??!
2 photos
Aerobie Aeropress Coffee and Espresso Maker

Aerobie Aeropress Coffee and Espresso Maker

4.6 from 39 reviews

See the Best Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
29
4 star
5
3 star
3
2 star
2
1 star
0

Randal

Randal

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

A pleasant surprise

published

Just read a review on "Choice" where they absolutely canned the Aeropress. Can't believe they could be so wrong and can only assume that they approached the review and the actual making of the coffee with a total lack of know-how. I have had my Aeropress for two weeks and the first cup was average so, as with any coffee-maker, I tweaked a couple of things (amount of water, coffee, and type of grind) and the result is now a quality cuppa every time. I use the "reverse" method, adhere to the recommended water temperature and am now grinding my own beans although ready ground coffee, medium/fine, is perfectly okay. Easy to clean and you can re-use the filters.

Purchased in August 2019 for $45.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

JRT

JRTVictoria

  • 4 reviews

Produces smooth flavorful coffee.

published

It's not trying to be an espresso machine, but it excels at what it does. Not only does it make a fine cup of coffee, but the design is so simple and easy to clean. I bought a second one for work and both units show no signs of deteriorating in any way (barring the numbers wearing off on the side of one of the units).
I previously used a plunger and the Aeropress makes much nicer, smoother coffee with none of the mess (or the "mud" at the bottom of your cup). I'd never go back to the plunger. I can use my own beans and grind and even water temperature. Also great for making iced coffee.

Purchased in August 2015 for $40.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Product is used: Daily
GrinderBreville Coffee & Spice BCG200
See all answers
mjackson

mjacksonSydney, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Money Saving Goodness

published

I bought the aeropress so I could save money. Works backwards, but works.

I previously bought 2-3 coffees a day, so it worked out to about $50-60 a week. In order to save a bit of cash I bought an aeropress online, came with filters and some coffee grind. All up cost me about $30. The first bag lasted me a few weeks and I ended up saving money in the first month.

The coffee was also great and makes me feel like I am getting somewhat cafe quality at work.

I now have 1 at work and 1 at home and try to have 1 coffee a day through aeropress.

Purchased in August 2018 at alternativebrewing.com.au for $34.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Product is used: Several times a week
See all answers
Steven C

Steven CHunter Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Lets be honest

published

You wouldn't expect a plunger to make the sort of coffee you get for $5 per cup from your favourite café, and this machine isn't going to do that either. Compared to a plunger though, its bloody fantastic. It really draws out the flavour of the coffee and doesn't have the wateriness and residual grind issues you get with plungers, or the bitterness (and expense) you get with espresso machines.
I'd go as far to say, I'd much prefer a long black (or LB with a dash of milk - my standard workplace coffee) made by an aeropress than an espresso machine. But, I'd much rather have a latte made at my local café (or one made with my home espresso machine), than one made with an aeropress.

Purchased in April 2019 for $40.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

Ezza

EzzaMelbourne

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

Satisfies my coffee addiction

published

I use the reverse method, with freshly ground beans. Creates a mild coffee and maintains the flavour detail of the beans,which is great if you use beans roasted for filter rather than espresso.

You can resuse the paper filters dozens of times too.

Purchased in March 2019 for $40.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

bmorey

bmoreyVic, 3140

  • 56 reviews
  • 46 likes

Good coffee but post-brew rinsing takes a couple of minutes

published

I've had my Aeropress for about 13 years. I didn't use it for many years but recently reactivated it. I did need a new plunger rubber but this was readily obtainable.

It makes good, sediment-free black coffee. The only issue for me is rinsing the parts after brewing. It takes a couple of minutes to clean the parts and put them back in the cupboard. With my auto expresso machine I just press the off button. If you were making coffee for guests it would be a slow process. It's really a solo coffee maker.

I use a filter three times.

