??!
3 photos
Breville Infuser BES840

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.3 (13)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (14)
  • Ease of Use
    4.1 (13)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (13)
  • Noise Level
    3.3 (6)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.3 (10)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.0 (11)
Previous
Next

Frustrating Machine

published

The Steam Wand drips as it comes to temperature. The closer it gets to ready to use, the more it releases. Wouldn't be so bad, but the drip tray is tiny. The machine also requires a purge regularly. By the time you heat the wand, give it a purge and make a few cups, the tray needs emptying. Very frustrating and time consuming. Have to use a cup under the wand as it heats to catch the dripping water so I don't have to empty the tray so often. Also, no guide to let you know the milk is hot enough, so basically need to scald your hand by holding the steel cup to check.

Purchased in December 2020 for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Mark R.

Mark R.Illawarra, NSW

Very poor machine , with the new set up

published

I have been told by Breville my new BES 840 is programmed to go into standby mode after 13 minutes then it will completely shut down after 25 minutes, thus making it nearly impossible to warm it up and keep it that way for any longer than 15 minutes. Toatally useless to me , very disappointed with this new set up.

Purchased in December 2020 for $600.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo

Can't beat the value

published

Purchased in October 2012 at TradeMe for $400.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderSunbeam Cafe Series Conical Burr EM0480
See all answers
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville Infuser BES840 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter

PeterBrisbane

  • 31 reviews
  • 12 likes

An exact replacement for our previous 7 year old BES840SS

published

Good no fuss coffee machine which does exactly what you want - consistent fresh coffee. After 7 years of daily use (25,000 cups of coffee) our previous BES840 died :(.... How happy I was to find the exact model at an even lower price than the original purchase. Perfectly happy once again.

Purchased in May 2020 at Harvey Norman for $479.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Anna

AnnaBrisbane

  • 44 reviews
  • 40 likes

Love my coffee

published

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Hiranya S.

Hiranya S.

  • 4 reviews

Happy customer.

published

I have had this coffee machine for more than 6 months and I am one happy customer. Never skipped a beat since the day we got it. It takes a while to get used to frothing the milk but after that making coffee is a breeze. Very good entry level machine.

Purchased at Myer Online Store for $350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderBreville Smart Grinder BCG800
See all answers
Sam L

Sam LGold Coast

  • 4 reviews

Love it!

published

Easy to use, produces coffee with an excellent flavour and crema. Can't go back to instant coffee after using this machine and no pods that I think are not environmentally friendly.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Greg

GregSydney, NSW

  • 13 reviews
  • 5 likes

Nice coffee machine, but I should've spent a bit more and get one model up.

published

Overall very happy with the performance, good quality coffee and easy to clean. I don't like the watertank. I think it's too small, but the rest is very good. Quantity of accessories surprised and despite the fact I am not using half of accessories, it is a very nice bonus.

With current experience I would go with a bit higher model with embedded grinder.

Purchased in September 2019 at Amazon for $600.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderBreville Coffee & Spice BCG200
See all answers

Excellent System, reliable and makes incredible coffee!

published

I love this machine! I have had mine for almost six years and it has worked flawlessly for that time! If there was an issue, the book that comes with it is so helpful and can walk you through almost any sort of event easily and quickly. The coffee is amazing and it is easy to clean and take care of.

Purchased in December 2013.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville Infuser BES840 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Waz

Waz

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Everyday put the nescaf away

published

By all means do yourself a favour and get yourself one of these machines. Simple easy to use . Not a lot of maintenance and heats up quickly within ten secs of switching on.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

bhoo

bhooGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great machine.

published

This machine does all I need for a cheap price!
I mainly drink long blacks, so I didn't need to pay extra for the double boiler. This pulls shot easily and comes with everything you need for a beginner.

Wait for a sale! You can get it at a reduced price! Purchased at Myer for $499!

Purchased in July 2019 at Myer for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Dom

DomGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great machine

published

Machine works well, but too many plastic parts that are expensive to replace.
I am satisfied with the quality of coffee produced by the machine.
The quality of coffee produced by the machine is consistent.

Purchased in January 2018 at JB Hi-Fi Retail Stores for $450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderBreville Coffee 'n' Spice Grinder CG2B
See all answers
cws

cwsThe Mallee, VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect start to your day!

published

Very happy with this machine. Struggled to get a good tasting cup at home for years. This machine makes it easy to enjoy barista quality coffee at home. The pressurized baskets makes it easy for beginners, and the non pressurized ones will keep the pros happy. Machine is easy to use, easy to clean and easy to maintain.

Purchased in September 2018 at eBay for $398.65.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is usedDaily
GrinderBreville Smart Grinder BCG800
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Sam C.

