??!
9 photos
Westinghouse 453L Bottom Mount WBE4500 (Integrated Handle)

Westinghouse 453L Bottom Mount WBE4500 (Integrated Handle)

WBE4500WC (White), WBE4500SC (Stainless Steel), WBE4500BC (Dark Stainless Steel)
3.7 from 113 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (19)
  • Value for Money
    3.1 (20)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (19)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (18)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (20)
  • Internal Layout
    4.1 (14)
Previous
Next
JD2

JD2Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Awful product & terrible customer service!

published

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
3 comments
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
JD2
JD2

Hi Tania, It is resolved - I am receiving a store credit to purchase a new fridge (not a Westinghouse/Electrolux) & putting in an application for compensation for spoilage of food.

JD2
JD2
STEPH

STEPH

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Compressor Failed after 12 Months

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,144.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Nick

Nick

  • 2 reviews

Too little useful life

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Westinghouse 453L Bottom Mount WBE4500 (Integrated Handle) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

The worst fridge in world!!! I have been thru 2 new fridges in 1month. It doesn’t stay cold and butter comes out melted

published

Dosent stay cold, food goes off.
New Fan died after a week.
!!! Not at all happy with it.
It is a nice looking fridge , and good size.
The drawers in freezer are crap... the come off the runners all the time

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Mazza

MazzaSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

A dud

published

Bought this fridge in January and the compressor went in September. Very noisy. Doors very hard to open.
My last Westinghouse fridge went for almost 30 years. Very disappointed with this.. Changed to a Samsung & so far it's good, not noisy like the Westinghouse.

Purchased in January 2020 at The Good Guys for $1,195.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Kate

KateGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 12 likes

I can't believe a modern fridge could be this noisy.

published

This fridge sounds like a motorbike revving up in the kitchen every half hour, around the clock, and once the revving settles down, the compressor can be heard from the other end of the house. It's no fun being woken at 3am by your fridge. I mean, my old LG fridge was 15 years old by the time it died and you would never even know it was running. How is it possible for a much newer model be so outstandingly bad?? As soon as I can afford to replace this fridge, I will, and you couldn't pay me to buy a Westinghouse now.

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Bob41

Bob41Southern and Hills, SA

  • 13 reviews
  • 5 likes

Nice Fridge, But

published

Quality Build and Well Set Out, Roller Draws in Freezer are Great. The But is its Noisy & Runs almost Continuesly, Hope it Lasts Forever though. Purchased from Harvey Norman Just two months ago

Purchased in August 2020 at Harvey Norman for $1,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Bob41
Bob41

Fan Replaced Today, Still Noisy

Vanessa

VanessaSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

High Pitch Noise

published

The fridge has a high pitch sound that is driving me insane. I have a constant ringing in my right ear now. I had the first one replaced because of the noise, but the replacement is just as bad. I have tried very hard to live with this, but I think I’ve reached my limit. It feels like it is messing with my hearing it’s that bad. Otherwise, I love the fridge.

Purchased in December 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
James3333

James3333Cleveland

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Epic Fail! Had the product 3 weeks and it's faulty.

published

Purchased this fridge 3 weeks ago and yesterday I closed the freezer door and the noise level went from a 1/10 noisy to an 8/10 noisy and the fridge keeps beeping even though the doors are closed. Have to sleep with all doors closed in the house to block the noise out. The fridge and freezer are not even 1/4 full. Now I have to go through the rigmarole of getting a brand new fridge fixed or replaced. Beyond disappointing.

Purchased in July 2020 at Harvey Norman for $1,200.00.

Value for Money
Noise Level
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Westinghouse 453L Bottom Mount WBE4500 (Integrated Handle) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
rob

robPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

this is a very nice fridge and so quiet and works well however failed after 6 weeks and no customer service.

published

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Jane

JaneGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

High pitched noise

published

Nice fridge except for the high pitched whine noise it has. A bit like your ears are ringing! The freezer doesn’t seem to have as much space as my old 442 litre fridge. The door can also be a bit hard to open causing the whole fridge to move. I could put up with the lack of freezer space and the door but the noise is VERY annoying. I have read about other people complaining about the same thing.
Edit: A few weeks on and I’m sort of used to the noise. The crisper drawer feels a bit flimsy but it is a nice fridge. Our electricity consumption has definitely dropped. I think it’s very energy efficient.

Purchased in February 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Katie K

Katie KSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

4 days in and it’s hell

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Winning Appliances WA, O'Connor for $988.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Richard

RichardGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Westinghouse Fridge WBE4500 BB

published

Bought the 453L bottom mount fridge and the fridge stopped working with in two months, called Westinghouse , Westinghouse sent the technician on the same day, technician concluded that the compressor was bust and recommended a replacement. Westinghouse unable to replace the fridge for more than a week. Disappointing. No compensation was offered for inconvenience.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Kelley R

Kelley RPerth, WA

  • 6 reviews
  • 4 likes

Reliable Fridge - Design Improvements Needed

published

Purchased in June 2019 at RetraVision for $888.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Nicholas D.

