??!
1 photo
Yates Weed 'n' Feed Liquid Hose-on

Yates Weed 'n' Feed Liquid Hose-on

2.5 from 81 reviews

Swap o ring

Just used this product and it sprayed fine although I noticed the o ring was perished so I swapped it with a new one worked great just hoping it kills the weeds

Purchased in June 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $14.99.


sprayed fine

got a few litre bottle from Bunnings, clipped straight onto my hose like it was born to do it, sprayed a dream, only been 2 days so can't speak on it working but seems none of use really want to talk about that and are worrying about wet hands anyways.
providing the weeds dissapear will definitely buy again

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $22.00.

The nozzle leak, product was not coming out. Waste of money

I tried this product more than once and I always have issues while spraying. The last three applications did nothing to the weeds. Avoid this product as it’s waste of money,

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $14.70.

Horrible product

This product is a waste of money, time and especially water. It took 45 minutes for one 2litre bottle to empty. And the other bottle has barely reduced it's liquid after 40 minutes of spraying. The so called help centre only offers to send a new cap but clearly it's a design fault as the cap and internal straw is in tact. I personally don't see how it can scientifically work anyway as the water comes out horizontally but the fluid comes up diagonally with no pump I can't see how it works

Purchased in September 2019 for $25.00.


Useless (would give it 0 star if I cud)

I had used them recently to treat my lawn, didn't do anything, rather killed my lawn (and yes I had the right kind for buffalo grass), it's a complete waste of your money. Stay away.

Purchased in August 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $36.00.


Use Vaseline if hose connection leaking

I had trouble with the connection, with lots of water leaking around the connection to the hose, with resulting insufficient suction such that no product came out of bottle. I had it all the way on. I applied a little Vaseline to the male connector on the bottle and it worked a treat - no leakage, product coming out as required. Likely that the rubber had perished a little.

Purchased in January 2019.

1 comment
Hi TSC, Thank you for your review and feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. O-rings can deteriorate if the product has been sitting around for a while, especially if exposed to direct sunlight. If there is an issue next time, we recommend contacting us as our team can replace o-rings or applicators, if necessary. If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Kind regards, Yates

Awful, won't come out of the bottle.

Been buying this for a few years, but as with many of these hose spray-on type products, if the long straw inside the bottle is dis-connected from the nozzle (under the top cap) you can't get anything out of it by using the hose. Poor design and probably being thrown around during shipping means that the straw often floats free inside the bottle and no longer connects to the top cap, so it will not spray out of the bottle. Good luck removing the cap and trying to grab the loose straw to fix it! Just spent an hour decanting the fluid from the bottle and mixing it with water in a watering can to do my lawn.

And as other reviewers say, it is difficult to get the hose connected to it. It gets loose easily and sprays everywhere. Its not a good design.

Think I'll go back to tossing the granular fertiliser around, and spot spraying weeds, so much easier. These spray-on hose things are not worth the hassle. Great when it functions correctly, a waste of money and time when they won't.


Save your money

Yates Weed 'n' Feed Liquid Hose On (for Buffalo grass) is about as useful as politely asking the weeds to stop growing on your lawn.

This product doesn't weed and does not feed.

Purchased in January 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Awful. Don't bother

Hose connector is a major issue as per all the other reviews. I was covered in it.

Apart from.that, it doesn't work. Sprayed.the lawn as per directions and although.weeds initially died off, they came back with a vengeance, especially the Bindis which is the main reason this.was purchased. Have done.a second application.as we had leftovers but the.bindis seem immune

Purchased in June 2019.

1 comment
Hello Rach, Sorry to hear about your experience. We do understand that sometimes the black lid isn't lifted and can cause the spray to go everywhere. Take a look at this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G8AVgn4J7eUand at 0:42 seconds it shows to open the top nozzle. The weeds will die off, as you've indicated, and you will potentially need a re-treatment if you have used it on quite established weeds that have already had a chance to set seed in your lawn. It can take a few treatments. We're always available online to chat through options and help you get rid of the weeds in your lawn - especially bindii. Thanks from the Team at Yates

Nozzle problems

Like many of you, I had trouble with my connection, until I read these reviews. Now I know to lift the top off the nozzle (I used my car key to life it up) and it works great. You just have to make sure you aren't directionally challenged and spray it over yourself first. Hoping the results are good.

Purchased in July 2019 at Porters Mitre 10 for $18.00.

1 comment
Thank you for your message Linda, Yes its very easy to use, we are creating some video content on how to open the nozzle to help with any confusion on how to use the product. Have a great day.

Worked fine

I had no problem spraying 4 lots of it but I have new snap connectors on the hoses. Have learned to avoid cheap hose fittings as they are not good fits or don't last.

Purchased in May 2019 at Big W for $12.00.

1 comment
Hello Ron Thank you for your feedback and happy to hear that you've had good success with the Yates Weed'n'Feed product. A quality hose is always worth the investment. Appreciate your message and time to feedback. Have a great day, from the Yates Lawn Care team

Piece of rubbish by Yates and sold in Bunnings

I just came back from Bunnings with this garbage Yates product in my hand and forgetting the last horrifying experience I had spraying my lawn. I'm so angry writing this review even before washing my whole body off the weed and feed chemicals. There is no way you can spray the chemical off the container without massively contaminating your whole body, face and eyes. Other than the plastic nozzle leaking so terribly bad the entire container is faulty by design and you will never by able to get the last half of the product out of it.

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $16.00.

