2ALDI Stirling 8kg STR-HPD80W (Jul 2021)
Part of ALDI Clothes Dryer 2.9 

ALDI Stirling 8kg STR-HPD80W (Jul 2021)

 VerifiedMPNs:STR-HPD80C and STR-HPD80W
2ALDI Stirling 8kg STR-HPD80W (Jul 2021)
2.5

23 reviews

PositivevsNegative
30% · 714 · 61%

Build Quality
2.8
Value for Money
2.7
Ease of Use
3.8
Cleaning & Maintenance
3.3
Noise Level
3.3

Reviews

23 reviews
Eric
EricGippsland, VIC2 posts
  Stirling 8kg STR-HPD80W

Poor quality product

Purchased in July 2022 from Aldi. Stopped working for unknown reason. Informed residentiagroup.com about the fault. Waiting for someone to come and repair the product. It’s nearly 3 weeks now. Show details
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
ALDI
ALDI   DM   
More
Nix
Nix5 posts
  Stirling 8kg STR-HPD80W

Such a disappointing appliance

My mum bought this appliance for my husband and I as a 10 year anniversary gift, in August of 2022. She was visiting us in Melbourne from Cape Town, South Africa and no longer has the receipt. My item has lasted 15 months and now it will not dry my clothes. It spins. Water tank is empty. Though that is no surprise as my clothes are still sopping wet even after 5 hours of run time. A real waste of energy too. I’ve maintained it well and have always kept it clean but where does this leave me? Unable to provide proof of purchase and now sitting with a household of 6 with no way to dry our clothes in a timely manner. Show details
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
ALDI
ALDI   DM   
More
Hybridfreak
HybridfreakSydney10 posts
  Stirling 8kg STR-HPD80W

So happy, purchased my 2nd Aldi Stirling 8 kg Dryer

After my perfect run up to now with the 1st ALDI dryer
I purchased an additional unit for my Son, also replacing a faulty 8 year old MIELE Dryer. Show details
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Melissa M.
Melissa M.Wide Bay-Burnett, QLD
  Stirling 8kg STR-HPD80W

Dryer belt snapped

Purchased July 2022 lasting only 11months.
Dryer belt has snapped was told that I was living out of service area.Hervey Bay Region.
Money has been reimbursed and they have organised someone to come and collect as its classed as write off. Show details
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Tina
Tina3 posts
  Stirling 8kg STR-HPD80W

Dryer belt

We purchased our dryer last year and the belt has snapped! We were wondering if it is covered by warranty and if and when we can get a new one? Show details
Naomi
NaomiIllawarra, NSW6 posts
  Stirling 8kg STR-HPD80W

Drum belt almost snapped after 11mths of running perfectly

Noticed the drum had stopped turning and then made a loud whining sound. Switched off and pulled it apart and found the belt is almost snapped in half. For 600 I expected it to last a bit longer. Show details
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
ALDI
ALDI   DM   
More

Hi Naomi, I'm sorry to hear about your experience. In order for us to properly assist you with this issue including arranging service if necessary, please contact us on 1300 112 534 on Monday to Saturday 8:30am – 6pm.

Regards,
Tempo

Mss
Mss9 posts
  Stirling 8kg STR-HPD80W

Why would you even consider any other brand

I must admit, I was very reluctant buying this dryer. I checked a lot if different outlets for the best product on offer and could not actually find anything available for a long time. My family member decided to gift it to me. Initially, I was not expecting much considering the price . I was very pleasantly surprised after first use.
Using the dryer for all kinds of fabrics and almost all the functions I am amazed with the value for money. Definitely, can recommend with full confidence to everyone. Look no further. Show details ·  1
Jay
JaySydney, NSW3 posts
  Verified Stirling 8kg STR-HPD80W

Was really good when working

First few months it was great and happy how it performed compared to our old dryer. Then same problem as everyone else is getting started showing up. Initially, cleaning the lint collector then restarting the program works. Now it just won't work 4 out of 5 times. Clearly something is broken. Was able to contact support and told me they will send an email with ticket number and someone will contact me in 24-48 hours. No email came and 72 hours later, still no call. Tried calling their support hotline and can't connect anymore. Can I still return this? Iyem was purchased July/2021. Show details
  • Thumbnail
Daine B.
Daine B.Perth, WA3 posts
  Verified Stirling 8kg STR-HPD80W
Noise Level
AR78
AR78AU19 posts
  Stirling 8kg STR-HPD80W
Value for Money
Noise Level
Emma
EmmaCentral West, NSW
  Stirling 8kg STR-HPD80W

good for a few months

Worked perfect for about 4 months then would not drain any water out. Had a load on for a good 10 hours and were still wet.
Also Tempo like to stuff people around.They Organised someone to come look at it and then cancelled the job without telling me. Also took a few goes to get a refund, they kept telling me they had refunded the money but they finally realised they had wrong numbers for bank account in which I emailed the bank numbers so how they put down the wrong bank numbers I have no idea! Show details
Value for Money
Stu
Stu
  Stirling 8kg STR-HPD80W

