??!

Reviews

(227)
(27)
(7)
(12)
(184)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (29)
  • Customer Service
    3.1 (28)
  • Timeliness
    3.0 (6)
  • Job Satisfaction
    3.7 (3)
  • Transparency
    2.8 (19)

Staff not listening

published

Staff member didnt listen (Asheika)
Her actions have caused a major problem
Cant pick up hire care or drop car into repairers as now dont have anyone to help
Booked in car for the wrong day
Didnt send sms for address of hire car company
I have neck and head injuries due to accident and its making it difficult to do things and this has push my stress levels thru the roof
I understand we are all going thru issues but please just listen to your customers

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money

Terrible phone support

published

It's like poking myself in the eye with a toothpick. Ever since they moved the call centre overseas, real insurance has sadly become real annoying. I organised car insurance and the payment for some reason didn't go through. No one bothered to tell me. I've been driving around uninsured. What was once a promising company has become a totally inept institution of 3rd world moronity.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Adzy H

Adzy HKambah 2902, ACT

  • 5 reviews

Charge you extra to help you on the phone

published

I called real car insurance today to help as the website would not let me log in and got told by the operator that my premium would go up because she is helping me over the phone. What a absolute joke you guys are. Im already paying for a service and you want to charge me to talk to someone on the phone.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Real Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Eric K.

Eric K.Sydney, NSW

This is the worst car insurance I have ever had.

published

I cancelled my car insurance policy last December before renew automatically but they renew it and delayed refund my payment even though call them, email them till now 2th Feb

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2015
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
2 comments
Eric K.
Eric K.
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance

Hi Eric, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear you've had an unpleasant experience with us. Please send us a private message with your policy details and we will forward them onto a Service Manager who will be in touch shortly.

Fantastic service

published

Have lodged claims 3 times in 16 mths 2 not my fault .Each time service ,repairs were organised quickly and profesionally .Cannot fault this car insurance company .Price wise was better than coles insurance. Would recomend to anyone .I'm in melbourne .So can only speakk for here.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
See all answers
Seven Weekmore

Seven WeekmoreSouth East Queensland, QLD

8 weeks and counting...

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateOctober 2019
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance
jld

jldGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews

Horrible experience

published

It was a terrible experience, nobody bothered to read over 20 emails from me. I had to take it to the AFCA to even get a response from the insurance company.
The repair company took my car for a week, forgot to do half the repairs, and i had to take it back the next day all over again!
Nearly 3 months to even process the claim, then 2 weeks without a car.
I cant wait to no longer be with real insurance.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
AbbeyR

AbbeyRSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great service so far

published

I have only been with real insurance for a short time but when someone hit my car and I had to lodge a claim with them they were great to deal with. Very friendly and straight forward and since it was the first time I've ever been in an accident I was unsure regarding the process and what to do and they were really helpful and willing to explain the process. The panel beater wasn't overly close that they said I had to use however the service from them was great and they had my car fixed back to new within a few weeks after the accident. So far very happy!

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelMitsubishi Outlander
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance

Good Afternoon Abbey,
We are pleased to hear you were provided with great service and you got your car back in a reasonable time! Thank you for trusting Real Insurance with your insurance. -Angela

Jayjay

JayjaySydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Paying by the Month? Insurance Buyer Beware

published
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance

Hi Jayjay, Please private message your claim number and I will get a claims consultant to contact you to explain the process. - Angela

Car Insurance

Find out how Real Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Greg M

Greg MMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great Company

published

The policy I got was of good value, even changing policies was no hassle.
When lodging my claim it only took a couple of days before I received an email telling me that my claim was approved and that the excess has been waived.
I have been with Real Insurance for at least 5 or more years now and when I relocated to the country my pay by the month policy went down by half.
Didn't require roadside assistance.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Timeliness
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelHolden Commodore VZ
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance

Good Morning Greg. Thank you for your positive review. We look forward to providing you with great service for many years to come. - Angela

Winter7

Winter7AU

  • 23 reviews
  • 1 like

They're underwritten by Hollard- a bunch of clowns

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMay 2019
See all answers
2 comments
Winter7
Winter7

Still no confirmation from Hollard/Real that our claim has been withdrawn. Have been on hold for 25min chasing it up but have to go to work (and several meetings).

Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance

Hi Winter,
I have been advised that our claims department has already been in contact with you last week and an outcome has been resolved. - Angela

Goldengirl

GoldengirlGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Great customer service

published

I have been with Real Insurance for a number of years for motor vehicle, home and contents and funeral insurance. I have unfortunately had to make a couple of claims over the years and I have received exceptional customer service at all times

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHyundai i20
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance

Hi there, thank you for your great feedback and glad to hear we have provided you with great service during your claims experiences with us! - Angela

Its so good not to worry if things are not covered safely

published

I have had only good things to say regarding the response that I have received from them on all of my several policies that I have had with them with the only hiccup being that I forgot to advise my change of postal address. definitely their fault for not guessing...….

