?
? !
2 photos
Whirlpool 29L Convection, Crisp & Grill Microwave JQ280IX

Whirlpool 29L Convection, Crisp & Grill Microwave JQ280IX

MPNs: 36395072 and JQ280IX
4.2 from 26 reviews · View Statistics

Microwaves Buying Guide

One of life’s little conveniences, a reliable microwave easily lets you enjoy hot food and drinks at home. Whether you’re making 2-minute noodles, microwave scrambled eggs or cooking rice, a microwave is an essential everyday appliance you can quickly wonder how you ever lived without.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

4.2

26 reviews
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (14)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (14)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.9 (14)
  • Noise Level
    4.6 (14)
Previous
Next
Lane

LaneHunter Region, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes
  • Verified purchase

Perfect 6th sense brilliant

published

Loads of features, 2 person unit does a great job and beats having house heat up like the regular ovens. Heats up quickly, less washing up, food retains moisture. Programmes great selection including steam function.
Highly recommended and value for money.

Purchased in April 2021 at Harvey Norman for $529.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
George

GeorgeGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Whirlpool's best Microwave

published

I have purchased the JQ280 29l convection - crisp - grill - microwave oven. I find it very easy to use , I find it heats the food evenly and preserves the original texture of the food. it is a smart looking machine and has a handle to open the door unlike other models that have a push button to open the door. it is also a quiet unit it comes with an extended 3 year warranty for piece of mind.

Purchased in March 2021 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Roger

Roger

  • 2 reviews

What can't you do with this micowave?

published

Owned an earlier Whirlpool Crisp and Bake and recently upgraded to the larger 29L Convection, Crisp and Grill and haven't looked back. More features with the 6th sense function and auto weighing, so far cooking to perfection every time. Steamer dish and steam function makes veggies a breeze. Even cooked a pork belly like in the you tube video, beautiful crackling and juicy pork first go.

Purchased in January 2021 at Harvey Norman for $512.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Microwaves

Find out how Whirlpool 29L Convection, Crisp & Grill Microwave JQ280IX compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Susan08

Susan08Perth, WA

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Whirlpool JQ280IX Crisp N Grill

published

Purchased in January 2021 at Harvey Norman for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Dabsey

DabseyCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great multi purpose oven

published

This was a Christmas present so still early days but so far a big improvement over my basic cheapie microwave I had before. It is quick and silent and the extra features make it very handy in the kitchen. My only negative if it is one is that I found the instructions very minimal for someone like me who is older and not as familiar with fancy gadgets but I got there in the end with the help of youtube. A bigger more comprehensive instruction booklet with loads of recipes would make this a very much 5 star purchase.

Purchased in December 2020 at Appliances Online for $473.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

  • Verified purchase

Microwave JQ280IX Whirlpool

published

we were very happy with our new purchase, after less than 1 year it broke down. Everything still worked but whichever function you used, it automatically turned off after + - 2 minutes.
Having a technician come on site but he could not fix the defect either, with our extended insurance we could get a new one. No, it is not that simple because this device was no longer available ...

Purchased in October 2019 at Media Markt ES for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Igor

IgorHunter Region, NSW

Early Feedback

published

Purchased in September 2020 at Appliances Online for $480.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

P.T.P.

P.T.P.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Twenty Plus Years of Satisfaction

published

My 3rd Whirlpool with crisp function but the 1st with 6th sense convection. So easy to cook just about any dish you could think of in a fraction of the time with perfect results not to mention ease of cleaning with just a quick wipe with a damp cloth if need be. No wonder you never see Whirlpool advertised they sell themselves by word of mouth about their innovative features.
P.T.P

Purchased in September 2020 at Costco Online Store.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
AFD

AFDSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified purchase

Best kitchen appliance I’ve ever bought!

published

I have only owned the Whirpool 29L Crisp N’ Grill JQ280IX convection microwave for a couple of weeks and I really only began using it over this last week. It took me a week or two to wrap my head around the fact it wasn’t your basic microwave and that I could use it for something other than just heating up a heat wheat pack, like cooking dinner! So far absolutely loving all of the features. The included accessories are awesome but I wish the steam bowl was just that bit bigger.

Purchased in August 2020 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Microwaves

Find out how Whirlpool 29L Convection, Crisp & Grill Microwave JQ280IX compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Val

ValSouthern and Hills, SA

  • 2 reviews

fantastic microwave! best I've ever bought

published

The functions are easy to follow, with amazing results. Programming features are great. Microwave cooks very evenly, with textures as they should be. I am very happy with my purchase

Purchased in June 2020 at Harvey Norman for $549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Wayne Clark

Wayne ClarkSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

The microwave meets all the family needs.

published

We have replaced our well used 15 year old Whirlpool crisp n grill. The new oven is better as the oven size is 50% bigger and has upgraded features.
The ability to reheat a cup of coffee, heat a frozen pie with crispy pastry, to baking a cake or roast a family dinner, demonstrates its flexibility. Being energy conscious we see the microwave as energy efficient compared to a conventional oven.

Purchased in June 2020 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Deidre

DeidreMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

I love my new Crisp and Grill MWC25WH

published

I never thought it would be so easy to cook pizza, heat a pie & also cook chicken shaslicks and much more. It has made such a difference to the time I spend in the kitchen. Plus it saves me power as I don't need to use my oven as often.

Purchased in June 2020 at Harvey Norman for $379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Michelle Hogan

Michelle HoganSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • Verified purchase

Awesome Microwave! Wouldn't use anything else!

published

This is a great model and a massive improvement from my previous microwave.
Very quiet and works efficiently. Food is always cooked perfectly with this new and improved microwave. Best upgrade and would highly recommend!