Sam C.North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great product. It won't last forever though.

published

Purchased in February 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderBreville Smart Grinder BCG800
See all answers

Doesn’t last long

published

This machine makes good coffee and is easy to use. However, the lifespan of the machine is poor. This is my second Breville coffee machine I have purchased - both times they just stop working after about 2 years. I’m very disappointed with these machines and I’m going to buy another brand tomorrow.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville Infuser BES840 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Smith

Smithgreeley

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good favorite machine

published

I am really satisfied with the quality of the coffee produced by the machine, and the taste is similar to that of the coffee shop outside.
The coffee produced can guarantee the same quality.
This coffee machine is also very convenient to clean.
A product with high performance.
Friends who are hesitating can not hesitate.

Date PurchasedAug 2018
Shull

ShullBrIsbane

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great machine! Use it at least twice a day!

published

This is a really great machine. We got it as a wedding gift 6 years ago. We used it at least twice a day and it made good quality coffees (better than a lot of cafes). Finally, after 6 years of heavy use, it gave up. We liked it so much that we went straight out and bought the exact same one.

You do need to purchase a decent grinder with it to make the best coffee. We opted not to go for the model with inbuilt grinder and use a $50 Sunbeam grinder from Target which works fine.

We would have loved a duel boiler (froth the milk at the same time the coffee pours) but that was a huge extra cost.

Overall, this is one of our most used household appliances.

Date PurchasedSept 2018
nicola

nicolaWestern Australia

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Used Twice a day, everyday.

published

Have had for over 2 years. The only fault I can find is an intermittent water leak from the back of the storage tray, but not a big problem just mop it up and away she goes. Super simple to use; large tank capacity; enough accessories for every taste; froths the milk wonderfully; easy to clean and water temp is hot enough.

Date PurchasedJan 2015
moose

moosete awamutu

  • 3 reviews

No need to go out for coffee anymore

published

Purchased together with a BCG820 Grinder..the perfect combo.
The BES840 creates sensational coffee....equal to any cafe.
After a number of attempts with the milk frother i can now make the exact cafe latte, flat white or cappuccino & i'm no barista.
It is used numerous times a day and gives no hassles.
Easy to clean, easy to fill, extremely simple to use and its compact size means less counter real estate taken up.
Breville has done a marvelous job with this machine.

Date PurchasedJuly 2018
Ann

AnnMelbourne

  • 5 reviews

If my grandma can use it anyone can

published

It is a great machine making a proper coffee. Very easy to use as well as easy to keep it clean. Even my granny could make a decent coffee without me having to explain the works of it. Only possible downside I could think of is that it’s a bit loud but so are the other machines too.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Page 1 of 6

Questions & Answers

Val

Valasked

Infuser BES840

I have had my machine about 4 years and regularly cleaned. All of a sudden, at the end of a pour, boiling water spurts out of the side of group head, seemingly under pressure. Seal was only replaced two months ago. Any suggestions as to what could cause this? Everything appears clean

2 answers
Mav
Mav

Only thing that comes to mind is that perhaps the seal wasn't installed correctly (or wasn't a genuine/correct part).

Val
Val

Thanks for suggestion...it has worked properly twice a day for more than 2 months, and it was a genuine part, so I’m scratching my head!

Mark R.

Mark R.asked

Infuser BES840BKS (Black Sesame)

Hi my new bes840 goes into stanby mode in under 15minutes and then switches off completely in another 15 minutes. This is my 2nd 840 the last one never did this so quickly. It can't be right I switch it on to warm it up half hour later it is off . Can I adjust this ? I have done a factory reset , still this same ,the machine is 3 days old !

No answers
Joey H.

Joey H.asked

Infuser BES840

Hi there,
My breville infusion street turning it on and the power button finished flashing (heating up) then the program button flashes and machine beeps three times and then all lights are solid. At this point none of the buttons are responsive. Only the power button can turn power on and off.

Please help.
Much appreciated

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Breville Infuser BES840
CategorySemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines
Price (RRP) $749.00$749.00$749.00
Pump Pressure15 bar15 bar15 bar
Input Power1,700 W1,700 W1,700 W
Dishwasher Safe PartsNoNoNo
Colour / FinishBrushed Stainless SteelBlack SesameCranberry
Dimensions 334 x 312 x 257 mm334 x 312 x 257 mm334 x 312 x 257 mm
Weight7.9 kg7.9 kg7.9 kg
Milk FrotherSteam WandSteam WandSteam Wand
Bean GrinderNoneNone
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)1 year(s)1 year(s)
Release dateOct 2012
Compare all 3 Breville Infuser BES840

Visit official website
  • MPN: BES840BSS

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.