??!
1 photo
AFG Home Loans
2.5 from 57 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

Previous
Next

Professionalism, Quality, Responsiveness, Value

published

Big thank you to Mohan for for his assistance on helping me receive a loan approval within 1 week. I highly recommend Mohan and his team to everyone. Big thank you again!

Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
See all answers
Ujwal

UjwalGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Worst decision of my life. Stay way and save your self from depression

published

The transparency and practice of this company is borderline unconscious misconduct. I am currently trying to doo a partial discharge of my loan which will reduce the balance of AFG by $110k but they are saying that they will not discharge my loan which I am currently servicing easily. My settlement is in a few weeks and they have left me absolutely no option but to discharge my all there loans from them. Funny how they don't want my business and would rather I discharge 3 loans instead of one. This is beyond my understanding and feel like they are purposely trying to make sure my settlement does not proceed. I will be making sure no one in my immediate contact EVER deal with these guys again.

Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forInvestment Property
See all answers

Easy to get a loan with but it is hard to get out

published

I have been with AFG retro for more than two years. They offered low rate but then didn't adjust on going rates promptly when the market rate was dropped.
And now I want to refinance to a different bank. They kept me for a long time more than a month for a discharge date. And when it is close to the discharge date, they sent another email to move forward 12 more days.
I called the client service team and they said that the original discharge booking date was cancelled without a reason noted.
It is ridiculous.

Helen

Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeSplit
See all answers
Home Loans

Find out how AFG Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Griffin

GriffinPerth, WA

Great to begin with, horrible afterwards

published

Easy to get a loan with.
Terrible if market conditions change.

If they review your rates when RBA rates change, don't expect a reasonable outcome. 0.05% offered vs 1% on their competitors.

Transparency
Customer Service
Online Tools
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
See all answers
Sheree C.

Sheree C.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Administration is terrible

published

Their LMI fees are great and what not. So the savings side fantastic. But their admistration is ridiculous. Everything we have had to sign had to be done again. And when it was redone we had to wait weeks for the process then redo it then wait weeks again! We have builders waiting for money to be released and the bank is taking their sweet time. As soon as we can we are refinancing with another bank

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJuly 2020
Loan used forFirst Home
See all answers

Thanks AFG - good and simple service

published

We rolled over our finances into a single loan and received prompt and personal service.
Online facilities are easy to use and any queries have been resolved quickly - thanks AFG

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Online Tools
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateSeptember 2019
Loan used forRefinancing
See all answers
Dianne H.

Dianne H.

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Cookie Cutter Approach and No Customer Service

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateOctober 2018
Loan used forSecond Home
See all answers
Mark

MarkSouth East Queensland, QLD

Warning! Revoked finance after formal approval.

published

After receiving approval for a home loan, 30 minutes before close of business on the last day of finance. They decided to revoke the approved finance 3 days later, after the contract had gone unconditional. Did not give us an explanation. Left us in a legal battle with the seller. Absolutely horrific.

Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan used forFirst Home
See all answers
Jared

JaredGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

AFG Home Loan Edge

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan used forFirst Home
See all answers
Home Loans

Find out how AFG Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael

MichaelSouth East Queensland, QLD

Excellent lender with great service

published

AFG have been excellent to deal with over the past couple of years. I have now changed back to a major bank as I need more features with my home loan due to living in a remote area. If you’re looking for a simple great value home loan with excellent customer service you won’t go wrong with AFG. They have also been excellent with the discharge of both my mortgages and very quick with the release. If I ever look at refinancing my properties again I will definitely come back to AFG.

Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateFebruary 2018
Loan used forRefinancing
See all answers

Can't even do a pre-approval stage properly

published

I have gone thru an agent who did the processing recently for an AFG loan and luckily escaped from the unforeseen problems. I have given all documents correctly on time and agent did a wonderful job to send to their topline such as BDM, unfortunately, this BDM and toplines are utterly hopeless because whenever I send their requested docs latest I have to wait for 2 weeks for a reply and on a follow up the reply will be your docs are not recent , send the latest again and repeated for more than 3 times and finally I fed up and send just stop it. The later agent agreed you are not the first person having this issue, and my question was why you referring this irresponsible lender.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
MDM

MDMVictoria

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Horrendous service and woeful organisation. Keep away from AFG!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateMarch 2019
Loan used forHome Construction
See all answers
1 comment
AFG Home Loans
Dean T.AFG Home Loans

AFG have been difficult from the start

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateMarch 2018
Loan used forSecond Home
See all answers
1 comment
AFG Home Loans
Dean T.AFG Home Loans
alex

alexGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • Verified customer

Unexplained interest rate hikes, unreasonably high discharge fees.

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
1 comment
AFG Home Loans
Dean T.AFG Home Loans
Joseph

Joseph

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes
  • Verified customer

Be Warned!

published

Long term customer with AFG, but the recent interest rate hike is provocative and totally unfair at time when they should be lowering interest rates.
AFG’s customer service is non-existent; they haven’t offered a response to an email I sent, at the advice of their own customer service person…despite re-sending it several times. The message is, couldn’t care less for customers or loyalty. We’ll do what we like, you just put up with it.

Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
See all answers
1 comment
AFG Home Loans
Dean T.AFG Home Loans
Home Loans

Find out how AFG Home Loans compares to other Home Loans

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Malcolm1978

Malcolm1978Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified customer

Terrible Service

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateOctober 2017
Loan used forHome Construction
See all answers
1 comment
AFG Home Loans
Dean T.AFG Home Loans
Kram

Kram

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Crap service - stay away.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Application Process
Timeliness
Online Tools
Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
See all answers
1 comment
AFG Home Loans
Dean T.AFG Home Loans
al nar

al nar

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

What Royal Commission??

published

AFG raise rates against the trend when I contacted them for an explanation I was told that I would receive a call back 2 weeks later no call back.
The customer service officer I spoke too had a unfriendly tone when you questioned her about my loan enquiry particularly when I told her that their home loan rates were not competitive with other banks and non bank lenders.
The annoying fact was even though my loan is paid up years in advance and AFG have a risk free loan they simply want to treat me like I am just another annoying pesky customer and I should crawl back where I belong

THE

Incentivised ReviewNo
1 comment
AFG Home Loans
Dean T.AFG Home Loans

Frustrated

published

I’ve been with AFG for less than a year and my interest rate has gone up twice .Im now looking into changing my home loan...mind youvim a first homebuyer and I’m in shock how fast the interest rates are going up when other banks are keeping their rates the same .

Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateJune 2018
Loan used forFirst Home
See all answers
Ben

BenHunter Region, NSW

Stay away

published

I’m warning anyone that will listen to stay away from AFG.
I have a loan with them for my land, but Im transferring my land loan to another bank to build my home.
My account was canceled by them but they are refusing to realise my loan to the other bank. But in the mean time they have charged me $800 and are trying to charge me interest on the account that was closed. Settlement has been pushed back by 2 weeks now and I’m still waiting.

I was also ahead on my payments and haven’t seen or heard where that money has gone.
Please stay away from this company

Incentivised ReviewNo
Loan TypeVariable Rate
Loan Start DateMay 2017
Loan used forHome Construction
See all answers
1 comment
AFG Home Loans
Dean T.AFG Home Loans
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

ShaneH

ShaneHasked

Can you please advise when you will communicate your decision on the current rate decrease from the reserve bank?

2 answers
Joseph
Joseph

They haven't passed on anything but are constipating on it...!!

AFG Home Loans
Dean T.AFG Home Loans

You can view the latest rate movements in relation to the recent RBA decrease here - https://afghomeloans.com.au/afg-home-loans-rates-reduced/

Get an answer from our members and AFG Home Loans representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.