??!
14 photos
Alfa Romeo Giulietta

See the Best Hatchbacks in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
18
4 star
7
3 star
2
2 star
4
1 star
0

Kimba

KimbaBrisbane

  • 7 reviews
  • 4 likes

Never will I buy another Alfa

published
BadgeProgression JTD-M
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedNov 2014

Marruz

Marruz

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Think before you buy

published

Driving is ok. Uses a lot of 95 unleaded petrol and being 4cyl is slow to take off even when switched to turbo (which guzzles up heaps of petrol too). Rattling noise coming from dash. Sun visor came loose ages ago. Door handles are plastic and snap off, they're coated with silver alum which flakes off and cuts (replaced 3/4 times).Too much plastic inside. Archaic cumbersome manual turning wheels to lower seat. Top of windshield above glass peels off all on its own (making car look old and shabby). Car collects leaves and when heater is turned on, they set on fire. Usb port in glovebox - so u have to leave that open, if u want to use it.

BadgeDistinctive
Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2014

Don’t do it

published

Too many electronic, door furniture faults to mention, very expensive to repair and no one in Australia knows what to do with it when it does fail, so I suggest to stay away unless you like to fix cars for a living because nobody else will, good luck because you will need it.

BadgeProgression
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2013
Ngoc D

Ngoc DMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Wonderful all rounder

published
BadgeQV
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Fred C

Fred C

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Alfa Lover

published
BadgeQV
Engine Size1.7L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedFeb 2017

samsmilne

samsmilne

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Perfect car!

published

Love this zippy gutsy little beast. Dynamic mode leaves the fastest for dead. So reliable and spacious enough. Only a few minor things: missing a grab handle on passenger side roof, and there's no clock on the radio/dash but other that it's the perfect little car while still being very punchy. Oh and torque is incredible.

BadgeProgression JTD-M
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedApr 2017

Luca A.

Luca A.Sydney

My dream come true

published
BadgeDistinctive
Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2017

Sofie

SofieFairfield

  • 10 reviews
  • 6 likes

Love it!!!

published
BadgeProgression
Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2014
Steve

SteveLake Munmorah

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great fun car

published

Great looking car with lots of grunt. As standard does not sound sporty, but with time and some minor modification becomes a real Alfa.
Standard tyres limit absolute grip, be careful with your selection and the handling is amazing.
The interior is great to look at but typically Italian form over function, no foot rest in the clutch manual, the cupholders are useless, and the glovebox is not even big enough for the manual.
Not the most economical in the class, but overall has been very cheap to run and service for over 100K and has been perfectly reliable.

BadgeQuadrifoglio Verde
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2014
Sandi

SandiQLD, 4557

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Good looking car

published

I love the look of this car and and it is top quality. The passenger space is tight and storage space is lacking. It is not a smooth drive and I don’t like the way the computer handles changing gears but still enjoy driving it anyway. I don’t like all of the controls being located for a left hand drive car, it would be nice if they reversed them for a right hand drive car.

BadgeDistinctive
Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionTwin clutch transmission
Date PurchasedMar 2016

Alex G

Alex GPerth

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Looks meet functions

published

In short, excellent car. You won't see many of them around, it's a head turner, and so far we had zero issues with it. It's the perfect safe family car where size, practicability and comfort meets style and easy maintenance. Tank of fuel takes you a loong way in this Alfa, very economical for a luxury car!

BadgeProgression
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Addey

AddeyMelbourne

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

Pretty car but bad customer service

published
BadgeSprint
Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedMar 2016

R E

R EPerth

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

It's not a Car, it's an AlfaRomeo...

published

THE best driving experience ever! The performance is like a race car!, handles beautifully, quiet and classy.. Love everything about the interior but we are yet to work out how to lock the doors from inside.. The running costs are - literally - next to nothing - even in dymo mode. Very reliable, family darling!

BadgeProgression
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2017

Fab

Fab

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best car I've owned.

published

I've owned and driven many cars, and the Giulietta has been my favourite by far. Enjoy the way it handles and drives. Nice transmission and engine sound. Truly a drivers car. Smooth and comfortable on the road. (Although, the 16"wheels help, compared to the 18"which I test drove) No rattles or problems. Other makes are over rated.
Well done Alfa Romeo.

BadgeDistinctive
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2016
Justin

Justin

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Brilliant hot hatch. Only flaws lay inside . Fuel consumption more than advertised

published

Going on 6 years old now , bought a 1500k ex demo 1.8l turbo as soon as they hit our shores.
Looks great, drives like a dream. No mechanical issues whatsoever .
Trim on steering wheel flaking off in a couple of spots , and consumption about 11 l/100km around town rather then the lower advertised rate , are my only minor gripes .

