??!
1 photo
Yardking 4-stroke Line Trimmer 883222

Yardking 4-stroke Line Trimmer 883222

2.8 from 20 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

2.8

20 reviews
5
(7)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(8)
  • Build Quality
    2.9 (12)
  • Value for Money
    3.1 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    3.5 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (11)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (11)
  • Safety
    3.7 (11)
Previous
Next
Thomas

ThomasGoulburn Valley, VIC

  • 47 reviews
  • 16 likes
  • Verified purchase

Bang for the dollar

published

Purchased in November 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse Online Store for A$219.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass, Tall grass and Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Sujeet Jena

Sujeet JenaSydney, NSW

Never again YardKing

published

Bought a yard king 4 stroke petrol for $220 from Bunnings. It worked for a year (used only 6 times) died on 14th month, just after warranty period. Took it back to Bunning, they did not want to hear anything as it was after warranty period. Took it to a repair place they checked and told the motor is dead so not worth repairing. Bought with lot of expectation but was very disappointed, never again.

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$220.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers

Pullstarter assembly broken and cannot find replacement parts

published

Got new last year and pull started unit broke without to much force have searched on line and can not find spares for this machine or any generic parts that will fit

Build Quality
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Yardking 4-stroke Line Trimmer 883222 compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Katie

KatiePerth, WA

Pull start broke after 3 uses

published

- Pull start broke third time I used it and I'm a 5'2 Female (No iron man).
- paid cash for it Oct 2019. Manufactured 2018.
-Bunnings would not exchange it as I paid cash and lost the receipt.
- First time I've bought anything from Bunnings with cash and never again.
- Total waste of over $300- I only brought it to clean up the yard at home prior to my dad's funeral, and that is literally all I got out of it!

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$379.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Alab Chapman

Alab ChapmanGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

not happy customer

published

very hard to start. wont keep running properly .would not recommend it to any one,also have yard king mower not much better.would not buy these items again if l could get a refund lwould ,and stick to Victa

Purchased in December 2019 for A$600.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeShort grass
1 comment
Alab Chapman
Alab Chapman

yard king mower And trimer are total rubbish dont buy

bidey

bideySydney, NSW

  • Verified purchase

Appears to be an excellent buy

published

Purchased in March 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$198.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass and Tall grass
See all answers
paully2012

paully2012Murrumbidgee Region, NSW

  • 45 reviews
  • 24 likes
  • Verified purchase

Easy start. Powerful motor

published

Very easy start. Four stroke motor. Long straight shaft gets you under trees without yourself being caught up in the low lying branches. Comes with back strap and side body protector. The head distributes the line easily and it chomps through the grass no effort. A little heavy but thats where the backstrap comes in handy. Great entry level split shaft whipper snipper.

Purchased in January 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$198.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass, Tall grass and Thick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Paul h.

Paul h.

  • 2 reviews

Pull start broke after 2 uses. Cheap plastic interior. Shame.

published

The unit is powerful enough. Reasonably well balanced, quite heavy. Started first time. Easily refueled. Reasonable powerful. Line mechanism is a bit difficult to reload and run out. Reliability is awful. I'm already looking for repairs after 2 uses!

Purchased in May 2018 for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeThick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
John

JohnWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Low quality product. Breaks down fast.

published

Was wonky from the start. Not too heavy for me. Worked fine for a year but some plastic parts were broken from the start. It still worked - it was just too much effort to go back to the shop.
Warranty just ended. And now its busted for good. Made in USA. I should have known.

Purchased in November 2017 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$198.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Yardking 4-stroke Line Trimmer 883222 compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MarkEm

MarkEmMelbourne

  • 23 reviews
  • 11 likes

2 years and still going strong. Heavy compared to a 2 stroke.

published

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse for A$135.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeThick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
1 comment
MarkEm
MarkEm

24-May-2020 - Been using it in cold weather and constantly giving it the beans, just keeps on going.

Greg M.

Greg M.Central Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Wont start

published

Its my first 4 stroke and sounds and runs great very impressed with idle.
I changed out the head straight away to my favourite Joey head you can look them up there great. So you I used it like 8 Times now it wont engage the engine.
So I un screwed the pull start assembly and all the plastic parts are warn out.
Currently trying to find replacement pulley or buy something else.