Purchased in August 2006 at Aeropress for $40.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Product is used: Daily
See all answers

Plunger / Chamber fitting

published

The lip on the chamber should have been TAPERED to enable the plunger to slide effortlessly into the top part of the chamber. It is a bit of a fiddle forcing the plunger over that sharp ridge. That action also causes premature wear on the rubber seal. Other than that observation it works fine.

Date PurchasedNov 2018

Crystal

CrystalSpringwood

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

A portable coffee machine!

published

A handy little device. It is very simple and easy to use, easy to clean, and lightweight. I have a proper coffee machine, however I bring this on trips with me due to its portability. The taste is on par to the coffee I used to buy from shops, and I am very satisfied with this product.

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Carley

CarleyBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Saved me so much $$ and the best coffee

published

I love this device. A colleague convinced me to buy this instead of buying a daily coffee and i have not looked back. I have even bought one for my husband to use at his workplace. Such a simple and easy to use device and very easy to clean afterwards. I love the simplicity and yet the coffee that is produced is as good as any coffee shop (this is dependent on the beans of course).

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Stella A.

Stella A.Sydney

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Love the Aero Press

published

Very satisfied with the taste of our coffee made with the aeropress. We ignored the instructions and use the ‘inversion’ method instead (some YouTube tutorials will show you how)- I swapped the paper filters that come with it for a metal filter (purchased on eBay) and I think that improves the flavour. Fabulous to take camping, and a great gift.

Maybe one day they can make a plastic free version and then it would be perfect!

Date PurchasedNov 2017

htc

htcSydney

  • 5 reviews

Easy to use, just ignore the instructions

published

Easy to use and reasonably portable. Have travelled and camped with an aeropress and a little Porlex grinder; it works well on the road. Have just bought a second one to keep at the office. Extremely easy to clean, the mechanism has a sort of squeegy effect that mostly cleans itself, just give it a rinse to get the grounds off and leave it to air dry.

Note the instructions on the box are bizarre, I've never met anyone who brews that way. Look up "inverted aeropress method" to see how most people actually use it. Look up "aeropress recipes" for recommendations on coffee/water ratios, brew times and so on. A few minutes on youtube is all you need.

Date PurchasedJun 2018

Leee

Leee

  • 2 reviews

Loved jf

published

I am in love with this coffee machine. It’s beyond perfect. Has everything I’m looking for plus more. Still looking for another machine similar or price that can Match it. It’s extremely easy to use and very easy to clean needing only 10 minutes to do so it’s perfect for me

Date PurchasedJan 2015

Raymo

RaymoRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 10 reviews
  • 4 likes

Outstanding

published

Used for over 2 years and always gives a consistently great tasting cup of coffee.

Easy to use, super portable, with a vriety of brewing options - I now tale it travelling.

Yes it does use slightly more coffee than other methods but the flavour is as good as a $900 machine!

A great investment for the coffee lover...

Date PurchasedOct 2015

C Pham

C Pham

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Versatile, well built

published

Can control many variables so that everyone can personalise their own coffee, brew time, extract time, different methods. Probably not suited to people always in a rush for coffee but if you enjoy experimenting and trying different things you'll love it. Pair it with a hand grinder and choose some different beans and have fun. Easy to use, easy to clean, built well

Date PurchasedDec 2017
readeral

readeralSydney

  • 4 reviews

Best travel coffee companion

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
margaret

margaretKeilor Park

  • 8 reviews
  • 3 likes

I was skeptical but this product is AWESOME!

published

Initially I higher doubted the ability of this contraption to produce an excellent cup of coffee. Although, it makes a clean tasting cup of coffee. I use the inversion method with one scoop of ground coffee, let steep for a few minutes, then turn over with your cup and press. I generally add frothed almond milk or cow's milk. Overall it is easy to use and I am thinking of buying one for home as I initially purchased the first one for work.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Jaff

Jaffmelbourne

  • 4 reviews

Work place, life saver.

published

Love this. Saves spending $30,000 on a small coffee.
Big fan of the aero. It's as good as you want it to be. Take your time with the press. Get the right bean, and the right grind and you are good to go. Helps give you a break at work, relaxing to use.

