2 photos
Whirlpool 29L Convection, Crisp & Grill Microwave JQ280IX

Whirlpool 29L Convection, Crisp & Grill Microwave JQ280IX

MPNs: 36395072 and JQ280IX
4.0 from 28 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Whirlpool

Reviews

4.0
28 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (16)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (16)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (16)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.8 (16)
  • Noise Level
    4.5 (16)
Previous
Next
Ant
AntSouthwest, VIC

no service or spare parts available- you can't even get a replacement plate

published

The Concept is great, the product works well, but there is no support, I have emailed the company 3 times with no response.

I rang them and they said see if you can get one online we don't have any spare plates and have none on order.

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Crisp function is awesome!

published

I’ve only had this microwave a week so I’m still getting used to it, but so far I’m loving it! The crisp function is great for cooking wedges, pizzas and sausage rolls. I’m still trying to work out the timing for defrosting bread as the 6th sense defrost function only covers meats and vegetables. There is no guidance in the instructions or reference guide, it just states to choose the auto function but there is no auto function for bread. Other than that I’m really happy with this microwave.

Purchased in May 2021 at Harvey Norman for $549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Lane
LaneHunter Region, NSW
  • 6 reviews
  • 8 likes
  • Verified

Perfect 6th sense brilliant

published

Loads of features, 2 person unit does a great job and beats having house heat up like the regular ovens. Heats up quickly, less washing up, food retains moisture. Programmes great selection including steam function.
Highly recommended and value for money.

Purchased in April 2021 at Harvey Norman for $529.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Microwaves

Find out how Whirlpool 29L Convection, Crisp & Grill Microwave JQ280IX compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
George
GeorgeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Whirlpool's best Microwave

published

I have purchased the JQ280 29l convection - crisp - grill - microwave oven. I find it very easy to use , I find it heats the food evenly and preserves the original texture of the food. it is a smart looking machine and has a handle to open the door unlike other models that have a push button to open the door. it is also a quiet unit it comes with an extended 3 year warranty for piece of mind.

Purchased in March 2021 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Roger
Roger
  • 2 reviews

What can't you do with this micowave?

published

Owned an earlier Whirlpool Crisp and Bake and recently upgraded to the larger 29L Convection, Crisp and Grill and haven't looked back. More features with the 6th sense function and auto weighing, so far cooking to perfection every time. Steamer dish and steam function makes veggies a breeze. Even cooked a pork belly like in the you tube video, beautiful crackling and juicy pork first go.

Purchased in January 2021 at Harvey Norman for $512.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Susan08
Susan08Perth, WA
  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes
  • Verified

Whirlpool JQ280IX Crisp N Grill

published

Purchased in January 2021 at Harvey Norman for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Dabsey
DabseyCentral Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

Great multi purpose oven

published

This was a Christmas present so still early days but so far a big improvement over my basic cheapie microwave I had before. It is quick and silent and the extra features make it very handy in the kitchen. My only negative if it is one is that I found the instructions very minimal for someone like me who is older and not as familiar with fancy gadgets but I got there in the end with the help of youtube. A bigger more comprehensive instruction booklet with loads of recipes would make this a very much 5 star purchase.

Purchased in December 2020 at Appliances Online for $473.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

  • Verified

Microwave JQ280IX Whirlpool

published

we were very happy with our new purchase, after less than 1 year it broke down. Everything still worked but whichever function you used, it automatically turned off after + - 2 minutes.
Having a technician come on site but he could not fix the defect either, with our extended insurance we could get a new one. No, it is not that simple because this device was no longer available ...

Purchased in October 2019 at Media Markt ES for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Igor
IgorHunter Region, NSW

Early Feedback

published

Purchased in September 2020 at Appliances Online for $480.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Microwaves

Find out how Whirlpool 29L Convection, Crisp & Grill Microwave JQ280IX compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
P.T.P.
P.T.P.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

Twenty Plus Years of Satisfaction

published

My 3rd Whirlpool with crisp function but the 1st with 6th sense convection. So easy to cook just about any dish you could think of in a fraction of the time with perfect results not to mention ease of cleaning with just a quick wipe with a damp cloth if need be. No wonder you never see Whirlpool advertised they sell themselves by word of mouth about their innovative features.
P.T.P

Purchased in September 2020 at Costco Online Store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
AFD
AFDSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • Verified

Best kitchen appliance I’ve ever bought!

published

I have only owned the Whirpool 29L Crisp N’ Grill JQ280IX convection microwave for a couple of weeks and I really only began using it over this last week. It took me a week or two to wrap my head around the fact it wasn’t your basic microwave and that I could use it for something other than just heating up a heat wheat pack, like cooking dinner! So far absolutely loving all of the features. The included accessories are awesome but I wish the steam bowl was just that bit bigger.

