?
? !

Lawn Mower Buying Guide

If you want a backyard that's neat enough to show the in-laws, a quality lawn mower is key. While it's tempting to splash the cash on the best lawn mower from Bunnings, these essential garden power tools should be viewed as a long-term investment. We've provided this short guide on the three main types of lawn mowers to help condense your research phase and find the lawn mower for your garden that's a cut above the rest.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.5 (32)
  • Value for Money
    3.4 (30)
  • Ease of Use
    3.9 (32)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.8 (29)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (32)
  • Safety
    4.4 (29)
  • Wet / Damp Grass Performance
    2.7 (22)
  • Battery Life
    2.7 (27)
Previous
Next
alangraham

alangraham

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

The Mowing Machine that mows clean. No fumes & not too much noise.

published

The mower is great. Best value for under $200. Cheaper than paying $200 for a twin battery pack elsewhere. I bought this combination pack consisting of a lawn mower & line trimmer. It came with 2 x 20 volt 2amp batteries. I didn’t expect too much from the mower & even less from the line trimmer. It’s turned out to be great.the mower runs for 25 to 30 minutes before the batteries need charging. Perfect time to make a cuppa while charging. The extra batteries I bought along with a separate charger were put in as the others were charging. This set helped me to complete my 800 square metre lawn in good time. No exhaust fumes or accompanying noise you get from petrol mowers. I now need to track down replacement blades before they become extinct.

Purchased in December 2020 for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Good for small areas

published

Great for small areas but would recommend buying extra batteries, otherwise you are looking at a fortune when Aldi doesn’t have them. (I get three quarters of my sidewalk done before batteries die).

Easy to handle and light weight. Other than the short battery life, I Iove it.

Purchased for $299.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Steven P.

Steven P.South East Queensland, QLD

OK until you need repairs

published

Purchased 2 years ago and has provided good service on a 1000m2 block, especially after I purchased an extra battery. Catches OK and mulches quite well but not so good when grass is damp. Started having random stalling issues a few weeks back and then just stopped altogether. Contacted support and the eventual reply was to take it back for a refund, which is a decent outcome. Unfortunately I have a spare $200 battery that I can not take back for a refund. It was worth it to get some experience for a first battery mower, but now I will purchase a more reputable model from from a dealer where I can get better support and a replacement should I need it during the warranty period as my grass is getting quite long now!

Purchased in October 2019 at ALDI for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Push Mowers

Find out how ALDI Electric / Battery Lawn Mower compares to other Push Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve D.

Steve D.Hunter Region, NSW

Great for the price

published

Purchased in March 2019 at ALDI for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ian

IanSouth East Queensland, QLD

Second Battery

published

I am trying to buy a spare battery but it costs $200.00 It only lasts 20 minutes.

I just saw the whole mower (including battery and charger) for sale in my local Aldi for $300.00

I paid $400.00 for my mower.

What a dud this purchase has turned out to be.

Purchased in October 2020 for $499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
richseeto

richseetoSouth East Queensland, QLD

Hopeless mower

published

Purchased in December 2020 at Marsden, Logan City, Qld for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
qaapproved

qaapprovedNorthern Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Perfect for small area

published

Purchased in January 2021 at ALDI for $200.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Geoff 57

Geoff 57Central Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Two plastic pins that hold blades break easily.

published

If you like flicking a 240V cord around all the time while mowing, it’s an okay mower for a while. If you hit anything even remotely solid and you’ll probably snap off the two plastic lugs that go through two holes in the blade and spin the blade. The motor will keep spinning but the blade will only move intermittently. An obvious design fault which appears to be trapping many buyers sooner or later. Junk.

Purchased in August 2019 for $99.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
lerchie

lerchieQld, 4670

  • 9 reviews
  • 5 likes

So far so good

published

Great price especially with whipper sniper. Easy to put together. Surprisingly quite powerful. Light and comfortable to use. Only have small lawn. I see people are not happy with battery life which is expected only 2 amp. Might get two more batteries. update bought two 4 amp batteries and all good twice the mowing time have big lawn and batteries are very good. Love my mower. You can do at least 500/600sm with 2 amp batteries

Purchased in January 2020 at Bargara for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Push Mowers

Find out how ALDI Electric / Battery Lawn Mower compares to other Push Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Its a bit weak

published

Its a bit weak .No good on longer grass.Mow for 10 min charge batteries for 2 hours. Yawn..
nice on short grass . The wipper snipper that came with it is much the same . Might be ok for manscaping thats about it. Can I get my money back?

