??!
20 photos
A'van Cruiser & Cruiseliner

A'van Cruiser & Cruiseliner

1, 1D, 3C, etc...
3.3 from 46 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    2.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (1)
  • Mileage 4,000 km
  • Interior Build Quality
    2.0 (4)
  • Off-roading Performance
    1.5 (2)
  • Exterior Build Quality
    2.7 (3)
  • Comfort
    2.8 (4)
Previous
Next

Smelly battery

published

We had the problem of the smelly battery, woke one morning and the van was filled with acrid fumes, found the battery under the bed almost melted and sizzling.
Contacted a battery specialist who said it was illegal to put lead acid batteries in an enclosed area, and recommended a AGM battery which we fitted ( very heavy).
No problems since, A-Van denied any liability and refused to re-emburse us for their not fit for use battery, have informed every A-Vanner we see as it could be a life saver.
Not happy A-Van

Purchased in March 2017.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Interior Build Quality
Off-roading Performance
Exterior Build Quality
Comfort
Waiting Long

Waiting Long

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Disgraceful

published

We bought a brand new A-Van Cruiseliner Adventure Plus.
Within days the door handle fell off in our hands. It is secured by very short screws.
A curtain fastener fell off
A screw to hold the gas pipe up underneath the van was missing.
The two vents were warped. From the reviews I see A-van have known about this for years but continue to sell an inferior product.
The Finch HB9000 underbunk air conditioner barely works. It cools the van by one degree. They have known about this issue for at least two years and yet continue to promote a van with air conditioning knowing full well it doesn't work in a Cruiseliner.
A-van keep referring back to the retailer. The retailer keeps referring back to A-van.
It is not integral.

Purchased in November 2019.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Functionality
Interior Build Quality
Comfort
1 comment
Waiting Long
Waiting Long

Some of the screws holding the bubble window on have now fallen off and we have still barely used the van

Squardy

SquardyHunter Region, NSW

Avan cruiseliner Ducted A/C will never work as it should.

published

Purchased in February 2018 at Avan NSW, Morisset for A$28,500.00.

Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
Mileage4,000 km
Car ModelSubaru Outback 5GEN 3.6R
Functionality
Interior Build Quality
Exterior Build Quality
Comfort
See all answers
Caravans

Find out how A'van Cruiser & Cruiseliner compares to other Caravans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
GlennR

GlennRIllawarra, NSW

Van for a quick escape

published

Easy to tow and extremely fast in erection. No canvas and very watertight. Caught in an eastern coast blow in Byron (in my earlier 2003 model) and had to pack up in rain. Didn’t open up van for six weeks expecting mould and a big cleanup but clean as a whistle.

Bought a newer model this year (2013) with a/c heating and microwave.

Very very happy!

Floor PlanDouble with breakfast nook that converts to single
john

johnSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great except for a couple of things

published
Floor PlanAccording to the book C1 model double bed in the back

About the air conditioning and a line cruise liner

published

We purchased a cruiseliner 5 2018 model we have found the air conditioner with the adventure plus pack extremely poor to the point its not worth having it on anyone else had this experience

Floor Plansingle beds floor plan
Sam.L

Sam.L

  • 2 reviews
  • 10 likes

A great compromise - excellent for it's purpose

published
Floor Plan1D

Shoddy finish

published

Sealant looks like an 8 year's old work.
Battery is starting to smell.
Small top vent cracked.
Lock on lugs on jack wheel don't line up.
awning is a nightmare.

Currently three thousands kms from home and all of these issues have surfaced.
We purchased this van second hand but it had not done 900kms so was virtually brand new.

Wonnie80

Wonnie80Gippsland, VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 20 likes

Comment on A'van locks

published
Floor PlanSingle beds - at either end, with tabel in middle
Caravans

Find out how A'van Cruiser & Cruiseliner compares to other Caravans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Terry S.

