??!
3 photos
Zodiac VX55 4WD

Zodiac VX55 4WD

3.8 from 61 reviews

Reviews

(25)
(13)
(12)
(6)
(5)
  • Build Quality
    3.5 (11)
  • Value for Money
    2.8 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    3.8 (10)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (11)
  • Pool Size
    • Average (8)
    • Large (7)
  • Noise Level
    4.9 (10)
Yar

YarSydney, NSW

Significant drop in performance after 2 years...

published

4 months after the 3 year warranty, the exact same issues as many other reviewers: Device slows down, operates in reverse; and flips upside down in the pool. Avoid at all costs.

Purchased in December 2016 at Pool and Spa Warehouse for $1,600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Large
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Brazz

BrazzAuckland

  • 2 reviews

Could have designed it better

published

For me, a man, don't need it to return to parapet, don't need remote, never works or not worth the effort, and how about the poor design of the corner of the hood catching on the power lead when you open / close it to clean the filter. Amazing what it finds in the pool, some finds when you clean the easy clean filter.

Purchased for $3,200.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Large
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Brazz

BrazzAuckland

  • 2 reviews

Review after three years

published

Still has no idea where its going next,
Yesterday it skidded on it's back across the whole width of the pool..
It had fallen off the wall onto it's back!!!
I have noticed this several times and wondered how long (like a turtle) it had been cast there...???

Purchased for $30,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Large
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Robotic Pool Cleaners

Find out how Zodiac VX55 4WD compares to other Robotic Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Phil

PhilMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

The worst

published

Error 10 - I’ve lost count how many times I’ve had this. Just too frustrating to give a positive review. I’m beyond accepting a ”I’m sorry to hear about your experience”

Purchased at Narellen Pools for $2,000.00.

Pool Size Large
1 comment
Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac
Barton Cha

Barton ChaSydney, NSW

Can I return it?

published

I bought this VX55 today and found one issue. It seems that I have to take it out every time after I use it. If cleaning job takes 30 minutes, I have use about 20 minutes to put it in the place and get it out and store it somewhere. It is not automatic at all. How can I mange it? Can I return it? I miss auction cleaner now

Purchased in January 2020 for $1,900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
1 comment
Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac

800 hour unit has errors and repaired myself.

published

Purchased in January 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Large
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
1 comment
Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac
Necessity of Choice

Necessity of ChoiceSouth East Queensland, QLD

THE ONLY TOOL FIT FOR THE JOB

published

This pool cleaner is amazingly effective. I have owned it for over 3 years, and yes I had a breakdown under warranty, fixed by the dealer in days. BUT it is amazingly effective at picking up those leathery gum leaves that block a Kreepy as soon as it hits one, and I have plenty of gum leaves !
In addition, with a 12 m pool, the cable length is ideal. This is an electrical appliance working under water then getting baked in the sun, then back in the pool. That the seals remain effective through this treatment year after year is astonishing.
If it packed up tomorrow I'd be buying another.

Pool Size Large
1 comment
Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac

Thank you for your kind words, we welcome all feedback and are always happy to receive a positive product review. Have a great day!

Tony

TonySouth East Queensland, QLD

It could be a perfect cleaner but it is not.

published

I have had this cleaner for 15 months now. There are two things I am unhappy with. The VX55 4WD will not climb and clean the steps. When it moves around the pool on the floor picking up the dirt that the wind has blown in it just blows it all out the back exhaust of the machine making the pool so cloudy you can't see the cleaner in the water at all..I purchased the 100-micron filter insert for extra dollars but does the same blows all the dirt out the back. I then have to wait for all the dirt to settle on the pool floor before we can repeat the mess. For leaves, the cleaner works well. For $1500 this pool cleaner is not fit for purpose.

