??!
1 photo
Yates Weed 'n' Feed Liquid Hose-on

Yates Weed 'n' Feed Liquid Hose-on

2.5 from 68 reviews

I'd give it zero if I could

Spray attachments and I used 3 different. Water sprays everywhere and no product is expelled.
Rubbish. Don't waste your money on Yates product.

Thousands of litres of wasted water.
More words needed. Don't buy it

Purchased at Bunnings for $15.00.


Great stuff

Took care of all broadleaf weeds and clover in my lawn. Definitely use it again, made a difference to the colour of the lawn as well. My neighbours have used it since seeing the results in my lawn so I am very happy with the results. application is easy by attaching it to your garden hose.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
1 comment
Hi Sam, Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. It is great to hear that you have had such a good result with our product.  If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Kind regards, Yates

instructions on label be helpful

Reading through all the troubles people had with it spraying everywhere when u connect your hose to it, I was in the same boat! Always thought these spray connectors were stuffed, until I read a reply by Yates that mentioned the top flat plate to be removed. I never knew that had to be removed to use.....hence always spraying water everywhere when I connected it. Soon as I popped off the top plate with a knife it worked perfect and spayed out all the product. This is not mentioned on the label at all. Now I know what to do there’s no more going off my head and blaming the product. To save many more people the same fate, I suggest you add that as an instruction cos most people think you just connect the hose and away you go.

Date PurchasedNov 2018

Great product, so simple

Easy to administer, just clip the hose on and water away.
I have been using this product for many years now and it does work.
It leaves my lawn green and kills bindi's clover and other weeds but makes my grass grow better.
I use it on a hot day, then don't water the lawn for about a week afterwards.
It takes a few days for you to notice the weeds dying.
Its quite cheap for what it is and Yates I find to be better and more effective than other brands.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Hi, Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. It is great to hear that you have had such a good result with our product.  It's important to note that the best way to use our products is only as directed on the pack. When these directions are not carefully followed, problems can arise, some without a quick fix. We don't want that to happen. If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Kind regards, Yates

It works! Slowly

After reading the review online I was getting a bit skeptical about the product. However my lawn is infested with bindi weeds and dendalion weed

I tried the granular product to get rid of most dendalion weed but not the bindii , sow thirstle weed. Tried the hose on weed and feed and it got rid of most bindii, wire weed over 2-3 weeks but most of the remaining dendalion, sow thirstle survived. I am trying the second treatment last weekend and will update on progress.

The product is easy to apply and cover large area, reasonable priced too. Not so sure about the “feeding” part of the product, lawn still looks dry and yellow after applied the product unlike the granular weed and feed the lawn turns green after 3 days

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Hi Lorentz, Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. The product can take up to 3 weeks to kill the weeds in your lawn. If there are still some pesky weeds remaining after 3 weeks, you can reapply the product again to give them a further kick. If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Kind regards Yates

Won't come out of bottle

Level in bottle didn't change even after putting bottle down with hose on and walking away for 20mins came back to same amount in the bottle useless waist of time and money. Now at what ratio do I mix it with water so I can use it with a pressure spray pack

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Hello RCI, We are sorry that you have had such a poor result with the nozzle unit! Have you tried contacting our team directly as yet? We could then investigate with you and seek a suitable resolution in a timely manner. We do want to minimise the inconvenience, as much as possible. Our contact details are available here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind regards Yates

Delivery Worked just fine! Not sure about results yet

Just cracked it open today, plugged it in and sprayed, water pressure in my neighborhood isnt great yet the delivery mechanism worked fine or as good as expected, keen to see how well the mix actially works now! Also wondering if more than 1 application is require post the inital spray

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Hi Adan, Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. The product can take up to 3 weeks to kill the weeds in your lawn. If there are still some pesky weeds remaining after 3 weeks, you can reapply the product again to give them a further kick. If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Kind regards Yates

This product is the best and cheapest, it works wonders, those who have had troublle with the nozzle

I Love The Product, the price and it works, make sure to open the end nozzle completely while hose is connected and under pressure

Date PurchasedOct 2004
1 comment
Hi Lawn Nut Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. It is great to hear that you have had such a good result with our product.  If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Kind regards Yates

Fix the nozzle!!

