??!

Lawn Mower Buying Guide

If you want a backyard that's neat enough to show the in-laws, a quality lawn mower is key. While it's tempting to splash the cash on the best lawn mower from Bunnings, these essential garden power tools should be viewed as a long-term investment. We've provided this short guide on the three main types of lawn mowers to help condense your research phase and find the lawn mower for your garden that's a cut above the rest.

Read now

Reviews

2.9

21 reviews
5
(7)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(6)
1
(6)
  • Build Quality
    3.4 (15)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (13)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (15)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (12)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (15)
  • Safety
    4.4 (12)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.7 (9)
  • Battery Life
    3.3 (12)
Previous
Next
jkefa

jkefaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 36 reviews
  • 5 likes

OK for small yards and dry grass - but wet grass challenges mower

published

Purchased in October 2019 at ALDI for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Danuta Hulajko

Danuta HulajkoIllawarra, NSW

Very disappointing

published

It broke down only after a few weeks of cutting a very small patch of grass. I had to charge it every 10 -20 minutes. What should take only 20 minutes to cut the grass it took me 2 days. I have returned it.

Broken

published

I loved it while it worked, back in the drought when the grass wasn't growing much, then it broke.
Appalling customer service from the Positec (Australian rep) and from Edgeworth Mowers (the repair agent).
Should have saved my time and taken it straight back for a refund

Purchased in August 2019 at ALDI for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Push Mowers

Find out how ALDI Electric / Battery Lawn Mower compares to other Push Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nick W

Nick WSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Never buying from ALDI again

published

Purchased from ALDI in November 2019, but not used for a couple of months because of the dry summer. Then mowed the lawns 2 and a half times. Half because it broke halfway. Same problem as someone else here - the motor runs but the blade doesn't turn. Called the warranty line 5 or 6 times. No help, no refund. I am never buying anything from ALDI again.

Purchased in November 2019 at ALDI for A$99.99.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Very unhappy

Very unhappySydney, NSW

Aldi electric mower 2019 absolute junk

published

After less than 10 minutes, different sound and blades not rotating. Tightened blade nut which was very lose, still no rotation. Just read it has been discontinued, no surprise there!

Purchased in November 2019 for A$99.00.

Robert Henzell

Robert Henzellpenrith

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Did not realise it came without charger and batteries. Can not obtain as Aldi do not have them in stock.

published

Batteries and charger do not appear to be available from Aldi. Tried different stores but apparently they do not stock them. It was a Christmas present and it can not be used. Any suggestions?

Purchased in December 2019.

Smeagol

SmeagolSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Cheap, Well made, battery life unaccpetable

published

Purchased in October 2019 for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Miss Honest

Miss Honest

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Battery life is woeful, long recharge time

published

Heavy and cumbersome to operate, not very manouverable. Battery life is twenty minutes at best, and two hours plus to recharge both batteries. Takes all weekend to mow and edge a 450m block. Can't handle thick grass- it keeps cutting out! When it cuts the result is good, but it can't handle very much. The $50 ozito electric mower it replaced performed far better on thick/ long grass and had far more grunt.

Purchased in January 2020 at ALDI for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Ben

BenSouth East Queensland, QLD

Stopped working after 5 months - QLD repair centre cannot fix it

published

I purchased this at the end of August, it has been working very well but no longer starts. When I contacted the distributor they advised me to take the mower to Yamanto Mower Centre (QLD) which is a 40 minute drive for me. When I got to the repair centre I was advised by them that they can't repair it because it's electric. He also advised that he has had a large number of them come back to him for various issues. It seems as though my only option now is to get a refund.

When it worked it worked well but to stop working after such a short period of time with no option to repair has left me very annoyed.

Purchased in August 2019.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Push Mowers

Find out how ALDI Electric / Battery Lawn Mower compares to other Push Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Vic

VicSouth East Queensland, QLD

Not working... returned for a refund.

published

Bought in November from local Aldi store. Easy to assemble and worked fine for a few times cutting fine leaves tiftuf grass on flat/levered grass areas 200sqm. Mow this area with once with a fully charged battery. Suddenly stopped working after a minute from start with a fully charged battery. Recharged battery again just in case. But did not start (clunks but the blade does not rotate).

