1 photo
AEG T97689IH

AEG T97689IH

MPN: T97689IH
2.9 from 36 reviews · View Statistics

Clothes Dryers Buying Guide

A reliable tumble dryer can give you clean, dry clothes - and fast. Whether you decide on a heat pump, condenser or vented dryer, a washer dryer combo, or no dryer at all, this guide can help.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.9 (14)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (15)
  • Ease of Use
    2.7 (15)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.8 (15)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (15)
Previous
Next
Kate
Kate
  • 3 reviews

Awful : need to soak up water at bottom of machine and drain condenser with every use

published

A very difficult machine - the worst I’ve ever experienced.

It will only dry clothes on ‘cotton, extra dry’ setting ... and that takes just over 2hrs.

The water container never collects any water. I have to pull out the condenser and drain it after every load, and use a microfibre towel to mop up excess water at the bottom of the machine.

This is the only way I can use this thing and I absolutely hate it.

I’ve had a technician out to look at it - but they just charge me several hundred dollars, waste a day of my life waiting for them and can’t seem to find any problem - it’s just a dreadful dryer and I really regret buying it

Purchased in January 2014 at Harvey Norman for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Melanie C.
Melanie C.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

A dryer that doesn’t dry

published

Very disappointing for the price. Only one function almost works - and that’s the 3hr cotton cycle with the sun. Still hit or miss if it actually fully dries. Definitely doesn’t dry things if they are put in already half dry. Purchased early 2019. Haven’t tried to sell it yet because I’d feel bad selling a dryer that I know isn’t reliable...

Purchased in February 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
AEG
ELECTROLUX ..AEG
Penelope
PenelopeMurrumbidgee Region, NSW

A dryer that doesn’t actually dry things.

published

No matter what setting you put it on, it doesn’t actually dry anything completely. Sometimes the clothes / towels / sheets come out just as damp as I put them in. Very disappointing considering you pay for what you think and are told by a sales assistant, is a premium brand

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Heat Pump Clothes Dryers

Find out how AEG T97689IH compares to other Heat Pump Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Diane
DianeMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

AEG T976891H Review Follow-up

published

I am a very happy converted AEG condensor dryer user. After registering my negative review 2 months ago re my dissatisfaction with my 3 year old dryer, Leeanne from the AEG Customer Service Team promptly contacted me and outlined several programming suggestions for the dryer. She further organised for a representative to come to the house to inspect the dryer. The dryer, and it's user, are working in cahoots with one another now. I want to express my thanks to Leeanne for the excellent service and understanding that she provided.

Purchased in July 2017 at Harvey Norman for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Kim
KimSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Don’t waste your money

published

Clothes come out wet. 3 hour dryer cycle and still wet. Setting changed no different. Clothes are never dry. Very disappointing. Harvie Norman recommendation. Paid over $1800. Absolutely waste of money.

Purchased in July 2017 at Harvey Norman for $1,800.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
3 comments
AEG
ELECTROLUX ..AEG
Kim
Kim

I have now sent a email to customer service. Let's hope we can resolve this issue.

Kim
Kim

Update, AEG has now replaced the dryer with a brand new model. Good customer service. I do hope this model works.

Related Articles
Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Georgie
GeorgieSydney Surrounds, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Inadequate product for the price

published

Purchased in August 2016 at Domayne NSW, West Gosford for $2,400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
2 comments
AEG
ELECTROLUX ..AEG
Georgie
Georgie

I have emailed you twice as per this response and your private response

Stephen
StephenGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Never Dried Anything!

published

I bought a AEG washer and dryer from Harvey Norman several years ago and was told it was a great buy for its moderate price. I can’t say that I’ve ever taken clothes out of it and been satisfied they’ve been dry!
I’ve tried every setting with the aim of drying anything. Towels, bedding, even a few pairs of socks. Doesn’t work! I’ve resorted to hanging things in front of a heater after it’s washed to try and actually dry them. It’s been very very disappointing. If I could give 0 stars I would.

Purchased in March 2017 at Harvey Norman for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
AEG
ELECTROLUX ..AEG
Arevjew
Arevjew
  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Apallingly inept

published

These guys suck. Could not deliver. If they can't even deliver a $4K order, how would they go after the sale? Took 5+ hours to call back, never returned the 3 calls + text and their call centre was engaged.
Warehouse manager lied. State manager never called back. Not getting my money!