I buy this product and decant it into another spray dispenser bottle so that I can use it. It's very frustrating. The hose inlet spurts water everywhere no matter how many different hose connections I try or how I vary the water pressure. I'm looking around for a product I can self mix into a watering can so that I don't have to buy this product ever again!! How hard is it to design a nozzle / connection that a) dispenses the product and b) doesn't spurt water all over the user.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
Hi David, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that the water has gone everywhere when applying the product. The water should be coming straight from the front of the open nozzle once the hose is turned on. As it sounds like there may be an issue with the applicator, we would like to look into this further for you. If you can please contact our team on the link below, we can then commence an investigation into the issue for you. You can find our contact details here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. Yates

Does not spray

As with many other reviews this product does not work as advertised. Attach a hose and spray, only nothing comes out! I have confirmed that both holes are open and tried different water pressures.

The actual product works, just the delivery method is defective.

How can you sell a product that simply does not work?

Like others will have to break open the bottle and apply by a sprayer.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Hi Sean We are sorry that you had difficulties with getting the product to come out of the bottle. We understand that it can be a frustrating experience. Our team are actively working on improving our packaging and application process. In the meantime, we are available 7 days a week to assist you with applying the product to your lawn as well as looking into your individual case. Our contact details are available here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind regards Yates

Water everywhere. Did the weed and feed do any good?

We did the weed and feed this morning so now will wait 4 weeks to see if this works. Neighbors lawn looks great. By reading the reviews I am not sure if product any good. Could end up with weird summer lawn for playing croquet on and summer bbq time

Date PurchasedSep 2017
1 comment
Hi Sal, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that the water has gone everywhere when applying the product. The water should be coming straight from the front of the open nozzle once the hose is turned on. If this did not occur, please contact us so we can review further. We are always here to assist you with any of our products. You can find our contact details here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. Yates

Fix for nozzle not mixing with hose water

As mentioned in an earlier review, anyone unable to get the weed and feed nozzle working will likely have one or both of the prongs still stuck in the air holes that are meant to be clear to allow the hose spray to distribute the product. Just pull out the offending prong(s) with pliers and away you go.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Hi Paul, Thank you for your review. It is very unusual that the prongs will still be stuck in the two holes at the top of the nozzle after the flat cover has been removed. If you do have batch details we would appreciate to get these details from you so we can provide it to our quality assurance team for review. We are always here to assist you with any of our products. You can find our contact details here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. Yates

Terrible

I couldn't say if the product works because I couldn't get it to come out of the bottle. Will be taking it back and buying a different brand. I followed the instructions and even opened the bottle to check for blockage or poor connection and tried different water pressure but it wouldn't work.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Hi Mary, We are sorry that you had difficulties with getting the product out of the bottle and understand that it can be a frustrating experience. Our team are actively working on improving our packaging and application process. In the meantime, we are available 7 days a week to assist you with applying the product to your lawn as well as looking into your individual case. Our contact details are available here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind regards Yates

It works.

I have been using this for years. It works after a couple of applications. Wish I didn’t get wet using it, but it works and is much cheaper than the sulky man who used to do it. It is quite an effort doing it. Weed and feed works for my three lawns.

Date PurchasedJan 2012
1 comment
Hi Lilac, Thank you for taking the time to review our product. It is great to receive your feedback and to hear of the results obtained from using Yates Weed n Feed on your three lawns over the years. It is, however, concerning that you are getting wet when applying the product and would like to discuss this further with you. Our team are on hand 7 days a week to assist you and can be contacted here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind regards Yates

Weed remover

I sprayed this product over the front area that basically contains a vast number of weeds over 3 weeks ago and I have to agree that it is a VERY slow way to kill weeds. I'm thinking I might have to respray the areas to give it an extra boost. I've noticed only a few weeds slowing dying and that's about it. We'll see. I'm not sure if I'd recommend this product as yet.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Hello there, Thank you for giving our product a go! Yates Weed 'n' Feed Liquid Hose-on should take full effect in around 4 weeks from application; it isn't an instant weedkiller and is only for use against the weeds listed on the label. Our granular Weed 'n' Feed product will give a much quicker result (~48 hours) against most broadleaf weeds in a lawn situation. In either case, as with most selective lawn weedkillers, you should see the best short term results when weeds and lawn are actively growing, so typically around spring and autumn for most lawns across the southern parts of Australia. An actively growing weed will often be more susceptible to the effects of an herbicide, while an actively growing lawn should take up the fertiliser component of either of these products much faster. Please do let us know how you go? There is a range of ways you can get in touch with us; find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. Yates

Yates Weed’n’Feed saved my lawn

When we moved to our new property the lawn was taken over by weeds, it was awful. I immediately spoke to the team at Yates on their FRee live chat service and the said Weed’n’Feed would do the job!
A month later my lawn is looking great. Couldn’t be happier - don’t believe all that you read on here. its an easy to use product that gets the job done. Cheaper than digging up the entire lawn & replacing it.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
Hello Gary, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with our product and LiveChat service, we really appreciate it. Great to hear your lawn has responded so well and we hope to hear from you again soon. Remember there is a range of ways you can get in touch with us, find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Enjoy your healthy lawn! Yates

Works really well! Need to do it twice a year.

