??!

See the Best Manual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
6
4 star
8
3 star
4
2 star
8
1 star
11

homeiyi

homeiyiGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

Filter basket gets stuck every single time!

published

The filter basket gets stuck Every Single Time. It's just really poorly designed. The suction holding the filter basket to the machine is so strong, the filter basket dislodges from the portafilter. I should not need to remove the filter basket by hand.

Will be returning this and getting a better designed espresso machine.


HappyCamper

HappyCamperBrisbane

  • 5 reviews

Direct comparison to older Aldi Lumina Espresso Machine

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Aldi for $75.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Product is used: Daily
See all answers
Ismael

Ismael

  • 4 reviews
  • 7 likes

Amazing value good coffee

published

Purchased in March 2019 at ALDI for $85.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is used: Several times a week
See all answers
Ray T

Ray TRichmond-Tweed, NSW

Ours lasted 8 months.

published
Date PurchasedMar 2018

Julian

Julian

  • 5 reviews

Attracted by the 3years warranty but not great

published

I was seduced by the 3years warranty expecting higher quality of the product.
The first disappointment is the shots are to be controlled manually.
I have only used the steaming once.
The second is the amount of water flowing directly in water collector that gets full after making 3coffees.
On the positive coffees taste good.

Date PurchasedNov 2018

Steam button doesn't work

published

I wish I had read the reviews before buying this. Makes coffee just fine, but oh, the PROBLEMS when trying to heat and froth milk. First, the steam/hot water button doesn't work - won't stay down so you can't get steam unless you hold it down. And it's doing something whacky with the heating. Machine heats up, heating light turns off. Great. Makes coffee. Great. Try and steam milk - heating light comes back on again, and steamer works for maybe a few seconds then stops. Mostly what I end up getting is think milk because it is pumping water into it and not much steam. This is going back to Aldi after two uses. This is not user error, either, I have used many other machines in the past and am well used to the process.

Date PurchasedDec 2018

Adibabi

AdibabiWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 15 reviews
  • 7 likes

YOU WILL LOVE IT !

published

Bought this machine 3 weeks ago to replace a hopeless big-brand machine, and I'm totally happy with it.
Not totally automatic, it is simple to operate, and the amount of espresso, milk, and the degree of frothing are all fully and easily adjustable to individual taste.
It provides a good hot brew, which some automatic machines fail to do.
The milk and water containers are of good size.
Price is excellent value - cheapest that I could find.
Highly recommended - don't miss it.

Purchased in October 2018 for $149.00.


Leaks like a sieve!

published

I don't use it very often probably a couple of times a week. Its dripping water through the group head as others have said. I rang the helpline to order a gasket, but according to the callcentre they don't know if they have any and they will put my request through to a 'higher authority' and call me back in a few days. Not sure why they wouldn't stock a consumable item like that. Looks like it will probably end up in the bin.

Date PurchasedAug 2017
Fedup

FedupPottsville

  • 8 reviews
  • 15 likes

Absolute Disaster

published

Have issues from day one....coffee taste was not good, so mostly use my capsular machine for coffee, and the Sterling for frothing milk....
It worked ok for a short while, and is cleaned after each use, but it now leaks water, and doesn’t froth the milk only streams boiling water spluttering everywhere and diluting the milk, it is basically not workable..
The function dial is extremely hard to turn and is getting worse each day, definitely not something one could use with rheumatic problems
I love my Aldi sterling sewing machine and overlocker, but the coffee machine is another story !!! very very disappointing, have had to go back to my 8 year old Breville

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Striling Coffee disaster

published

Bought the Stirling at Aldi initially it work well. It started leaking water after about 4 months. We followed the cleaning guidelines yet the leaking still continued and became worst. We have stopped using the machine. We not sure if it is worthwhile to approach Aldi about this faulty coffee machine.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Philip

PhilipGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

It's a Dud

published

Purchased Jan 18. Returned Aug 18 to Tempo Australia due to leaking clear water from front of group head. Just not good enough quality in this day and age. Dissappointing given the machine externally was of very good material quality, and whilst it worked produced great coffee. Nonetheless, I was given a full refund by Tempo Aust.

Date PurchasedJan 2018

Sergai

Sergai

  • 2 reviews

Stirling by name but poor quality

published

I have had mine for 1 year, in the last couple of weeks it began to leak,at first a few drops,now its leaking alot around the group head. I have also experienced the function dial being very stiff especially when changing from frothing milk to brewing coffee.It does brew the coffee well though.Extremely diasppointed,I guess you get what you pay for.I think Aldi should announce a recall on this product...

Date PurchasedAug 2017

To good to be true

published

I purchased this as I love my coffee have been making coffees everyday and only had it 3 months, now has decided to just keep heating up and spewing water through the trip tray and won’t stop even when the dial is not engaged. Same with the frother it just keeps squirting water out. Unfortunately I’m gonna have to pay for a better quality and lucky Aldi have a 3 year warranty on it so will get my money back.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Doug

DougGriffith

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

great coffee on a budget

published

I got this on clearance for $100. Two of us used it daily for 2 months. We have just started using it again. So far we haven't had any issues. It makes a great coffee. More work than a pod machine but worth the hassle. I did find that I had to remove the optional attachment on the milk frother to be able to heat the milk enough before it frothed to much

Date PurchasedMar 2018

I'm gutted!

published

I'm gutted! Bought this machine in April and I have LOVED it! Easy to clean etc. But dammit.... the little blighter just threw a hissy fit and won't switch off with the front dial. Spewing water all over my kitchen bench as the reservoir just leaked until empty.
I'm packaging it up now and will be off to Aldi first thing in the morning.
Do not buy this machine!!!

