??!

How to compare car insurance to find the best policy for you

With so many car insurance providers and policies on the market, dipping into the policy pool can be confusing. Use this guide for tips on how to find the car insurance that's ideal for you.

Read now

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    1.9 (208)
  • Customer Service
    1.9 (205)
  • Timeliness
    2.0 (135)
  • Job Satisfaction
    2.0 (90)
  • Transparency
    1.9 (170)
  • Claim Resolution Time3+ months (38), 1-2 weeks (23), 1-2 months (21), 2-4 weeks (19) and <1 week (16)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (80) · No (38)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Yanara

YanaraSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

The worst insurance company

published

I was insured with AAMI about 4 months. I got an email saying my policy has been canceled due to an overdue payment that somehow wasn’t debited from my bank account over a month. I’ve read many reviews here and people are getting the same problem. Never received any bill not even a call from anyone from AAMI. I called them and was informed that I had to start another policy and the price would be higher. You guys don’t give a damn to your costumers. You guys think that canceling people’s policy is gonna make them get another policy, you wrong! I feel I’ve been robbed over these 04 months of insurance! I decided to don’t getting another policy, I’m getting from someone else. Take care.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelBMW 2 Series Convertible
See all answers
MDC

MDCSouthwest, VIC

Pathetic

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMercedes-Benz R-Class W251
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
alex c.

alex c.Victoria

Disappointed with their service

published

We bought 3 policies with AAMI,but so far I couldn't access to the AAMI club and everyday saving account,communicated with them quite a few times,email not responsed,the problem is there,very disappointed with their services

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brendan

BrendanCentral West, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Do not get roadside assist if so go with RACQ

published

They don't offer roadside assist even though I payed the extra . I'm ropable . Pay the extra and go with RACQ. I've learnt a valuable lesson. Lucky my missus had RACQ they sent out roadside assistance for breakdown then towed us 140km home unlike AAMI who were only going to tow us 20km or to the nearest mechanic. I know darned well who I'll pick for my insurer next time and it won't be AAMI. Rip off merchants and fraudsters saying they do roadside assist . What a joke!!!! If I could get a refund I'd go with RACQ . (For Qld customers). POLICY MEANS NOTHING.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelToyota LandCruiser 100
See all answers
Sue

SueSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Still have to pay insurance policy even when car written off

published

Car insured with AAMI for 5 years. Car in accident and written off. When accessing the claim amount they deducted the remaining 4 months insurance for a car that doesn't exist. Are you serious. Sure charge a cancellation fee but don't charge all the remaining insurance for a car that is gone to the Car Gods.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Compulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota HiLux
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Max B.

Max B.South East Queensland, QLD

AAMI do not honour their PDS

published

AAMI have denied my insurance claim based on an irrelevant exclusion in their PDS. According to AAMI, they do not cover a stolen car claim if the car was for sale at the time it was stolen! This is contrary to their PDS (which logically excludes cover AFTER the car has been sold) and should go as a fair warning to anyone considering AAMI as an insurer. They have been slow to acknowledge and process the clam and continue to draw it out as long as possible. I am now being forced to go to AFCA for a fair outcome.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelVolkswagen Golf
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Good Experience

published

Have 2 comprehensive vehicle insurance policies with AAMI, made a claim this year for minor damage caused by another vehicle whose details i had. I found the claim process quick and painless l did refuse to accept their 1st preference repairer and was escalated to a manager where i argued for another repairer l was familiar with for good work who was also a registered AAMI repairer but not promoted by AAMI. I had a hire car arranged and taxi to/from repairer. Based on my experience and I'm not someone who tolerates bad service I couldn't fault my experience and would recommend.
Only downside is their premiums increase by double digit % annually however if you call their c/s agent does have authority to reduce by 3%-5%.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMazda 2
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Bej

Bejbrisbane

  • 2 reviews

AAMI does not

published

No value for money ,they have worked hard not to help.AAMI like to hide key information in the back pages. I do not trust them and will not use them again.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Courtney

CourtneyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Aami Left us for Dead! Zero care for human beings.

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelSubaru Outback
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stephanie

StephanieSouth East Queensland, QLD

Can't believe I did not cancel them the first time.

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelToyota RAV4
See all answers
Charlie N.