Purchased in August 2018 for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
1 comment
Zodiac
Fluidra AustraliaZodiac
eric

ericHunter Region, NSW

filter

published

what size microns is the filter cartridge that comes with the standard 55 4wd as the fine dust seems to be blown out the back i have looked at owners manual and it dosent say

Purchased in March 2019 for $1,831.95.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Robotic Pool Cleaners

Find out how Zodiac VX55 4WD compares to other Robotic Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dan

DanPerth, WA

VX 50-stopped working weeks short of warranty expiry.

published

Our cleaner broke weeks short of the expiry of the warranty. We made a claim and promised that someone would be in touch the following week. Zodiac are completely unresponsive

Purchased for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
5 comments
Dan
Dan
Dan
Dan

Update 2: Zodiac called and have now scheduled a Technician to come out on Thursday next week. Will update after this.

Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Dan, We sent you the reference number as confirmation that we were trying to have this actioned asap for you. We passed your details and they called you 2 hours later and booked in your call. Thanks.

Tiger

TigerSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great when it was new but only lasts until it is out of warranty period

published

By reading all the reviews it seems that this cleaner only works well for 3 years. My VX55 was 6 days past warranty period and stopped picking up leaves. Paid $1400 which is a lot of money for something that has a life of 3 years. I am a pensioner and thought this cleaner although expensive would be the last one I had to buy. Would not recommend this cleaner because of its short lifespan. I was told by Zodiac repair centre that the reason it wasn't working was because the cord had been chewed, however, the cleaner was still working at picking up fine debris but not picking up the leaves. It would also tip over on its back and not return to the upright position. I will be looking at some other brand of cleaner as a replacement.

Purchased in October 2016 at Maple Pools for $1,400.00.

Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Large
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Dinnie

DinnieWestern Australia

Very disappointed

published

My Zodiac has been brilliant for three years, and now it’s out of warranty it’s stopped working. As a pensioner, I can’t afford to replace it.
Wasted a lot of money for a product that only lasted three years
Will never recommend Zodiac

Donna

DonnaCentral, SA

  • Verified purchase

Zodiac VX55 4wd. $1990.Purchased Dec 2017. Faulty May 2019. Still not resolved.

published

Zodiac VX55 4wd. $1990. Warranty on machine is not honoured. Customer service is the worst I've experienced to date. It's been 4 months since the unit was reported . It was then dropped off to the service centre on the 19th July and to date I have had no correspondence from zodiac. I emailed Zodiac Australia last Friday and still no response. The machine was purchased Dec 2017.

Purchased in December 2017 at Adelaide Suburban Pool & Spas for $1,900.00.

Pool Size Average
4 comments
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Donna, Please accept our apologies for this delay. Are you able to confirm your details via Inbox on Facebook or an email address so we can follow this up? Thanks.

Donna
Donna
Donna
Donna

I emailed to this address:
apac.aftersales@zodiac.com
But like always....zodiac never reply or acknowledged the correspondence.

Was working a treat and then just stopped. Er 10

published

Was perfect at picking up the leaf litter.
It then just stopped operating . Error 10 was the message.
Worst part is dealing with Zodiac. Very Ordinary customer service. Constantly ringing to organise repair or at least a replacement as I live remotely. Zodiac are extremely slow to respond. Still unresolved. Very different customer service. Zodiac could take some direction from Dyson on customer relations, they could learn a thing or two.
Paid $1990 back in Dec 2017.

Purchased in December 2017 at Suburban Pool and Spas for $1,990.00.

Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
1 comment
Dee Em
Dee Em

I was told that Zodiac would make contact with me today regarding the freighting of my VX55 down for repair. Once again no one has rung. To date it is the worst customer service. It will be a week tomorrow since I contacted Zodiac.

Same old story...

published

I've had the same experience as many have reported here. This is a good cleaner and does a great job....but only for about 18 months. After that the performance goes downhill and now that I've had it for about 2 years its essentially useless. It used to be able to manage the pool steps but has now started turning itself over and being unable to right itself. The automatic lift system stopped working etc. etc. This is not a cheap cleaner and I expected a much longer period of working at peak performance. I have treated it well, kept it clean and in good shape. But I cannot recommend it...particularly now I have to go to the pool shop and buy a new cleaner. Certainly won't be a Zodiac !!

Purchased in April 2017 for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
3 comments
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi, Your VX55 is still in Warranty based on your review date of April 2017. This model has a 3 year warranty. Please let us know if we can contact you and help with this issue. Thanks.