We are in an area with some forest, and there are a lot of weeds in our lawn. I use Weed and Feed about twice a year, and it works well. I don't see the weeds turn yellow, but they just stop growing. I spray the entire lawn with one 4L can, and mow the lawn one week later. After that, it's almost weed free for about 4 months and then it starts again.

Date PurchasedMay 2018
1 comment
Hello Boland, Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time and effort you have taken to share your experience. As you point out, there isn’t a need to wait for the weeds to die-off when using this product, just mow as normal from at least 7 days after application. If you are ever seeking advice on any of our products, please don't hesitate to get in touch with our team. Find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Enjoy your weed-free lawn! Yates

Kills everything but the weeds

I question if there has been a change in the formula of Weed’n’Feed as I have used this product in the past without too much stress to the lawn. In late spring last year we used the product.... didn’t connect the dots at that point thinking it was weather problems or we didn’t follow instructions correctly as our lawn died back.
STUPIDLY we tried the product again about 5 weeks ago, to then watch our beautiful green lawn slowly die off.
All we have in our yard now is dead lawn with green patches of weeds. If we step out to our footpath we still have a beautiful lush green lawn as the Weed n Feed wasn’t used there. With winter fast approaching we have little options other than hiring machinery to dig the dead lawn over and buy and lay turf.
KEEP AWAY FROM THIS PRODUCT

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
Hello Leally, We are sorry that you have had such a terrible result after using our product. This is very concerning especially having occurred twice! There definitely are some lawn varieties and conditions which are incompatible with this product, hence our advice to this effect on the label. Have you tried contacting our team directly as yet? We could then investigate with you and seek a suitable resolution as soon as possible. Our contact details are available here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. Yates

Dead Lawn

used the granules and spread it on the lawn as per instruction. left it for two days and watered the lawn. now the lawn is black and dead in patches only. Watering the dead patches hasn't helped and my lawn looks like a mess. Im not happy. I have sent an online complaint to https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
1 comment
Hello Russ, Sorry to hear this, and thank you for making contact with our team. This is a very different product to the one discussed on this page, and while the temporary black staining of the lawn is to be expected, the dead patches (unless they are dead patches of weeds) certainly sound as though something has gone wrong. We look forward to investigating this with you further to find out exactly what has happened and help you get your lawn back to peak condition as soon as possible. Yates

Don't buy it

As for all the earlier reviews, once hose is attached to the bottle, no "weed & feed" comes out. What a waste of my time trying to resolve this to make it work and what a waste of money! I don't understand how this product is still being solved. You say that you are working on the issue - but obviously nothing has changed!!!

Date PurchasedDec 2017
1 comment
Hello Anna, Thank you for taking the time to review our product, and we are sorry to hear of your frustrating experience with the unit you have purchased! We have been working for quite some time on our next packaging update to ensure we 'get it right', so changes are definitely on the way. Have you tried contacting our team directly as yet? We could then investigate this particular case with you and seek a resolution in a timely manner. Our contact details are available here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. Yates

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Hi i have an area of grass approx 40m2 . I have fenced or 6m2 and sprayed with yates weed and feed . Some areas have good grass not much bendis , other areas heaps of bindis . I am pretty sure the grass is cooch . Now I need to know when it is safe to let our 2 choocks on treated area so I can move on? Thanks Petet .
No answers

Does this product contain specifically 2,4-dichlorophenoxyacetic acid (2,4-D), 4-chloro-2-methylphenoxypropionic acid (MCPP), and dicamba? I have dogs and am cautious in using ne2 products. Yates Weed ‘n Feed 4 L spray
1 answer
Hello Sylvia,   Thank you for your question.   Our team are on available 7 days a week to assist you with your product enquiries. For further technical information, please contact our team directly. You can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact   Kind regards Yates

I have a small wifey running weed running thru my buffalo lawn ... how can I treat it?
2 answers
You can buy buffalo lawn weed and feed which will kill other weed within the buffalo grass, I use it and it works well.Hi Ian, Thank you for your question. To provide you with the best solution for your weed problem, we would like to know more about the lawn area and weeds that you are trying to control. Once we have this information we can then tailor our advice to suit your individual needs.  To arrange for this, please contact us directly using the following details: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact.  We look forward to hearing from you soon.  Kind regards Yates

Similar listings