??!
1 photo
AEG T97689IH

AEG T97689IH

MPN: T97689IH
3.0 from 32 reviews

Clothes Dryers Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of clothes dryer would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

3.0

32 reviews
5
(9)
4
(4)
3
(6)
2
(5)
1
(8)
  • Build Quality
    2.6 (10)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (11)
  • Ease of Use
    2.9 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.9 (11)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (11)
Previous
Next
Kim

KimSouth East Queensland, QLD

Don’t waste your money

published

Clothes come out wet. 3 hour dryer cycle and still wet. Setting changed no different. Clothes are never dry. Very disappointing. Harvie Norman recommendation. Paid over $1800. Absolutely waste of money.

Purchased in July 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$1,800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
AEG
ELECTROLUX ..AEG
Kim
Kim

I have now sent a email to customer service. Let's hope we can resolve this issue.

Georgie

GeorgieSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Inadequate product for the price

published

Purchased in August 2016 at Domayne NSW, West Gosford for A$2,400.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
AEG
ELECTROLUX ..AEG
Georgie
Georgie

I have emailed you twice as per this response and your private response

Stephen

StephenGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Never Dried Anything!

published

I bought a AEG washer and dryer from Harvey Norman several years ago and was told it was a great buy for its moderate price. I can’t say that I’ve ever taken clothes out of it and been satisfied they’ve been dry!
I’ve tried every setting with the aim of drying anything. Towels, bedding, even a few pairs of socks. Doesn’t work! I’ve resorted to hanging things in front of a heater after it’s washed to try and actually dry them. It’s been very very disappointing. If I could give 0 stars I would.

Purchased in March 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
AEG
ELECTROLUX ..AEG
Heat Pump Clothes Dryers

Find out how AEG T97689IH compares to other Heat Pump Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Arevjew

Arevjew

  • 5 reviews

Apallingly inept

published

These guys suck. Could not deliver. If they can't even deliver a $4K order, how would they go after the sale? Took 5+ hours to call back, never returned the 3 calls + text and their call centre was engaged.
Warehouse manager lied. State manager never called back. Not getting my money!

Purchased in January 2020 at Winning Appliances for A$4,000.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
AEG
ELECTROLUX ..AEG
Ashlea33

Ashlea33Queensland, Australia

  • 4 reviews

Nothing but troubles

published
Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
2 comments
AEG
ELECTROLUX ..AEG
Ashlea33
Ashlea33
George D.

George D.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews

AEG Dryer Series 8000

published

Guys Ive been reading some peoples reviews of the dryer and how clothes are wet at the end of the cycle. My dryer is 1 week old and had the same issue. I contacted AEG repairs and the issue was fixed easily. Do this to fix issue..Press ON then both EXTRA SILENT and REFRESH simultaneously until CO appears. Release and press the START button until only the one bar is there. Your all set and clothes come out almost extra crispy. Installer should have done this but forgot..hope this helps

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Sharon

SharonNortheast, VIC

Worst dryer

published

This drier is the worst! Clothes are never dried properly and when you try to dry the clothes further the drier won't allow for it because it thinks there dry. I have tried every cycle to get the dryer to dry the clothes further but to no avail, so revert to hanging them around the house for the bit of dampness to dry. A Harvey Norman rep advocated that is was one of the best dryers however it has been a total waste of money and not cheap. Never buying this brand again.

Purchased at Harvey Norman for A$1,500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
AEG
ELECTROLUX ..AEG
Raelene G.

Raelene G.South Australia

  • 2 reviews

Great, love my dryer

published

I've had this dryer for about 2 years now. During this time, it has dried almost every load washed for my family of 6. Took a little bit to get used to chosing the best settings for each load, but works like a charm now.
Love my dryer and don't want to think of life without it.

Purchased in July 2017 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
Be Linda

Be LindaIllawarra, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Perfect machine

published

Purchased in June 2017 at Harvey Norman.

Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
AEG
ELECTROLUX ..AEG
Heat Pump Clothes Dryers

Find out how AEG T97689IH compares to other Heat Pump Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Good machine .... but

published

Purchased in April 2016.

2 comments
AEG
ELECTROLUX ..AEG

Hi Michael.
Thanks for posting the review, can you please contact our 1st Klasse Care team via email on customercare@aegaustralia.com so we can assist?
We look forward to talking soon.
AEG 1st Klasse Carea team.

Michael M.
Michael M.

