??!

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
193
4 star
79
3 star
41
2 star
89
1 star
749

Insurance Premium Theft !!!

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Jon

JonCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

Loyal customer charged $30 fee to cancel

published

Hi guys, having been a loyal customer for over 10 years I recently sold a car and rang to cancel the insurance only to be told there is a $30 cancelation fee!! What a joke, also after purchasing a new vehicle AAMI quoted $400 more than two other quotes I received. Please shop around you will be surprised!

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelFord Courier PH (2004-2006)
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Liss

LissSeaford

  • 3 reviews

INCOMPETENT

published

Had an accident paid the excess 2 weeks ago then received a letter saying we had not paid it We asked for a receipt from AAMI when we paid it, which never CAME!. Told first guy [name removed] we had paid it. Made us feel like liers. Got the receipt number from the bank. Rang back with receipt number and again made to feel like we were lying. WELL IT TURNS OUT.... that THEY WERE INCORRECT.... WE DID PAY IT... In their stupidity they paid the $650 to our insurance policy not the excess. WE WANT AN APOLOGY... No we are not lucky we are with AAMI and very soon will not be!!!!!

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Omer

Omermelbourne

  • 2 reviews

Never Never Never Aami Please Stay Away

published

Please do not use AAMI, They do not allow you take your car to your preferred mechanic. They will forward your car to cheap mechanics which do really cheap job.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

MrDeeds

MrDeedsGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Up Ship Creek

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelHolden Crewman VZ (2004-2007)
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Mark S

Mark SSydney

  • 16 reviews

Fantastic

published

I've been with AAMI for some 20 years now (different cars in that time). I've had 2 at fault accidents, 1 not at fault accident and two hail claims. AAMI has always come though for me and never disputed the claims.

Whilst AAMI's handling of the claims wasn't perfect, over all it was very good and wound't feel right taking a star away for it.

I have no problems recommending AAMI.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Chetan

ChetanSouth East Queensland, QLD

Terrible !!!

published

Worst !!!!!!!!!!!
Called them several times in past few days. Communication error within their team. Different answer from different people and some people had no idea even after reading notes in account and they keep giving different information. As i got promised yesterday and again this morning after i spoke to different department that accesor will definitely call me today. No call from anyone. When called again today got told no guarantee for timeframe from accesor as its still under review.

Just took my 2nd car policy with them yesterday but definitely will cancel it.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

RichardP

RichardPGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Competitive pricing and good claims handling

published

I am not loyal to any insurance company and always get 3 quotes each year.
We have three polices with AAMI giving us a multi policy discount. The renewals for our two cars from AAMI came in second cheapest. We decided to renew with AAMI because we had 3 not at fault claims in the last two years and each time AAMI handled the process very well.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelFord Mondeo MA
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateOctober 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Surfaone

SurfaoneSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews

Recommended insurer

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJuly 2016
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
K Mc

K McPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews

Customer Null and Void Once Vehicle Written Off

published

Have been with AAMI for quite a number of years. Had a vehicle accident no fault of mine. After nearly 2 weeks I was eventually informed the vehicle was a write off. Now the fun begins. The years insurance that has just been paid is now NULL AND VOID a loss of some hundreds of dollars. Was NOT informed to remove all personal items from vehicle so I now have to travel 1 hour away to get my items at a further cost to myself. Have to also travel some 3/4 hour away to hand the hire car back with no offer of even an UBER to get me home. Basically if your car is a write off, so it would appear is the customer. NEVER AGAIN

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Caroline

CarolineGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Customer Service and communication regarding claim progress is lacking

published

Had an accident on November 13th ( not at fault)
Car was hit and 3 child restraints need replacement. Now 22nd November and no further on having these replaced. Sent requested information on 15th November and was told I would have an answer within 3 business days. Called again to follow up and passed around one department to another. Promised a call back today which hasnt happened. 9 days after an accident with no resolve for this.
Currently looking at changing insurance companies after being with AAMI for a long time.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelNissan Pathfinder R52
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Shane

