6 photos
Apricus Solar Hot Water System

Apricus Solar Hot Water System

315ltr Tank, 250ltr Tank, 400ltr Tank
3.3 from 146 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Solar Water Heaters in 2021 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Listing monitored by Apricus

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.4 (39)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (37)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.6 (34)
  • Noise Level
    4.1 (32)
  • Temperature Consistency
    3.5 (31)
  • Heating Speed
    3.6 (31)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Steve P.
Steve P.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Apricus solar HW installed 2009

published

Installed at initial cost to us of just over $6000 in 2009 sine then we had to replace pump, controller Solar Stat and again it is not working. We are in Jun 2021 and have got to cost us up $8000. We are asking for quote to decommission it and go to old system gas HW which will cost us $2000 plus decommissioning of Apricus around $1200. The problem is that initially we have gone for Apricus for environmental issues but considering that the system can not work without use both electricity and gas it is dead loss to us financially and no benefit to the environment. This was at my old age the worst mistake I have ever made and if I would have another life time I could not recover the cost.

Purchased in August 2009 for $6,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
Margaret
MargaretSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Great system 10 years old and waiting on parts

published

We are waiting on replacement tubes. Melanie has been great...no answers back from many companies and plumbers but now feel we're getting somewhere! Thanks Melanie for your input and many emails...very much appreciated.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
Ian
Ian Hunter Region, NSW

Product servicing and advice

published

A special thanks to Ros West. absolutely supportive and helpful. Great communicator and resolved the problem we had (electrical short in control box). Kept reporting back regularly .She is a great asset to you.

Incentivised Review No
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Apricus Solar Hot Water System compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Dave
Dave Canberra 2600, ACT

Installer and Repairer of Apricus Products, can not fault

published
Build Quality
Value for Money
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus

Replaced 315 lt tank

published

Mel and Amy at customer service were amazing they worked tirelessly to resolve a manufacturer issue. They got an excellent result and thanks to Chris also they had my water heater delivered the next day. Once again thankyou very much Mel, Amy and Chris. Cheers Rob

Purchased in June 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020

Here are 5 affordable kitchen appliances for making delicious winter warmers with

If you're craving winter comfort food made at home-sweet-home, these kitchen appliances can do the trick. They offer good value for money, too.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.23 July 2021
here-are-5-affordable-kitchen-appliances-for-making-delicious-winter-warmers-with
Next
Kellie
Kellie
  • 2 reviews

5 stars for service

published

Apricus customer service was excellent. Very happy! when I had a question about the water heater I emailed apricus and got a very timely and polite response with the exact information needed, certainly fills me with confidence with my new purchase

Purchased in January 2021.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus

Warranty Claim

published

Huge thank you to Ros West for exceptional service regarding our recent warranty claim AAW-3201. Ros was extremely helpful and knowledgeable at every stage of the process.
Linda & Eric Hartley

Incentivised Review No
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
Brenton
BrentonSouthern and Hills, SA

Very good unit. Havnt had a problem. Great service from staff.

published

Copes with high demand.
Only had fluctuations after the galas chewed the roof sensor cable in half so I bought a new one and fitted it no problems.
Works well in winter. It is gas back up but uses very little gas.
Cloudy weather isn't a problem as the evacuated tubes are extremely efficient.

Purchased in March 2011.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
Sharon K.
Sharon K.
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

No electric booster EVER

published

Purchased in November 2014 for $4,000.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Apricus Solar Hot Water System compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Barbara L
Barbara LNortheast, VIC
  • 2 reviews

Repair

published

Ros was exceptional getting the problem solved by diagnosing the fault and the speed of replacement parts to be installed by an Apricus plumber Graham who was very efficient.. well done to you all..