Terry S.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

After Sales Service Lacking

published

We have a door lock problem with our Cruiseliner . Right from day one the lock was hard to operate,took it back to avan.They said no problem they are all like that.My partner cant operate the lock with the key.It also comes unlocked during transit.After recently having the first $280 service they still refuse to replace this lock. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks Terry

Floor PlanID
Hanno

HannoVictoria, 3977

  • 2 reviews
  • 9 likes

We love it!

published
Fazzle

FazzleBelmont

  • 8 reviews
  • 7 likes

Battery caught on fire

published

Lucky we were not in bed when battery caught on fire, caused a lot of smoke, not confident sleeping in it. Fire brigade put out fire and after 6 weeks GIO Eventually paid up. Not good enough!

BOB

BOBperth

  • 6 reviews
  • 28 likes

Super van but customer service leaves a lot to be desired

published

I had a problem with customer service which they could have fixed no problem but they didn't and the reply I got was very very terse so if I change or upgrade I could well think again

Mary F

Mary F

  • 2 reviews
  • 10 likes

Early problems ...hoping this won't continue

published
2 comments
Mary F
Mary F

Now one of the side roof anchor catches has broken .

Mary F
Mary F

We are now enjoying our van for short breaks away . The ease and speed of pack up is amazing . Fingers crossed for no more issues

Super easy A Van

published

Very satisfied with our second hand cruiseliner. Very reliable, tows beautifully. Perfect for two. Like all holidays preparation is the key. Correct loading, tyre pressures, brake checks and wheel bearing service all done before we left. Reading some of the less flattering reviews reveals more about problems with owners than vans. Cheers.

Caravans

Find out how A'van Cruiser & Cruiseliner compares to other Caravans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mindi

Mindi

  • 2 reviews
  • 14 likes

Avan Campbellfield Super Centre,

published
Liz

LizSydney

Ours is a cruiseliner

published

Love our cruiseliner - only put the awning up if doubtful weather never have used the annex. Our bikes fit in the back of the Prado (seats down) and travel there very happily. We prefer natural campsites so run the fridge on gas and share cooking over campfire BBQ (which fits neatly in the side hatch) and indoors. Love the big front boot. Only reason to upgrade is looking at shower and island bed. It is so easy to tow and will follow the Prado any where we want to go.

Bob of gulf point

Bob of gulf pointMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 14 reviews
  • 14 likes

Gave up too hard

published

In the end too small alone and too hard to put the annex up. Traded on a 16 foot pop top Jayco. Will report. The A-van dealer was hopelessly unhelpful so went Jayco. Sorry. I meant she was a miserable cow.

replacing the battery

published

Great van. Only issue after 1 month with our 2nd hand cruiseline is the deep cell battery went flat. Awful smell, not the fault of the van. The issue we have is trying to get the battery out from the back corner under the bed! How? Any suggestions?

1 comment
Awesome
Awesome

Problem solved. Undo the gas struts that lift the bed. Lift the bed higher and prop it up.

ok but not suited to my life style.

published

liked it for its light weight and easy to tow with my 2010 mazda bt 50 very easy to put up and down .it did not like rough roads or dusty roads and the seal on the door kept coming unstuck .the fridge and microwave do not work anymore and the replacement cost was expensive.Had a blow out which ripped off mud guard ,stability of van was excellent after blow out.sold van for good price.I plan to buy off road version.

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Clint T.

Clint T.asked

Cruiseliner 2B

2005 Aliner. Our first week away in has just ended.
During very windy conditions on the 3rd night, there was a loud vibrating noise coming from the apex of the roof, where both panels meet. It sounded like somebody blowing a mouth organ. We had the awning attached, and the noise was close to the area where the canvas velcroes to the van roof. I replaced the velcroe that runs parrallel to the side before we left. Is there something I missed, or is there a seal needed between the 2 meeting aluminium extrusions at the roof apex? My camper has no seal at that point, and I assumed it is a feature to allow the camper to breath. During the torrential rain we have no leaks at all, but found the buzzing, vibrating noise very annoying. Thanks in advance, Clint. (New Aliner Owner )

2 answers
actionplayer
actionplayer

Hi, there is a 12mm foam 2.1mt long that is on the inside lip of the front roof and seals up against the black D-rubber that is on the top of the back roof when the 2 roofs are up and locked in. If that foam is not there then i would be checking all the other foam like 18mm on the sides of the back roof and both A-walls, 25mm foam on the sides of the front roof and the 6mm foam on the top of the side walls were A-walls hinge from. I replace that foam on avans about every 2nd day. regards brett.