Charlie N.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Terrible services

published

I bought a new policy over the phone and the women made not one but two mistakes. She entered my email wrong so I couldn't receive my documents so I have to call them again. She also entered my DOB wrong, I said 1992 but she entered 1982, I could not understand how the 9 sounds to be 8??? And then I have to pay $40 to just change my DOB on the policy which I only receive after I made a payment, they refuse to send a quote before I made a payment over the phone. Another woman called Stephanie just explained to me she listened to the call from her side couple of times and she confirmed I said 8, not 9, and refuse to let me hear the call. Such ridiculous. I will change to another provider after my policy expires with AAMI>

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeThird Party, Fire and Theft
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelToyota Camry
See all answers
V Kim

V KimSouth East Queensland, QLD

Worst experience Ive ever had

published

The service I received and the entire duration of the claim was so bad I ended up selling my car, I couldnt stand it any more because they ruined it.
I was rear ended in sep 2019 and it took them 6 months to get my car repaired and back to me in a safe, drive-able condition. They were horrid to deal with and I went through about 6 different people during my claim.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
See all answers
shamsuddin

shamsuddinCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

poor and lazy service

published

very terrible and poor service of aami car insurance.. My care was stolen two month ago..... still claim has not resolved yet. I dont know what they want to prove. I have been suffering without a car. but they dont have feeling of any suffering ..
whenever i called them , they have only one answer.. the claim in in process with the investigation. although, they have debited basic premium on the 1st day of claim...

poor service ..

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelKia Sorento AWD Diesel
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Corner cutting repairs (WHISTLEBLOWER INFO)

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Claudia Morgan

Claudia MorganSydney, NSW

Not lucky to be with AAMI

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota RAV4 XA40 AWD 2.2L Turbo-Diesel Cruiser
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how AAMI Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
D smitty

D smittySouth East Queensland, QLD

Muckup on their end this time.

published

Been with AAMI for 7 months now, never had an issue with my payments. There's always been money in the bank, for them to deduct the payments automatically. Wokeup this morning to an email, the payments been declined for insufficient funds LOL. Checked my bank money still in it, so had to manually process the payment through. If it wasn't AAMI fault, then I apologize. Only leaves one culprit then, Westpacs been messing around with my pennies ...tsk tsk tsk.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive, Compulsory Third Party, Third Party Property Damage and Third Party, Fire and Theft
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelJeep Cherokee KK
See all answers
Hosan

HosanGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Not repairing my car,it’s more than 3 weeks,no more longer better service,go somewhere else,0422283475

published

Not repairing my car,paid access already,will complain relevant authorities,for unfair trading,I will also complain to disputes resolution team,then court remedies,may be they refuse 50% claim,that’s there profit,there advertising and product description not matching

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelFord Falcon BA
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateSeptember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Kamal Sharma

Kamal SharmaSydney, NSW

Worst Service ever.

published

Don't go for it. Its a scam. Only taking your money for apologies no Service ever. Worst customer Service n worst Assistance. Worst worst Service ever. Customer Service dosen't have any solution

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelMazda 6
See all answers

You don't get what you pay for.

published

I have been with AAMI for 8 years and their staff are all very sympathetic and friendly but you get passed from one operator to the next who often tell you that it is not their department. Most correspondence is verbal (even though I asked for it in writing, so there could be no confusion). My car was written off at no fault of my own and I am still greatly out of pocket. I will not be insuring with them again.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateOctober 2020
See all answers
Kathleen S.

Kathleen S.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 2 reviews

SEXIST PREMIUM If you remove a man from your policy your premium GOES UP!

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Compulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Page 1 of 63

Questions & Answers

Wendy0707

Wendy0707asked

Car Insurance - Comprehensive

How do you decide who is at fault for collision

2 answers
Fiona
Fiona

It goes by the road laws. For example, if the other person was supposed to give way and you were already in the intersection, then the other person is at fault.

Angelito
Angelito

Hi Wendy! Well it depends if you think fault of the other party, of course they will fight for you but it needs justification. Proof thanks

Jase J.

Jase J.asked

Car Insurance

Why is my claim review taking so long I am homless and live out the car I suffer a neurological disease that causes me to stutter AAMI thought they put the call on hold but took it off for me to hear them picking on my stutter saying nnnnooooo moooonnnnneeeyyyy fffffooooorrrrr hhhhimmmm I have contacted 2gb and am contacting channel 9 I just wanted to hurt myself after hearing the mocking and have only just been released from hospital

No answers
jay shankhar

jay shankharasked

Car Insurance

the car is my name where as my wife is the main driver, can i insure the car in her name please

2 answers
S G
S G

You can insure the car while including her as the main driver. However, it is still your car and the insurance will pay you if something happened to your car.