Purchased in August 2020 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Val
ValSouthern and Hills, SA
  • 2 reviews

fantastic microwave! best I've ever bought

published

The functions are easy to follow, with amazing results. Programming features are great. Microwave cooks very evenly, with textures as they should be. I am very happy with my purchase

Purchased in June 2020 at Harvey Norman for $549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Wayne Clark
Wayne ClarkSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

The microwave meets all the family needs.

published

We have replaced our well used 15 year old Whirlpool crisp n grill. The new oven is better as the oven size is 50% bigger and has upgraded features.
The ability to reheat a cup of coffee, heat a frozen pie with crispy pastry, to baking a cake or roast a family dinner, demonstrates its flexibility. Being energy conscious we see the microwave as energy efficient compared to a conventional oven.

Purchased in June 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Deidre
DeidreMetropolitan Adelaide, SA
  • 2 reviews
  • Verified

I love my new Crisp and Grill MWC25WH

published

I never thought it would be so easy to cook pizza, heat a pie & also cook chicken shaslicks and much more. It has made such a difference to the time I spend in the kitchen. Plus it saves me power as I don't need to use my oven as often.

Purchased in June 2020 at Harvey Norman for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Other Microwaves

 
 

0.0
(1,234)
Michelle Hogan
Michelle HoganSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • Verified

Awesome Microwave! Wouldn't use anything else!

published

This is a great model and a massive improvement from my previous microwave.
Very quiet and works efficiently. Food is always cooked perfectly with this new and improved microwave. Best upgrade and would highly recommend!

Purchased in April 2020 at Harvey Norman for $760.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Microwaves

Find out how Whirlpool 29L Convection, Crisp & Grill Microwave JQ280IX compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Read more reviews - page 2

Questions & Answers

Grace
Graceasked

Hi, this will be our first purchase of a combo convection + microwave.
Question 1 : can you use the convection oven function separately without using any microwaves?
Question 2 : some brands that have been reviewed note that there is quite a bit of condensation inside the microwave. How does this model fare? Much condensation on the inside when cooking?
Thanks so much.

1 answer
Lane
Lane

Q1. yes you select function of oven you need.
Q2. not much condensation on microwave function, so far I love this oven with all I have cooked in it with all types of functions. I got my at Harvey Norman and saved heaps compared to Good Guys.

Robbie V.
Robbie V.asked

We purchased this microwave yesterday then read that it needs 30cm open ventilation above it. We have an underbench microwave cabinet where we planned to install it. Does anyone have theirs in a cabinet and did it cause any issues? We'd only have a 10cm gap above. I'm wondering if that would be sufficient.
Thanks in advance

4 answers
Whirlpool
Anthony F.Whirlpool

Hi Robbie,
Due to the heat emitted from this microwave, it needs to be placed on a bench to ensure adequate ventilation. Enclosed spaced like cabinets are not recommended as there is not enough room around and above the microwave.
Regards

Robbie V.
Robbie V.

Oh no. Not the answer I was hoping for. I watched every tutorial and not a mention of it needing to be on a bench. Nothing in the specs sheet either. I just stumbled across it when I downloaded the instruction book. I certainly don't have anywhere on a bench top to store this so a very costly underbench adjustment would be needed. I'm going to have to return it. Im so disappointed as this looks like THE most amazing microwave on the market

George
George

Ours is on the bench

Jennifer D
Jennifer Dasked

My crisp and grill wont let me set seconds for over 10 seconds cooking time .how do i fix this

2 answers
Whirlpool
Anthony F.Whirlpool

Hi Jennifer,
To change the cook time setting, just turn the knob after selecting the function that you want to use.
If you are turning the know and the time isn't changing, then there may be an issue with the microwave. It would be a good idea to give Arisit Technical Support a call on 1300 762 219 to see if they can recommend a solution or if they think the microwave needs repairs.
Regards

Jennifer D
Jennifer D

Thank you so much tried that didnt work

See all Whirlpool 29L Convection, Crisp & Grill Microwave JQ280IX questions

Get an answer from our members and Whirlpool representatives

Details

CategoryMicrowaves
Price (RRP) $699.00
Type Convection
FeaturesGrill Function and Sensor Cooking
Capacity29L
Dimensions 333 x 548 x 525 mm
Turntable Diameter320 mm
Door MechanismPull Handle
Power950 W
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)
Colour / FinishStainless Steel
Visit official website
  • MPN: 36395072 and JQ280IX
  • GTIN13: 8003437211096

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.