??!
1 photo
Tick Travel Insurance
3.8 from 1,625 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.0 (714)
  • Transparency
    3.6 (519)
  • Customer Service
    3.6 (620)
  • Claim Resolution Time1-2 months (43), 2-4 weeks (37), 3+ months (32), 1-2 weeks (21) and <1 week (17)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (77) · No (95)
Previous
Next
Graham

GrahamSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Very Happy with Tick Customer Service

published

I had a previous claim in 2019 after an accident and medical relocation back home during our Kimberly Safari. The claim was not disputed by the Tick Team and was settled promptly. Based on this excellent customer experience, I purchased new travel insurance for domestic travel in 2020 which was postponed due to COVID border restrictions. I have a new claim in progress with Tick for out of pocket expenses incurred to date to resume the itinerary in 2021. Tick is responsive and I am very happy with the progress of my new claim. I would recommend Tick Insurance highly, based on my personal experiences. Graham Bennett

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
See all answers
Sarah W

Sarah WQueensland

No ticks at all. Just a gigantic disappointment.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationAfrica
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Type of ClaimOther
Claim DateNovember 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
3 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Sarah W
Sarah W

Tick never offered a credit. Tick offered me precisely nothing. The credit I was offered from the tour provider would have expired before I could travel, hence I declined.

Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Sarah, I would advise you to contact complaints@tickinsurance.com.au to discuss this situation with them, as they may be able to help here. Thanks, Anna

Jennifer C.

Jennifer C.

  • 2 reviews

Not Happy!

published

I made a claim with Tick Insurance for the cruise component of my travel package as I could not get a refund from the cruise line after it was cancelled due to the pandemic. My policy was purchased in May 2019. I had top cover plus added Natural Disaster cover. My claim was denied and when I went through the IDR the claim was still denied. I am astounded to see that another customer here on this forum (see Sally - Great outcome!) has written a review 3 months ago and her claim has been paid out under what seems to be the same circumstances! I have since submitted a complaint to AFCA. I am so angry and frustrated. It took me years to save for my trip and my insurance seems worthless.

Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Travel Insurance

Find out how Tick Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mike

MikePeel, WA

A long process but worth it . Thanks Tick

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

TICK? NO - A BIG X. FIRST TIME WE'VE EVER MADE A CLAIM & WILL NEVER AGAIN INSURE WITH TICK.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
2 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
FIONAM
FIONAM

If only TICK had responded to our claim with anything like the speed they've responded to my post on productreview, I wouldn't be half as peeved!

DON’T USE THIS COMPANY.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
3 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
George T. Perth
George T. Perth

Thanks for responding Anna. Is your complaints team the same as your IDR Team please?
Cheers George.

Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Bodge

BodgeMelbourne

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Useless Insurance

published

Tick make it as difficult as possible to make an online claim and then do everything to avoid payment. Useless Insurance! Have used Tick many times but this was first time attempting to claim. Will not be using them again.... Subsequent to review above Tick decided to re-evaluate our claim and ultimately paid it. Seems the squeakier the wheel....

Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Bodge, I'm sorry about your claim not having the expected outcome. I would advise you to contact complaints@tickinsurance.com.au to discuss your matter further and have your case analysed by a team independent of the claims team. Thanks, Anna

AlanB

AlanB

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Refuse to pay claims

published

I took out travel insurance with Tick after seeing a good review from Choice magazine. While they offer good cover at a reasonable cost they refuse to payout when you make a claim. They will use every means in the fine print of there PDA to avoid making a payment. I therefore advise you TO AVOID THEM AT ALL COSTS.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
druryfam

druryfamWestern Australia

  • 2 reviews

Happy Customer

published

I travel regularly and used Tick Travel for the first time this year - both for me and another policy for my sister and her family. We were very happy with the price of their insurance and the ease with which we could take it out. We had to make a quick flight out of a country affected by Covid and lodged a claim on our return. I knew Tick were inundated with claims but they kept us up to date throughout the process. Our claims were subsequently met less our excess. I would definitely recommend Tick for Travel Insurance and will use them again once we can resume travel. Thanks Tick but one suggestion: When sending emails please refer to the Policy Number and not a Request Number because the latter means nothing to the consumer..