Fired Up
Fired Up

Ask AAMI

Get an answer from our members and AAMI representatives

Details

Underwritten by the Suncorp Network, AAMI offers four car insurance policies: CTP green slip for NSW, ACT and SA, Comprehensive, Third Party Property Damage Only, and Fire, Theft and Third Party Property Damage.

Points of praise for AAMI:

  • AAMI's top score was given for its timeliness in responding to claims.
  • Friendly and personable customer service was appreciated. Two customers reported AAMI ‘going above and beyond’ by helping them generously during times of financial hardship.
  • Multiple reviewers reported that AAMI offered to organise Ubers from the repairer to and from their homes. Others enjoyed a smooth and hassle-free experience when making claims, with quick response times from AAMI.

Pain points with AAMI:

  • AAMI’s chosen repairers and roadside-assist contractors were thought to be low quality
  • Premiums increasing considerably even with no claims being made (this increase in premiums appeared to also apply to customers who had taken out multiple policies with AAMI, e.g. home and contents insurance along with car insurance).
Compare all 4 AAMI Car Insurance
CategoryRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Business, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and TravelBusiness, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and TravelBusiness, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and TravelBusiness, Health, Home and Contents, Income, Landlord, Life, Motorcycle, Pet and Travel
Coverage TypeCompulsory Third Party (CTP Green Slip)ComprehensiveThird Party Property DamageThird Party, Fire and Theft
UnderwriterAAIAAIAAIAAI
Legal Liability Cover Not IncludedIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 million
Roadside Assistance Not OfferedOptional ExtraNot OfferedNot Offered
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverNot OfferedZero Excess Optional ExtraNot OfferedNot Offered
Choice of RepairerNot ApplicableNot AllowedNot AllowedNot Allowed
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Not Applicable

Included, up to $90 per day for unlimited days - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location. Benefit ceases when:

  • your car is returned undamaged;
  • your car is repaired and returned to you;
  • your claim is settled

Not Included

Not Included

Emergency Transport & AccommodationNot ApplicableIncluded up to $250 per claim for Transport costs, and up to $1,000 for Emergency Accomodation if you are more than 100km from home (combined with Emergency Repairs and Personal Property)Reasonable taxi costs included for up to 2 journeys (applies to 'Damage by uninsured drivers' claims only)Reasonable taxi costs included for up to 2 journeys
Towing Costs Not ApplicableIncludedIncluded (only for a claim made under 'Damage by uninsured drivers'Included
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Not Applicable

Included - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location. Benefit ceases when:

  • your car is repaired and returned to you; or
  • your claim is settled

Not Included

Not Included

Essential / Emergency RepairsNot ApplicableIncluded (combined with Emergency Accomodation & Personal Property), up to $1,000 per incidentNot IncludedNot Included
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot ApplicableNot OfferedNot OfferedNot Offered
Hire Car after Theft

Not Applicable

Included up to 21 days - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location

Not Included

Included up to 21 days - must use car by AAMI provider if available and within a reasonable distance of your location

Lock and Key ReplacementNot ApplicableNot IncludedNot IncludedIncluded up to $1,000
Transit Cover Not ApplicableNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Trailer & Caravan CoverNot ApplicableTwo-Wheel Trailer Cover included up to $1,000Not IncludedNot Included
Child Safety Seats and PramsNot ApplicableIncluded up to $500 per claimNot IncludedNot Included
New-for-old Car Replacement

Not Applicable

Included, if you are the first registered owner of the car and it is less than 2 years old

Not Included

Not Included

Personal Property CoverNot ApplicableIncluded up to $1,000 (combined with Emergency Accomodation and Repairs)Not IncludedIncluded up to $500 (does not include cash, tools and items use for business or trade)
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not ApplicableNot ApplicableIncluded up to $5,000Included up to $5,000
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
FireNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedIncluded
CollisionNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Natural EventsNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Theft or Attempted TheftNot ApplicableIncludedNot IncludedIncluded
Compare all 4 AAMI Car Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.