??!
17 photos
Westinghouse 524L French Door
4.2 from 83 reviews

Reviews

4.2

83 reviews
5
(49)
4
(19)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(8)
  • Build Quality
    2.8 (12)
  • Value for Money
    2.7 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    3.6 (12)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (12)
  • Noise Level
    3.9 (11)
  • Internal Layout
    4.1 (9)
Previous
Next
Stevo S.

Stevo S.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Was a great fridge until the door handle mount broke....

published

Fridge has been great until the freezer door handle came off.... I would have given it 5 stars until this
The design of the handle mount is bad with a lot of weight bearing on a small plastic mount
When the mount breaks you cannot replace it - you have to buy an entire handle kit which is 3 steel handles and 6 six plastic mounts.... cost ~$300. The money I can live with, the waste is unacceptable. Not good Westinghouse - hope you are listening !

Purchased in February 2018 for A$2,100.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers
mike

mikePeel, WA

  • 3 reviews

Westinghouse shame

published

this fridge does not maintain a reliable temperature ,and when you try to set the controls panel
it doesn't work ,I need to get their people at $125 to look at the problem ,plus costs if it needs repairs
and they know the fridge has issues anyway ,when you payed $1850 you expect to get more than 2 years
my parents had a fridge that was 40 years old

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 6 person(s)
See all answers
Karen

KarenPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Happy until handle came off.

published

Very happy with this fridge until the handle came off the freezer drawer. Fridge is only 3 years old. Enquired about a part to be told I needed a handle repair kit at cost of $309 ( it was a small plastic bit that was broken) On a aprox $2000 fridge , handle should last longer than 3 years.

Purchased in December 2016 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
See all answers
French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Westinghouse 524L French Door compares to other French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Franz

FranzMid North Coast, NSW

Less than 3 years old, problems starting

published

Refrigeration too warm 12 degrees Celsius , Freezer still operational.
Unit was turned off for 3 days and was OK then, but after 4 days -same problem
Not very happy as never had issues with any other model.Problems seem to be consistent as per feedback from other users, I expect a fridge with this price tag to perform longer than 3 years!!

Purchased in May 2017 for A$1,600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Franz
Franz

Correction unit in question in WHE5200SA-DAU

Max

MaxSouth East Queensland, QLD

Good value, but not great. Expected a little better from the brand.

published

Purchased in April 2020 at Appliances Online for A$1,963.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
Joan

JoanPeel, WA

This is perfect

published

Very happy with my French Door Westinghouse Refrigerator. Have had it now for 6 months. It has so much more room in it than my last French Door Refrigerator, especially in the freezer section.

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
Unbelievable

UnbelievableGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Lemon!

published

Purchased in September 2018 at The Good Guys Physical store for A$1,900.00.

1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse

A bad fridge

published

Has stopped working within 3 years It does not refrigerate any more, In the previous 33 years I have used only 2 refrigerators, one Electrolux and one Amana. Very disappointed.

Purchased in December 2016 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics for A$2,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Joe

JoeAdelaide

  • 5 reviews

Broken after 2 and half years

published

Never had fridges broken after two and half years. This is the worst fridge I ever seen. I am expecting a good quality appliance from Westinghouse. Never buy anything from this brand again.

Purchased in December 2016 at David Jones for A$2,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Westinghouse 524L French Door compares to other French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Fiona

FionaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Love our new Westinghouse

published

Purchased in June 2019 for A$1,200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers
Victoria

Victoria

  • 2 reviews

Worst Fridge Ever

published

Purchased in April 2013 at David Jones Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 3 person(s)
See all answers
Barry

BarryGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Terrible fridge

published

Nothing but problems. leaked and damaged our floors. Got a 2nd fridge and still leaks. 2 months and still waiting for tech to come out. Would not recommend this brand

Purchased in December 2018 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Kaz

