??!
6 photos
Apricus Solar Hot Water System

Apricus Solar Hot Water System

315ltr Tank, 250ltr Tank, 400ltr Tank
2.9 from 100 reviews

Reviews

2.9

100 reviews
5
(34)
4
(10)
3
(8)
2
(10)
1
(38)
  • Build Quality
    2.3 (8)
  • Value for Money
    1.6 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.6 (7)
  • Noise Level
    4.7 (9)
  • Temperature Consistency
    3.1 (8)
  • Heating Speed
    3.4 (8)
Previous
Next
Kmears

KmearsHunter Region, NSW

Apricus install the hot water system then you never hear from them until you ring and ask about your warranty..

published

Then they tell you you’ve voided your warranty by not getting the valves checked at 5 years. Where’s the after sales service? If they know your hot water tank will blow, why don’t they make that part of their service? There is no service or care factor. Won’t be purchasing from these people again. Oh and the emails don’t through, the warranty form they never receive, they don’t answer any phone calls until you press 1 for accounts!

Purchased in December 2012 for A$3,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

TRIED IT BUT GOING BACK TO DUX

published

Lived in same house for 30 years - Dux Hot Water System lasted 21 years! Apricus System lasted 9 years! Warranty 10 years but not honoured. You judge for yourself. We're going back to Dux.

Purchased in February 2010 for A$4,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Phil

PhilSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Conceptually good but quality of product is so poor and warranty not backed up

published

I have had this system for nine years now. When it works it is good. The evacuated tubes seem very effective even in colder months. However the build quality is very poor and accordingly it does not work a lot of the time. It failed in the first few days after installation. Since then I have had three pumps, 2 controllers, tubes sliding out of their fittings and now the cylinder is leaking. When I have tried to claim under warranty they come up with all sort of conditions to avoid repairing it.

Purchased in June 2010 for A$5,200.00.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
2 comments
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
Phil
Phil
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Apricus Solar Hot Water System compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Heidi

HeidiHunter Region, NSW

Would not recommend to purchase

published

For a family of four, this tank has been nothing but trouble, limited warranty and the amount of items that has gone wrong is not acceptable from a 4 year old item. I totally agree with all the bad reviews and the customer service line is not much better, they are rude and I dont believe that it is true solar if the booster needs to be continuously on. Unfortunately you need a qualified plumber to fix anything that is out of warranty period, and they are few and far between and charge like wounded bulls. I would expect a new item to not have had so much go wrong with it it the first 4 years, quite a considerable amount of repairs within the 1st year (thank god that was covered under warranty). Good Luck is all I can say.

Purchased in August 2015.

Household Size 4 person(s)
1 comment
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
Jim

JimMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

A waste of time and money !!

published

I bought a 250lt / 22 tube unit, all were installed by an Apricus recommended Licensed Plumber with the installation inspected by the Apricus supervising plumber within the first 12 months. I have had nothing but trouble with these units and recently submitted a warranty claim as the manifold has developed a leak (4 years old). Now I'm informed my warranty is void because both plumbers who inspected the units had not insulated the connection to the manifold. Apricus is a complete waste of time and money.

Purchased in September 2015 at Reece for A$3,460.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
2 comments
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus

Thank you for your review Jim. It is outlined within the Apricus installation manual that insulation is required all the way to the manifold casing. This is required especially in frost prone areas.

Jim
Jim

No hot water in four years

published

Has only worked for a short time after tubes wete replaced.
System does not work in cold weather regardless of of sunshine.
Booster does not work.
It has never been hot enough to wash up.
There was a bad lot of tubes around the time of purchase.
Almost nothing is under warranty I really wish I had read these reviews before I bought this piece of junk.
Company I purchased from were going out of business and wouldn't return my calls.
I am interested in class action
Also fair trading

Purchased in November 2014 for A$4,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus

Fantastic, but only for technical people

published

Purchased in February 2015.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Household Size 4 person(s)
See all answers
1 comment
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
Les

LesGippsland, VIC

Problem solved

published

Hi I hereby fully reciprocate the last review I posted on this site in regards to my 40 tube apricus solar hot water system. I’d have to say I thought it was a total heap of crap up on my roof it’s taken nearly four years to get it sorted until the plumber showed up and told me there was a faulty batch of copper tubes inside the glass ones, since replacing those under warranty the thing is smoking free hot water no gas at all and it’s autumn loving it it’s full steam ahead from here on in go apricus

Purchased in January 2015 for A$6,000.00.

Noise Level
Household Size 3 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
1 comment
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus

Thank you Les. We are pleased you are experiencing optimal solar gain with your Apricus Solar Hot Water unit. Ensure your controller and pump have active power to provide frost protection.

Brendan K.

Brendan K.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

10 months free hot water per year

published

2 to 4 people. Reheats 310 litres quickly with the 30 tubes. I do have tank water so the little grundfos circulation pump has always been flawless.
Bought in 2009, I asked the installer pjt plumbing to raise the angle of the tubes to 60 degrees for maximum winter production. Electric back up fitted.
Love it

Purchased in October 2009 at Pjt plumbing for A$5,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus

Perfect - we are extremely pleased you receive optimal solar output from your Apricus Solar Hot Water collector as it was designed.

Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Apricus Solar Hot Water System compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Karlo

KarloKerang

Bad choice

published

Had a unit for less than 2 years and controller has already gone. Looked them up and they say upto 15 year warranty. Be warned this is a hav! Now im up for $500 for a new controller. I dont believe its ever worked properly looking at my gas bill. At times in business we have to except th hat our products are not upto std and then we fix and everyone wins. These guys are out of touch with warranty and would not recommend to anybody.

Date PurchasedMar 2017

It's been a PerfectSystem

published

I have had this system for about 8 or 9 years and have never had any problems with it ! The anode has now deteriorated and I am replacing it and cleaning out the tank and hope to get a few more years use out of it!! Love it!!! When it is time to get a new hot water tank I will definitely get the same!

Date PurchasedMar 2009
Ben

BenTamworth

Damn - wish I had reviews about hopeless warranty - same here!

published

3.5yr old installation in Tamworth - faulty connectors burnt out and not covered by Apricus warranty. Local Apricus service plumbers (Laser Plumbing Tamworth) failed to return 3 calls and didn't follow up - so I went with an independent plumber and sparky who were able to remedy the situation after 2weeks. Very disappointing after sales service. Apricus should coordinate repairs!

Date PurchasedJul 2015

Apricus is great

published

Had this system for 5 years now and had only 1 problem (seems like the sensor at the bottom of the tank gets stuck on a high temp occasionally). I have the data logger as well so I can see how it is performing. I live in Sydney and can turn off the electric boost from Sept to April To get free hot water 8 months of the year.

Date PurchasedAug 2013

Complete disaster

published

$8,000 in electricity bills, lukewarm or cold water, irrespective of fine weather. System was barely used but racked up this bill when previously annual bills were only $700. Had a manual booster so no automatic boosting but still a disaster. Had to disconnect it or risk losing the house. A financial disaster from a brand new system.

Date PurchasedApr 2017

My collector panel is a dud

published
Date PurchasedMay 2015
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Apricus Solar Hot Water System compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Col B

Col BBrisbane

Good unit - good service - a few issues fixed immediately

published
Date PurchasedOct 2015

Waste of money

published

Get an apricus if you want cold showers. Waste of money. I’m actually furious. Years of ridiculousness and issues. Anyone interested in a class action??? Nearly everything has broken and I don’t know how many Luke warm and cold showers I’ve had to endure. Ridiculous ridiculous ridiculous ridiculous ridiculous.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
Lemon

LemonPenrith

Warranty awareness

published

Buyer beware Once the system controller, Sensor, or pump, which carry only 12 months warranty after that period if any above fail and burst the manifold warranty is invalid on the manifold repairs are at your expense even though it states manifold has a 10 warranty. Buyer beware of this product

Date PurchasedJun 2011

Poor product, poor Warranty, appalling Customer Service.

published
Date PurchasedJul 2011
Louise

LouisePerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Don’t buy.ever!!!

published

It’s been unsatisfactory since buying it in August 2015. After 3 months of boosting the system in summer Apricus finally believed me and replaced 7 tubes that had corroded. Ever since then we’ve been boosting our system more than our old solar hart Today 2.5 yrs later the heating element went. Great. Stay away from this system!!! Doesn’t save you anything. It cost us 3x more than a solar hart.

Date PurchasedAug 2015
Page 1 of 5

Questions & Answers

Peter

Peterasked

Solar Hot Water System

Whilst I do realise that the apricus hot water system requires electrical boost in cooler months we are finding that we need to start boosting as early as the start of April. Ours is a 315 litre system with 32 tubes, 2 people. Mid north coast nsw.
Expected better. Tubes oriented to see sunlight from around 8:00 am till sunset.

1 answer
Phil
Phil

Mine started in late April and I’m in SE QLD.

Bryce

Bryceasked

315ltr Tank

Hot water in the morning. Sunny 20 degree days. Water temp only 24 degrees when I get home from work with no usage. What the ? Pump is running when temp at collector is less than temp in tank??? Please explain?

2 answers
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus

Hello Bryce
Please contact Apricus directly so we can assist with troubleshooting in a direct manner.

Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus
orange10

orange10asked

Solar Hot Water System

After freeing some calcification from the tempering value in order to restore pressure - which was successfully completed - water now runs from the over flow (PRTV) pipe. To save water and power, I have turned off the inlet tap and electricity to the tank - meaning there is no hot water. What can I do to return the system to proper operation, please? Thanks.

2 answers
Apricus
Apricus Product SupportApricus

It is normal for the ECV, or if one isn’t installed, the PTRV,to dribble water each day as the water heats up and expands. The volume water can be anywhere from a few cups to as much as 10L depending on the system pressure and temperature rise. (for 50L heated, 1L can dribble). Solar hot water system may relief more pressure as the temperature can get much hotter than an electric boosted tank. Restore to normal operation by reversing your turn off actions.

orange10
orange10

Thank you for the reply, but as I wrote, "water runs from the...pipe", so much so that there is not enough pressure building in the tank to allow forceful water from house HW taps. I had a punt and replaced the PTRV. That has worked.
Before inserting the new valve I pulled up the handle and noticed that a mechanism within the valve was shifted. Doing the same to the old valve produced no effect.
I can only assume that the old PTRV had failed, and was in a continued "open" position which allowed water to constantly run out of the tank when the inlet tap was 'on' which created pressure within the tank.
I am not a plumber, so if my thought process if wrong, please respond so I can have my thinking straightened in case this incident repeats in the future. Thank you once again. Stay safe.

Get an answer from our members and Apricus representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.