??!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.7 (16)
  • Value for Money
    3.8 (16)
  • Ease of Use
    4.6 (16)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.3 (15)
Previous
Next
Cory Corydoras

Cory CorydorasSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Bought for $399 after big discount

published

Purchased in February 2020 at ALDI for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Colt W.

Colt W.Far North Queensland, QLD

great fridge

published

found this fridge to be just right,looked at many in prices n size,this has great value for money.
suited my purpose perfectly.
Easy clean,easy opp-orations,easy fixes.
Sturdy strong fridge,comes with cover.
But sadly discontinued.

Purchased in April 2020 at private sale for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Matt78

Matt78South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Error 6 straight out of the box

published

After reading these reviews I made the decision to purchase one of these but straight out of the box it showed error 6. It makes you wonder what sort of quality checks are done on these before they leave the factory. I will be asking for my money back & spend a little extra on a decent one that actually works from the start.

Purchased in April 2020 at ALDI.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how ALDI Portable Fridge / Freezer compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Great fridge, very happy so far

published

Purchased three weeks ago (March 20), along with the portable folding solar panel and battery box (already had a deep cycle battery). Fridge works very well and does everything as advertised. Great on 240v as well as on 12v. My battery lasted FOUR days set at 2deg C.

Purchased in March 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
martinmccawley

martinmccawleySydney, NSW

Works well but only for a limited time

published

We use this a few times a year while camping. We power it up at home before we go (no problems), then in the car en route (typically 3 to 5 hours), then from a battery once at site. It works perfectly well for 3-4 days, but then it starts going into error mode. We use the override function and this refreshes it and it's OK again but only for a few hours. After that this cycle repeats but with decreasing duration of fridge working OK. Ultimately it stops working around 4-5 days. The difference in power consumption relating to the ambient temperature is as you would expect, suggesting that the insulation is decent, although not as good as a top-level fridge. So overall, mixed feelings.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Rusty pipes and leaking gas

published

The pipes inside this fridge are mild steel. You’d be lucky to get longer than 4 years from this rubbish. Rusty pipes and leaking gas. I’d advise for all to stay away.

Purchased in January 2017 for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Ben

BenNortheast, VIC

Bud Unit

published

used it 3 times, now it wont keep temp and goes into error mode. have tried many times to reset but it just does the same thing, Very disappointing as we are going away and need it.

Purchased in March 2018.

Incentivised ReviewNo
tim

timSydney, NSW

5 star fridge with the same compressor as the big guys

published

Purchased in January 2015 at ALDI for A$440.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Terrible value for momey

published

Purchased April 2017 and stored it in my shed powered off. First and second camping trips it worked fine although the current draw was a little high. Third trip plugged it into the power and the display started flashing, the motor did not come on or the light. Very disappointed/.

Purchased at ALDI for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how ALDI Portable Fridge / Freezer compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Debby

DebbySydney, NSW

Was great for 4 years! Now Er1 showing and not working

published

We purchased this camping fridge from Aldi about 4 years ago- we'd seen too many Engels get stolen in camping grounds and felt it was safer to have a less expensive model!
It was a great fridge for about 4 years but has suddenly started reading Er1 and not working. Would I buy one again- probably not. It cost about $450 but really to be used for less than 6 weeks a year it should have lasted longer.

Purchased in October 2015 for A$450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Anthony

AnthonySouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Bargain!

published

Was wandering through Aldi to pick up some milk and bread...low and behold there’s a 12v fridge on sale for $250, shut up and take my money!
Great for the shed and occasionally out bush, but let’s be realistic, it’s not an Engel, Waeco or Evakool and a weekend warrior fridge.
Very happy with the purchase and sold my old Waeco with this replacement.

Purchased in February 2018 at ALDI for A$250.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Chris

ChrisSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Good Fridge, Short Life, Poor Warranty Period, Not Good Value for $500.

published

Purchased 09/2015, not used until 12/15, worked great permanently in my 4x4 with extra battery and solar, warranty period expired, then the dreaded E1 code appeared, changed plug to Anderson socket, better for a while, then it wouldnt get below +2 when set at -3, progressively got worse, put it on mains power and it actually went to +9 while still set at -3, contacted after sales service in booklet, no response and no reply, contacted Aldi and was directed to a local authorised repairer who was very helpful, Fridge has internal gas leak = not repairable. Contacted Aldi again, Sorry out of warranty we cant help. $500 for 3 Years, Not Good Value in my Opinion.

Purchased in September 2015 at ALDI for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

AWSOME unit

published

What an awesome fridge wish I'd bought 2 now, temp stayed steady and didn't drain the car battery when accidentally left on over night. Heaps of room for everything we needed plus some. So quite even when brought into the motel room, slept right next to it all night (did have to cover the very bright led though).
Can't wait for ALDI to get more so I can get another to use as a dedicated freezer

Purchased in March 2019 at ALDI for A$549.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Eugene

Eugene

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

No problems

published

I bought this fridge couple of years ago. Used it on several trips, and so far quite happy with it. Works well, drops the temperature fairly quickly. In retrospect it is a little too small for my purposes (hunting), but there is nothing wrong with it so far.