4 comments
Hi Mehdi, Thank you for your message, this sounds like there might be damage to the product that could have occurred in store. We would like to investigate this further for you and replace the product. Can you please contact us via this link with pictures https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact we will start the investigation and support you. Thanks The Yates Lawn TeamThe product was not damaged. The nozzle is leaking at its connection point to the hose. The connection is too loose and you have to press the hose against container to stop the leak. This has happened in the last three purchases of this product. Before that, it was working fine but recently (1-2 years) the quality is going down.Just red how many people are frustrated with the nozzle on the container and you are saying my nozzle might have been damaged? How dare you ignore many similar reviews down in my review? fix it or stop selling this garbage.

This stuff sprays easily

After neighbours recommended this product to kill bindiis I gave the liquid hose-on version a go. It’s too early to tell if it works, but neighbours with the same bindi problem swear by it. I see people have posted negative reviews about the spray nozzle not working. Well I can report that the spray nozzle works a treat and consistently creates a strong and even spray that’s dead easy to apply, despite my water pressure being average. I applied 13 x 4L bottles of the stuff which all sprayed consistently and no problems. My garden is huge - not a suburban block. Now to sit back and see if it works!

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for $15.00.

1 comment
Hello Athol, Thank you so much for your feedback and to share your experience. Hope you're enjoying your weed free grass. Have a wonderful day The Yates Team

I'd give it zero if I could

Spray attachments and I used 3 different. Water sprays everywhere and no product is expelled.
Rubbish. Don't waste your money on Yates product.

Thousands of litres of wasted water.
More words needed. Don't buy it

Purchased in March 2019 at Bunnings for $15.00.

1 comment
Hello Mark We can appreciate your frustration and we would love to be able to help. There may have been some damage to the nozzle that we can investigate the cause. Please reach out to us directly about these matters so we can resolve quickly and support you. Thank you From the Yates Garden Care Team.

Great stuff

Took care of all broadleaf weeds and clover in my lawn. Definitely use it again, made a difference to the colour of the lawn as well. My neighbours have used it since seeing the results in my lawn so I am very happy with the results. application is easy by attaching it to your garden hose.

Date PurchasedNov 2018
1 comment
Hi Sam, Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. It is great to hear that you have had such a good result with our product.  If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Kind regards, Yates

instructions on label be helpful

Reading through all the troubles people had with it spraying everywhere when u connect your hose to it, I was in the same boat! Always thought these spray connectors were stuffed, until I read a reply by Yates that mentioned the top flat plate to be removed. I never knew that had to be removed to use.....hence always spraying water everywhere when I connected it. Soon as I popped off the top plate with a knife it worked perfect and spayed out all the product. This is not mentioned on the label at all. Now I know what to do there’s no more going off my head and blaming the product. To save many more people the same fate, I suggest you add that as an instruction cos most people think you just connect the hose and away you go.

Date PurchasedNov 2018

Great product, so simple

Easy to administer, just clip the hose on and water away.
I have been using this product for many years now and it does work.
It leaves my lawn green and kills bindi's clover and other weeds but makes my grass grow better.
I use it on a hot day, then don't water the lawn for about a week afterwards.
It takes a few days for you to notice the weeds dying.
Its quite cheap for what it is and Yates I find to be better and more effective than other brands.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Hi, Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. It is great to hear that you have had such a good result with our product.  It's important to note that the best way to use our products is only as directed on the pack. When these directions are not carefully followed, problems can arise, some without a quick fix. We don't want that to happen. If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Kind regards, Yates

It works! Slowly

After reading the review online I was getting a bit skeptical about the product. However my lawn is infested with bindi weeds and dendalion weed

I tried the granular product to get rid of most dendalion weed but not the bindii , sow thirstle weed. Tried the hose on weed and feed and it got rid of most bindii, wire weed over 2-3 weeks but most of the remaining dendalion, sow thirstle survived. I am trying the second treatment last weekend and will update on progress.

The product is easy to apply and cover large area, reasonable priced too. Not so sure about the “feeding” part of the product, lawn still looks dry and yellow after applied the product unlike the granular weed and feed the lawn turns green after 3 days

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Hi Lorentz, Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. The product can take up to 3 weeks to kill the weeds in your lawn. If there are still some pesky weeds remaining after 3 weeks, you can reapply the product again to give them a further kick. If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Kind regards Yates

Won't come out of bottle

Level in bottle didn't change even after putting bottle down with hose on and walking away for 20mins came back to same amount in the bottle useless waist of time and money. Now at what ratio do I mix it with water so I can use it with a pressure spray pack

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Hello RCI, We are sorry that you have had such a poor result with the nozzle unit! Have you tried contacting our team directly as yet? We could then investigate with you and seek a suitable resolution in a timely manner. We do want to minimise the inconvenience, as much as possible. Our contact details are available here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact We look forward to hearing from you soon. Kind regards Yates

Delivery Worked just fine! Not sure about results yet

Just cracked it open today, plugged it in and sprayed, water pressure in my neighborhood isnt great yet the delivery mechanism worked fine or as good as expected, keen to see how well the mix actially works now! Also wondering if more than 1 application is require post the inital spray

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Hi Adan, Thank you for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. The product can take up to 3 weeks to kill the weeds in your lawn. If there are still some pesky weeds remaining after 3 weeks, you can reapply the product again to give them a further kick. If you would ever like to contact our team directly, you can find out how here: https://www.yates.com.au/about/contact Kind regards Yates

Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

How do I get rid of cape weed
No answers

I’m using the buffalo weed and feed. Have sprayed on lawns but the liquid level in the container hasn’t reduced, is this right?
No answers

What time of the day is best for spraying weed an feed ? Should I give the lawn a light water first or is the hose type good enough
No answers

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.