??!
1 photo
Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Southern Cross Travel Insurance

4.7 from 2,694 reviews

Reviews

(2,302)
(234)
(35)
(19)
(104)
  • Value for Money
    4.6 (210)
  • Transparency
    4.7 (158)
  • Customer Service
    4.7 (197)


Rick

RickHobart, TAS

  • 2 reviews

Exemplary Service

published

I didn't think I would write such a review for an insurance company, but my experience in both taking out a policy and in making a claim (the test of a good policy and company) could not be faulted. Various members of my family have used SCTI over the last couple of years and I hope that their reasonable prices stay competitive as I plan to use them for a major overseas trip this year.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimCar/Rental Hire Excess
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover For:Senior
See all answers

Rod H

Rod HNorth Western Region, NSW

Great value got money.

published

I have used SCTI numerous times over the last 4 years while travelling overseas to visit family. Comparing policies offered with other companies, I find they meet all my needs, at a reasonable price. Unfortunately I had a need to claim on my trip taken late last year but all benefits were paid as per the schedule quickly and without any hassle.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property and Travel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover For:Senior
See all answers
Glen C

Glen CPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

No Issues

published

We have traveled a few times with SCTI and had no issues or claims. When we got home there was a courtesy email providing details if we had to claim. Comforting to have that.
Before we left, I discovered I had inserted the wrong return date, being too short. Placed a phone call and the new dates given and all sorted in a very friendly and professional manner.
Will use these folks again for sure.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover For:Senior
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Glen, thanks for sharing your experience - it's great to hear your feedback. All the best, Pepper@SCTI

great insurance but poor customer service

published

Great travel insurance and normally very responsive to contact via supplied numbers. However! I did contact SCTI on email when the recent Coronavirus issues arose as we were travelling in Japan , just asking where we stand with our insurance and given that health organisations had declared higher emergency status and if our insurance was still valid. Sadly no one ever got back to me - Very Poor form guys.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover For:Adult and Child
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Matt

MattGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Worst Ever Experience

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover For:Adult
See all answers

Gina Jones

Gina JonesSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Perfect Travel Insurance

published

I travel extensively and always choose Southern Cross Insurance. It's perfect for my needs at a competitive price. Claiming was fast and easy. Highly recommend and wouldn't use anyone else

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope, North America (inc. Hawaii) and Pacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJuly 2016
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover For:Adult
See all answers

Great Service

published

This was my first time claiming on travel insurance after a theft on an overseas trip. I expected a complicated and drawn out process, but SCTI put all of my fears to rest. Their service is excellent, their processes were clear and straightforward, and my claim was processed quickly and fairly. I will absolutely be a return customer for future trips, and am very grateful for how well my claim was handled.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover For:Adult
See all answers

Gabi Pulla

Gabi PullaNortheast, VIC

Review

published

Absolutely no issues at all, good value for travellers over the age of 60. No hassles at all and easy to take out the policy on line. Thank you all

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover For:Adult
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Gabi Pulla, thanks for the lovely review! All the best, Pepper@SCTI

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Carl

CarlGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Highly recommend.

published

I had 3 days stay in a Chinese Hospital costing over $10,000. SCTI answered the phone no matter what time of the day and liaised with the hospital. Filled out a couple of forms when i returned to Australia and the matter was sorted out in no time. They covered the full cost.
I very rarely leave reviews but felt i should because of the great service they provided.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover For:Adult
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Carl, I'm sorry to hear that you were unwell while in China. I hope you're recovering well. Thank you for the lovely feedback and for taking the time to share this with others. All the best, Pepper@SCTI

Mickey

Mickey

  • 2 reviews

Is this clause a "Get out of jail free" clause???

published
Transparency
DestinationPacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeNo

amc1234

amc1234South East Queensland, QLD

Disappointed with Claims Proccess

published

Have used SCTI before but never had to claim until booking replacement flights 3 weeks ago. After claim message saying they needed 9 business days, it's now 3 weeks later and they haven't even assigned someone to the claim and keep saying call back next week and blaming glitches. Out of pocket $4,000 and have had no help from SCTI.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover For:Adult
See all answers
2 comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi amc1234, I'm very sorry about the delay in processing your claim. Can you please send us an email at info@scti.com.au with your claim number or policy number, and we'll have a look into this for you. All the best, Pepper@SCTI

amc1234
amc1234

Every time I email I get a notice saying it will take 3 business days for a reply, so would rather not add more waiting time to this again.