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationMiddle East
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimOther
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Travel Insurance

Find out how Tick Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Marcus

MarcusSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

WARNING WARNING WARNING

published

With current COVID situation one would expect there to be some issues. During my cooling off period I did ask would I be covered. The reply came after the 14 days and it and the answer was YES! Fast forward to this week, after sending in my documents several times I am told I CANT! So I have a useless policy, so if you cant provide cover then refund me the cost, simple economics.

Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea) and Europe
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimOther
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
3 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Dear Marcus, I'm sorry your claim didn't have the outcome you had expected. I would recommend you contact complaints@tickinsurance.com.au if you would like to have your case reviewed by a team that is independent of the claims team. Thanks, Anna

Marcus
Marcus
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Leigh

LeighFar North Queensland, QLD

ABSOLUTELY THE WORST DO NOT BUY THIS

published

my claim should have been paid but no and after being asked to submit documents the same information over and over again then given a nonsense excuse for rejecting the claim they hope that you will just give up. DO NOT BUY THIS INSURANCE but they will 100% i could not travel because of COVID-19 pandemic

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimOther
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Leigh, I'm sorry your claim didn't have the outcome you'd wanted. You can appeal your decision by emailing complaints@tickinsurance.com.au. Let me know if you need any help with this process. Thanks, Anna

skempy

skempy

  • 2 reviews

Ignore you and don't respond

published

Unfortunately policy doesn't cover you for the things it should or what you would expect for travel. Also took 6 months with claim, not the 15 days as stated on their website. Apparently when airlines cancel flights and cut short your trip, this is not covered! Not a pleasant experience and was ignored for a long time...in the end paid under half of claim... Very dissapointing!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

NEVER EVER USE THIS COMPANY

published

So you can't travel because of Australian Government COVID restrictions AND the airlines cancels the flight. BUT TICK insurances says YOU have cancelled thus they can't refund you money. Then they come up with a credit scam where they keep about 20% of the premium. I could understand if they refund your money and kept an admin fee - BUT they only provide you with a credit AND deduct money for a service they haven't provided? They are taking your money AND forcing you to use them? Clearly a dishonest and fraudulent company WHICH NO ONE SHOULD EVER USE unless they do the right thing an refund peoples money.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Terri H.

Terri H.

  • 7 reviews
  • 6 likes

HEADS UP: You are entitled to a partial refund and not just a credit

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
5 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Terri H.
Terri H.
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
GREGGYthenotsoGREAT

GREGGYthenotsoGREATSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

No one can beat them for sheer hide.

published
Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
5 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Here we go again. It's either a robot or a brick wall.

Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi there, I can assure you I'm neither. If you would like me to investigate, feel free to send your policy number to me via private message. Thanks, Anna

Travel Insurance

Find out how Tick Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Lynne

LynneWimmera, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Fantastic Service

published

Great value policy which was easy to purchase online. We had to make a claim which was settled within 6 weeks. Sarsha was assigned to our claim and she was very prompt with all correspondence. We have never used Tick insurance before but endeavour to use it whenever we travel in the future. Highly recommend this company.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Tracy

TracySydney, NSW

Don't touch Tick Travel Insurance, rip offs

published

Our cruise was cancelled due to Covid19, I rang Tick to ask for a refund on a cruise that was not going to happen and was told no refund would given, absolutely disgusting, they have your money but don't care, glad I didn't have to make a claim as I doubt it would have been a very good outcome... We are regular cruisers, but will NEVER use Tick Insurance again

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationPacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
3 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Tracy
Tracy

What is a pro-rata credit? Nothing was mentioned to me about that, plus I have no plans to travel in the immediate future so not really any good to me... makes me think what I would have had to of gone through if I did need to make a claim...

Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Tracy, the pro-rata credit is valid until 18th March 2022. If you like, I can send more information on this? Thanks, Anna

MST

MSTPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Ripping off the elderly.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
3 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Dear MST, I just wanted to acknowledge your review here in addition to our previous discussions via message, and hopefully getting the evidence mentioned will allow me to escalate your case for you. Thanks, Anna

MST
MST
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Rebecca L.

Rebecca L.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

One star at the moment, hoping to upgrade to five...

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
5 comments
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Rebecca L.
Rebecca L.
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance
Sally

SallyHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great outcome!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
2 comments
Sally
Sally

I only gave 4 stars for customer service because even though most communication was via email, the couple of times I did speak to someone the communication barrier was a bit hard. They were always polite but just a little hard to understand.

Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Sally, thanks for the extra feedback. That's completely understandable and I will pass this feedback on to the right people. I'm glad that you were happy with the service, and we really appreciate your review! Thanks, Anna

Page 1 of 82

Questions & Answers

Sarah G.

Sarah G.asked

Tick Travel Insurance

I can not understand why when i purchased a policy for an overseas trip that i could not go on due to covid19. Trust me, i was ready to go but both the AUS and US govenments wouldn't let me. I handled all of my bookings, flights, hotels, tours and orgainsed refunds, even from non refundable hotels booked i got full refunds as they understood that New York was closed and there was no way on Earth i could be there. They went against their policy and refunded me in full. Yet you, a travel insurer who we use to help us make claims or get refunds etc when things happen and go wrong on our trips. Trips we have saved for, trips we have dreamt of. So when something like a world wide pandemic happens and throws everyone for 6. The companies we pay to help us, close the door and dont refund us. I didnt cancel my policy, i couldnt use it, not just the govenement but the world wouldnt let me!!! i did all the hard work, i asked for nothing from you. I did my policy online, never spoke to anyone, everything was emailed straight away, so no admin on your end, it was all computer generated, yet you think it is ok to keep all of my money, when seriously.. you've done nothing. Which feels like a kick in the face.. not slap but a when you're down lets kick you too. I couldnt not use your service, i did not cancel your policy. Yet you dont care. You'll keep it.. My policy number is 24919308. I was told via email when i requested a refund. unfortunately, this is not possible outside the 14-day cooling-off period. Seriously.. i didnt change my mind.. this isnt normal circumstances and you all know this. Your cooling off period is a crap scapegoat when it comes to this..i didnt changce my mind, none of us have. We were not allowed to travel, this was taken out of our hands completely. Nothing like this has happened before and your company is just saying too bad so sad... i was told i could go to the link to see if i could get a partial credit..Credit... you think i would use you again. OMG.. you cant even cover me from yourself let alone anything, god forbid something happened on a trip and i needed to make a claim through you. You have stolen my money. This policy is "Fit for Purpose"under fair trade. Are you above fair trade. Basically you are making up your own rules here, you know this does not fall under your 14 day cooling off crap..
Even saying, we can not refund you, but we can put your policy on hold and when you can travel again we will activate your policy and update your travel dates.. Why is this not an option.. no one loses. Happy customers and great understand company.
Finding solutions where everyone wins isnt hard. Losing customers due to scapegoat excuses.. easy.

1 answer
Halley M.
Halley M.

Hear Hear. I'm having the same problem.
I've previously gone with 1Cover and World Nomad on multiple trips and had no troubles when there were issues. Tick was one of the only companies that would insure my grandmother for all of her conditions when she wanted to travel for her grandaughter's wedding in Bali - and now we're left with $600 'credit' that she is unable to use as the wedding is cancelled and she won't be traveling anywhere again as it was to be her last trip due to her health. Badly done indeed. I contacted them through the correct channels multiple times with NO reply. But putting my review up here prompted a reply from a Tick representative (Anna, who was great - but still - shouldn't have to write crappy reviews on other sites to get them to reply to anything!)
I continue await their reply on the proper channels... !!! Good luck to you.