Purchased in April 2020 at Harvey Norman for $760.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ellie

EllieAU

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified purchase

Very quiet and powerfull

published

This microwave is a real improvement from previous models. Very quiet and efficient. Crisp always comes out perfectly. We upgraded because previous whirlpool door started coming apart, unfortunately this model has not fixed the design and glass may separate again. Hopefully it is built stronger.

Purchased in January 2019 at Appliances Online.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Chook

ChookHamilton

Broken on 2 occasion

published

The first Whirlpool we bought was about 15 years ago. It lasted for 12 years. We purchase the JQ280 in 2016 within 2 years it crashed and could not be repaired. It was replaced early this year. Today it crashed again with flash of light and terrible sound. The shop is taking it away and will give us our money back.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Microwaves

Find out how Whirlpool 29L Convection, Crisp & Grill Microwave JQ280IX compares to other Microwaves

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sandy2011

Sandy2011South East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

I would never be without one.

published

This is my third Whirlpool Crisper Microwave oven. Absolutely love it. You can cook just about anything in it.
Is so handy to cook frozen food that needs to be crispy. Saves so much time and electricity. Would highly recommend to busy families and also single households who just need to cook small amounts quickly at a time.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Blackberry user

Blackberry userTownsville

  • 13 reviews
  • 4 likes

A tried and tested convection microwave - well worth the price if it lasts as long as my old one did

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Dave

DaveSydney

  • 21 reviews
  • 13 likes

Pretty good

published

I have been using this for around 6 months now and seems pretty good and 6 sense works good as well.This crisping tray non stick can get scratched easy so try not to cut things in ot IE pizza etc.Make sure you leave plenty of room around this as it can get quite hot on the convection side of things.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Orvis

OrvisSydney

  • 20 reviews
  • 17 likes

Guess Whose Mum Doesn't Have a Whirlpool?

published

Whirlpool were once a very reliable American made appliance. Now they are made in China and assembled with LG components. Ours broke down after just 1 year. The microwave looks nice and has many features but they seem to be cutting corners with the electronics inside. Very disappointing given it was not a cheap no name brand.

Date PurchasedSept 2016
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Joanna R

Joanna RSouth Australia

  • 19 reviews
  • 6 likes

This is great, very versatile

published
Date PurchasedJune 2017
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Andy

Andyasked

Has anyone bought the Whirlpool 6th Sense 90 recipe book?
We have the JQ280IX microwave and have bought this book.

Inside the book, it refers to the chef menu button throughout the book.
However this microwave does not have this button.
Has anyone worked out what the equivalent function button is please?
Thank you in advance for any help or suggestions.
PS We have spoken with whirlpool and they were unable to help.

2 answers
P.T.P.
P.T.P.

I presume it is the black button with 6th sense printed on it

Whirlpool
Anthony F.Whirlpool

Hi Andy,
For models without the Chef Button you can still access the same functions. The 6th Sense feature has a wide range of automatic cooking modes that can be used for any of the recipes in the book. When you open the door of the JQ280IX microwave you can see the list of different foods you can cook with the microwave and what mode to use.
Regards

pammie23

pammie23asked

I have the 29l Whirlpool,with it I got a recipe book but it’s Chef’s menu recipes how do I adapt them?
Thanks Pam

4 answers
Whirlpool
Anthony F.Whirlpool

Hi pammie23,
The JQ280IX has a range of automatic and manual cook functions that can be used for the recipes in the cookbook. This Quick User Guide has a rundown of all the functions and what they can be used for:
https://www.whirlpool.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2018/08/JQ280-GB-W10660429_QRG_for-AU_v20140121.pdf
Regards

pammie23
pammie23

Thank you for your prompt reply, the reference guide you sent I received with the microwave ,so are you saying the chef menu is no different to using the recipe straight and ignoring the chef button (that it doesn’t have any way) please explain. Thank you Pam

Whirlpool
Anthony F.Whirlpool

The cookbook mentions using the Chef Menu on the JT479 microwave for certain functions, but those functions can also be programmed manually on that microwave, and this JQ280.
If the recipe says to use a crisp function, or steam, or combi-grill then this microwave has the ability to do that. The only difference is you might have to manually select the cooking time, or the weight of the dish you are cooking.
Regards

Will i am

Will i amasked

Hi, my question is as the magnetron is faulty and not available as a part, is it possible to disconnect the HV transformer (and as a consequence the magnetron) and still use the grill and convection functions of the rest of the appliance? Thank you, await any advice. Will i am.

3 answers
Whirlpool
Schae P.Whirlpool

Hi Will I Am,

Please contact our Technical Support Department on 1300 762 219 to see if this is a possibility.

Kind Regards.

Will i am
Will i am

Hello Schae P. Thanks for your reply. Has the Tech Support Dept have an email address? If so please forward to me if convienent, Thanks.

Whirlpool
Schae P.Whirlpool

Hi Will I Am,

Yes their email address is technical.service@arisit.com

Regards,

See all Whirlpool 29L Convection, Crisp & Grill Microwave JQ280IX questions

Get an answer from our members and Whirlpool representatives

Details

CategoryMicrowaves
Price (RRP) $699.00
Type Convection
FeaturesGrill Function and Sensor Cooking
Capacity29L
Dimensions 333 x 548 x 525 mm
Turntable Diameter320 mm
Door MechanismPull Handle
Colour / FinishStainless Steel
Power950 W
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)

Visit official website
  • MPN: 36395072 and JQ280IX
  • GTIN13: 8003437211096

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.