??!

See the Best Split System Air Conditioners in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
7
4 star
6
3 star
3
2 star
1
1 star
4

Paul G.

Paul G.

  • 2 reviews

Rubbish

published

Absolute rubbish. The unit failed after 8 months, E0 error. Contacted Stirling about warranty they replied asking for details which I gave them and then never heard from them again.

Build Quality

Jeff

JeffIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

good air conditioner with great warranty service

published

The AC works well it just has a slightly long delay before it operates. Had slight issue with outside unit power board which was resolved without any issues by Tempo. Great company to deal with.

Purchased in October 2016 at ALDI for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Large Bedroom
See all answers
niesette

niesetteSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Aircon does the job

published

1. This site conditioner works well and hats up house when left on during the day.
2. It's easy to navigate the controls for it, although the timer controls can be a bit temperamental at times.
3. So far or air conditions had keep us seasonally warm/ cool. We have a larger than recommended area that it's covering and its doing a good job all things considered. Written it was very hot it kept us cool so we love it.

Purchased in January 2019 at ALDI for $699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Whole House
See all answers
Angus

AngusSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Buyer Beware

published

Purchased in October 2016 at ALDI for $599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Home Insulation Level Average
Room Type Small Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Angus
Angus

Stirling Split System pathetic

published

I bought the Stirling 3.8 Split system at Aldi in Dec 2017 and the heating component does not work at all. I have had to call Stirling seven times who have given me the run around. I eventually spoke to an electrician from Stirling who said this is a common problem would order me the parts if they are not on back order. A month later and nothing. Will never buy anything from Aldi.

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Will

WillBrisbane

  • 15 reviews
  • 4 likes

Another great Aldi product

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Excellent

published

I bought 2 of these and they are fantastic work perfectly, I would definitely buy again. 1in the bedroom 1 in the family room using on heat now for winter large one in the family room warms our very large room. Smaller one in bedroom is excellent as well. Thank you

Date PurchasedDec 2017

Stumpy

Stumpy

  • 5 reviews

Certainly beats the heat

published

We brought this unit thinking for such a low price if it only done our bedroom I would be more than happy at such a low price and as I work shift work we would use it in the hottest part of the day n it would do the whole 30 square house and I would have to put my hands in front of it to see if it was working it was so quite n it took one man 3hours to put it in n he commented on how easy it was to install

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Peter K

Peter KTaree, NSW 2430

  • 15 reviews
  • 31 likes

Chilling good. Worth the money. Only minor design-improvement suggestions.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Peter K

Peter KTaree, NSW 2430

  • 15 reviews
  • 31 likes

Exactly what I wanted. Works well. Low power consumption.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017

Archi

ArchiPicnic Point

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Would pay more a branded unit

published

The ac unit was very noisy and took a long time to start. And when it did it would start off very loud and then come back to normal.
The thermostat was really fiddly and woukd often switch off.

No memory function on the directiinal swing would need to adjust it evertime.

The airflow wasnt great. And overall wouldnt recommwnd it.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017

Eugene66

Eugene66Brisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good Split System

published

Happy with cooling and heating performance
Quiet
Installation was Ok
This system is easy to use, manuals give full detailed information how to install and use
Not happy that power light is always on.
Plastic finishing of indoor units is not of high quality
Had to spend time to remove stickers from indoor unit.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

gr3gw

gr3gwSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Aldi Stirling Air Conditioner

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Lynette

LynetteBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

2 units puchased - just going through warranty process with 1 unit

published

Bought 2 units in October 2014, installed and been working great up until 1 unit stopped cooling about 6 weeks ago. Now going through the warranty process to have it replaced as it lost all it's gas and caused corrosion. Other than this I found the units quiet, east to use and practical in the 2 areas used in. We'll be using the remaining unit a lot more now as we didn't use that one as much as the problem one......just to see if the same thing happens to this one.....lucky there is another 2.5yrs warranty left. Really hoping we don't have the same problem. Fingers crossed!

Date PurchasedOct 2014
Keza

KezaGold Coast

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Possibly should of spent more money and purchased a better one

published

I am a first time purchaser of an air conditioning unit
.My partner did a lot of looking around and said this one would suit .
We purchased 1 for upstairs lounge /dinning and 1 for downstairs in the main bedroom.
I am happy with the one downstairs except for the bright standby lights .I have had to put a sheet over it at night cause the light is so bright .
The one upstairs had to be re gased as the gas leaked out prior to installing.
I find this one is not at all suitable but that is not Aldi's fault.
The units are very quite . And the remote is easy to use .

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Lino45

Lino45BRISBANE

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Seems to use way more power than claimed.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2016

Doesn't cool effectively

published

On a hot day this small unit does not cool my very small home effectively, it is fine with heat but not cool. I have to put the temperature on 16 but it only feels like 24 degrees .The unit was very reasonably priced but cost a lot to install. To get another is just too costly.

Date PurchasedNov 2015

PAFMELB36

PAFMELB36Melbourne

  • 6 reviews
  • 9 likes

Aldi $599 Air CON

published
Date PurchasedDec 2009

Carly M

Carly MSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not a bad unit one issue

published

We have only had this installed a day, so far it cools effectively. The only issue is that you can't make the power indicator turn off. So when you want to go to bed you either have to put up with a fairly bright blue illumination or turn the power to the unit off at the wall (which is outside on a standard installation).