Geo1
Geo1
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi Geo. May I ask that you send us your details, via DM or our Facebook Inbox. We will look into this asap for you and get this sorted. Thanks!

Robotic Pool Cleaners

Find out how Zodiac VX55 4WD compares to other Robotic Pool Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Job well done!

published

The cleaner was very good value. I am surrounded by trees and after I scoop the majority of leaves by hand the robot cleans up the remainder and debris with ease. The basket is simple and easy to clean. Trees are beautiful, but they make a painful mess.

Purchased in January 2019 for $1,349.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Lionel

LionelSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 6 reviews

Excellent pool cleaner

published

Never owned a pool before and sought the best way to maintain with minimal effort.the vx55 fits that bill.added the finer filter and unit does an excellent job keeping the pool clean.does a far better job than the pool filter itself based on the amount of silt and debris accumulated.only negative the top of the unit is already well scratched as it often flips over after cleaning walls and steps.it quickly rights itself.
Small gripe the programed daily cycle seems to cancel itself after around a week.

Purchased in May 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Pool Size Average
Functionality
Small Debris Cleaning
Large Debris Cleaning
Wall and Step Cleaning
See all answers
Mick G

Mick GAU

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Don't waste your money. Mine get's stuck on my pool's bottom step

published

My Zodiac VX55 4WD gets stuck on the bottom step. When it does finally manage to get off it puts itself up there again. Half the cleaning time is spent stuck on the step. This is not what I paid for? This was a $2,000 cleaner and it's pretty much useless. Have underwater GoPro video of it (see the link at the end of this review). Wouldn't recommend this cleaner. I have asked both Zodiac and the retailer for a refund. Zodiac have told me it's not their responsibility to refund I've emailed the retailer and as yet have no reply. Consumer affairs the next step I suppose? https://youtu.be/Btu0S2jpPTg

Date PurchasedNov 2017

the best

published

ive had this cleaner for about 2 years and find it to be the best cleaner i have ever had. ive read some of the bad reviews and cant understand them . was so happey with mine i bought a secound one for my brother who is over the moon with his..

Date PurchasedNov 2016
1 comment
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Thank you Tony! We appreciate your review and taking the time to pass on this Feedback. Happy New Year!

chxzqw

chxzqwSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Disappointed. Brand new product and control box is faulty.

published

I bought this brand new one around 2 weeks ago and now reckon the control box is faulty.

If I change the operating time to 30 min from default one which is 1.35 hour according to other settings, it always goes back to the default value after some time or after every lift operation. The changed value is never got saved properly and is really annoying.

Also the remote controller stops working even I have done lots of sync operations according to the manual. The light keeps flashing and nothing works.

Cleaning job is ok though.

Date PurchasedDec 2018
3 comments
Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi there. Sorry to hear. May I asked if you have called us to get this sorted for you? Thanks.

chxzqw
chxzqw

Hi thanks for your comment. Not yet since it is during holidy time. I am going to take it back to the dealer to have a chat. So btw may I know what is the best number to call if they are not helpful ?

Zodiac
Customer C.Zodiac

Hi, Please give us a call on 1300 763 021. Thanks!

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Ian J.

Ian J.asked

How much does this cost?

2 answers
Brazz
Brazz

I brought the one with the longer lead and the remote, ! It's no worth the extra cost , 3k in nz , might sound to much but I am very happy with the easy clean filter system,. better than any others. Don't believe all the hype about it cleaning the walls,, but it's the only way to clean the pool ! It shows in what comes out in the filter

Ian J.
Ian J.

How much does this product cost in AUD??

Paul S.

Paul S.asked

Hi, I have a vx55 that’s about 3 year old. I seem to have the same problem that others have raised. Originally it was very good but now it seems to run backwards when it should be going forwards and it flips on its back and does a pretty useless job cleaning the pool. Just out of warranty so it’s an expensive and frustrating way to keep the pool clean for a couple of years. Anyone else resolved this kind of problem?

No answers
Nizam K

Nizam Kasked

The wheels on one side are not rotating

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Zodiac representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.