Purchased in January 2021 for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bob

BobSouth East Queensland, QLD

Might as well wind it with a key.

published

Purchased in December 2020 at ALDI for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Zac

Zac Illawarra, NSW

battery

published

where can you get a battery? I have only used it once and the battery did not last very long at all. Can anyone recommend a contact for a second battery? I find the mower fine otherwise it is good on my grass yer I have a reasonable block and I need the charge to last longer

Purchased in November 2020 at ALDI for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Colin

ColinSouth East Queensland, QLD

Waste of time and money

published

I've been wanting an electric mower for some time. Thought this mower and trimmer for $200 at Aldi was so worth it!
However I'm extremely disappointed in the mower. Haven't even tried the trimmer, but will be returning.
Hardly get 15 minutes of mowing before both batteries are gone. Idk if they just overheat on the mower in the full QLD sun, but they're VERY hot when I take them off the mower.
First time I thought it was just me, but then fully charged both units and went again, only for the same result...
It mows pretty well with the catcher, but the batteries are far too small.
Tried without the catcher, but doesn't mulch very well.

Purchased in November 2020 at ALDI for $199.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
cameron.martin.1840070

cameron.martin.1840070Queensland, Australia

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

It's no old fashioned powerful 2 stroke Victa but then it's not supposed to be.

published

Purchased in December 2019 for $170.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jim

JimGiralang 2617, ACT

Battery Replacement Prohibitively Expensive

published

Purchased in August 2019 for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Push Mowers

Find out how ALDI Electric / Battery Lawn Mower compares to other Push Mowers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Musa

MusaSydney, NSW

Very Disappointing: everything was great except the woeful battery. Don't buy!

published

Purchased in October 2020 at ALDI for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Tony E

Tony EMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 5 reviews
  • 11 likes

ALDI Ferrex 80V Lithium-Ion 20" Brushless Lawn Mower

published

Purchased in October 2020 at ALDI for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
jkefa

jkefaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 37 reviews
  • 7 likes

OK for small yards and dry grass - but wet grass challenges mower

published

Purchased in October 2019 at ALDI for $179.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Danuta Hulajko

Danuta HulajkoIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Very disappointing

published

It broke down only after a few weeks of cutting a very small patch of grass. I had to charge it every 10 -20 minutes. What should take only 20 minutes to cut the grass it took me 2 days. I have returned it.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Broken

published

I loved it while it worked, back in the drought when the grass wasn't growing much, then it broke.
Appalling customer service from the Positec (Australian rep) and from Edgeworth Mowers (the repair agent).
Should have saved my time and taken it straight back for a refund

Purchased in August 2019 at ALDI for $399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Roslyn D.

Roslyn D.asked

20V Mower (Oct 2020, Jan 2021)

Have lost the battery for electric start mower in move. Where can i get another one please

2 answers
Roslyn D.
Roslyn D.

Key start

Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Thanks for answering the question

Vic T

Vic Tasked

Gardenline 2 x 20V Cordless Mower (Oct 2019, Jan 2020)

I just purchased a second hand Aldi Gardenline Cordless Mower Model GY0151 as I have various other Gardenline Aldi products which use the same 20V battery.
However I don't have a manual for it and it is missing the rear catcher. Please advise where I can obtain both from.
regards
Vic

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Aldi

Gary P

Gary Pasked

Electric / Battery Lawn Mower

My Aldi / Gardenline battery mower will not stop. Switches don't seem to work. It starts as soon as the second battery is put in and will only stop when a battery is taken out (or run flat). Has anyone any advice? Thanks

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

I would have contacted the service number

See all ALDI Electric / Battery Lawn Mower questions

Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

ALDI Electric / Battery Lawn Mower

Details

Compare all 8 ALDI Electric / Battery Lawn Mower
CategoryPush Mowers and Electric Lawn MowersPush Mowers and Electric Lawn MowersPush Mowers and Battery Lawn MowersPush Mowers and Battery Lawn Mowers
Price (RRP) $99.99$99.99$299.00$199.00
Power SourceElectricalElectricalBattery (Removable)Battery (Removable)
FeaturesBattery Life IndicatorFoldable Handle
Catcher Type CollapsibleRigidRigidRigid
Catcher Capacity33 L35 L40 L
Cutting Width330 mm340 mm370 mm
Height of Cut20 mm to 60 mm25 mm to 75 mm
Weight16.8 kg
Voltage 36 V40 V
Running Time 30 min
Charging Time1.5 hours
Power1,100 W1,400 W
Manufacturer Warranty1 year(s)5 year(s)
Engine / Motor
Engine Name2.6Ah Samsung Lithium Ion Battery2 x 4.0Ah, 20V battery-powered brushless motor
Release dateNov 2011Nov 2014Feb 2014Oct 2017
Discontinuation dateNov 2013Nov 2018Mar 2014Oct 2018
Compare all 8 ALDI Electric / Battery Lawn Mower

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.