Purchased in July 2017 at ALDI.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Excellent fridge freezer for the price

published

Bought this unit from Aldi and ran it as a freezer inside my camper trailer for 2 weeks nonstop .
Maintained -18 to -15 even during mid 30 degree daytime temperatures.
Unit operated on batteries and a 160 watt solar panel without any issue..
The supplied cover offers no additional insulation capacity , but can’t complain for the price.

Purchased in April 2019 at ALDI.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Portable Fridges / Freezers

Find out how ALDI Portable Fridge / Freezer compares to other Portable Fridges / Freezers

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sean

SeanPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great fridge, excellent price

published
Bug

BugSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Going Great So Far...

published

I purchased the 40L fridge in September of 2016 pre-Fraser island trip. It was great for the 5 days on Fraser and many camping trips after as well. It lives in the 4WD most of the time (but not powered) when needed I put it on 240v to chill it and it gets down to 2c in about 30 minutes.
Just came back from a weekend up at Teewah and the temps were in the 30's, the fridge was fine at 2c and keep the essentials good and cold.
At $400-500 the fridge represents good value and I may buy another when this one craps out. Wait and see I guess, as $500 for 5 years is near the cost of the "reliable" brands that you may not get 10 years out of anyway IMHO.

Purchased in September 2016 at ALDI for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Col

ColHunter Region, NSW

Adventureridge 41l Fridge Freezer

published

I purchased the latest Nov 2018 offering from Aldi for my 6.5m Trailer Yacht. After a week of frustration getting constant E1 and E2 errors I decided to do as the install manual said...connect directly to the battery. After doing this the unit is working perfectly. The mistake i made was to connect via the 12v smart control panel in the boat. I surmise that the fridge control chip and the boat panel were incompatable hence the problems i saw.

Purchased in November 2018 at ALDI for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers

Not good

published

Use as a camping fridge with our 4 WD. Works on DC but on battery, the Stirling fridge doesn't hold the temp for very long at all with a full battery, better off with an Eski. Sorry, but true. Doesn't seem to work at all well on camping trips away from electricity, within hours doing its own thing, even when set on Lo and 3 degrees C. I have really tried to get the thing working/ talked to people and now gone on the net. We are in the process of taking it back, have 2 year warranty. We don't want it fixed, as will not last.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
Jayp

JaypSydney

  • 2 reviews

efficient cooler

published

Have used it on an off for the last year and it works really well, both via power AC and car DC connection. Mostly used it as a refrigerator and not freezer. Decent space. On empty it takes about 1.5 hours to get below 0 degrees, recommended that you pack the unit with your cold goods and cool over-night before you travel the next day with your foods/drinks.

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Dallas J.

Dallas J.asked

Adventuridge Portable Fridge Freezer 65L (Apr 2019, Mar 2020)

How can i reset the Bluetooth on the fridge to allow a new phone to connect?

No answers
David T

David Tasked

Stirling 40L Portable Fridge / Freezer (2014 - 2017)

I have a Stirling 40l car fridge 13 or 31 comes up when plugged into 12v and it does not cool

No answers
wendy n.

wendy n.asked

Adventuridge Portable Fridge Freezer 65L (Apr 2019, Mar 2020)

What is Err2?
How can this be fixed

No answers

Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

Details

Compare all 3 ALDI Portable Fridge / Freezer
CategoryPortable Fridges / FreezersPortable Fridges / FreezersPortable Fridges / Freezers
Price (RRP) A$499.00A$599.00A$499.00
Type Dual Zone Fridge + FreezerDual Zone Fridge + FreezerDual Zone Fridge + Freezer
Capacity40L65L41L
Power SourceCar (Cigarette Lighter) and Wall OutletCar (Cigarette Lighter) and Wall OutletCar (Cigarette Lighter) and Wall Outlet
FeaturesDigital Display Panel and Mobile AppDigital Display Panel, Interior Light, Removable Lid and USB Port
Cooling Capacity-22 °C to +6 °C-18 °C to +10 °C
Weight17 kg16.6 kg
Dimensions 430 x 714 x 350 mm460 x 470 x 80 mm405 x 750 x 395 mm
Construction MaterialPlasticAluminium and SteelAluminium and Plastic
Special Buy Dates
  • 20 Sep 2014
  • 19 Sep 2015
  • 12 Mar 2016
  • 10 Sep 2016
  • 1 Apr 2017
  • 23 Sep 2017
  • 6 Apr 2019
  • 28 Mar 2020
  • 17 Mar 2018
  • 29 Sep 2018
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)3 year(s)2 year(s)
Release dateSep 2014Apr 2019Mar 2018
Discontinuation dateSep 2017Apr 2020Sep 2018
ManualDownload manual
Compare all 3 ALDI Portable Fridge / Freezer

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.