??!
1 photo
Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Southern Cross Travel Insurance

4.7 from 2,727 reviews

Reviews

(2,317)
(233)
(37)
(24)
(116)
  • Value for Money
    4.5 (240)
  • Transparency
    4.5 (188)
  • Customer Service
    4.5 (229)
Gladys Ling

Gladys LingIllawarra, NSW

No one should leave Australia without travel insurance.

published

my policy was accepted on line, and was great value for money. I paid for twelve months not expecting to claim as I'm a reasonably healthy person, but with the current virus I couldn't travel overseas as planned in October. My claim has been viewed and settled within a few weeks. I'm so pleased.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
Koda Macca

Koda MaccaSydney, NSW

  • Verified customer

scammers / cheats

published

will never use this company again. travell cancelled by government. encourages you to make a claim then denies claim. then wont refund unused policy . excuse , you made a claim.... disgusting way of taking peoples money.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Vicki Rule

Vicki RulePerth, WA

  • 11 reviews
  • Verified customer

Total lack of timely communication with the customer!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Vicki Rule
Vicki Rule
Travel Insurance

Find out how Southern Cross Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Barry

BarryVictoria

  • 2 reviews

This is why you take out travel insurance

published

Due to unforeseen circumstances it was necessary for us to lodge a claim. Because we took out our policy the moment we booked our trip our policy covered us fully.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
konrad s.

konrad s.Murrumbidgee Region, NSW

  • 4 reviews

Huge fees to cancel due to travel bans!

published

Had to cancel insurance well in advance due to travel bans. No claims just no longer allowed to travel, ergo no need for insurance. Was charged 20 % to cancel. Nice little earner. Will not be using southern cross when I rebook travel.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

Avoid this company at all cost!

published

Do NOT I repeat Do Not use this company for travel insurance...they will happily take your money & find every reason possible not to cover your travel claim. There are many other better travel insurance companies out there.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Christine

ChristineSouth East Queensland, QLD

Fantastic service and amazing helpful people

published

Had to cancel on 27th February at start of Coronavirus outbreak
Only took three weeks to resolve which
regarding the timing just fantastic Had one call for confirmation purposes
Have used before and will again when travel resumes and easy to set up

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Christine, Thanks for the lovely feedback, it's great to hear that we were able to help you out. I hope you'll be able to take your trip soon! All the best, Pepper@SCTI

Cancellation of policy

published

Had to cancel my policy with them as we were no longer travelling overseas due to the corona virus. They cancelled the policy with no dramas and even waived the cancellation fee

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Damon, thanks for the five star review! All the best, Pepper@SCTI

Old codger

Old codgerKendenup

  • 3 reviews

Refused to refund

published

Took policy out in early Jan many emails to them requesting refund no reply only a notification that due to pandemic no refunds given absolutely disgusting company do not use this lot

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
2 comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Old codger, I'm sorry to hear you we're unable to get a refund on your policy. Could you please give us a call on 1800 196 484, so we can investigate this for you. All the best, Pepper@SCTI

Old codger
Old codger
Travel Insurance

Find out how Southern Cross Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
petrol95

petrol95Sydney, NSW

  • Verified customer

Lack of service, policy (PDS) not clear and contradicted by bulk mailout from company

published
Customer Service
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Christian

Christian

  • 2 reviews

Great service and customer support

published

I was a bit scared as never heard about SCTI before. But thanks to the people for the reviews helping me to decide. I am glad that we choose SCTI. Did lodged claim, which was approved within 1-2 weeks. Great customer service. Well recommended.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Christian, thanks for the lovely review! We appreciate your feedback. All the best, Pepper@SCTI

productreviewiscrap

productreviewiscrapSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Try another company...

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Robbie

RobbieFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

SCTI doesn't cover pandemic

published

I have used SCTI before, but now regret buying travel insurance from SCTI for my upcoming trip to Europe as I find that they don't cover cancellation due to pandemic. I would suggest people considering travel insurance have a good look at the list of travel insurers compared in an article on the Choice website. https://www.choice.com.au
I will not use SCTI again. There are better products on the market.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

Poor service

published

Sick of sending emails and not getting a reply for my very simple claim, I’ve tried ringing but after waiting 40 mins I got sick of the wait. Policy was good value and they had good reviews, the the reality is far different

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
lencox49

lencox49AU

  • 7 reviews
  • Verified customer

When trip is cancelled there is no refund on premium.

published

We purchased a policy form Scti to cover a cruise. We cancelled the insurance when we did not sail on the ship and would have expected a partial refund of the premium given that there was no risk of a claim from the date of cancellation.
SCTI is very difficult to contact and do not answer e-mails. They have denied a partial refund without any explanation. We have used SCTI for the past ten years as our insurer and had recommended them. We can no longer recommend them as they are too difficult to communicate with and there explanations don't pass the pub test.

Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
Travel Insurance

Find out how Southern Cross Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Karen

KarenGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Disappointed

published

We had a ski trip booked to Japan in February. Given that Japan was a high risk region for the Coronavirus, we decided to cancel our holiday. SCTI have denied our claim for reimbursement even though we bought the policy last year. I have used SCTI in the past but will NOT be using them in the future given their response.

DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult

Poor Services

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
Julia_129

Julia_129Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 5 reviews

Terrible! On hold for 1.5hrs!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationPacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Trent

TrentPerth, WA

Perfect cover, for a perfect trip.

published

Set my excess amount and was very happy with cost for the 6 days.

I have used SCTI before and have had to make a claim due to a lost phone and they resolved this very quickly for me.

I have used them for around 7 years (maybe 6) and will continue to use them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea) and South-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Strider

StriderMid North Coast, NSW

Read the fine print about "cancelling" your trip or "pandemics". This policy doesn't cover half of the better policies.

published

Though the quote page allows for cancellation of a trip prior to departure, when I went to cancel I am not able to because of the exclusions built into this allowance. Its not a real cancellation allowance that a normal person would expect, be careful.

Also you are not covered for pandemics or quarantines even if you had the insurance before these events occured, I mean what is the point of travel insurance if not for those big 2 which are out of the travellers control?

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
See all answers
Page 1 of 137

Questions & Answers

barry sutherland

barry sutherlandasked

please help have been ringing your office for 3 days been on hold for hours.Just need some reassurance .Leaving on 11-3-2020 for a trip to Vietnam already have policy with you .would like to ask some questions. Barry Sutherland

2 answers
barry sutherland
barry sutherland

ringing for 3days holding for hours need some reassurance leaving on 11-03-2020 for a trip to Vietnam already have a policy with you would like to ask some questions. Barry Sutherland ring 02 49283156

Bent O.
Bent O.

I am having a similar problem with a different company (I want to apply for insurance but their site is crashing). Obviously they are being hit by people panicking.
As you can already see they don’t now reply in this Review site but I did notice they have website updates. Suggest you check for alternate contact.

barry sutherland

barry sutherlandasked

please help have been ringing your office for 3 days been on hold for hours.Just need some reassurance .Leaving on 11-3-2020 for a trip to Vietnam already have policy with you .would like to ask some questions. Barry Sutherland

2 answers
barry sutherland
barry sutherland

barry sutherland

Bent O.
Bent O.

As above

Barry S.

Barry S.asked

please help have been ringing your office for 3 days been on hold for hours.Just need some reassurance .Leaving on 11-3-2020 for a trip to Vietnam already have policy with you .would like to ask some questions. Barry Sutherland

1 answer
Bent O.
Bent O.

As above

Get an answer from our members and Southern Cross Travel Insurance representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.