??!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.0 (9)
  • Value for Money
    3.1 (8)
  • Ease of Use
    3.4 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.1 (8)
  • Noise Level
    3.4 (8)
  • Heating / Cooling Speed
    3.8 (6)
Previous
Next

Sterling Aircon

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Room TypeSmall Bedroom
See all answers
Brett and Jodie

Brett and JodieHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Absolute CRAP Unit and CRAP Service

published

Purchased at Jesmond Aldi for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelAverage
Room TypeLiving/Dining Area
See all answers
Dinky Di

Dinky Di

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

"Return it for a refund" ALDI model falls apart: 5 Year In Home Warranty not working

published

Purchased in November 2019 at ALDI for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelGood
See all answers
1 comment
Dinky Di
Dinky Di
Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how ALDI Split System Air Conditioners compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Didn't last 3 years

published

We had purchased this unit in October 2014 but didn't have it installed till Novenmber 2016. The motherboard has now gone in it after only 3 years use. They will not honour the warranty even though it is only a couple of months out of warranty. Don't waste your money on Aldi crap. Aircons should last alot longer than 4 years

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
UpYours

UpYoursCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 69 reviews
  • 102 likes

Great Air-Con

published

Purchased in February 2017 at ALDI for A$450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelPoor
Room TypeLarge Bedroom
See all answers
Deb W

Deb WSouth East Queensland, QLD

The worst Warranty service ever

published

I purchased my Stirling air conditioner a couple of years ago. Stopped working at the beginning of December 2019. Contacted Tempo they said repair man would contact me within 2 days. No one called. Contacted Tempo again 7 days later they gave me the repair guys phone number. I called him, he stated he couldnt help me. Called Tempo back, they brushed me off and offered me the cost I paid for the unit. What about the money I paid to get this unit installed $800. Never ever will I buy one of these units again. Absolute Crap and so is the Warranty...

Purchased in November 2017 for A$599.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelNot sure
Room TypeSmall Bedroom
Paul G.

Paul G.

  • 2 reviews

Rubbish

published

Absolute rubbish. The unit failed after 8 months, E0 error. Contacted Stirling about warranty they replied asking for details which I gave them and then never heard from them again.

Build Quality
Incentivised ReviewNo
Jeff

JeffIllawarra, NSW

  • 2 reviews

good air conditioner with great warranty service

published

The AC works well it just has a slightly long delay before it operates. Had slight issue with outside unit power board which was resolved without any issues by Tempo. Great company to deal with.

Purchased in October 2016 at ALDI for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelAverage
Room TypeLarge Bedroom
See all answers
niesette

niesetteSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Aircon does the job

published

1. This site conditioner works well and hats up house when left on during the day.
2. It's easy to navigate the controls for it, although the timer controls can be a bit temperamental at times.
3. So far or air conditions had keep us seasonally warm/ cool. We have a larger than recommended area that it's covering and its doing a good job all things considered. Written it was very hot it kept us cool so we love it.

Purchased in January 2019 at ALDI for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelAverage
Room TypeWhole House
See all answers
Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how ALDI Split System Air Conditioners compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Angus

AngusSydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Buyer Beware

published

Purchased in October 2016 at ALDI for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Heating / Cooling Speed
Incentivised ReviewNo
Home Insulation LevelAverage
Room TypeSmall Bedroom
See all answers
1 comment
Angus
Angus

Stirling Split System pathetic

published

I bought the Stirling 3.8 Split system at Aldi in Dec 2017 and the heating component does not work at all. I have had to call Stirling seven times who have given me the run around. I eventually spoke to an electrician from Stirling who said this is a common problem would order me the parts if they are not on back order. A month later and nothing. Will never buy anything from Aldi.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Will

WillBrisbane

  • 15 reviews
  • 4 likes

Another great Aldi product

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018

Excellent

published

I bought 2 of these and they are fantastic work perfectly, I would definitely buy again. 1in the bedroom 1 in the family room using on heat now for winter large one in the family room warms our very large room. Smaller one in bedroom is excellent as well. Thank you

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Stumpy

Stumpy

  • 5 reviews

Certainly beats the heat

published

We brought this unit thinking for such a low price if it only done our bedroom I would be more than happy at such a low price and as I work shift work we would use it in the hottest part of the day n it would do the whole 30 square house and I would have to put my hands in front of it to see if it was working it was so quite n it took one man 3hours to put it in n he commented on how easy it was to install

Date PurchasedJul 2017
Peter K

Peter KTaree, NSW 2430

  • 16 reviews
  • 33 likes

Chilling good. Worth the money. Only minor design-improvement suggestions.

published
Date PurchasedDec 2017
Split System Air Conditioners

Find out how ALDI Split System Air Conditioners compares to other Split System Air Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter K

Peter KTaree, NSW 2430

  • 16 reviews
  • 33 likes

Exactly what I wanted. Works well. Low power consumption.

published
Date PurchasedNov 2017
Archi

ArchiPicnic Point

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Would pay more a branded unit

published

The ac unit was very noisy and took a long time to start. And when it did it would start off very loud and then come back to normal.
The thermostat was really fiddly and woukd often switch off.