Shane

  • 3 reviews

Fantastic response to our car accident

published

A young guy reversed into our car and damaged the front badly. We contacted AAMI expecting an issue as we had no proof and could have been accused of us causing a rear end. They were fantastic to action repairs immediately with no excess charged. Very pleasantly surprise with loads of updates and info on status of claim and repairs.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Car ModelToyota Kluger GSU50R Grande
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Sean

SeanSydney, NSW

Impressed with AAMI's handling of a claim

published

I completed an exhaustive analysis on which insurerer to go with. AAMI were mid table on premium alone, 20% more expensive than the cheapest. The main reason I paid a premium to go with AAMI was their reputation for paying out on valid claims. Within two weeks of having my insurance I was side swiped by a truck. Within an hour of the accident, and my confirmation of the driver at fault, AAMI had covered my claim, and had booked my car in to get assessed the next morning! This reduced the stress of a collision considerably. I recieved my car back, repairs were first class on my metallic paint Mercedes-Benz.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelMercedes-Benz E-Class E250 CDI W212
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

S G

S GGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews

Poor policy

published

AAMI will charge your excess in advance regardless of who is at fault in contrary to all other insurance companies. They will be reluctant to investigate who is at fault because obviously they changed you the excess already, so why bother.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Erle W.

Erle W.Far North Queensland, QLD

Can't do enough for you!

published

I have been insured by AAMI for around 20 years and had a few claims, not all my fault, but had 2 write offs due to flood damage. No questions, just fixed and paid out. They may not have been always as quick as I would have liked, but there were no problems, all fixed. The preferred window repairer shafted me, so I will not go near O'Brien's again, but AAMI deserves five stars. Looking at other reviews, there are 2 sides to every story, but AAMI has always been great for communication and support.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Hein

Hein

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Bad service

published

My wife car was damaged while she went in to get a coffee when we took the car in to AAMI they repaired some of the damage but left scratches on bumper bar
Sorry that is not our problem you will need to put in another claim
The car is only new what a redicilous attitude I am going to insure somewhere else
The panelbeater offered to fix for free but this is not the right attitude you are insured for a accident not half the car

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Car ModelMitsubishi Triton
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Worst insurance company

published

My car was subject to hail damage. AAMI wrote off the car and did not inform me. This meant that I was driving an un-roadworthy car for an entire month. It was not until VicRoads called me did I receive my formal notice.

To kick me while I was done they also held me accountable for the remaining 9 months of my insurance policy despite the fact that I no longer had a care nor was I able to transfer the policy over to another vehicle.

I was with AAMI for 5 years and the first claim I make they stab me in the back.

I would never recommend the company to anyone else.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelSubaru Liberty 6GEN 2.5i
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2019
See all answers

Kudzi G.

Kudzi G.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Difficult to get documents requested

published

I have been requesting for receipts for the payment I made for my insurance for more than a week and the answer I am told is they have to request from the back office.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelHolden Astra
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Allen

AllenGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Has a Positive experience

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelToyota Aurion
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Irresponsible, negligent and careless in injured person assistance.

published

13 Month and no proper care or assistance given. Settlement is a 1/3 of what is a pain and suffering for month, value. Vist this site: https://finance.nine.com.au/personal-finance/aami-bill-ad-natalie-tran/271c5502-bb23-457c-8e46-0d1c22357f72
and the story goes on with AAMI

Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateOctober 2018
Claim ApprovedNo

Page 1 of 58

Questions & Answers

jay shankhar

jay shankharasked

the car is my name where as my wife is the main driver, can i insure the car in her name please

2 answers
S G
S G

You can insure the car while including her as the main driver. However, it is still your car and the insurance will pay you if something happened to your car.

fred f
fred f

Ask AAMI


abed

abedasked

I had an accident with one of your customers smash my care from the back ..... now he gave me the insurance policy number what to do ??????????? i need to repair my car???

2 answers
fred f
fred f

Ask AAMI

john smith
john smith

i havent got any customers


Kelly H.

Kelly H.asked

I put my son on my policy on sunday he smased it on monday rang but said hes not on the policy untill the new policy swaps over on tuesday do i now owe them 12months insurece when he was surposed to be on the policy start away

1 answer
george murray
george murray

Pick up the phone & call the insurance company & ask them the question. Its the way you are going to get the correct answer


Get an answer from our members and AAMI representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.