Purchased in January 2020 at Winning Appliances for $4,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
AEG
ELECTROLUX ..AEG
Ashlea33
Ashlea33Queensland, Australia
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Nothing but troubles

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
2 comments
AEG
ELECTROLUX ..AEG
Ashlea33
Ashlea33
Heat Pump Clothes Dryers

Find out how AEG T97689IH compares to other Heat Pump Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
George D.
George D.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

AEG Dryer Series 8000

published

Guys Ive been reading some peoples reviews of the dryer and how clothes are wet at the end of the cycle. My dryer is 1 week old and had the same issue. I contacted AEG repairs and the issue was fixed easily. Do this to fix issue..Press ON then both EXTRA SILENT and REFRESH simultaneously until CO appears. Release and press the START button until only the one bar is there. Your all set and clothes come out almost extra crispy. Installer should have done this but forgot..hope this helps

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Sharon
SharonNortheast, VIC

Worst dryer

published

This drier is the worst! Clothes are never dried properly and when you try to dry the clothes further the drier won't allow for it because it thinks there dry. I have tried every cycle to get the dryer to dry the clothes further but to no avail, so revert to hanging them around the house for the bit of dampness to dry. A Harvey Norman rep advocated that is was one of the best dryers however it has been a total waste of money and not cheap. Never buying this brand again.

Purchased at Harvey Norman for $1,500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
1 comment
AEG
ELECTROLUX ..AEG
Raelene G.
Raelene G.South Australia
  • 2 reviews

Great, love my dryer

published

I've had this dryer for about 2 years now. During this time, it has dried almost every load washed for my family of 6. Took a little bit to get used to chosing the best settings for each load, but works like a charm now.
Love my dryer and don't want to think of life without it.

Purchased in July 2017 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Be Linda
Be LindaIllawarra, NSW
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Perfect machine

published

Purchased in June 2017 at Harvey Norman.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
1 comment
AEG
ELECTROLUX ..AEG

Good machine .... but

published

Purchased in April 2016.

Incentivised ReviewNo
2 comments
AEG
ELECTROLUX ..AEG

Hi Michael.
Thanks for posting the review, can you please contact our 1st Klasse Care team via email on customercare@aegaustralia.com so we can assist?
We look forward to talking soon.
AEG 1st Klasse Carea team.

Michael M.
Michael M.

Thanks AEG team. I have sent an email but it has bounced back. Might want to update that address

Anju G.
Anju G.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • Verified

very Goog

published

I am very happy with the dryer. we bought it as a package (washing machine and the dryer) not very happy with the washing machine but the dryer is excellent.

Purchased in June 2017.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Heat Pump Clothes Dryers

Find out how AEG T97689IH compares to other Heat Pump Clothes Dryers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Pam  Brisbane
Pam Brisbaneasked

HELP how do we get this dryer to work effectively? We are a household that usually dries things on the line but occasionally we have to use a dryer. We have had this dryer for almost three years and it NEVER works effectively. Honestly I don't believe I have ever taken something out and thought yes, so nice and dry. Everything always feels still quite damp.Highly unsatisfactory especially after the sales pitch. We have spent hours pouring over the instruction booklet. Usually we are drying clothes that are cotton, or partially lined dried dry sheets and towels. Any tips gratefully accepted.

No answers
Lock K.
Lock K.asked

horriable dryer... premium price for poor quality. Doesn't dry clothes. Takes very long periods to dry items as in 5 hours or more..would not recommend

No answers
Jerry
Jerryasked

How often and how do you clean, AEG heat pump dryer condensor, anyone know?

1 answer
Gennady V
Gennady V

Everytime,after drying cycle. Put foam in front of the condencer.

Get an answer from our members and AEG representatives

Details

CategoryHeat Pump Clothes Dryers
Price (RRP) $1,799.00
Capacity8 kg
Energy Rating8 star(s)
Energy Consumption123 kWh per year
FeaturesAuto-Sensing, Child-Safety Lock, Lint Filter, Reverse Tumbling and Stackable
Door Hinge Left and Reversible Door Hinge
Dimensions 850 x 600 x 630 mm
Drying Programs 16
Temperature Settings 3
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)
Colour / FinishWhite
  • MPN: T97689IH

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.