??!

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
1,670
4 star
421
3 star
53
2 star
75
1 star
286

Contacting TID difficult

published

I have called TID on the 26th to talk to them about a second claim and could not get through, so I used their call back service and still haven't been contacted by customer service team 2 days later

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationEurope
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther and Travel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
See all answers

Di B.

Di B.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

13 policies 1 claim - no payment!

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationEurope
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
C.HARBERS

C.HARBERSSouth East Queensland, QLD

Submitted My Claim, Nov 5 2019, Its Nov21 Now And Have Not Heard From Them

published

Submitted my claim, Nov 5 2019, its Nov21 now and have not heard from them.
ITS my first claim been using them for long time
claiming for airline ticket
medical expenses
food
accommodation
had chickenpox
called 2 days ago they said someone will call me back, but no one called, called again today could not give me time frame, I could be waiting forever.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
S Golf

S Golf

  • 3 reviews

Great unless you need to claim

published

Lodged a claim for medical bills I occured in the USA over a month ago. The claims process takes too long as every time they require something further and you privide it, the 10 business day processing period starts again. Was emailed asking for details I'd already provided and so the 10 business days starts again. Have used other providers in the past and never had a claim take more than two weeks. Terrible claims process

Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateSeptember 2019
See all answers

Very Happy

published

I was happy to know TID insurance was there even though I didnt need it. My trip went smoothly and I was thrilled to spend quality time with my daughter and newest granddaughter. Thanks for being there if I needed you.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

I can't thank TID enough!

published

Unfortunately my Bali holiday was spent in hospital having emergency surgery on my apendix, i was so worried and emotional , TID staff were fantastic and so caring , they called me often to see how I was doing . thankgod I had full cover, as it was a huge bill. Totally recommended TID, I'll be sticking with them thats for sure.
Thanks again to the beautiful staff that I talked to..

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Excellent service

published

Wife & I chose TID for our recent trip to South Korea being cheaper than previous policies with Medibank. More importantly for the service they provided our daughter earlier in year who had TID and needed to claim following skiing accident (ruputured ACL) in Japan. TID were excellent at responding in getting medical support, organising her repatriation to Australia paying all costs, business class flight home, medical expenses in Japan and reimbursement of travel & accommodation of used later holiday all the while keeping us in the loop.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Senior
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeNo
See all answers

John

JohnGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Delivered more than I expected

published

Any insurance is a bit of a gamble, and you only ever really know how good any company is until you have to claim. TID came through and more for me. Had 2 issues from a car hire (tyre repair and low speed collision damage). Not excessively large claims. but both paid out in full and within a couple of weeks of claiming. Great service, and would definitely use TID again based on my experience

DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedYes
Selena

SelenaSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Helpful staff and comprehensive cover for all your travel items

published

I feel that my insurance is slightly higher than average however the service and the additional item it had covered worth the price. I have not yet lodged a claim however this is the number one choice for whenever I need to buy a travel insurance.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Jeremy

JeremyPerth, WA

No more worries when travelling overseas

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Child
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Adrian

AdrianSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Great value and service

published

I have been a customer of TID for several years on multiple trips both for domestic and international travel and would highly recommend them. Their service is cost competitive and easy to use and understand. Both occasions we had to lodge a claim they were dealt with efficiently and fairly.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationAustralia, Europe and South America
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property and Travel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateSeptember 2015
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Ash Z.TID Travel Insurance Direct

Robyn

RobynFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Worse travel insurance company to use

published

TID are happy to take on a policy year after year and when I actually put a claim in for smashed suitcases and missing jewellery, they suggest it is my fault and do not reimburse.
the whole process of lodging a claim is almost impossible. when receipts and invoices are finally uploaded to the computer or copied on the smart phone, there program does not allow the upload ( even though it does not exceed file limit), so a followup email is needed. the whole lodging a claim took me a good part of the day, which many phone calls to TID, where you were kept on the phone waiting for up to an hour.
A useless business.

DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property and Other
Claim ApprovedNo
2 comments
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Ash Z.TID Travel Insurance Direct

Hi Robyn, sorry to hear of your poor experience with us. So I can look into it for you could you kindly provide me with your policy number? ash@tid.com.au Ash, TID Customer Experience Manager

Robyn
Robyn

Why bother ?, you are still sending emails ( one today) asking that I get a repair quote on a smashed suitcase .