Clint T.
Clint T.

Thanks Brett. Very helpfull. I’ll be at the hardware store this weekend stocking up on foam seals.

Julie

Julieasked

Cruiser & Cruiseliner

What can I do to make aircon work better in 2018 Cruiseliner?

5 answers
Trekkiedave
Trekkiedave

You can’t, the unit isn’t powerful enough to effectively cool the van.. sorry

Waiting Long
Waiting Long

Hi Julie,
Ours NEVER worked and we proved it only cooled by one Degree C i.e it doesn't cool !. A'Van under the son of the founding members will delay very effectively in trying to remedy the situation.
Put everything in writing to A'Van as you may still have a Warranty.
You also have the option to take them to Consumer Affairs which you can do yourself without lawyers. They haven't got a leg to stand on if you get an experts report which they should provide FOC under Warranty. They know they have an inferior product but won't do anything about it.
https://www.productreview.com.au/listings/a-van-cruiseliner
The A/C in ours (and no doubt yours) is a Finch product. There is no phone number for Finch in Australia. Your emails to Finch won't be answered unless they think there is a potential sale. The rumour is there is some connection between Finch and A'van. It is Chinese made and imported by a company you will be unsuccessful at contacting.
The A/C doesn't work as the cooling vents come out at hip level; cold air drops to the floor and is then sucked in through the floor vent back into the A/C system. Air Cons. need to drop from above and that is not how they have set it up. There may be too many bends in the ducting though if you straighten the bends out and drop the air from above, it still doesn't cool to industry accepted standards i.e. at least 10 Degrees C cooler. That would suggest the Finch unit is under powered.
A'Van know this but won't want anything to do with you. The Retailer who sold it to you cannot refer you to the manufacturer and are supposed to remedy the situation. Good luck!
Go to consumer affairs and you will find both the Retailer and Manufacturer won't be able to defend themselves.
P.S. A portable air con of about 3.5W placed on top of the set of drawers and blowing air upwards works well.
Best of luck

Julie
Julie

Thank you for such a comprehensive reply. I will take your advice and go to Consumer Affairs.

Kate E

Kate Easked

Cruiser & Cruiseliner

Hi. Just bought a 2004 Aliner. No solar. Total novice. I’m wondering how you charge the battery as I’ve heard it doesn’t charge while we are driving. And I can’t connect it the mains at home. How does this work? Thank you for reading. Kate

4 answers
Trekkiedave
Trekkiedave

Do you have a lead from the caravan with a grey Anderson plug on it? Should have just a red and black cable.
This separate to the plug with the lights/indicators on it?
This plugs into a 12v from your car’s electric system and charges the battery on the move.
Hope this helps.

Tonyc
Tonyc

You can also attach your portable solar panels direct to battery through the Anderson plug on your van - at the front next to your power switched lights etc

Tonyc
Tonyc

You can connect to 240 volt mains power at home or Showgrounds etc u need carry amphibian converter that goes from 15-10 amps

Get an answer from our members and A'van representatives

Details

Compare all 7 A'van Cruiser & Cruiseliner
A'van Cruiseliner 3

A'van Cruiseliner 3

No reviews yet
CategoryCaravansCaravansCaravansCaravans
Sleeping Capacity2 people3 people2 people3 people
Tare Weight895 kg895 kg895 kg895 kg
Travel Length5.18 m5.18 m5.18 m5.18 m
Dimensions 2440 x 2075 x 3615 mm2440 x 2075 x 3615 mm2440 x 2075 x 3615 mm2440 x 2075 x 3615 mm
Main Bed SizeDoubleSingleDoubleDouble
Exterior Features240V Power Point240V Power Point240V Power Point240V Power Point
Interior FeaturesAir ConditioningAir ConditioningAir ConditioningAir Conditioning
Kitchen InclusionsCooktop and FridgeCooktop and FridgeCooktop and FridgeCooktop and Fridge
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Release dateSep 2007Sep 2007Sep 2007Sep 2007
Compare all 7 A'van Cruiser & Cruiseliner

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.