?
? !
12 photos
Westinghouse 524L French Door WHE5200 / WHE5260 / WHE5264
4.0 from 91 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.7 (19)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (19)
  • Ease of Use
    3.7 (18)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (18)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (18)
  • Internal Layout
    4.2 (16)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Craig Anne Groves

Craig Anne GrovesRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Would I buy one again?

published

Would I buy one again? Probably not. While the style of the french doors and pull out freezer suits our kitchen the functionality is questionable. The compressor is intermittently noisy, the spring loaded mid door seal does not work reliably and the temperature setting is optimistic and inaccurate.

Purchased in August 2020 for $1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Asher M.

Asher M.South East Queensland, QLD

Design fault with freezer handle. Poor out of warranty experience.

published

Purchased in October 2017 at The Good Guys for $1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Alex

AlexGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Broken after 1.5 years. Third time called for service.

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman for $1,499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Westinghouse 524L French Door WHE5200 / WHE5260 / WHE5264 compares to other French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
PJT

PJTSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best fridge I have ever owned

published

After a disastrous experience with my last Samsung fridge I purchased this one about 5 months ago. It is so practical. I was a bit unsure about the freezer drawers at first but they are excellent and hold so much. The humidity control on the crisper keeps fruit and veg so much longer and the wide open shelves in the fridge compartment hold everything I have thrown at it including a whole baked leg of ham and turkey over Christmas.

Purchased in August 2020 at Betta Home Living for $1,699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chris from Perth

Chris from PerthPerth, WA

  • 14 reviews
  • 15 likes

Westinghouse French Door Fridge/Freezer - WHE5204BC - Deceptively big on capacity!

published

Purchased in December 2020 for $1,858.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Andrew

AndrewSydney, NSW

Should be reported to Fair Trading

published

Bought this fridge in 2017.
May 2019 fridge broke down-lost $200 worth of food-Lucky still in warranty.
Computer board replaced.
2 weeks ago Handle came off freezer. Enquired about parts(should have been maximum cost of $5 for a new handle spacer but told you cant buy just the spacer. you have to buy 3 new handles-Are they kidding-Cost between $250 & $300-This is scandalous-Rippoff. About a week after the 2 year warranty expired-go figure

Purchased in November 2017 at The Good Guys for $1,659.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Andrew
Andrew
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
bikash s.

bikash s.Central West, NSW

Disgusting doesn't work after a period not cover in warranty too

published

Fridge power drops whenever connects to point after a year. When i rang customer care, they says not their problem anymore as warranty doesn't cover it after a year.
Disgusting

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Christopher K.

Christopher K.Sydney, NSW

3 years still going strong g

published

my last fridge started falling apart after 4 years but this one has been a gem so far. I purchased it in early 2017 and have not had any problems with it and can safely say its a well built fridge. its definitely been a good purchase for me

Purchased in February 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Kat G.

Kat G.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Compressor blew after two years

published

Purchased this fridge in 2017 and have been in love with it until the compressor blew suddenly!
I run a small cake business and have been left without a fridge for two days not to mention thrown out over $100 worth of food.
Paid $145 for a Westinghouse technician to come out and tell me what I already knew, and that the entire unit would need to be taken to a workshop for “repair”. Will never purchase a Westinghouse again - extremely disappointing!

Purchased in December 2017 at Appliances Online for $1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Westinghouse 524L French Door WHE5200 / WHE5260 / WHE5264 compares to other French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stevo S.

Stevo S.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Was a great fridge until the door handle mount broke....

published

Fridge has been great until the freezer door handle came off.... I would have given it 5 stars until this
The design of the handle mount is bad with a lot of weight bearing on a small plastic mount
When the mount breaks you cannot replace it - you have to buy an entire handle kit which is 3 steel handles and 6 six plastic mounts.... cost ~$300. The money I can live with, the waste is unacceptable. Not good Westinghouse - hope you are listening !

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in February 2018 for $2,100.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mike

mikePeel, WA

  • 3 reviews

Westinghouse shame

published

this fridge does not maintain a reliable temperature ,and when you try to set the controls panel
it doesn't work ,I need to get their people at $125 to look at the problem ,plus costs if it needs repairs
and they know the fridge has issues anyway ,when you payed $1850 you expect to get more than 2 years
my parents had a fridge that was 40 years old

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Karen

KarenPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Happy until handle came off.

published

Very happy with this fridge until the handle came off the freezer drawer. Fridge is only 3 years old. Enquired about a part to be told I needed a handle repair kit at cost of $309 ( it was a small plastic bit that was broken) On a aprox $2000 fridge , handle should last longer than 3 years.

Purchased in December 2016 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Franz

FranzMid North Coast, NSW

Less than 3 years old, problems starting

published

Refrigeration too warm 12 degrees Celsius , Freezer still operational.
Unit was turned off for 3 days and was OK then, but after 4 days -same problem
Not very happy as never had issues with any other model.Problems seem to be consistent as per feedback from other users, I expect a fridge with this price tag to perform longer than 3 years!!

