??!
1 photo
Yardking 138CC 4 Stroke

Yardking 138CC 4 Stroke

MPN: 881880
2.8 from 21 reviews

Push Mowers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of push mower would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

2.8

21 reviews
5
(5)
4
(2)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(7)
  • Build Quality
    2.4 (9)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (9)
  • Ease of Use
    3.2 (9)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.1 (9)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.1 (9)
  • Safety
    2.9 (9)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    1.3 (7)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    3.3 (8)
Previous
Next
James H.

James H.Perth, WA

Atrocious build quality

published

Routinely stops when pushing through thick buffalo grass. Catcher is very difficult to empty grass gets stuck all the time. Throttle control never fit fell off and was destroyed. Terrible.

Purchased in September 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$249.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers

Can't get parts!!

published

Bought it about 2 years ago is good for me having back and knee issues.
BUT YOU CAN'T GET PARTS!!!!
Fuel cap split can't get a replacement anywhere makes it useless now!

Purchased in July 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
jeanne

jeanneSouth West, WA

Terrible would never buy another one

published

Height adjustments are not good, won't cut properly, hard to maneuver, even on short grass it bogs down, catcher too small in general not a good product at all would never buy another one

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Yardking 138CC 4 Stroke compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Franko

FrankoGippsland, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Cheap and has limitations

published

Bought at Bunnings in December 2018. Easy to assemble and started immediately. Good for small well kept lawns, minimal power and small cut. On a few occasions the handle snapped back and bruised my stomach, then this weekend it did it again and snapped the accelerator handle right through and bruised my wife’s stomach! Took it back to Bunnings at Wonthaggi where The Manager Chris was fantastic and contacted the manufacturer. No joy as I
it was out of warranty, but Chris issued a credit voucher so we could buy another.
Certainly WILL NOT buy a Yardking again, probably get a Victa self propelled. Thank goodness for Bunnings and Chris...

Purchased in December 2018 at Bunnings Bayswater for A$229.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers

Great little yellow machine

published

Bought the 138 after christmas. Easy to assemble. Did have to go get some oil. But for price i wasnt worried. Doesnt use much fuel. Starts easily. Mentioned to brother. He went and bought one. Feels the same.

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$228.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Shannan V.

Shannan V.Central Queensland, QLD

Budget, Light Weight Mower

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Aamirch657

Aamirch657Sydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Absolute Garbage. Doesnt even run for 20 sec

published

Bought 13/10/19 from Bunnings and it took me whole day to setup. No online material provided . Never worked for more than 30 secs . Thankfully bunnings has good returns policy. Get a better brand which is in the market for a long time otherwies it will be a cost centre.

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$170.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Kylie

KylieSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified purchase

New lawn mower

published

My new yardking is so easy to use, its light and easy to push. Very easy pull start and essy to clean. Fantastic price. Highly recommend this mower, bought from bunning.

Purchased in September 2019 for A$140.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
SOS79

SOS79South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

It's cheap and won't last but the warranty is great and will probably save you.

published

Purchased in November 2018 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$135.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Fuel Efficiency
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Yardking 138CC 4 Stroke compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Green thumb

Green thumbSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Yuck

published

Very heavy. Difficult to use. Too fast on self propelled mode. But the worst feature was that it leaked copious amounts of petrol that could not be stopped or fixed. Dangerous! Poor catcher. Fortunately Bunnings quickly refunded the purchase price. Bunnings is excellent for this. Bunnings sold me a Masport mower that did exactly what I wanted.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
Julian

Julian

  • 5 reviews

So far so good. It does the job for medium yard

published

I purchased the mower from a demo shop. It worked well and was petrol efficient : I managed to run the mower for a good 45min with the petrol that was already in it (so not much). The catcher could be bigger but it does the job for a medium yard.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
JoelB

JoelBSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Petrol Cap Failed within 2 weeks - OK Mower for Medium to Small Yards.