Lou

Louasked

Tick Travel Insurance - Top

Why is it that efficient attention has been given to my claim for additional costs and non-refundable fees has not been processed since late March 2020? The questions that have come back from officers within TICK have been simplistic, indicate failure to look beyond the last communication and indicate inepitude on the part of those individuals, e.g., not looking back to the full documentation and then asking inept questions. First officer appears to have forgotten the claim. My last communication thtrough the system answering their query by anotrher was lodged approximately two weeks ago, followed up by 'phone to ensure that it had been received and that the full files were visible which they were. Took over a week for the officer supposedly acting upon it to indicate "the file had been updated". I appreciate the very high current workload these people appear incompetent, so what does that say about management Lee P

3 answers
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Lee, I'm sorry your claim isn't progressing as you would like it to, and I'd like to help. Please send me your policy number via private message and I will follow up on your behalf and get you a meaningful update on your claim. Thanks, Anna

Lou
Lou

Hi Anna. My policy number is MS/TK/305144/23408455. Claim reference 120005383/322960. If you trace the claim file through you will see the inefficiency to which I refer and the claims personnel involved. Lee Pooley [Email and Phone Number Removed]

Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Lee, thanks for sending this information. I have followed up on your case with the claims team. Thanks, Anna

Glenda Margaret

Glenda Margaretasked

Tick Travel Insurance

Our tick travel insurance policy is for travel not commencing until 28 October 2020. Nothing related to current travel restrictions but we are now unable to make this trip. We want to cancel the policy and get a refund so how do we stand? Thanks, Glenda M

1 answer
Tick Travel Insurance
Anna J.Tick Travel Insurance

Hi Glenda, unfortunately, if you just want to cancel your policy for change of mind, we cannot give a refund, unless you are within the 14 day cooling off period. If you have had to cancel your trip due to unforeseen injury or illness, you may be eligible to lodge a claim, depending on when you purchased your policy, and if your policy featured cancellation before departure cover. Thanks, Anna

Get an answer from our members and Tick Travel Insurance representatives

Details

Compare all 7 Tick Travel Insurance
CategoryTravel InsuranceTravel InsuranceTravel InsuranceTravel Insurance
UnderwriterMitsui SumitomoMitsui SumitomoMitsui SumitomoMitsui Sumitomo
Maximum Age Covered 69 years old79 years old100 years old100 years old
Medical Coverage
Overseas Emergency Assistance UnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Accidental DeathNot IncludedNot Included$10,000$25,000
Emergency Dental$500$500$500$500
Pregnancy (max weeks) 32 weeks32 weeks32 weeks32 weeks
Resumption of Journey Not IncludedNot IncludedNot Included$3,000
Hospital Cash AllowanceNot IncludedNot Included$75 per day, up to $1,500$75 per day, up to $3,000
Overseas Emergency Medical & Hospital ExpensesUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimitedUnlimited
Loss of IncomeNot IncludedNot Included$5,200$10,400
Permanent DisabilityNot IncludedNot Included$10,000$25,000
Luggage & Personal Effects
Theft of Cash Not IncludedNot Included$300$300
Delayed Luggage Not IncludedNot Included$300$400
Credit Card FraudNot IncludedNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Travel Documents / Passport Not IncludedNot Included$2,000$4,000
Maximum Single Item Limit $500 (Any Item)$1,000 (Laptops, Cameras or Mobile Phones)$2,000 (Laptops, Mobile Phones or Cameras)$3,000 (Laptops, Mobile Phones or Cameras)
Luggage & Personal Effects $2,000$2,500$4,000$7,500
Ancillary
Personal Liability A$1,000,000A$1,000,000A$1,500,000A$3,000,000
Rental Vehicle Excess Not IncludedNot Included$2,000$4,000
Motorbike / Moped Coverage Included for any sizeIncluded for any sizeIncluded for any sizeIncluded for any size
Domestic Pet Care Not IncludedNot IncludedNot Included$600
Special Activities Packages
GolfIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
CruiseIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
Adventure IncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
Snow / SkiOptional ExtraOptional ExtraOptional ExtraOptional Extra
Compare all 7 Tick Travel Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.