BadgeQV
Engine Size1.7L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedSep 2011
Noosamike

NoosamikeQueensland

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Giulietta Distinctive 2ltr Diesel Problems

published

I purchased my ex demo 2ltr Diesel Giulietta two years ago and for the remainder of the warranty period it was fantastic, lots of power and reasonable economy averaging 5.5 liters per hundred kilometers however within two months of ending the 3 year warranty and having only done about 14,000kms the check engine light keeps coming on with a diesel particulate filter error code. I expect better from a low kilometer almost new car and will now have to pay more to get this problem fixed. I was cautious buying an Alfa from their historic reputation and now it has come back to bite me. Having owned Honda's, Mazda's, Suzuki's and even a Jeep I have never had issues under 100,000kms.

BadgeDistinctive JTD-M
Engine Size2.0L Turbo-Diesel
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJul 2014

What a fantastic car this is!

published
BadgeQuadrifoglio Verde
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2015

Andy M

Andy MAdelaide

Great little car!

published

Love the feel,handling and performance. Reliability after 40,000Ks? So far so good and puts my last car, a Subaru Forrester to shame. Also given up with the Stop Start feature but what the hell, I drive it almost exclusively in "Dynamic" mode using paddle shifts and the driving enjoyment is worth the few extra bucks you save in petrol using "Normal" and Stop Start.

BadgeDistinctive
Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2014

RRK

RRKNew South Wales

  • 6 reviews
  • 6 likes

Love the car

published

I been driving Giulietta 2013 (brandnew) for nearly 3 years 40K on clock, love the feel of the car. Had problems with start/stop not working. Dealer fixed it after 4 attempts, 6 months diagnostics and 2 batteries replacement. Finally fixed by replacing battery sensors. Good car but poor service and parts availability.

Badge(No Badge)
Engine Size1.4L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual

Brent45

Brent45Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 19 reviews
  • 11 likes

Great all round car, well worth considering

published
BadgeQuadrifoglio Verde
Engine Size1.7L Turbo Petrol
TransmissionManual

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

L.Coma

L.Comaasked

I like my Giulietta but I’ve been informed I have to pay over $300 to get my Uconnect gps system updated. It keeps taking me to all the dead end streets. Other manufacturers don’t charge their clients for an update. Why do I need to pay this extravagant amount for an update?

2 answers
Marruz
Marruz

I didn't want their gps and i use google maps on bluetooth. I certainly wouldn't pay them one cent, $300 that's laughable. The company is by no means a generous one, with every new car I bought I got free car mats, they wanted money - pft, cheap skates!!! Glad you like your Giulietta

L.Coma
L.Coma

Thank you


bruno

brunoasked

Hi Alfa’s
Just been told that it could be the inlet manifold, does that make any sense?
Just for the record it’s a giulietta 2014
November jtd progression 2ltr turbo diesel
Thanks Bruno

No answers

bruno

brunoasked

Hi Alfas
I bought my 2ltr turbo diesel new has 68000kms on it and has now broken down .
does anyone know what problems they have and how to fix them ?
Mine has been fantastic but on my last trip it made a fast buzzing noise then gradually over a distance of 50kms it lost power till it could go no more,any ideas thanks

2 answers
Kimba
Kimba

They are a beautiful car to look at but full of problems. I was same as you, bought it brand new didn’t even have 10kms on the clock, custom ordered from Italy. mine started to play up at around 45000kms the turbo decided to just stopped working which what your talking about sounds pretty much what happened to me. Fast buzzing noise, I got it home as I was literally 5 seconds away then it didn’t want to start the next day when I got it all booked in at my Alfa dealership. I got it towed there instead and it sat there for 4 weeks before the part made its way from Italy.... at a cost of 6k and some change. I then had it back from that incident for 3 weeks before water pump decided to just stop working, not that it was old or anything just to the poor workmanship on the car Alfa mechanic said that this is a very common issue that they haven’t tried to fix at all in production, that cost me $1200 and 4 days luckily they had this part on hand because it’s a known issue, the electrics stopped working my power lumbar stopped and my indicators only worked when they wanted to and that was a rare occurrence not to mention the radio decided to work on the odd occasion too, had that rectified costing $2200 and 7 days, again all parts they needed were on hand again because it’s a common problem, the day I jumped in my car and it decided to not want to have power steering was when I gave up, I got it down to the dealership and was told again it was a common problem and they could have it all fixed, that was the last $4500 I spent on that car! I pick it up and drove it straight to a Mercedes dealership traded it in on a c63 and have never looked back..... Alfa’s are beautiful cars and still I would love to own one again in particular a 4C but they will always be a lemon. Everything goes wrong with them when they are still relatively new... now let me also put in there that I always took it to the dealership for services ect and they apparently check for all these common problems in their checks but it was always “ok”. Never again.... at least I can say I was a proud owner of an Alfa Romeo for 2 and a bit years.