published

The mower is ok for small to medium yards. The build quality of the mower chassis is strong. The petrol cap like the other parts of the mower are plastic and prone to breaking. The mower only has a 12 month warranty for the engine only, so as the petrol cap is not consider the 'motor' I had to order and pay Yard King $25 for a new petrol cap.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
Ares

AresBrisbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

worst lawn mower ever

published

Need to restarting it 30-40 times for just 100sqm lawn, too easy to make the engine stop: thick lawn, full catcher, uphill etc. Catcher is tiny and not catching properly, without catcher the blade stucking in every 10metres.
Do not buy it unless you enjoy the fitness for keep pulling starter.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Quincy

QuincyAUBIGNY

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

It's really easy to use

published

First of all, the price of this mower is very cheap, suitable for all kinds of families. For the moment, I have used it for two years. I feel that he is very powerful and saves a lot of energy during the use. I have not encountered any problems, of course, it is indispensable for normal maintenance. I will clean it once a month.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Shaz

Shaz

  • 4 reviews

Great mower

published

The yardking mower is very light and can used by anyone. Its quieter than most mowers and very easy to use and start. The only fault i have is the catcher. It doesn't seem to catch grass properly. I am not sure if it is to do with the catcher being material or mine is not right, so its a little frustrating, however i am otherwise very happy with this mower

Date PurchasedJul 2016
Petrol Lawn Mowers

Find out how Yardking 138CC 4 Stroke compares to other Petrol Lawn Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

bar blades

published

all good and happy until you need a new blade. Bunnings don't keep them. they'll say they do but have had to return 3x types (lawnking and Ryobi) today. the spacing for the 2x keeper notches are either too close or too far apart. i'll dig out the receipt and return it.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
Roofie

RoofieVictoria

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

New from Bunnings, Seized after 5 minutes.

published

It was all going so well, easy to assemble, I put oil in the crankcase "correct amount on dipstick as per instructions", Filled the fuel tank, Started it up and it started first go. Cut like a champ. Ran for 5 minutes and then died, couldn't for the life of me work out why until I saw the front of the mower.
All the brand new oil I'd put in it had blown out of the exhaust and dribbled down the front. I couldn't see it when I was pushing it. Only after inspection when it died did I realise what happened.
I'm guessing poor ring clearance pushed oil past the piston and into the head.
Back to Bunnings this weekend to buy a better known brand.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
Jerry

JerryNewcastle

  • 6 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Great little mower

published

Great little lawn mower. I’m a woman so it’s light and easy to push . Easy to start and fill . Love the catcher how easy it is to detach, empty and reattach . Is a very reasonable price for a lawn mower . Defiantly not disappointed with this one

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Barry

BarrySunshine Coast

  • 12 reviews

Value for small money & small lawns.

published

At under $200 this mower is easy to start with one or two pulls and maneuvers easily around trees etc. Smaller catcher but easy to lift and refit. Only had three uses but can't fault it yet as it gives a very even cut and noise level is below most petrol mowers.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
1 comment
Barry
Barry

Still works as well now 7 months later.

I am Curio

I am Curio

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Rubbish don't waste your time.

published

Got this mower for $199 at Bunnings, thank god they have an easy returns policy!! It doesn't collect many of the clippings as the chute just blocks up, the motor doesn't rev high enough and they make it hard to adjust the throttle witha strange screw type on the adjuster. It surged from the second use and on about the 6th use it died....Going to buy a rover I reckon....

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Daniel H.

Daniel H.asked

Can I purchase a new pull start pulley system for my yard king lawnmower

No answers
Michael W.

Michael W.asked

Werecan i get a fuel caps for a yard king lawnmower

1 answer
KirstyS
KirstyS

When you find that out let me know too!!

Patrick H.

Patrick H.asked

does this mower have height adjustment feature?

2 answers
Franko
Franko

Yes it does have cutting height adjustment.

jeanne
jeanne

Yes it does but it gets stuck as soon as you get a higher place in the lawn it’s gutless hasn’t got the power and stalls

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.