Kezawei

KezaweiSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Another great Southern Cross Travel experience

published

We always use Southern Cross Travel for our Travel Insurance and it is always seamless. We have used this company multiple times and have never had a bad experience. No problems on our last few trips however when we have had to make a claim in the past it has always been actioned promptly. Policies are so easy to set up and communication is always prompt. Couldn't recommend this company highly enough.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover For:Adult
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Kezawei, thank you for your kind review and continued loyalty. We look forward to covering your next adventure, Pepper@SCTI


Kim H.

Kim H.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Trying to get travel insurance

published

Tried multiple times ( ie 9 times) to get travel insurance, each time the web site told me it had timed out ( even though I rushed through the filling out of forms in the end)
I haven’t had a problem in the past...but now I have to look for another insurance agent!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNew Zealand
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover For:Adult
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Kim H, we're very sorry about the issues you experienced on our website. We've now fixed this technical glitch. If you need any assistance, please call our team on 1800 196 484, or email us at info@scti.com.au. All the best, Pepper@SCTI


Des

DesSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Pleasant customer experience

published

I have been using SCTI for a number of years. Never had to claim. Yet, I believe they have good customer service ethics and the product is easy to set up online. Prices are not the cheapest in the market but reasonable.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover For:Adult and Senior
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Des, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. All the best, Pepper@SCTI

Jeff Swann

Jeff SwannWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Perfect cover for our trip, good value

published

Although we have used Southern Cross Travel Insurance a number of time we have been fortunate and have not had to make a claim. We have always been kept up to date with happenings in the travelling world and feel sure that if we did have to claim we would be looked after by the team

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationPacific Islands (e.g. Fiji, Vanuatu)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover For:Adult
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Jeff, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Product Review community. We hope to hear from you when you’re ready for your next holiday, Pepper@SCTI

M El-saafin

M El-saafinGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Insurance means no worries

published

I'm Lucky for not having any claim which means my trip was successful and has no issues or problems. Reading the other people comments, make me feel that I picked the right one.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope and South-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover For:Adult
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi M El-saafin, I’m happy you could travel with peace of mind, knowing you were covered by SCTI. Thanks for choosing us, Pepper@SCTI


  • Verified customer

Great service and claims process

published

After an unexpected death in the family, we had to adjust our flights and incurred a cost to do so. The SCTI team were very helpful and understanding, and the claim process was very simple.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth America
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover For:Adult and Child
See all answers

laura m.

laura m.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Fantastic Service

published

SCTI were extremely helpful when my flights were cancelled the night before departing for my trip, I contacted them regarding booking new flights and they were helpful in checking my policy. The claim process was straight forward and prompt. I will definitely be taking out future policies with SCTI again.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover For:Adult
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi Laura,thanks for sharing your experience - it's great to hear your feedback. We look forward to covering your next adventure, Pepper@SCTI


NannaCinta

NannaCintaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Woeful Service

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover For:Adult
See all answers
2 comments
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Hi NannaCinta, I'm very sorry you have not heard from us regarding your claim. Could you please email us an with your claim number and we will investigate this for you. We look forward to hearing from you, Pepper@SCTI

NannaCinta
NannaCinta

I have emailed a number of times already


Gun

GunSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified customer

Exceptional service

published

Used Southern Cross for our travel insurance several times. Last year had to claim when a fall resulting in a cracked rib made a hospital visit necessary. Our claim for medical expenses was settled easily and quickly. Unfortunately a cruise booked several months ago had to be cancelled recently due to a medical problem. After submitting relevant documents our claim was settled speedily and efficiently. This company is certainly to be recommended and we will never consider another company for our future travel insurance requirements. Their premiums are excellent value and website easy to negotiate when setting up.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover For:Senior
See all answers
1 comment
Southern Cross Travel Insurance
Southern Cross T.Southern Cross Travel Insurance

Page 1 of 135

Questions & Answers

Ceejay

Ceejayasked

How do I download my travel insurance policy incase I have given a wrong e mail id?

2 answers
Matt
Matt

How would i know do i work for SCTI?

Ceejay
Ceejay

Not meant for you mate, was for SCTI


JoZ

JoZasked

Do you cover coronavirus for travel to Japan? (medical illness contracted whilst overseas? or cancellation for trip if situation worsens in Japan before I travel?)

No answers

Thommo77

Thommo77asked

Good morning. I already have travel insurance with you, which is great. My question to you is, have you an office on Northern Gold Coast.?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Southern Cross Travel Insurance representatives


Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.