Date PurchasedNov 2016

Haz

HazBrisbane

  • 9 reviews
  • 9 likes

Cant complain

published

The a/c unit was relatively cheap and was 4 stars (out of six) on the diagram. One issue was the wiring diagram was a little confusing and the electrician/fridgy guy had to seek another from Stirling themselves. Apart from this the unit works perfectly. The advantages are:- it has mobile vents up/down and side to side, very simple remote control, quiet inside and outside operation, they didnt have to run a seperate wiring circuit (which saved on installation) and a huge 5 year waranty. Not sure about running costs as I havent got the first bill yet. Cant fault it!

Purchased in December 2015 for $699.00.


Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Martin D.

Martin D.asked

Stirling STR-23RSJAIF (Oct 2013-2017)

Does anyone know where can I buy a replacement printed circuit board (PCB) for the outside unit, at a reasonable price? I have been quoted $400, which is 80% of what it cost to buy the air-con!

1 answer
Jeff
Jeff

last time I checked with "Stirling" it was $80


Andrew F.

Andrew F.asked

Stirling STR-TCLAC12 (Dec 2016, Dec 2017, Dec 2018)

What is the noise (DB) rating of indoor and outdoor units for the 3.5kw split aircon system

1 answer
niesette
niesette

Unsure. But it isn't overly loud.
(And it has consistently reduced our quarterly bills by approx $300)


Doggies

Doggiesasked

Stirling STR-23RSJAIF (Oct 2013-2017)

We bought a sterling air conditioner from Aldi an we do not know how to set the air conditioner to heating. Can you please advise us what is needed to do to make heat come out and then how to set it to cold? Antonietta

2 answers
Jeff
Jeff

Open the battery flap on the control there you will find two small switches. Change it but you will have to take battery out and then replace it. Regards Jeff

Doggies
Doggies

Thank you for replying but the unit is mounted (of course) high on the wall. Where is it found--on the left or right hand side of the unit or underneath? We are unsure if there should be a 'special' symbol on the remote which is displayed when it on heat. I do not know where my mother has placed her instruction booklet- sorry.


Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

Details

ALDI Stirling STR-23RSJAIF (Oct 2013-2017)
  • Discontinued

ALDI Stirling STR-23RSJAIF (Oct 2013-2017)

3.5
(13)
ALDI Stirling STR-TCLAC12 (Dec 2016, Dec 2017, Dec 2018)
  • Discontinued

ALDI Stirling STR-TCLAC12 (Dec 2016, Dec 2017, Dec 2018)

3.0
(6)
ALDI Stirling STR-SSAC12000 (Dec 2015)
  • Discontinued

ALDI Stirling STR-SSAC12000 (Dec 2015)

5.0
(1)
ALDI Stirling STR-18R32WIFI (Oct 2019)
  • Discontinued

ALDI Stirling STR-18R32WIFI (Oct 2019)

0.0
(0)
ALDI Stirling STR-TCL9AC (Nov 2018)
  • Discontinued

ALDI Stirling STR-TCL9AC (Nov 2018)

0.0
(0)
ALDI Stirling 5kW with Wi-Fi (Oct 2018)
  • Discontinued

ALDI Stirling 5kW with Wi-Fi (Oct 2018)

0.0
(0)
CategorySplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air Conditioners
Price (RRP) $599.00$699.00$699.00$899.00$599.00$869.00
Features Dehumidifying Function, Inverter and Remote ControlInverter and Remote ControlInverterDehumidifying Function, Inverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart Control Dehumidifying Function, Inverter and Remote ControlInverter and Wi-Fi Smart Control
Cooling Capacity2.3 kW3.3 kW3.4 kW5.1 kW2.5 kW5 kW
Heating Capacity 2.6 kW3.3 kW3.8 kW5.1 kW2.5 kW4.99 kW
Reverse Cycle YesYesYesYesYesYes
TypeFull System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)
Cooling Energy Rating 4 stars4.5 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars2 stars
Heating Energy Rating 4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars2 stars
Operating Temperature for Cooling 21 to 4321 to 43
Operating Temperature for Heating -15 to +24-15 to +24
Auto Cleaning (Self Cleaning) NoNoNoNo
Indoor Unit Dimensions 280 x 898 x 200 mm313 x 1033 x 202 mm315 x 970 x 235 mm340 x 1186 x 258 mm306 x 814 x 210 mm310 x 972 x 225 mm
Indoor Weight14 kg12.5 kg14 kg17 kg9 kg15 kg
Max Indoor Sound Pressure Level48 dB49 dB42 dB
Outdoor Unit Dimensions 552 x 760 x 256 mm605 x 780 x 290 mm535 x 802 x 298 mm699 x 927 x 380 mm552 x 760 x 256 mm39 mm
Outdoor Weight 38 kg32.5 kg32 kg40 kg28 kg
Max Outdoor Sound Pressure Level54 dB59 dB52 dB56 dB
Max Outdoor Sound Power Level64 dB
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateOct 2013Dec 2016Dec 2015Oct 2019Nov 2018Oct 2018
Discontinuation dateOct 2017Dec 2018Dec 2015Oct 2019Nov 2018Oct 2018

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.