??!

Reviews

3.8

99 reviews
5
(39)
4
(32)
3
(11)
2
(7)
1
(10)
  • Build Quality
    4.4 (12)
  • Value for Money
    4.4 (12)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (11)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (12)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (5)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.4 (9)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.2 (10)
Previous
Next

Can't beat the value

published

Purchased in October 2012 at TradeMe for A$400.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderSunbeam Cafe Series Conical Burr EM0480
See all answers
Peter

PeterBrisbane

  • 29 reviews
  • 12 likes

An exact replacement for our previous 7 year old BES840SS

published

Good no fuss coffee machine which does exactly what you want - consistent fresh coffee. After 7 years of daily use (25,000 cups of coffee) our previous BES840 died :(.... How happy I was to find the exact model at an even lower price than the original purchase. Perfectly happy once again.

Purchased in May 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$479.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Anna

AnnaBrisbane

  • 42 reviews
  • 39 likes

Love my coffee

published

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville Infuser BES840 compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Hiranya S.

Hiranya S.

  • 4 reviews

Happy customer.

published

I have had this coffee machine for more than 6 months and I am one happy customer. Never skipped a beat since the day we got it. It takes a while to get used to frothing the milk but after that making coffee is a breeze. Very good entry level machine.

Purchased at Myer Online Store for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderBreville Smart Grinder BCG800
See all answers
Sam L

Sam LGold Coast

  • 4 reviews

Love it!

published

Easy to use, produces coffee with an excellent flavour and crema. Can't go back to instant coffee after using this machine and no pods that I think are not environmentally friendly.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Greg

GregSydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 5 likes

Nice coffee machine, but I should've spent a bit more and get one model up.

published

Overall very happy with the performance, good quality coffee and easy to clean. I don't like the watertank. I think it's too small, but the rest is very good. Quantity of accessories surprised and despite the fact I am not using half of accessories, it is a very nice bonus.

With current experience I would go with a bit higher model with embedded grinder.

Purchased in September 2019 at Amazon for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderBreville Coffee & Spice BCG200
See all answers

Excellent System, reliable and makes incredible coffee!

published

I love this machine! I have had mine for almost six years and it has worked flawlessly for that time! If there was an issue, the book that comes with it is so helpful and can walk you through almost any sort of event easily and quickly. The coffee is amazing and it is easy to clean and take care of.

Purchased in December 2013.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Waz

Waz

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Everyday put the nescaf away

published

By all means do yourself a favour and get yourself one of these machines. Simple easy to use . Not a lot of maintenance and heats up quickly within ten secs of switching on.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

bhoo

bhooGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Great machine.

published

This machine does all I need for a cheap price!
I mainly drink long blacks, so I didn't need to pay extra for the double boiler. This pulls shot easily and comes with everything you need for a beginner.

Wait for a sale! You can get it at a reduced price! Purchased at Myer for $499!

Purchased in July 2019 at Myer for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
See all answers
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville Infuser BES840 compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dom

DomGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great machine

published

Machine works well, but too many plastic parts that are expensive to replace.
I am satisfied with the quality of coffee produced by the machine.
The quality of coffee produced by the machine is consistent.

Purchased in January 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for A$450.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderBreville Coffee 'n' Spice Grinder CG2B
See all answers
cws

cwsThe Mallee, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect start to your day!

published

Very happy with this machine. Struggled to get a good tasting cup at home for years. This machine makes it easy to enjoy barista quality coffee at home. The pressurized baskets makes it easy for beginners, and the non pressurized ones will keep the pros happy. Machine is easy to use, easy to clean and easy to maintain.

Purchased in September 2018 at eBay for A$398.65.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderBreville Smart Grinder BCG800
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Sam C.

Sam C.North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great product. It won't last forever though.

published

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used Daily
GrinderBreville Smart Grinder BCG800
See all answers

Doesn’t last long

published

This machine makes good coffee and is easy to use. However, the lifespan of the machine is poor. This is my second Breville coffee machine I have purchased - both times they just stop working after about 2 years. I’m very disappointed with these machines and I’m going to buy another brand tomorrow.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Smith

Smithgreeley

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good favorite machine

published

I am really satisfied with the quality of the coffee produced by the machine, and the taste is similar to that of the coffee shop outside.
The coffee produced can guarantee the same quality.
This coffee machine is also very convenient to clean.
A product with high performance.
Friends who are hesitating can not hesitate.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Shull

ShullBrIsbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great machine! Use it at least twice a day!

published

This is a really great machine. We got it as a wedding gift 6 years ago. We used it at least twice a day and it made good quality coffees (better than a lot of cafes). Finally, after 6 years of heavy use, it gave up. We liked it so much that we went straight out and bought the exact same one.