Build Quality
Value for Money
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
Martin
MartinNortheast, VIC

High cost of running

published

New house and new system so no issues there but I would have thought it would be cheaper compared to other older set ups? Our hot water unit is the highest energy cost on the bill

Incentivised Review No
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus

Great warranty service

published

Ros thoroughly investigated the issue with my 11 yo system not getting hot enough and needing near continual boosting for 9 months of the year. After tests the copper tubes were replaced under warranty and all now seems to be working well. This has been a lesson other companies could learn from in how to back your warranty and support customers.

Purchased for $7,500.00.

Incentivised Review No
Household Size 4 person(s)
George
George Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Thanks to Ros et al who helped resolve a tricky one.

published

We had a mysterious and rare degradation of one of the tubes, (from the inside), and Ros worked tirelessly to have it replaced without charge: it took a while, with not many plumbers about at this time.
thanks so much for the check-ins, just to let us know what was happening. And for the final job.
ta

Incentivised Review No
Household Size 2 person(s)
Tom
TomGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Failed within a year

published

Purchased in October 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
Ian Munro
Ian MunroGosford
  • 3 reviews

Fault code 55D

published

There was a very quick response to my email and a suggested reason for the fault.
My Apricus system has been i for eleven years and has only had two faults in that time. A pump that got dirt in it and the current one. Not bad for something fairly complex. Very happy.

Incentivised Review No
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Apricus Solar Hot Water System compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

ClareP
ClarePasked
Solar Hot Water System

My Apricus evacuated tubes do provide hot water in the middle of summer but not at other times. They face nearly due north and have never worked as expected. What do I need to do to improve their performance. I would never recommend them if asked

1 answer
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus

Hi Clare,

Thank you for your enquiry. Please could you email our Aftersales team on warranty@apricus.com.au or give them a call on 1300 277 428. There are some simple tests we can have you run on the system to check the solar components and their performance to see if we can help solve your problem.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Apricus Australia

Anna W.
Anna W.asked
Solar Hot Water System

We have an Apricus hot water system installed in 2016, and for the past couple of days our water has been lukewarm. The panel is reading COL 30.5. What's wrong with it?

1 answer
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus

Hi Anna,

It was lovely to speak to you over the phone regarding your system. Hopefully we have now fixed the problem but be sure to give us another call if the problem persists.

Kind regards,

Apricus Australia

Not happy JAN
Not happy JANasked
Solar Hot Water System

Hi Guys,
Have a 30 tube system, 300L tank, off peak boost, about 9 years old. I felt it was not at efficient as it used to be (only just enough hot water for 4 evening showers, tank water so never long: and I boil the kettle to wash up or there is not enough hot water). I called out our local agent, who after looking tells me there is nothing wrong with it, he just added some paste around the sensors in case the were not conducting properly. Now, a few weeks later, my unit is error coding 55d and there is white stuff coming out of the sensor port. Inlet reading 50 degrees and roof reading 100. Which it is clearly not as it is currently night dark and winter. Clearly there is something wrong with the unit, but it seems to be hit and miss with finding out what the problem is?????? Can you help?

3 answers
Not happy JAN
Not happy JAN

correction, the roof is reading 139 degrees

Not happy JAN
Not happy JAN

that is degrees celsius

Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus

Hi Jan,
Thank you for your enquiry. You are correct, there is clearly something not quite right with your system and we would like to help get to the bottom of it.

The error code 55d suggests there is a problem with one of your controller sensors. This, along with the readings you are getting could mean that the sensors are not inserted fully, are faulty and need replacing or, it is possible there is an airlock in the system causing the water to get stuck on the roof and very hot.

Please could you call our Aftersales team on 1300 277 428 or email on warranty@apricus.com.au so we can discuss this matter further with you and help get your system back up and running as it should.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Apricus Australia

See all Apricus Solar Hot Water System questions

Get an answer from our members and Apricus representatives

Apricus Solar Hot Water System

Details

Compare all 3 Apricus Solar Hot Water System
CategorySolar Water HeatersSolar Water HeatersSolar Water Heaters
Compare all 3 Apricus Solar Hot Water System
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.