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
1 comment
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance

Hi Greg, Thank you for your review. Happy to hear we are providing great service across all our policies. - Angela

epicpilgrim

epicpilgrimSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very helpful throughout claim

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelAlfa Romeo 147
See all answers
3 comments
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance

Good Morning, we are glad to hear you have a great claims experience with us, though we are sorry to know that a few issues weren't easy for you. I hope it was all resolved. -Angela

epicpilgrim
epicpilgrim
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance

Good Morning. I am sorry for the stress that was caused throughout the claim but happy to hear all was resolved and you are not out of pocket. Thank you -Angela

Clos to perfection

published

I'm in the secund year whit you.. Thanks for your service hope to be a good driver like the last 29 years whit no claims..I did not have any claims whit your company

Insurance TypeComprehensive and Third Party, Fire and Theft
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
1 comment
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance

Hi Stoica,
Thank you for your positive feedback and we hope to insure your vehicle for many more years to come. - Angela

Car Insurance

Find out how Real Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Rezmata

RezmataSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Very flexible plans to suit my usage and great cx service.

published

I've compared many insurance service providers, but RI was the most affordable insurance by a distance to it's competition!! flexible plans to suite my usage and great customer service, it's just common sense to go with RI!

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHonda Civic 10th Gen
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance

Hi Rezmata,
Thank you for your positive comment. We are pleased to hear that we have provided you with great service and also an insurance product that suits your needs. -Angela

claim was resolved

published

Very disappointing and frustrating experience. Waited for 6 weeks to get paid but turn out that we couldn’t agree with the amount because they refused to paid all the receipt provided. Now, we were told to escalate it to the dispute and maximum time is 45 days. Seriously? How long should we wait more? We have lost a lot of money from this accident and it’s not my husband’s fault. What insurance is for then? I thought to get us covered.( these are my previous review)

After a week

Our claim was resolved after 1 week in internal dispute. Got paid with all our receipts. Total waiting time is 7 weeks.

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
6 comments
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance

Hi Grace,
I'm sorry to hear you are having a difficult claims experience. If you are happy to, can you please send us a private message with your claims details and I can try push this quicker for you? -Angela

Grace p.
Grace p.

Hi Angela,
We are not happy at all.. I sent you the claim details and the complaint I’d as well. Please do as you say to make it quicker. 6 weeks is very long already, and another 45 days is not funny.

Grace p.
Grace p.
Tate

Tate

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Frustrating claims experience - Delay after delay after delay

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
2 comments
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance

Hi Tate,
We are sorry to hear you are having difficulties with your claim. I would like to get this resolved for you. Can you please send us a private message with your claims details so we can look into this further? - Angela

Tate
Tate
T. Tran

T. TranSydney, NSW

Pay as you drive insurance is what you want

published

Why pay comprehensive insurance when you only drive 5000 kms annually? Pay as you drive will save you lot. Having been with Real Insurance for the last 10 years, I am very happy with their service

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
1 comment
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance

Hello, thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad to hear you are happy with our product and services! - Angela

Rewarding experience

published

Professional and courteous service. Dealt with the facts we discussed down

to the nitty gritty of my personal requirements for my vehicle. Very impressed with what the product has to offer me and my wife. Was made to feel special.

Customer Service
Transparency
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHonda crv
See all answers
1 comment
Real Insurance
Response TeamReal Insurance

Great news Rolf! We are delighted to receive positive feedback and very happy that we could offer you such outstanding service. - Angela

Page 1 of 23

Questions & Answers

TGM

TGMasked

What's the difference? How is it that Real Insurance has such a poor customer rating while Seniors Insurance, also a Hollard brand, has such a high one?

1 answer
Fired Up
Fired Up

Different companies, different customers, different experiences

BEREAL

BEREALasked

Have real home insurance . it has taken over seven weeks to get to the stage of signing the scope of works....
your staff need training in how to send e-mails , and how to attach links to text messages . please resend the documents you claim never arrived , and I will return , signed , by next REGISTERED POST .

1 answer
Bent O.
Bent O.

I would suggest you contact them directly if you seriously want direct action

Mel C.

Mel C.asked

I received a quote to renew my insurance and it has gone up as it always does even if you never make a claim. This is just 3rd party, fire & theft for a 1999 car that is lucky to be worth $2000 and they insure it for up to $10,000. They said it would be cheaper if you pay annually instead of by the month to which i asked for the quote and they took around $9 off the premium...really? I had some other quotes which were cheaper and I asked could they do anything else to keep me as a customer and they said no.

I was just wondering why you expect your current customers to pay more for the same thing than a new customer?

1 answer
Jayjay
Jayjay

Hi Mel
You're absolutely right to ask questions. I wrote off a car in August and I was paying my comprehensive car insurance by the month. The insurance renewal was in June and Real Insurance deducted the next 10 months worth of premium (just over $1000). In other words, they charged me 10 months worth of insurance on a car that no longer exists. Look elsewhere for insurance and check the PDS very carefully to make sure that in the event you have to make a claim that they don't punish you! Don't think twice about this mob - move on!

Get an answer from our members and Real Insurance representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.