Purchased in February 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Dave

Dave

  • 3 reviews

Great little machine

published

Bought this as i am totally fed up with 2 strokes. It was cheap and i thought disposable if need be.
To my delight its fantastic. A great Honda copy.

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
Grass TypeThick, heavy grass or weeds
See all answers
Brad J.

Brad J.New South Wales

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Wasted more money!

published

Bought this to replace an aging Ryobi. First 4-stroke whipper snipper I have ever bought....wow....what a mistake. From brand new, it constantly cuts out. If you accelerate too quickly, it stops. It is heavy and gutless compared to a 2-stroke unit. Parts are non-existent and I had to do a special order to get a spare head for it and that meant a 2 month wait (still waiting when I wrote this). Next unit I buy will be a well known 2-stroke!!!!!!

Purchased in October 2018 for A$195.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedOccasionally
Grass TypeShort grass
See all answers
Brendan

BrendanMelbounre

Would not recomend to purchase!

published

This trimmer operates extremely poor and takes many attempts to start before it works. The trimmer is also heavy weight and stressful on the body when you finally get the chance to trim.
I would not recommend anyone purchase this product, as there are other brands that would provide a better quality experience.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Shaun

ShaunGold Coast

Very good copy of the Honda umk425 model great machine would recommend anyone to purchase one of the

published

100 percent perfect

Date PurchasedNov 2018
Petrol Whipper Snippers

Find out how Yardking 4-stroke Line Trimmer 883222 compares to other Petrol Whipper Snippers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark

MarkWollongong

Failed on 2nd use

published

Bought on a Friday,used on Saturday was initially hard to start. Ran Ok but stalled several times. Sunday wouldn't start, eventually got going but would only run at full throttle or stalled.and would take 5 to 10 pulls to start. took back to Bunnings, they argued the point that it was fine. 15 mins of them playing with it, they agreed it was indeed faulty but would not accept it back with any fuel in it. Bunnings would not empty the fuel or help her poor it into her car. Wife had to return home, empty fuel then go back again for the replacement. not tried the replacement as yet.

Date PurchasedSep 2018

Great trimmer

published

Works really well. It's quite powerful but control is easy and don't need to press full throttle to get the job done. I use it on front and backyard, approximatley 400 m2 of yard in total. Changing the line is pretty easy. Very happy with the purchase. Would definitely recommend this trimmer.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Mitch

MitchNewcastle

  • Verified purchase

Worst trimmer i have owned

published

Very hard to start, will not idle properly. Cuts out when using it. Uses alot of fuel. Has high vibration through the shaft. Plastics are cheap. Bought this so i didn't have to mix fuel anymore, but will be getting rid of this and buying something of better quality. Absolute waste of money

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Scottmcs

ScottmcsSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Heavy but works well

published

This cuts really well. I haven't had to stop to retrieve busted chords. Easy to start and runs on any angle. Sounds a bit tinny but I have not yet had any issues. Comes with a carry strap. Being four stroke I no longer have to mix fuel. How much better is that. Great entry level 4 stroke trimmer.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Albinus

AlbinusDarling Downs, QLD

  • 31 reviews
  • 18 likes
  • Verified purchase

Perfect Chinese copy of a Honda UMK425

published
Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Albinus
Albinus

I've been using this unit for a few months now and the only criticism I have is oil control when idle - must be stored carburettor side up or else you have a cloud of blue smoke on startup. Otherwise absolutely brilliant for the price.

Questions & Answers

Britt

Brittasked

Hey everyone where can I get a new head from? My puppy decided that the whipper snipper was a chew toy.

1 answer
Thomas
Thomas

Gday mate this is what I replaced my one with https://www.bunnings.com.au/oregon-gator-speedload-trimmer-head_p0073841 been brilliant

Glenn F.

Glenn F.asked

Can I get starting pawl for the pull start?

No answers
Robert. Dillue

Robert. Dillueasked

Can we buy a lower shaft for the yard king brush cutters

No answers

Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryPetrol Whipper Snippers
Price (RRP) A$198.00
Handle TypeLoop Handle
Shaft TypeSplit and Straight
Power SourcePetrol
Engine Type4-Stroke
Engine Displacement24.5 cc
Cutting Head TypeLine
FeaturesAutomatic Line System and Shoulder Strap
Cutting Width400 mm
Line Diameter2.4 mm
Weight6.5 kg
Noise Level 112 dB
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.