??!

Reviews

4.1

2,930 reviews
5
(1,597)
4
(764)
3
(153)
2
(57)
1
(359)
  • Value for Money
    4.1 (602)
  • Transparency
    4.1 (500)
  • Customer Service
    4.1 (547)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Disappointed

DisappointedGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Not looking promising

published
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2020
3 comments
Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance
Disappointed
Disappointed
Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance

Still waiting for a partial refund after 4 months

published

Like so many others here, I contacted Allianz for a partial refund of my $962 year long travel insurance policy, back in April Told I would be contacted by end of May. Three phone calls and 3 months later, and I am still waiting. My next move will be to contact the Australian Financial Complaints Authority. Suggest others consider this option.

DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeNo
1 comment
Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance

Good Afternoon,
I am sorry hear about your experience regarding receiving your partial refund. I have sent a private message requesting information that would assist us in escalating your matter to the right department.
Kind Regards,
Marius

Still Waiting

Still WaitingSouth East Queensland, QLD

Still waiting for a response to my claim 4 months later

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
2 comments
Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance
Still Waiting
Still Waiting

Thank you. I received a call yesterday and my claim has now been assessed.

Travel Insurance

Find out how Allianz Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ben

BenSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Do not trust Allianz with your travel insurance

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance
sunshine

sunshinesydney

Totally inefficient and evasive

published

Like "Stu" we have had the exact same experience. 1st submitted request on 14th March ...promised answer within 10 days. Multiple emails later and still no answer of any kind. Shame on you Alliance. Just insured a Toyota Sahara, a 18mths old caravan and a Hyundai i30 premium. Definately not with Alliance or any company underwritten by them. This was our 2nd time for travel insurance with them...Never again.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance

Constant delays on processing claim

published

I submitted a claim 13 weeks ago and have been told numerous times that it would take additional time to review my claim. I have usually been told it would take 10 more days and then another 10 days and then I hear nothing for a month and then I was told 15 more days and today I have been told it will take another 10 days to review. At best I can expect an answer from them in 15 weeks!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Sue H.

Sue H.Darwin, NT

Previous 3 Allianz Multi Trip Insurance policies were excellent value. This year - not good at all.

published

My multi-trip policy is valid 8/8/2019-8/8/2020 ($602)
Covid-19 mid-March NT lockdown cancelled my May (other) booked Bali trip(s).
Unlike Bupa, Allianz denied my request for 3-6 month extension of paid-up policy.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
5 comments
Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance
Sue H.
Sue H.
Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance
Robert V.

Robert V.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Difficult to deal with Allianz

published

Was booked and ready to go mid March 2020 but because of the Covid-19 could not travel so cancelled everything. Feel very sorry for Tour Operators and Hotels and Train and Plane companies who's operation has come to a sudden end but the lingering PROBLEM is trying to get a refund from Allianz for insurance we don't need. After many unsuccessful attempts at trying to get the Allianz Travel Insurance refund the main obstacle is that as an organization they don't care about their customers. They are NOT customer focused or oriented which means once you know this don't deal with this type of Organization. There are many other travel insurance companies with better ratings.
Robert V
Mitcham Vic
The home of the 2nd wave.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
3 comments
Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance
Robert V.
Robert V.
Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance
Neil

NeilGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Would not recommend this company to anyone

published

Took out 2 policies on 5th March 2020 and then cancelled them under the 14 day cooling off period. Promised refund of $8,000 24th March. Still waiting 6th July 2020

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope and North America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
5 comments
Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance
Neil
Neil

Thanks. The matter was finally settled but only after many phone calls and emails.

Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance
Travel Insurance

Find out how Allianz Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
kellie

kellieredlands

  • 11 reviews
  • 9 likes

Allianz travel insurance,

published

Happy with the end outcome with Allianz
Thankyou for refunding my policy
Took a little longer than expected but in the end they came through for this
Unexpected unforeseen pandemic
Thank you

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance

Hi Kellie,
Thank you for your feedback. It is greatly appreciated.
Kind Regards,
Marius

Allianz Travel Insurance Review - Allianz: Lacking in integrity

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance
Inderjit

InderjitSouth East Queensland, QLD

Took 3 months for outcome

published

Absolutely pathetic customer service and took them three months to come with an outcome. Would not recommend Allianz insurance to anyone. Waste of money.
No support at all. Avoid any Allianz insurance.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationPacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance
Chris

ChrisGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Paid for Travel Insurance but service was not provided so I'm seeking a refund

published

I paid for Travel Insurance ($200), however, due to travel restrictions related to Covid 19 the service was never provided and hence I have been seeking a refund. I have been waiting 4 months and each time I follow it up I get told that it will be sorted out by a given date. That date comes and goes and I have not yet received a refund. It's frustrating and I'm beginning to think I will never receive a refund. So many people have lost their jobs and it's horrid to think that a large organisation like Allianz is simply stealing from people in an already horrible situation.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
3 comments
Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance
Chris
Chris

It took way too long for me to receive a response and it only happened when I wrote this review

Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance
Anne R.