Purchased in November 2019 at Aldi for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Battery Life
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
phdo

phdoSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very surprised by the value.

published

Have a new small Sir Walter lawn and this mower glides nicely over it not missing anything. The catcher is easy to use and fills nicely. This cheap mower was chosen over any of the Ozito ones that simply could not compare well. Love the old Victa style handle and the large rear wheels make going down steps very easy. The battery power of 2x2A 20v easily does my small lawn. The bonus whipper snipper is great too. Glad I didn't spend twice the money on a Ryobi.

Purchased in January 2020 at ALDI for A$199.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Margaret

MargaretPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Rubbish mower

published

Stopped after about 6 mins of mowing. And continued to stop. Changed ext cords, not overheating only 20 degrees while mowing...20 min job took nearly an hr...took it back and got a refund...

Purchased in November 2019 at ALDI for A$99.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Value for Money
Product is used Occasionally
See all answers
Ste

SteChurchill

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Good value. Good mower

published

Purchased in September 2019 at ALDI for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Mike R.

Mike R.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 1 like

Easy and efficient

published

Purchased in October 2019 at ALDI for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Jesse7

Jesse7Hunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Surprised

published

I was genuinely surprised by the performance, my back yard is sloping, roughly 15mx 15m and difficult to maneuver a heavy 4 stroke.
The aldi 2 x 20v lawnmower made short work of it, was much easier to throw around and still had 60% battery left (I used my already owned 4ah batteries). The only down side I found had was that I found the catcher fiddly in the way it attached to the mower In the 3 occasions I emptied it.

Purchased in October 2019 at ALDI for A$179.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
Push Mowers

Find out how ALDI Electric / Battery Lawn Mower compares to other Push Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

great for the price

published

Great little lawn mower. Puts together easily and charged batteries easily. Did both my lawns with ease. Maybe about 200m2. Batteries both large had 56% charge still remaining. The only negative is its a little light but that's it. Maybe I'm used to the old heavier type of mower, Lets hope it gives me a few years.

Purchased in October 2019 at nambour for A$301.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
See all answers
LawsM

LawsMSouthwest, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Well made and great value

published

Purchased in August 2019 for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Safety
Battery Life
Value for Money
Wet / Damp Grass Performance
See all answers
Dave

DaveGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Lots of little issues, returned for a refund.

published

The propulsion is one speed, driven from the cutting motor and is far too slow for me, then it's hard to turn as the axle is locked together. Without the drive in gear it's heavier to push than it should be as it's still turning some gears, this is a deal breaker. The charger died first charge, had light for a bit then no lights would light up. 80v is a gimmick as the Wh is an actual measure of energy. This is 144Wh while the 36v AEG mower is 216Wh so it'll last much longer and has potential for a more powerful motor (but I don't have specs on this). The motor seemed powerful but returned the mower before cutting any grass.

Purchased in August 2019 for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Alicia

AliciaMelbourne

  • 8 reviews

Best price

published

I bought one for 99.99 in Aldi last September. It is much easier and better to maneuver and maintain than a push one. Although dealing with the cord can Be a pain, But once you get used to how to move the cord, your yard is no more a big deal!

Date PurchasedSep 2017
davidson123

davidson123AU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Does the job well

published

This was a relative inexpensive lawn mower I bought to do my backyard and it has done it's job without too much fuss. I love that it starts every time.
reliable, inexpensive, energy efficient

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Sue Schlein

Sue Schleinasked

Electric / Battery Lawn Mower

My Aldi Gardenline Mower didn’t have batteries or a charger in the box ? Where can I get them ?

No answers
lynn Fairfield

lynn Fairfieldasked

Electric / Battery Lawn Mower

why is it not collecting grass in th box. used twice and on both occasions no grass in the box?

No answers
Gerardine L.

Gerardine L.asked

Electric / Battery Lawn Mower

Where can i get a new battery for my greenline electric lawnmower?

2 answers
I.P. Daily
I.P. Daily

Why wouldn’t you just contact Aldi ?

jkefa
jkefa

Best option is Aldi, however these are not always available. You may to wait until they are stocked. Alternatived are ebay, gumtree or marketplace but prices may be offensive. Good luck

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.