Kimba
Kimba

Also resale value on them is shocking.... so don’t get your hopes up for a good sale if you do trade in, I got 8.5k for mine.


Get an answer from our members and Alfa Romeo representatives

Details

Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 0 Progression
  • Discontinued

Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 0 Progression (2013-2014)

5 reviews
Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 1 Quadrifoglio Verde
  • Discontinued

Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 1 Quadrifoglio Verde (2015-2016)

2 reviews
Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 0 Progression JTD-M
  • Discontinued

Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 0 Progression JTD-M (2013-2014)

3 reviews
Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 2 Super Manual

Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 2 Super Manual (2016-2019)

No reviews
Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 2 Veloce

Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 2 Veloce (2016-2019)

No reviews
Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 1 Sprint
  • Discontinued

Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 1 Sprint (2015-2016)

1 review
Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 1 Progression
  • Discontinued

Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 1 Progression (2014-2016)

2 reviews
Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 1 Distinctive
  • Discontinued

Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 1 Distinctive (2014-2016)

3 reviews
Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 0 QV (Quad Verde)
  • Discontinued

Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 0 QV (Quad Verde) (2011-2014)

4 reviews
Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 0 (No Badge)
  • Discontinued

Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 0 (No Badge) (2011-2014)

2 reviews
Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 2 Super Auto

Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 2 Super Auto (2016-2019)

No reviews
Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 0 JTD-M
  • Discontinued

Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 0 JTD-M (2011-2014)

No reviews
Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 0 Distinctive JTD-M
  • Discontinued

Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 0 Distinctive JTD-M (2012-2014)

2 reviews
Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 0 Distinctive
  • Discontinued

Alfa Romeo Giulietta Series 0 Distinctive (2012-2014)

4 reviews
CategoryHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacksHatchbacks
Starting Price $27,450$39,000$33,350$29,900$41,900$31,000$29,000$33,000$39,150$24,550$34,900$41,990$35,250$29,350
TransmissionDual-Clutch (DCT) and ManualDual-Clutch (DCT) and ManualDual-Clutch (DCT)ManualDual-Clutch (DCT)ManualManualDual-Clutch (DCT) and ManualManualDual-Clutch (DCT) and ManualDual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT)Dual-Clutch (DCT) and Manual
Drive TypeFront Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)Front Wheel Drive (FWD)
Fuel TypePetrolPetrolDieselPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolPetrolDieselDieselPetrol
Wheels16" Alloy18" Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy16" Alloy16" Alloy18" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy17" Alloy
ANCAP Safety Rating5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars5 Stars
Doors55555555555555
Seats55555555555555
Fuel Consumption5.7 L/100km7.6 L/100km4.5 L/100km5.5 L/100km6.8 L/100km5.7 L/100km6.4 L/100km5.7 L/100km7.6 L/100km6.4 L/100km4.9 L/100km4.5 L/100km4.5 L/100km5.9 L/100km
Fuel Tank Capacity 60 L60 L60 L60 L60 L60 L60 L60 L60 L60 L60 L60 L60 L60 L
Engine4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.8L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.75L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.7L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 1.4L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 2.0L4 Cylinder 1.4L
Max Power125kW @ 5500rpm177kW @ 5750rpm125kW @ 4000rpm110kW @ 5500rpm177kW @ 5750rpm110kW @ 5500rpm88kW @ 5000rpm125kW @ 5500rpm173kW @ 5500rpm88kW @ 5000rpm125kW @ 5500rpm125kW @ 4000rpm125kW @ 4000rpm125kW @ 5500rpm
Max Torque250Nm @ 2500rpm340Nm @ 1900rpm350Nm @ 1750rpm250Nm @ 2500rpm340Nm @ 2000rpm250Nm @ 2500rpm215Nm @ 2500rpm250Nm @ 2500rpm340Nm @ 1900rpm206Nm @ 1750rpm250Nm @ 2500rpm320Nm @ 1500rpm350Nm @ 1750rpm250Nm @ 2500rpm
Country of ManufactureItalyItalyItalyItalyItalyItalyItalyItalyItalyItalyItalyItalyItalyItaly
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateMay 2013Nov 2015May 2013Oct 2016Oct 2016Nov 2015Dec 2014Dec 2014Jan 2011Jan 2011Oct 2016Jan 2011May 2012May 2012
Discontinuation dateNov 2014Sep 2016Nov 2014Sep 2016Sep 2016Sep 2016Nov 2014Nov 2014Nov 2014Nov 2014Nov 2014

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.