mechanic

The addition of the extra burner in the centre and the built-in smoker box is incredible. Even thawed from frozen steak turns out very well.

Rob
Rob

the summit has the sear burner in the middle great if your a steak lover. Also the summit has a smoker box, built in rotisserie and a rotisserie burner. The only down side is the price difference $1600 for the genesis or $4300 for the summit that's $2700 but if you have the cash get the summit other wise you will kick yourself later.

SteveFlavel
SteveFlavel

Based on your replies, I purchased the Summit. I had concerns that the BBQ (in comparison to other brands with higher BTU ratings) wouldn't get hot enough. Well the BBQ heats up to 400 degrees within 5-7 minutes and the "flame tamers" get literally red hot in the process. I was also a little concerned (moving from a 6 burner) that I wouldn't have enough room, but the even temperature cooking surface nullifies that issue.

My only "complaint" is that they should have the grill plate standard as a cross hatch formation. Then you wouldn't have to turn the steak 90 degrees half way through cooking to get that classic cross hatch look. (First world problems :) - I believe you can get this as an extra but I prefer the stainless steel grill plate to the enameled cast iron.

Thanks for the advice...


anthony

anthonyasked

Hi, when will the new Weber sprirt gas BBQ's be released please with the controls on the front?

1 answer
Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Anthony, if you're talking about the Spirit bbq range - the new model has now been released.
Check them out at your local Weber Specialist Dealer.
Cheers, Dave@WeberAustralia


Sam3459

Sam3459asked

Will a weber bbq imported from the USA work on bottled gas here

3 answers
tao15
tao15

I think you would need to ask Weber about that.

niftyone
niftyone

Yes - the hose does need to be changed over because the US use different type of gas bottle connection. Hoses are readily avail. I got ours through Sharper Auction via eBay and paid by PayPal . Overall good experience and very happy with bbq

Weber
Weber Barbecues A.Weber

Hi Sam, thanks for your question.

We are unable to recommend using your imported barbecue here, as this barbecue is not compliant with the Australian Gas Association. We are unable to modify (or recommend modification) any part of the barbecue that forms part of the certification (ie hose and regulators, manifolds etc.). To do so would be to effectively supply a non-certified gas appliance in Australia.

You may be able to find a gas fitter who is willing to modify your bbq but again this would not make the appliance certified and would potentially expose the gas fitter and yourself to liability and safety issues should anything go wrong.

We are sorry that we cannot offer further assistance. If you would like any further information, please contact our Customer Service team on 1300 301 290 (toll-free) or your local gas provider.
Thanks again Sam


Get an answer from our members and Weber representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.