??!

See the Best Car Insurance in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
59
4 star
18
3 star
10
2 star
30
1 star
390

Ricky D.

Ricky D.South-Eastern Region, NSW

Worse insurance company ever

published

Bought a new car then hit a roo 3 months later tried to make a claim only to find out my policy had been canceled by allianz the same day. No emails, no calls or letters in the mail. DONT TRUST THEM!!!!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelMitsubishi Triton
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

avoid this insurance company

published

i let my insurance policy of an agreed value roll over into the new year
i had an accident and my car was a write off and i discovered that they devalued my car by 40% in 12mths
i spoke to them about this and i was told i agreed by continuing my policy with them
i never agreed to devaluing my car , i agreed to keep it insured with them by letting it roll over and not going to another insurer
they would not review this nor do they have an internal dispute department
i would never touch this insurance company again ever and i will never recommend them either

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelAlfa Romeo 159 Sedan (2006-2012)
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Whitninja1970

Whitninja1970

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

dreadful customer service

published

No email contact available. Phone customer service was pitiful - once I eventually got through. Incredibly rude and dismissive. You'd think THEY had been the one on hold for an hour.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Kateben

KatebenMelbourne

  • 27 reviews
  • 2 likes

Overpriced crap!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

disgruntled

disgruntledVictoria

Horrible dont pay on legitimate claims

published

They just take your money....no intent to honour there policy. They just want to accept funds and wiggle their way out of paying. Horrible ethics and I will never use them again.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelMazda 6 GH
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJuly 2015
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

raf

rafSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Worst ever insurance please keep away

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelAUDI
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateAugust 2019
See all answers

Joe

JoeCentral Queensland, QLD

RUN FOR THE HILLS - GET OUT BEFORE ITS TO LATE !!!

published

Incompetent, arrogant and LAZY.
Treated like a liability not an asset.
Lied to us. External parties assigned by Allianz are blamed for lag time. No email correspondence provided. No phone call updates provided. Up to 30mins wait time when trying to get in contact. Our vehicle was sent to an Auction house without our permission. Unable to contact Claims supervisor. Unable to log a complaint. 1 month in an no settlement of the Claim. The culture of this multi - national is one of arrogance and ignorance.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeThird Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateOctober 2019
See all answers

With Allianz you are alone

published

All good while no problems. First problem and they leave you completely alone even presenting proofs. They made me wait on the phone for 25 minutes when trying to make a claim and then they didn't even offer to investigate a little bit despite I had witnesses, photos, names of companies they would be able to call, etc. When you have to pay good money for the insurance they are more helpful though. As soon as my policy expires, mi relation with them too. Very expensive services and zero effectiveness. They are not tricking me twice.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Othman

OthmanSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Absolute nightmare.

published

When will government shut down this seriously corrupted insurance company
Absolute nightmare. It's better to not be insured at all than to be insured with Allianz. What a total headache. They make you wait 3 months for a simple decision. They line is do clogrd you should try calling in for a claim to find out. They literally hang up 2/3 times. They keep giving long explanation that's get nowhere. Why waste your time and money but especially time

Insurance TypeThird Party, Fire and Theft
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Glen Waring

Glen Waring

  • 10 reviews

BEWARE OF OVERCHARGING ON RENEWALS? Is this duplicity?

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive and Compulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Worst

published

Quite potentially the worst insurance company that’s ever been established in the Oceania region. Every person I’ve ever spoken to, who was also with Allianz agrees, including employees and those at mid-senior level roles have admitted to foul practice.
Heed warning, to all who are considering this company - ask anyone at all, and no one will have a good thing to say about them.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelBMW F22 220i Coupe
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Horrible Phone Service

published

I called Allianz to speak to someone about a Home and Contents claim, Justin found my policy number and put me through, I waited on the phone for 40 minutes, a lady answered and asked me for my rego number. I was put through to the wrong department. She told me she has no choice but put me through again to the correct one. I was again put on hold for further 20 minutes, when someone finally answered the phone the line dropped down! I had to call again, waiting on hold for 20 minutes until my call was answered. DISGRACEFUL!!!!!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

Abyss94

Abyss94Victoria

  • 3 reviews

Review on Application Process online. New Sign Up to Allianz, No Claims as yet.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

amhappy

amhappySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

try calling the claims vs sales for new quotes

published

Just testing out the company -
call sales to get a quote : -immediate response
call claims department - 23 minutes and still holding as I am writing this review..
They offer a call back because the wait is so long.