Unhappy customer

Unhappy customerSydney, NSW

Poor service indeed

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationAustralia
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
1 comment
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Ash Z.TID Travel Insurance Direct

Hi there, sorry to hear of your disappointment with TID. Could you kindly provide me with your policy number so I can investigate this further for you? ash@tid.com.au Ash, TID Customer Experience Manager


Jess

JessGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Awful do not use

published

Absolutely awful experience. I’ve been waiting more than 20 days for an outcome of my claim.
Average response to emails is 10 days for 1 reply. More than 30 minutes on hold waiting to speak to an operator.

I’m disgusted.

My flight was cancelled for a week trip and because I could not on a flight for 4. Days later I asked Jetstar for a refund and now travel insurance direct are refusing to pay my missed hotel accommodation saying I could have stayed there 3 days. Absolutely a joke!!!!’

Do not use

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
6 comments
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Ash Z.TID Travel Insurance Direct
Jess
Jess

Ash is this your correct email address? It says it can’t be sent to this email address????

Jess
Jess

I am in the UK and have been trying to contact them for 5 days by phone leaving msgs and callback

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Senior
DestinationEurope, North America (inc. Hawaii) and South-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
3 comments
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Ash Z.TID Travel Insurance Direct
paul harrison
paul harrison
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Ash Z.TID Travel Insurance Direct

Hi Paul, sorry about that - I've just had another look through my inbox and still couldn’t find your email. If you could kindly resend or just provide me with your policy number via message. Ash

Zac

ZacPerth

  • 8 reviews
  • 6 likes

Just awful to deal with

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationEurope
Insurance TypeMulti-Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMay 2019
See all answers
2 comments
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Ash Z.TID Travel Insurance Direct
Zac
Zac

Well I did that 6 days ago and didn't get a response. I guess everything is a minimum of 10 days with TID?


Anna02

Anna02Melbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very slow in communication and processing your request

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult and Child
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
See all answers
4 comments
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Ash Z.TID Travel Insurance Direct
Anna02
Anna02
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Ash Z.TID Travel Insurance Direct

David

DavidGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Why even have travel insurance?

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationEurope
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
2 comments
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Ash Z.TID Travel Insurance Direct

Hi David, sorry to learn of your disappointing claims experience. Can you please provide me with your claim number so I can look into it for you and if need have your claim reviewed ash@tid.com.au Ash, TID Customer Experience Manager

David
David

Carol

CarolGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Claim process easy and in line with policy

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Ash Z.TID Travel Insurance Direct

Syd

SydSydney Surrounds, NSW

Disappointing

published

TID does not cover what you would expect a decent travel insurance would. Plus making a claim is non-responsive, very little of help. GO somewhere else and pay a few extra $.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance Cover For:Adult
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Insurance TypeSingle Trip
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
1 comment
TID Travel Insurance Direct
Ash Z.TID Travel Insurance Direct

Page 1 of 126

Questions & Answers

Ray P.

Ray P.asked

insurance cover for a campervan

2 answers
paul harrison
paul harrison

sorry never thought about them as we dont use them, so only used them for international travel that covered hire cars, planes,boats etc, you need to read the pdf or call and ask about campervans/ moble homes.

fred f
fred f

Suggest you get a friend to ring and ask for details


Jo K.

Jo K.asked

can i get insurance if i am already traveling with no return ticket to home country?

1 answer
fred f
fred f

That would depend on the policy


Cathy

Cathyasked

I am looking at your comprehensive travel insurance for my 18 year old son who is travelling to Bali - 15th to 25th July. Would he be covered if his travel is affected, if the volcano causes travel delay etc.? Thanks

1 answer
Kim Hopkins
Kim Hopkins

Hi
I think that he will NOT be covered if Mt Agung erups, all Travel Insurance have that excluded so tell him to take extra cash for food and accomodation. Am pretty sure no issues with the airlines getting him home once the airlines can fly again. Suggest you shop around for price. Will he be renting a scooter Cathy?


Get an answer from our members and TID Travel Insurance Direct representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.