??!
1 photo
APIA Car Insurance

How to compare car insurance to find the best policy for you

With so many car insurance providers and policies on the market, dipping into the policy pool can be confusing. Use this guide for tips on how to find the car insurance that's ideal for you.

Read now

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    2.6 (28)
  • Customer Service
    3.0 (30)
  • Timeliness
    2.4 (15)
  • Job Satisfaction
    2.0 (4)
  • Transparency
    2.8 (25)
  • Claim Resolution Time3+ months (5), <1 week (5), 2-4 weeks (4), 1-2 weeks (4) and 1-2 months (1)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (15) · No (2)
Previous
Next
Ziad

ZiadSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Fully insured But we can only fix part of your damage.

published
Customer Service
Transparency
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota Landcruiser 80
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Howdy

HowdySomerton

New insurance

published

Just changed to APIA for my car insurance, half price of my old one. Thanks for the savings, easy to set up and great customer service. Look forward to many years of service.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHolden Captiva CG LTZ
See all answers
swamprat96

swamprat96

  • 44 reviews
  • 21 likes

Good price way cheaper with a reasonable excess

published

Very simple to set up, great price and good extras. It's the second vehicle I've switched to APIA. Will be interesting to see the renewal next year and hope it stays a similar price

Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how APIA Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ciao Telstra !

Ciao Telstra !PERTH

  • 21 reviews
  • 24 likes

Hilarious Ripoff

published

I'm 55 - unblemished driving record - got a quote online and it was over $200 more expensive than other insurers. So don't be an over 55 sucker and believe you are getting a discount with this mob !!! AVOID !!!

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Simon

SimonGold Coast

  • 2 reviews

APIA are for themselves..NOT Pensioners

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Robert Rath

Robert RathSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

APIA were easy to deal with, delivered what they promised. I am very impressed

published

I am a relatively new APIA customer and found their prices competitive, the service very good, no fuss and good followup.
I plan to convert all my insurance to them over time.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelTesla Model 3
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateMay 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

ANOTHER UNHAPPY CUSTOMER

published

NEVER DEAL WITH THESE SCAMMERS!!! Brand new car worth $37,800 with under 300kms was rear ended 4 days after purchase date with minimum $26,000 worth of damage including the chassis which voids all my 7 year warranty so instead of a replacement vehicle they want to fix it, if I wanted a second hand car I would have bought one! They go against what you as the customer want! Lawyers are getting involved to solve this matter because they’re too incompetent to do so professionally! Spread the word and go with any other company!!!

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
See all answers
Scarlett

ScarlettDandenong

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Screwed Over Big Time

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHonda Accord
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJune 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Nellie

NellieN/a

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

16% increase in premium is excessive

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelToyota Camry ASV50R / AVV50R Altise
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how APIA Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Wouldn't touch it with my enemy's vehicle

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
See all answers
Nicholas S

Nicholas SSouthwest, VIC

Dishonest, incompetent, inefficient, infuriating overseas call centre

published

They insisted that I use their repairer and that I had selected this option on the original policy . I asked several times for a PDF of the policy but it never came.

They have a call centre in The Philippines staffed by people with poor English skills.They made numerous mistakes which were IMPOSSIBLE to sort out because of the language skills.

I found myself doing a lot of the work that they should have done.

Two final points:

1. Don't ever ever use Apia.
2. Don t believe the good reviews. The word choice, style of expression etc point to them being written by 1 or 2 individuals but you probably guessed that.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Morpheus

MorpheusGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

overpriced

published

over the last 3 years.... the premium rose from $50 a month to over $70 a month this year $853 for the year for a 10 year old Commodore...no claims ....got a quote from RACV....$256 cheaper....Apia have a kilometre range of 5000 to 10000 kilometre ....for that discount ??? RACV have no range restriction....

Value for Money
Customer Service
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car Model2010 holden
See all answers
Isa

IsaGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Very long time to get car assessed

published

had my parked car damaged badly 2 weeks ago and have been told still has not been assessed I find this far too long to wait, not happy with time

Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateMarch 2018
See all answers
Andrew

AndrewSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Getting older doesn't mean I got lobotomised to good service!

published

Turning 50 recently, I switched my car insurance over to APIA, looking to benefit from lower premiums, what I didn't realise was the true cost of switching.
Needing to fix my vehicle after a minor accident, the service I've encountered has been nothing by a disaster. Having to leave my vehicle for days on end for inspection assessment, needing to go to multiple repairers, waiting weeks to have it fixed and having to travel +40 mins to the nearest repair who could do the work. The time and money wasted can't justifies the small cost saving.
Their ad says 'I wish that I knew what I know now', too right. Don't use APIA, you pay for what you get. Going back to Coles Car insurance by far a better offering.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
AlA  53

AlA 53

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Excessive premiums

published

After receiving my car insurance renewal I noticed that my premium was 8.7 % higher than the previous year and to add insult to injury my car was insured for $1400 less I called APIA to see if they could do less but the best they could do was take $30,00 a year of the price even though i had been quoted a policy that was $210 a year lees for an identical policy. This company promotes itself as looking after pensioners but in my opinion pensioners would be better served by shopping around for a better quote from a insurance company that looks after your needs and does not treat you like your a idiot.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how APIA Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
May

MaySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Red Tape Trying To Delay Claim

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelHonda HR-V
See all answers
die Gallis

die GallisTasmania

Would definitely recommend APIA car insurance

published

We lodged an online claim on Sunday afternoon, APIA rang back on Monday and the car got picked up by a tow truck within an hour or so. As we live in country Tas this is quite remarkable. Car was taken to be assessed. Since it was written-off we had pay-out in our bank account by Friday of the same week. Super quick and friendly.

Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Job Satisfaction
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Gary

GarySydney Surrounds, NSW

Reasonably priced comprehensive car insurance

published

Called the Apia help line to renew my car insurance. Was attended to and assisted quickly. Renewed my policy without fuss. Recommended insuring through Apia if you're over 55 for seniors discount

Value for Money
Customer Service
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelToyota Corolla E180 Hatch Levin ZR
See all answers
techknow

techknowSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

Thank you again APIA, lifesavers and tremendous to deal with.

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Timeliness
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelVolvo V50
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Sal

SalSydney Surrounds, NSW

Excellent service and value

published

Great value saving alot of money now. Excellent service from your staff member . He was able to answer all my questions. First time I have been super excited about my age. Finally i am old enough to use Apia

Value for Money
Customer Service
Transparency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelSubaru XV G4X 2.0i-S
See all answers
Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

Jo Anthony

Jo Anthonyasked

Car Insurance

I have had an accident and I have paid to have a replacement car while mine is getting fixed how long is this for is it until mine is fixed or a limited

No answers
Rick K

Rick Kasked

Car Insurance

After your car is repaired and you cancell the policy does the life time guarantee still apply if you are still the owner of the car and you go to a different company

2 answers
paul
paul

"Life", in English, may refer to the life of the car, OR your lifetime, [perhaps another 50 years]? They should not cancel it while you are still alive. To stop the "lazy tax" [people who are too lazy to check competitors prices] we should check prices AND what the coverage is, every year or two [plus the star ratings on Product Review].

Dave Thomson
Dave Thomson

Hi Rick to be honest mate I'm so pissed with this company I actually dont care anymore even now two WEEKS after the accident I still dont have my car back but for sure I'll NEVER go back with them again the only good thing thats come out of this is the bad publicity they've gave themselves, just beggars belief aye ?

Dave Thomson

Dave Thomsonasked

Car Insurance

WHEN is this so called Manger going to call me back ?????????????????

3 answers
Scott Perkins
Scott Perkins

Didn’t know that’s one of reasons I left APIA

paul
paul

Try contacting Consumer Affairs & I think there is an Insurance Ombudsman who will act if they ignore your written requests. The manager may have gone off "sick" [due to "overwork"!] Request his underlings help you, & refer them to this widely read product review site, which is giving them even more bad reviews, & losing them LOTS of business!

Dave Thomson
Dave Thomson

Thanks Paul so disgusted with the level of unacceptable service I WILL be cancelling my policy I dont need a company that treats its customers in such a bad way, thanks for your reply mate its very much appreciated and a whole lot more than APIA did.....

Get an answer from our members and APIA representatives

Details

Compare all 3 APIA Car Insurance
CategoryRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car InsuranceRoadside Assistance Providers and Car Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Funeral, Health, Home and Contents and TravelFuneral, Health, Home and Contents and TravelFuneral, Health, Home and Contents and Travel
Coverage TypeComprehensiveThird Party Property DamageThird Party, Fire and Theft
UnderwriterAAIAAIAAI
Legal Liability Cover Included up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 million
Roadside Assistance Optional ExtraNot OfferedNot Offered
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverZero Excess Optional ExtraNot OfferedNot Offered
Choice of RepairerAllowedAllowedAllowed
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Optional extra, up to $90 per day for unlimited days

Not Included

Not Included

Emergency Transport & AccommodationIncluded up to $500Included up to $500Included up to $500 for Fire & Theft only
Towing Costs IncludedNot IncludedIncluded
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Included up to 21 days

Not Included

Included up to 21 days

Essential / Emergency RepairsIncluded up to $500Not IncludedIncluded up to $500 for Fire & Theft only
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot OfferedNot OfferedNot Offered
Hire Car after Theft

Included up to 21 days

Not Included

Included up to 21 days

Lock and Key ReplacementIncluded up to $1,000Not IncludedIncluded up to $1,000
Transit Cover Not IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Trailer & Caravan CoverIncluded up to $2,000Not IncludedNot Included
Child Safety Seats and PramsIncluded as part of Personal Property cover, up to $1,000Not IncludedIncluded as part of Personal Property cover, for Fire & Theft only
New-for-old Car Replacement

Earlier than 10 years old

Not Included

Not Included

Personal Property CoverIncluded up to a total of $1,000 (combined with Child Seats / Prams)Not IncludedIncluded up to a total of $1,000 for Fire & Theft only
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not ApplicableIncluded up to $5,000Included up to $5,000
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
FireIncludedNot IncludedIncluded
CollisionIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Natural EventsIncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Theft or Attempted TheftIncludedNot IncludedIncluded
Compare all 3 APIA Car Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.