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Miss.M

Miss.MCentral Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Allianz owe us money

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
See all answers

Disappointed.

published

I lodged a claim for an accident 5 months ago with a police report and a witness..still no progress on my claim. And I always needed to call them for an update!! Unbelievable!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Car ModelVolkswagen Golf 7 (Hatchback) 103TSI Highline
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2019
See all answers

Gune

GuneSydney

  • 13 reviews
  • 2 likes

Unbelievable bad bad service

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelVolkswagen Polo
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Worst company ever

published

Went to put in a claim 8 months ago when I had a minor accident and was advised by a staff member not to do anything until they put in a claim. 8 months later I get a bill in my email for $4,108. I then submitted my claim and was told my third party didn’t mean anything. After being on the phone everyday for 6 days straight talking to even managers I managed to get it down to my excess. I have emailed all my proof showing what I did damage and what she has claimed for ( even though it was a male I had the accident with ) is more than what I did. But they refuse to listen and acknowledge any of it. So moral of the story even if you try to do the right thing Allianz will still crap you right in the your face.

Insurance TypeThird Party, Fire and Theft
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo

Cheryl

CherylSouth East Queensland, QLD

Appalling Level of Service

published

Very slow process to deal with an at fault claim.
Very long wait for Assessment of vehicle.
On hold always, on one day 3 people tried to call regarding the claim, with almost 2 hours on hold.
Slow response to emails and no attention to details at all.
Insurance now elsewhere and hope to never deal with Allianz again.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Stu

StuGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Poor customer service

published

I lodged a motor vehicle insurance claim and was advised that the excess was $850. When I received the formal notification via e-mail I was advised that the excess was in fact $2,250. I rang to clarify and hung up after being on the phone on hold for over 18 mins. Clearly once they've got your business they're not interested in providing any customer service.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Car ModelFord Ranger PX.I (2011-2015)
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Page 1 of 26

Questions & Answers

Anne M

Anne Masked

what is the criteria used by Allianz re Market Value?

I have a claim.with Allianz for accident where I am not at fault, (other party admitted fault), my car is written off.
Allianz have told me their assessment is at the Private Sales market.
Why not the retail market? Claim.will be against the 3rd party, not Allianz

2 answers
Gune
Gune

In our case it was an agreed matket value. We had the same issue where they paid the value and took the vehicle where they can get a better value. This is a racket run by Allianz, assessors and panel beaters. They write off the car in one state and take to another state and get a better price. My car was taken to Pickles auction. The rest is history.

Anne M
Anne M

Thanks
Seems lots of complaints with Allianz

I have taken the number plates from written off car


Rakesh Sharma

Rakesh Sharmaasked

Two of my cars recently had a hail damage. Allianz advised me to get it repaired at BodyTech at Castle Hill but will claim excess from me as well as raise my premium.

My question is why I have to pay excess when I am not at fault. Why I should pay higher premium when I am not at fault.

4 answers
Gavo
Gavo

Yes ur premium will go up I got out Allianz gone to a much better insurance company

Rakesh Sharma
Rakesh Sharma

Hi Gabo

Which company you selected. Did they accept the noted hail damage.

Rakesh Sharma
Rakesh Sharma

Sorry
This I phone keeps changing the spellings


Gina

Ginaasked

If I make a second claim within 12 months, will I expect extra fees?

2 answers
Gavo
Gavo

Yes u will they will jump it insurance right up

tony
tony

yes


Get an answer from our members and Allianz representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.