Thanks AEG team. I have sent an email but it has bounced back. Might want to update that address

Anju G.

Anju G.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

very Goog

published

I am very happy with the dryer. we bought it as a package (washing machine and the dryer) not very happy with the washing machine but the dryer is excellent.

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Audry

AudryGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love this dryer

published

I love this dryer. Very quiet, dry cloths perfectly. The most i love is no more wet laundry room. The condensation water straight to the pipe. No much hasle. The only thing need to improve is the filter. Dried cloths may get the dirt from filter when removed from the dryer.

Purchased in February 2015.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
  • Verified purchase

Worst Dryer, Harvey Norman desperate to sell this lemon

published

By insisting recommendation from Harvey Norman staff bought this dryer, it does not dry clothes, takes up to 4 cycles to get clothes dry, AEG came out, advised it has to be set to "Australian settings" rather than European settings, still rubbish. Called AEG, as soon as I mentioned the model she asked would I like a refund. She was efficient the dryer was rubbish, never trust staff's opinion at Harvey Norman again. Don't Buy!!

Date PurchasedFeb 2018
1 comment
AEG
ELECTROLUX ..AEG
  • Verified purchase

Damp clothes will not repeat a cycle

published

This machine was talked up by the consultant at the store and I had to wait 6 weeks for it to be delivered. It doesn’t dry clothes on any cycle effectively. If you try for a second cycle it will give you 5 mins then stop. IT DOESNT DRY CLOTHES and you can’t seem to program it to. I regret buying this dryer. Should’ve got a much cheaper one.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
1 comment
AEG
ELECTROLUX ..AEG
tracy

tracyWALLANBAH

Love this dryer!

published
Date PurchasedMar 2018
Heat Pump Clothes Dryers

Find out how AEG T97689IH compares to other Heat Pump Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Maggie

MaggieGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 15 reviews

Average dryer

published

Very disappointed with this dryer. I dry most clothes on our clothes line and with my old Miele dryer was able to put towels etc in the dryer after to soften them. The AEG dryer does not allow you to put dry clothes in the dryer to soften them. I assume the sensor tells the machine that the clothes are already dry. If I do time dry it turns off within a minute. Towels are still hard. I spoke to AEG and they couldn’t help me. This is the main reason I use a dryer just to soften. Machine won’t do this. Won’t be buying another AEG. It also takes a very long time to actually dry wet clothes.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
4 comments
AEG
ELECTROLUX ..AEG
Maggie
Maggie

I have spoken to customer service and they had no answer for the problem. All I want to do is to soften clothes line dried towels etc and this machine won’t do it.

AEG
ELECTROLUX ..AEG
Louise

Louise

  • 2 reviews

Yikes!!

published

Just purchased after a lot of convincing from Harvey Norman sales consultants. Looks great, but operates at a low-end budget dryer only suitable for drying towels and sheets. Adjustment of default drying levels are not working - an electronic problem.....Two weeks before a consultant can even come to look at dryer.... Do not buy!! RUN>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
AEG
ELECTROLUX ..AEG
Jools76

Jools76Manly

A dryer that doesn’t dry clothes?

published

Fact - this dryer does not dry clothes. It takes some of the moisture out but leaves them feeling moist. They are not dry enough to fold and put away. This is the case irrespective of the setting you use so there is not benefit in any of them. I simply cannot believe this product is for sale at all let alone at the price which to me should indicate a high end appliance that works.
Also annoyingly you have to take the clothes out at the end of the cycle immediately or else the moisture that was removed goes back in. Neither Harvey Norman where I bought the machine or AEG are prepared to do anything to address the fact I have paid good money for a product that does not dry clothes.

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
AEG
ELECTROLUX ..AEG
joselle

joselleMelbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 2 likes

Loving my new AEG Dryer

published

I received my new AEG dryer this morning, we replaced a Miele dryer, which was leaking after 8 years of good service, the replacement part was $600, which I was reluctant to pay. I also could not afford another Miele. I previously had a good experience with AEG Oven and this dryer was on sale. After reading some negative reviews I was really apprehensive, but since it arrived I used it twice on different settings and both came out beautifully dry and soft. I am really happy and relieved

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Great dryer

published
Date PurchasedJun 2018
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Jerry

Jerryasked

How often and how do you clean, AEG heat pump dryer condensor, anyone know?

1 answer
Gennady V
Gennady V

Everytime,after drying cycle. Put foam in front of the condencer.

Get an answer from our members and AEG representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.