Nicholas D.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews

Hasn't stopped yet

published

Had the fridge for 1 year so far and it has been a set and forget experience. Very low power usage compared to my older fridge of 7 yrs. Only gripe would be with the design of the freezer, with all the compartments and ice drawer it really reduces usable space.

Purchased in December 2018 at Betta Home Living for $1,199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Westinghouse 453L Bottom Mount WBE4500 (Integrated Handle) compares to other Bottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris S

Chris SSouth East Queensland, QLD

Not cooling in less than 3 years

published

Bought the fridge in March 2017 and up until a week age I was happy with the product and then it has lost the ability to cool anything. The fridge can now just do 14 degrees. Not good enough if you need 3-7 degrees for food and medicine.
Called the hotline and all they said was 'out of warranty', provided me with some phone numbers to give the service people a call to get it fixed at my expense.
The fridge is less than 3 years old, where is the customer care? Not sure if the brand / manufacture is proud of its product and performance as it seems I'm not the only one with cooling issues.

Purchased in March 2017 for $999.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Review

Review

  • 4 reviews

Great fridge

published

This fridge has been excellent, love the bottom mount configuration with drawers. Looks stylish. Specialised fridge tupperware works better than the crisper drawers. If anything it is a bit small and it gets filled quickly, but there was only the space to put a small fridge in the kitchen. The door baskets help free up some space as they are spacious and the sides of the baskets are high enough that short items will not fall out when opening the drawer too fast.

Purchased in June 2019 at Bing Lee for $939.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
FreshGal

FreshGal

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great fridge

published

I really like the fridge and it keeps food cold however my only bug bear is the layout. I feel like the space could be better utilised. Other than that it’s a great fridge!

Purchased in October 2018 at Appliances Online for $1,098.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Michelle

MichelleSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Very reliable

published

Everything fits perfect. Good on electricity and very quiet. I like the fact the freezer is on the lower level. I will recommend this product to all my friends and family.

Purchased in June 2018 at The Good Guys for $798.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Ka

KaPerth, WA

  • 12 reviews
  • 7 likes

Huge and Shiny

published

Was going to buy a Haier fridge but after seeing the width will only allow 5mm on each sides, I decided to get this Westinghouse which will have 3cm on each sides (the space in my son's kitchen only 800mm width. And its has bottom freezer and a compact ice maker which my son love. I had many Westinghouse fridges before, so I better stick to one and have a very good discount before spending more than $3G at The Good Guys. It has simple front design, the ONLY drawback its come only on Right Hand opening so if your fridge cavity is on your left than taking eggs out to the cooking bench you have to close the door first but for its sleek and white design plus plenty of space inside I am ok with it.

Purchased in April 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Tony

Tonyasked

453L Bottom Mount WBE4500WC (White)

How to remove bottom storage containers

2 answers
Garry B.
Garry B.

I have the same problem. What is the solution. On line manual is of no use.

Tony
Tony

There’s a clip on each slide about half way along when storage box is fully extended. You have to push the left hand side one down and lift the opposite one up at the same time while trying to pull on the box. Not easy and a bit tricky.

Col

Colasked

453L Bottom Mount WBE4500 (Integrated Handle)

My freezer had stopped freezing. Why ???

2 answers
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse

Hi Col,
Tania from Electrolux here.
We are sorry to hear you are experiencing problems with your Westinghouse refrigerator.
If you wish to discuss this further please feel free to contact me at customercare@electrolux.com.au attention Tania. Please be sure to list ticket number 1691787 in the subject line.
Thanks, Tania

Col
Col

Thanks for your reply Tania, fridge has been looked at by a registered service person awaiting appraisals

Ibelong

Ibelongasked

453L Bottom Mount WBE4500 (Integrated Handle)

anyone find 3c is cold enough in summer, or 1/2 more? i can increase it by looks like 1/2 what temp do people keep there fridge at? thanks.

1 answer
Kathryn L.
Kathryn L.

I always use 3• and it is cold enough. Live on Gold Coast And have used that temp for 20 yrs

Get an answer from our members and Westinghouse representatives

Details

Compare all 5 Westinghouse 453L Bottom Mount WBE45 Series
CategoryBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / RefrigeratorsBottom Mount Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $1,849.00$1,699.00$1,599.00
Dimensions 1725 x 699 x 723 mm1725 x 699 x 723 mm1725 x 699 x 723 mm
Energy Rating4.5 star(s)4.5 star(s)4.5 star(s)
Household Size 4-5 people4-5 people4-5 people
FeaturesDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm and Frost FreeDoor Alarm and Frost Free
Colour / FinishDark Stainless SteelStainless SteelWhite
Handle Type RecessedRecessedRecessed
Smart Fridge NoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves333
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins111
Door Hinge Reversible Door Hinge and RightReversible Door Hinge and RightReversible Door Hinge and Right
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Capacity
Total Capacity 453 L453 L453 L
Fridge Capacity 311 L311 L311 L
Freezer Capacity 142 L142 L142 L
Compare all 5 Westinghouse 453L Bottom Mount WBE45 Series

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.