Date PurchasedNov 2017

Ben H

Ben HMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

Took a bit of time to get the hang of it, but use it every morning now.

published

Taste of the coffee is fine, mostly dependent on the beans themselves and the grinder you are using though. The Aeropress is easy to use, no fuss, coffee made. No mess either, and a quick rinse and it's clean. Has enough paper filters to last for over a year easily.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Monika

Monika

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

Great way to make excellent coffee

published

I had drip coffee machines, capsule machine etc you name it -i tried it. The Aeropress is easy to use, even if you are not siure with instructions supplied there are lots of YouTube tutorials for different methods of making the coffee, traditional and upside down. Great for taking to work or whilst travelling and it saves the environment by not using capsules. I am quite fussy when it comes to coffee, i like my coffee strong but not bitter. If you use good coffee you will get a great result. Can only recommend the Aeropress!

Date PurchasedApr 2016

Tobi16

Tobi16Darwin

  • 13 reviews
  • 7 likes

Weird - totally weird

published

This is the weirdest way to make a coffee...
The best way to use this coffee maker is to ignore the instructions and use it upside down - making coffee as directed results in coffee leaked all over the benchtop.
The AP coffee maker is only really good for making long blacks and espressos in coffee mugs. If you want to drink from a small espresso cup you then have to transfer coffee from one cup to another. Consequently there is a lot of washing up and cleaning to make a simple espresso.
The only real advantage to this system is the filtering system. If you don't mind a few grinds in your coffee from your french press, then you probably don't need one of these.
It was a good idea at the time.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

gabbys79

gabbys79asked

Does it taste like espresso or filtered coffee? Im guessing filtered, any idea what would make a portable easy to use espresso like coffee?

4 answers
Eerhard
Eerhard

Hi.
The best result I have had is using the bialetti stove top. I have had the "Venus 2 cup"and it is 5 years old. It always goes camping with us.
If you grind the beans fine and tamp it down. (Even though they tell you not to. ) you will get a great espresso. No crema though. Oh yes. Don't fill the water above the valve.
I guess that's more info then you need.
Have a great day

Palerang
Palerang

You can get something very close to espresso if you read their directions carefully, and take note of the important things. ie the time you stir before pressing down, the grind of the beans, even the temperature of the water you use. I am happy to make an extremely strong white long black, but know people who are coffee snobs who make short blacks with the Aeropress.

retromum
retromum

The Aeropress won't fail you if you want a cup of espresso (technically, as it forces hot water through ground beans, it fits the dictionary definition).I credit Choice for that description which is exactly how I would describe it. Here is my answer: You control taste and flavour by choosing the quality of the beans. Strength is determined by the amount of ground coffee beans or water you add. If you are after the Crema always use freshly ground beans. Look out for an aeropress that is on special if you are not sure. I am of Italian descent and we love our coffee. I havent found anything else that is as good as this. Its portable, easy to use and easy to clean and you can save on electricity if you choose to use it at home as I do.


ebonflow

ebonflowasked

Can someone please explain the advantages of this over a regular old glass plunger?

2 answers
AFP
AFP

I've used both and find the aeropress quicker to brew, quicker to empty and clean and it uses a finer filter - you can buy after market options for different fineness (I use the Able fine stainless steel).

Also it's plastic so lighter and less breakable.

Wlm
Wlm

Shattered my old glass plunger yesterday. Didn't like the idea of swallowing a piece of glass. Have heard about aeropress so will give it a go when it arrives later this week. Cheers Wm


Get an answer from our members

Details

CategoryManual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines
Price (RRP) $49.00
Colour / Finish Black
Milk FrotherNone
Bean GrinderNone

Visit official website
  • GTIN13: 0845055019146
  • GTIN12: 085276000831

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.