No memory function on the directiinal swing would need to adjust it evertime.

The airflow wasnt great. And overall wouldnt recommwnd it.

Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Eugene66

Eugene66Brisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good Split System

published

Happy with cooling and heating performance
Quiet
Installation was Ok
This system is easy to use, manuals give full detailed information how to install and use
Not happy that power light is always on.
Plastic finishing of indoor units is not of high quality
Had to spend time to remove stickers from indoor unit.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
gr3gw

gr3gwSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 5 likes

Aldi Stirling Air Conditioner

published
Date PurchasedJan 2017
Lynette

LynetteBrisbane

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

2 units puchased - just going through warranty process with 1 unit

published

Bought 2 units in October 2014, installed and been working great up until 1 unit stopped cooling about 6 weeks ago. Now going through the warranty process to have it replaced as it lost all it's gas and caused corrosion. Other than this I found the units quiet, east to use and practical in the 2 areas used in. We'll be using the remaining unit a lot more now as we didn't use that one as much as the problem one......just to see if the same thing happens to this one.....lucky there is another 2.5yrs warranty left. Really hoping we don't have the same problem. Fingers crossed!

Date PurchasedOct 2014
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Jessica S.

Jessica S.asked

Stirling STR-23RSJAIF (Oct 2013-2017)

I can’t figure out how to get the heating working can someone please help !!!!!!!

No answers
Jo B.

Jo B.asked

Stirling STR-23RSJAIF (Oct 2013-2017)

Our unit appears to work however is not heating or cooling, we did have some bees also pay us a visit some months back and it probably hasn't worked properly since then, reading some reviews tells me unit has a serious design flaw on the outside unit allowing large insects in?

can anyone advise what can be done to get the unit working properly?

1 answer
bill bayley
bill bayley

Its not working because its aldi crap the same as all Adli (Stirling) appliances. read the reviews & see how many people have had issues That are unresolved by Aldi

Jo B.

Jo B.asked

Stirling STR-23RSJAIF (Oct 2013-2017)

Hello purchased about 3 years ago and it wont blow hot or cold air? all looks to be working otherwise? It will be under warranty however not sure if I have my receipt???

3 answers
Brett and Jodie
Brett and Jodie

Hi Jo, weve had a number of problems with our unit and are now told there are no parts available for this brand of machine in Australia. We have just purchased another brand and replaced the Stirling unit altogether at a cost of $1800

Jo B.
Jo B.

Thanks Brett and Jodi, I am sure mine is still under warranty so will try that Avenue

bill bayley
bill bayley

Your lucky you got 3 yrs Some only lasted 6 months

Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

Details

Compare all 7 ALDI Split System Air Conditioners
ALDI Stirling STR-18R32WIFI (Oct 2019)
  • Discontinued

ALDI Stirling STR-18R32WIFI (Oct 2019)

No reviews yet
CategorySplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air ConditionersSplit System Air Conditioners
Price (RRP) A$599.00A$699.00A$699.00A$899.00
Features Dehumidifying Function, Inverter and Remote ControlInverter and Remote ControlInverterDehumidifying Function, Inverter, On/Off Timer, Remote Control and Wi-Fi Smart Control
Cooling Power2.3 kW3.3 kW3.4 kW5.1 kW
Heating Power2.6 kW3.3 kW3.8 kW5.1 kW
Reverse Cycle YesYesYesYes
TypeFull System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)Full System (Indoor & Outdoor Unit)
Cooling Energy Rating 4 stars4.5 stars4 stars4 stars
Heating Energy Rating 4 stars4 stars4 stars4 stars
Operating Temperature for Cooling21 to 43
Operating Temperature for Heating-15 to +24
Auto Cleaning (Self Cleaning)NoNo
Indoor Unit Dimensions 280 x 898 x 200 mm313 x 1033 x 202 mm315 x 970 x 235 mm340 x 1186 x 258 mm
Indoor Weight14 kg12.5 kg14 kg17 kg
Max Indoor Sound Pressure Level48 dB49 dB
Outdoor Unit Dimensions 552 x 760 x 256 mm605 x 780 x 290 mm535 x 802 x 298 mm699 x 927 x 380 mm
Outdoor Weight38 kg32.5 kg32 kg40 kg
Max Outdoor Sound Pressure Level54 dB59 dB
Max Outdoor Sound Power Level64 dB
Manufacturer Warranty5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)5 year(s)
Release dateOct 2013Dec 2016Dec 2015Oct 2019
Discontinuation dateOct 2017Dec 2018Dec 2015Oct 2019
ManualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manualDownload manual
Compare all 7 ALDI Split System Air Conditioners

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.