Anne R.South East Queensland, QLD

Absolutely useless. Awful, stay away from Allianz.

published

Absolutely terrible. No help what so ever. Never ever again do not use Allianz. They have not been helpful. I had luggage stolen and a police report and they have palmed me off from one place to another still with no help or resolution

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope and Middle East
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property and Travel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance
Nat

NatRichmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Still waiting for refund

published

I had 2 travel insurance policies with Allianz, through HCF Health Insurance. I was in NZ when Covid was shutting down the borders and we had to come home. We booked additional flights from NZ, thinking that we were covered by Travel Insurance. Made a claim mid-March and was told I would be contacted in 10 days. 2 months later, I was advised my claim was declined due to the pandemic clause. As I now realise Allianz is not going to cover me for my 2nd cancelled holiday and I have no use for travel insurance, I have cancelled my policy, it has now been 3 weeks and I still haven't received any correspondence about the refund. AND it is nearly impossible to call, because no one ever answers. Disgraceful

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNew Zealand and North America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance
Travel Insurance

Find out how Allianz Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ted

tedSydney, NSW

Refund travel insurance

published

Cancelled travel insurance 17/4/2020 because covd -19 air travel cancelled, out of my control, rang allianz told be paid refund by the of June, rang again told mid July, took travel insurance out in November 2019, told cover for covid -9 in March 2020 so i was not cover for cancellation of trip because all insurance policies have loop holes.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Senior
See all answers
2 comments
ted
ted

no more to said

Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance
TMan

TManGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Allianz backed Westpac Visa Credit Card Travel Insurance - A Farce

published

Waited 3 months for their processing and finally, I get an answer today.
Claim assessed and not accepted - Reason given - due to Covid19.
I purchased the holiday package in 2018, almost 2 years ago.
All other 11 persons in our travel group have had their claims accepted by the other Insurance companies, while mine is the only one supposedly covered by Allianz backed Westpac Visa Credit Card and is not.
Have heard of dreadful stores of this insurance company before, but this is my first and will obviously be my last, including my 25 year relationship with Westpac.
Sad & deplorable state of affairs. Shame on you.
Like the other reviews - I will support a class action.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAfrica
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Senior
See all answers
1 comment
Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance
jacqui

jacqui

  • 5 reviews
  • 6 likes

Promised Refunds Still waiting

published

I have also been offered refunds only to be told the same thing as some of the reviews. I have waited longer than the original 14 days stated. Yes I think we are being fobbed off. I will be going to Consumer Protection because I too have been fobbed off. They promised me a full refund and I have a witness that heard them say this over the phone..

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance

Hi Jacqui, I'm sorry to hear about the delay on your refund. I will send you a private message for further details to assist. Kind regards, Tegan

Waiting for Refund

published
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateMarch 2020
Insurance Cover ForSenior
1 comment
Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance

Hi Rosemary, I'm sorry to hear about this delay. I will send you a private message for further details so I can assist. Kind regards, Tegan

Missing Parts

Missing PartsSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 5 likes

They will deny and reject claims - their PDS covers every permutation in their favor

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult, Child and Teenager
See all answers
Page 1 of 147

Questions & Answers

Concerned

Concernedasked

Allianz Travel Insurance

We have Allianz travel insurance through our credit card.
We had a holiday to Europe planned for April to June 2020. My husband was diagnosed with cancer in March and needed an operation in April. Are we covered?

1 answer
Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance

Hi there, I'm so sorry to hear about your husband's diagnosis. Please call us on 13 1000 to discuss your specific policy and situation. Kind regards, Tegan

Mallytravel23

Mallytravel23asked

Allianz Travel Insurance

Booked our trip in early Jan 2020 to UK to depart in Sept 2020 using as always our ANZ Platinum Credit Card Insurance. At this early stage not sure if we will be covered for refunds of airline fees etc, still hoping to go.
Seems lots of confusion about refunds etc can you advise please.

1 answer
Allianz Travel Insurance
Allianz PartnersAllianz Travel Insurance

Hi there, thanks for your query. I'd suggest calling us on 13 1000 to discuss your circumstances and one of our team members will be happy to help. Kind regards, Tegan

Francesco

Francescoasked

Allianz Travel Insurance

Hello,
I have checked your website and can't find an answer to my question. I have also just phoned 131000 mas suggested to Jacqui (another person on this page) however I am unable to get through. My question is: I have taken out a policy beginning 16/5/20, ending 7/6/20. We had planned to travel to The Kimberley, WA. We have had to cancel the holiday due to WA borders being closed, in addition to some accommodation in Broome. Are we able to cancel our policy and what is the process?
Thank you for your assistance.
Tom

5 answers
Raj
Raj

Sorry can’t help you but if they do not give you a refund take it up with AFCA as I will be doing

Francesco
Francesco

Thanks Raj.

jetsetter
jetsetter

Only way to get money out of this mob is by getting AFCA involved

Get an answer from our members and Allianz Travel Insurance representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.