Date PurchasedApr 2018

So many design faults, then it broke

published
Date PurchasedApr 2018

John

JohnHervey Bay

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Good Coffee for 3 month only

published

We thought we had found the prefect Espresso machine, but the pump system failed after 3 month... God the money back but No coffee anymore.This seems to be a problem with all small espresso machines, So Aldi is no better than Sunbeam. Back to the drawing board to find the perfect Expresso machine.

Date PurchasedMar 2018

Loz

Loz

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not working within 6 months

published

I purchased this machine approx 6 months ago and was very excited as I love Aldi. I keep the machine clean and in great condition the knob started getting very stiff & hard to turn, water started to leak for a few months now and I turned the machine on today and water just poured out everywhere & now not working at all.

Date PurchasedOct 2017

Great machine

published

Easy to use and clean. Taste will depend on the coffee you use. Just be aware that large coffee mugs will not fir under where the coffee comes out. Otherwise a great machine for the price. I bought this machine after seeing my daughters. I had one of the pod machines from Aldi and hardly used it, this one I use every day.

Date PurchasedApr 2018

Micky5

Micky5Melbourne

  • 4 reviews

Make Reasonable Coffees

published

This is the second coffee machine I have owned apart from various stovetop ones and I think it does an OK job. Its not quite as good as I had hoped for but it will do. The extractions I get are not bad - could have more crema but I think I would need a machine capable of producing more steam pressure for that. The steam wand works but just. First some water comes out, then you wait a bit and you get steam. It looks quite decent in the kitchen and is easy to use. I dont think I would buy the same one again but it does work as promised.

Date PurchasedAug 2017

Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Teresa

Teresaasked

Stirling Designer Collection Espresso Machine (2014-2019)

What is the weight of the machine?

No answers

stacey

staceyasked

Hi! I’ve turned it on and i can’t seem to get it drip coffee. The machine is only blinking the red & blue lights. Can I have a copy of the manual? I no longer have mine.

2 answers
HappyCamper
HappyCamper

You may care to check online for a manual.
To check your machine works remove the portafilter (the handle assembly thingy that holds the coffee). Make sure you have put water in the tank (you did fill the tank didn't you). Then switch unit on (bottom switch), make sure steam dial is on zero (about 1 o'clock position) and press the pump (middle) button. If water comes out you're halfway there.

Fill portafilter with ground coffee and GENTLY tamp down. Replace in its position, wait for the green light (or until temperature gets to about 92-94°) and press the pump button.

If no coffee comes out grind may be too fine or youve tamped it down too hard or both.

If none of the above work grab your receipt or proof of payment and ring Aldi to make a warranty claim if you're eligible.

HappyCamper
HappyCamper

FWIW I have never seen a blue light on my machine. Red green and yellow (power, brew ready, steam ready) are the only ones mentioned in the manual. None blink. Yours may be indicating some fault but nothing about blinking lights is mentioned.


Alby

Albyasked

How to descale the machine?

1 answer
HappyCamper
HappyCamper

I'm a firm believer in benign neglect: if it ain't broke ...

But out of curiosity I Googled it. Seems there's several help sheets out there using different concoctions. Results will probably vary as could the effect on your machine's longevity. Proceed with caution!


Get an answer from our members and ALDI representatives

Details

ALDI Premium Espresso Machine (May 2019)
  • Discontinued

ALDI Premium Espresso Machine (May 2019)

1 review
ALDI Ambiano Espresso Machine (Mar 2019)
  • Discontinued

ALDI Ambiano Espresso Machine (Mar 2019)

2 reviews
ALDI Espresso Machine with Milk Frother (Oct 2018)
  • Discontinued

ALDI Espresso Machine with Milk Frother (Oct 2018)

1 review
ALDI Stirling Designer Collection Espresso Machine (2014-2019)

ALDI Stirling Designer Collection Espresso Machine (2014-2019)

33 reviews
CategoryManual / Semi-Automatic Coffee MachinesManual / Semi-Automatic Coffee MachinesManual / Semi-Automatic Coffee MachinesManual / Semi-Automatic Coffee Machines
Price (RRP) $299.00$87.99$149.00$149.00
Pump Pressure19 bar15 bar15 bar
Water Tank Capacity2.1 L1.2 L1.2 L1.6 L
Colour / Finish Stainless SteelBlackSilverWhite, Black, or Silver
Dimensions 320 x 210 x 260 mm
Milk FrotherSteam WandSteam WandIntegratedSteam Wand
Bean GrinderNoneNoneNoneNone
Manufacturer Warranty3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)3 year(s)
Release dateMay 2019Mar 2019Oct 2018Oct 2014
Discontinuation dateMay 2019Apr 2019Oct 2018Oct 2019

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.