You do need to purchase a decent grinder with it to make the best coffee. We opted not to go for the model with inbuilt grinder and use a $50 Sunbeam grinder from Target which works fine.

We would have loved a duel boiler (froth the milk at the same time the coffee pours) but that was a huge extra cost.

Overall, this is one of our most used household appliances.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville Infuser BES840 compares to other Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
nicola

nicolaWestern Australia

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Used Twice a day, everyday.

published

Have had for over 2 years. The only fault I can find is an intermittent water leak from the back of the storage tray, but not a big problem just mop it up and away she goes. Super simple to use; large tank capacity; enough accessories for every taste; froths the milk wonderfully; easy to clean and water temp is hot enough.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
moose

moosete awamutu

  • 3 reviews

No need to go out for coffee anymore

published

Purchased together with a BCG820 Grinder..the perfect combo.
The BES840 creates sensational coffee....equal to any cafe.
After a number of attempts with the milk frother i can now make the exact cafe latte, flat white or cappuccino & i'm no barista.
It is used numerous times a day and gives no hassles.
Easy to clean, easy to fill, extremely simple to use and its compact size means less counter real estate taken up.
Breville has done a marvelous job with this machine.

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Ann

AnnMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

If my grandma can use it anyone can

published

It is a great machine making a proper coffee. Very easy to use as well as easy to keep it clean. Even my granny could make a decent coffee without me having to explain the works of it. Only possible downside I could think of is that it’s a bit loud but so are the other machines too.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Nix

NixVictoria

  • 4 reviews

Better than takeaway coffee

published

I kept spending loads of money on coffee to take into work and have during lunch but when I got this I've saved loads of money and it dose a really good job and has loads of different option controls. It makes really hot drinks which I've had in a flask last for almost 12 hours still warm!

Date PurchasedJan 2018
Sean

SeanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 20 reviews
  • 44 likes

Above adequate for a non commercial jobee

published

Let’s face it. There is not a home coffee machine on the planet that squeezes the begeezus out of a grind like a commercial one. The oils and so on that provide the real barista experience dimply can’t be extracted by any home machine, including this one. That being said, it is reliable, durable, well made, great design (Go Australian Industrial Designers!) and the result is a coffee that will...provide that fix you need. As far as drug delivery systems go? It does it!

Date PurchasedFeb 2013
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Sherrie

Sherrieasked

Infuser BES840

Since I got my machine a week ago whenever I make a shot the pressure dial barely moves at all just a few little notches. So I ran a 1 cup filter through the machine with just water and I t didn’t move a bit. Why no pressure? I have made about 7-8 cups of espresso and not one of them have moved the pressure gauge more than a few notches.

2 answers
Mav
Mav

With no coffee in the basket, it is totally normal that the dial doesn't show any pressure reading. If you can't get it to move even with ground coffee in it, try grinding finer, or adjust the amount of coffee you're tamping into the basket. Lots of videos on YouTube to help you dial in the machine.

Sherrie
Sherrie

Hello thanks for your answer, it was the grind, it wasn’t fine enough.
Thank you

Armen

Armenasked

Infuser BES840

I returned home from a trip and after the caretakers left, I went to make a coffee. I turned the power on and nothing happened except the power button kept blinking. No noise from the machine. I checked the water tank and it was empty, so I refilled it and tried again. Still nothing. I wonder if they had run the machine out of water and something burned out. I'm not handy but could try to troubleshoot if anyone has thoughts. My pressure needle hasn't worked in over a year, but I was still able to get coffee. I have cleaned on a regular basis, and have had no other problems in 5 years of using this machine. Is it worth it to try and fix it or should I try for a new machine? I figure $100/year for 5 years has more than got my money's worth, but I'd still love to try and fix it!

No answers
K F.

K F.asked

Infuser BES840BSS (Stainless Steel)

Can I send for repair? There is no local authorised repairer but I'm sure with a service my machine will be up and running again.

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.