KazIllawarra, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic Fridge

published

I bought the fridge brand new approx 6 months ago and I have absolutely no regrets buying it. The fridge is so easy to clean inside, has functional lighting and the best thing is not having to bend down to see where everything is. It has a beautiful finish and the fingers marks wipe off easily with a clean damp cloth. The ice cube tray could've been placed in a better position in the freezer, however it is accessible. I highly recommend this model if you are looking for a french door design that is great value for money.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Ben B

Ben BDarwin, NT

Worst Fridge I've Owned

published

We have had nothing but problems with this fridge. Bottom freezer kept icing up and was very hard to open. Looked at many times and then replaced. Second fridge just as bad. Still same faults as previous fridge. Started beeping tonight and temperature panel light up. Fridge not getting down to temperature. Leaking, fridge hot to touch and noisy. Very disappointed as was an expensive gridge

Purchased in January 2018 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Furniture for A$1,890.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Internal Layout
Household Size 2 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
steph

steph

  • 3 reviews

Perfect Fridge

published

This Fridge ticked all the boxes for me.
Great Price good quality
Easy to clean
Looks great
Good quality stainless steel
Amazing product fitted pefectly in the space.
Great interior layout and the and easy access to fridge and freezer compartments.
Purchased from Harvey Norman Auburn, received great service.

Stephanie Condopoulos

Date PurchasedSep 2018
French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Westinghouse 524L French Door compares to other French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jimb

JimbGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 23 reviews
  • 1 like

Good Fridge

published

Bought this fridge 18 months ago to replace Sharp fridge under product warranty,good size easy freezer compartment good lighting doors easy to open reviews at the time were not complimentary but I cant fault this product has done every thing we have wanted.Freezer compartment has drawers easy to get to,with ice trays.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
1 comment
Jimb
Jimb

18 months later still going fine I have read the reviews on this fridge and have not experienced these problems.

Justine

JustineSydney

Crappy design

published

This fridge design is so lacking in efficiency! Terrible use of space. Crisper doesn’t open completely. You actually need to remove the door shelves to take the crisper out for cleaning.
Bit of plastic break off and fly across the room from time to time. Super crappy fridge. Can’t wait to replace it when we renovate!!! Top shelf won’t cool even when the rest of the fridge is on coolest temperature.

Date PurchasedJan 2017
2 comments
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Justine
Justine

I’ve emailed you

Mitch D

Mitch D

  • 4 reviews

Great Fridge

published

We bought this fridge after a lot of research, we are extremely happy with this product and i ticks all the boxes as far as we were looking for with a fridge, the service we received from the Good Guys in Osborne Park was fantastic, could not have been more helpful, they answered any questions we had straight up without having to get clarification, this showed they were interested in the products they represent and value

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Amanda f

Amanda fMernda

  • 2 reviews

So spacious and lots of compartments

published

Highly recommend,Easy for whole family to use with lots of features lots of room for the food and drinks.a brand you can trust, good value for the size and features worth every penny.keeps fruit and vegetables fresh for longer in own compartments,enough for the whole family,would definitely buy this brand again

Date PurchasedJun 2012
Jess

JessSydney

  • 5 reviews

I love this fridge

published

The ten is good it is cold and don't change to much the freezer is perfect doors are easy to open and close there is alot of room in both the fridge and the freezer to put all ur stuff shopping for 2 weeks fits in the freezer with some room still spare

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Terribear

Terribearasked

WHE5204BB (Dark Stainless)

I have read some reviews that the freezer compartment is not frost free and needs to be manually defrosted every few months. is this the case?

1 answer
Franz
Franz

My appliance is a french door fridge freezer WHE5200SA ( sorry I had the wrong product number, which was corrected )This one is frost free, I had it fixed and it needed the electronics replaced, that thing regulates when and for how long the defrost mode is to run. Hopefully this has fixed it.

Alf

Alfasked

524L French Door

The freezer has iced up I cant even open the draws what setting should freezer be on.

1 answer
Fired Up
Fired Up

Depends on what the manual says

Sandy Franks

Sandy Franksasked

524L French Door

We have removed the top large freezer drawer to clean and having issues getting it back into situ. It just sits on the bottom drawer despite following the instructions. Any ideas would be appreciated? Thanks.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Westinghouse representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.