Purchased in May 2017 for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Franz
Franz

Correction unit in question in WHE5200SA-DAU

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Joan

JoanPeel, WA

This is perfect

published

Very happy with my French Door Westinghouse Refrigerator. Have had it now for 6 months. It has so much more room in it than my last French Door Refrigerator, especially in the freezer section.

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Unbelievable

UnbelievableGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Lemon!

published

Purchased in September 2018 at The Good Guys Physical store for $1,900.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Find out how Westinghouse 524L French Door WHE5200 / WHE5260 / WHE5264 compares to other French Door Fridges / Refrigerators

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

A bad fridge

published

Has stopped working within 3 years It does not refrigerate any more, In the previous 33 years I have used only 2 refrigerators, one Electrolux and one Amana. Very disappointed.

Purchased in December 2016 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Electronics for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Joe

JoeAdelaide

  • 5 reviews

Broken after 2 and half years

published

Never had fridges broken after two and half years. This is the worst fridge I ever seen. I am expecting a good quality appliance from Westinghouse. Never buy anything from this brand again.

Purchased in December 2016 at David Jones for $2,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Fiona

FionaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Love our new Westinghouse

published

Purchased in June 2019 for $1,200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Victoria

Victoria

  • 2 reviews

Worst Fridge Ever

published

Purchased in April 2013 at David Jones Retail Stores.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Barry

BarryGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Terrible fridge

published

Nothing but problems. leaked and damaged our floors. Got a 2nd fridge and still leaks. 2 months and still waiting for tech to come out. Would not recommend this brand

Purchased in December 2018 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Westinghouse
ELECTROLUX ..Westinghouse
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Deepal

Deepalasked

WHE5200SA (Stainless Steel)

Hi , I have Westinghouse WHE5200SA, Top part is not cooling, Fridge is about 4-5 years old. can you give me any idea? email pls : [Email Removed]

No answers
Greg M.

Greg M.asked

524L French Door WHE5200 / WHE5260 / WHE5264

Hi where can I get replacement door handles. The handle on my freezer draw has broken the plastic clip.

2 answers
Chris from Perth
Chris from Perth

I've read about this happening before with this model! I believe that the current Westinghouse fridges are now made in Thailand and no longer in Australia, hence the cheap and flimsy build quality. If your fridge is within warranty period, contact the store where you bought it. If not, you'd probably need to contact Westinghouse directly.

Greg M.
Greg M.

Yes I know they are no longer made in Australia. I have got into a supplier that may help me.
Thanks for you're information.

Judy S

Judy Sasked

WHE5200SA (Stainless Steel)

I have just purchased second hand. The freezer handle was broken, white clips are still there, was aware I had to buy new handles. Switched on fridge and left it for 3 hours and it got cold but the freezer door would not open and the beeper keeps going on the fridge. Phoned electrolux and they said use a credit card to break the seal, did not work, will not open. Gave me names for repairers. I have contacted one to come and check out the fridge.

No answers
See all Westinghouse 524L French Door WHE5200 / WHE5260 / WHE5264 questions

Get an answer from our members and Westinghouse representatives

Westinghouse 524L French Door WHE5200 / WHE5260 / WHE5264

Details

Compare all 4 Westinghouse 524L French Door WHE5200 / WHE5260 / WHE5264
CategoryFrench Door Fridges / RefrigeratorsFrench Door Fridges / RefrigeratorsFrench Door Fridges / RefrigeratorsFrench Door Fridges / Refrigerators
Price (RRP) $2,149.00$2,049.00$2,749.00$2,399.00
Dimensions 1725 x 796 x 781 mm1725 x 796 x 781 mm1725 x 796 x 781 mm1725 x 796 x 769 mm
Energy Rating3 star(s)3 star(s)3 star(s)3 star(s)
Household Size 5+ people5+ people5+ people5+ people
FeaturesDoor Alarm, Frost Free and Wine RackDoor Alarm, Frost Free and Wine RackDoor Alarm, Frost Free, Ice Dispenser, Water Dispenser and Wine RackDoor Alarm, Frost Free, Ice Dispenser and Water Dispenser
Colour / FinishStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless SteelStainless Steel
Handle Type ExternalExternalExternalExternal
Smart Fridge NoNoNoNo
Shelf MaterialGlassGlassGlassGlass
Number of Shelves3333
Number of Fruit & Vegetable Bins1111
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Capacity
Total Capacity 524 L524 L524 L524 L
Fridge Capacity 358 L358 L358 L358 L
Freezer Capacity 166 L166 L166 L166 L
Replaced byWestinghouse 524L French Door WHE5204SB (Stainless Steel)Westinghouse 524L French Door WHE5264SB (Water Dispenser)
ManualDownload manual
Compare all 4 Westinghouse 524L French Door WHE5200 / WHE5260 / WHE5264

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.