Rubbish - Do not waste your money

Faulty after the first few uses. 'Tank light full' kept coming on and the dryer would stop after 2 minutes, even though the water collection tank was empty. Had the pump replaced which was meant to fix the issue, but no difference. Runs for 2 minutes, then error. No difference if running a water outlet hose either, still gives tank full error (even though water not going to the tank). Returning to store, and spending a bit more on something decent at another store Show details
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Andrew M.
Andrew M.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC2 posts
  Verified Stirling 8kg STR-HPD80W

Started great, now have same issue with water not draining like everyone else

Started off great for a few months, now I've got the same issue others have with the water not draining out.
Been waiting 6 weeks for Tempo/Optimum to offer a solution since I logged the fault with them despite this machine having having 3 year warranty. Show details
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Nev A.
Nev A.Sydney, NSW3 posts
  Stirling 8kg STR-HPD80W

Don't bother. Machine stops working after a few months if that!

Apparently the machine cannot tell that the water tank isn't full and will stop working thinking it is! Getting someone to come and "repair" unit can take weeks and then unit will become faulty again! Yes it is cheaper by far in comparison to the general market but this is why. So many people to go through and so much time required to solve the issue. There isn't even any information on the stirling website in regards to this machine and it only was sold in July 2021! Ridiculous! Show details
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Carty
CartyQueensland13 posts
  Stirling 8kg STR-HPD80W

Epic Fail - too good to be true

Drying sensor questionable.
Loads often still wet, not damp (50%).
Standard Drying time 5hrs on LED, loads complete in 90 minutes and are damp.
Larger items, Sheets, Blankets, roll into a ball in the centre items are wet.
Easy to use.
Except the bottom filter is painful.
Now have Water Container Fault and doesn't work.
Friend purchased and had same issue. Repaired, worked for two days.
Tried all the troubleshooting in Manual and on this site, fail.
Contacted ALDI still waiting for call back, Time for a refund. Show details
Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
  • Thumbnail
ALDI
ALDI   DM   
More

Questions & Answers

Ola M.
Ola M. · Stirling 8kg STR-HPD80W (Jul 2021)

Product purchase date: 17/07/22

My cloth dryer is not working.
Informed Residential group under the warranty on 04/12/23.

Case number: 372359

After 5 and half weeks of waiting technician came only today. But still he did not have the parts to fix the unit.

Now I have to wait until parts to arrive.

Is this how you provide service to your customers?

How long do you expect me to wait?

W are you better make it refund?

ALDI
ALDI   DM   
Ola M.
Ola M.  

Thanks for letting me know.

Davo M.
Davo M. · Stirling 8kg STR-HPD80W (Jul 2021)

7kg stirling condenser dryer just beeps when turned on nothing works ..any recommendations .to fix

Hybridfreak
Hybridfreak  
ALDI
ALDI   DM   
Kylee M.
Kylee M. · Stirling 8kg STR-HPD80W (Jul 2021)

Hi
How to i remove the bottom filter to clean it? It has gone mouldy and i cant get it out through the front opening.
Ive lost my manual and cant find anything online

Hybridfreak
Hybridfreak  

Hi Kylee
I will look at my units and the Manual tonight .

Kylee M.
Kylee M.  

Thanks heaps

Hybridfreak
Hybridfreak  

Details

Compare all ALDI Clothes Dryer listings
CategoryClothes Dryers and Heat Pump Clothes DryersClothes Dryers and Vented Clothes DryersClothes Dryers and Condenser Clothes DryersClothes Dryers and Heat Pump Clothes Dryers
Price (RRP) $599$269$229$199
Capacity8 kg6.5 kg6 kg4.5 kg
Energy Rating7 star(s)2 star(s)2 star(s)2.5 star(s)
Energy Consumption145 kWh per year287 kWh per year265 kWh per year186 kWh per year
FeaturesChild-Safety Lock and Mobile AppChild-Safety LockChild-Safety Lock, Lint Filter and Wall MountableChild-Safety Lock, Lint Filter and Wall Mountable
Door Hinge RightLeftLeft
Dimensions 850 x 595 x 630 mm820 x 600 x 565 mm840 x 595 x 545 mm700 x 600 x 435 mm
Drying Programs 15444
Temperature Settings 332
Venting TypeRear Venting
Special Buy Dates
  • 17 Jul 2021
  • Jun 2015
  • 11 Jun 2016
  • 10 Jun 2017
  • 1 Apr 2010
  • 7 Apr 2011
  • 18 Apr 2012
  • 14 Jun 2014
  • May 2015
  • 21 May 2016
  • 22 Apr 2017
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Colour / FinishCharcoal or WhiteWhiteWhiteWhite
Release date
Discontinuation date
ManualDownload manualDownload manual
  • MPN: STR-HPD80C and STR-HPD80W

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.

©  ProductReview.com.au Pty. Ltd. All Rights Reserved. General disclaimer: All third party trademarks, images and copyrights on this page are used for the purpose of comparative advertising, criticism or review. This is a public forum presenting user opinions on selected products and businesses, and as such the views expressed do not reflect the opinion of ProductReview.com.au. Further details in the disclaimer.