??!
6 photos
Audi A3 8P.II

Audi A3 8P.II (2008-2013)

3.6 from 14 reviews

Reviews

3.6

14 reviews
5
(5)
4
(2)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(1)
  • Build Quality
    4.5 (2)
  • Value for Money
    4.0 (2)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.0 (2)
  • Noise Level
    4.0 (2)
  • Acceleration / Power
    4.5 (2)
  • Handling
    4.5 (2)
  • Braking
    4.5 (2)
  • Suspension
    4.5 (2)
  • Gear Shifting
    4.5 (2)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    4.0 (2)
  • Interior Design
    4.5 (2)
  • Boot Size
    4.5 (2)
  • Features
    4.5 (2)
  • Comfort
    4.0 (2)
Previous
Next
GaryA

GaryASydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Fantastic little zippy, fun, stylish and economical car

published

Purchased in January 2018 for A$10,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionManual
BoughtUsed
Year2010
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jennifer Sutton

Jennifer SuttonGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Audi Problems

published

I bought this car second hand from BMW Doncaster which had done approx 30,000kms. Immediately after their 3 months warranty had to have wires replaced at Audi Burwood - cost $700 Now at 59,000kms I had to replace the transmission at a cost of $3,500 (not done by Audi as they want $5,000+), new brakes as they cannot be machined and now a problem with driver's door lock actuator. My daughter had a Hyundai which had done175,000 kms and my husband a Lexus with none of these problems. What is wrong with this so called perfect German car? I have noticed that Audi never respond to these written problems.

Purchased in June 2009 at BMW Dealers for A$40,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtUsed
Year2009
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Suspension
Gear Shifting
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
sam

samSydney, NSW

  • 38 reviews

LEMON

published

I bought an Audi A3 last year. Since I bought it, I had to change the clutch, radiator, breaks and the battery. Complete lemon.
Consider if you want to buy a good European car and bad European car.
And be careful when dealing with the VW group. Dodgy company. Just think about the emission scam and cheating on consumers, not too long ago.

BadgeAmbition
BodyHatch
Doors5
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedFeb 2017
Convertibles

Find out how Audi A3 8P.II compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jenna

Jennamelbourne

  • 31 reviews

Audi A3 Problems

published

My Audi A3 Cabriolet has done 59,000 kms and has been driven carefully. The first problem was so called "gold plated wires" being broken - Audi fixed this problem for approx $700. Now at 59,000 kms my transmission has gone and it will cost approx $4,000. Audi has had a recall on transmissions but not my car's model. When compared to my husband's Lexus which has done 98,000 kms (no problems so far) the Audi is an expensive car with many problems. I would not purchase any Audi again.

BadgeDo not know
BodyConvertible
Doors2
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2009
mrblog

mrblogAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Good performance car with lot of luxury only Oil consumption can be concern

published

Nice car with Turbo, Car has very good pickup and comfortable with 5 people. Very good and soundproof cabin on freeway driving and Bose speakers are best for music with 6 CD changer and 2 SD card for whole collection.

Only concern is topping up oil few times between service interval, and DSG issue recall. Otherwise happy with the car.

BadgeTFSI
BodyHatch
Doors5
Engine Size1.8
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedAug 2014
Mattman

MattmanAU

  • 6 reviews
  • 7 likes

LEMON ALERT!

published
BadgeS Line
BodyHatch
Doors5
Engine Size2.0
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedJan 2010
AJPAYARD

AJPAYARDFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

A3 2010 problem

published

Major starting issue since new. Stalls on first start then is fine until next day- same issue. Also new engine as for unknown reason flogged out bores in block after 15000klm. New gear box after about 10000klm. In the workshop about 12 times in 2 years. Very disappointed on the car reliability.
Fuel efficient
Major starting issues since new and still the problem has not been found. Not from the lack of trying by audi.

Anne-Marie

Anne-MarieSydney

  • 7 reviews

Love this car - enjoyable and easy to drive, zippy turbo, impressive

published
BodyConvertible
Audiphile

AudiphileBrisbane

An entertaining drive.

published

Bought 1.8 in Aug 2010. Great to drive. Very zippy. Enough room for a couple of grandkids. Speedy roof actin enables traffic light roof lowering/raising. Had to be towed to dealer when transmission control unit failed. Apparently a not uncommon problem. Was fixed under warranty with a few day's delay waiting for part.
Compact, very responsive, very fast folding roof.
Failure of transmission control unit.

BadgeTFSI Attraction
BodyConvertible
Doors2
Engine Size1.8
Convertibles

Find out how Audi A3 8P.II compares to other Convertibles

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
arismum

arismumAU

  • 3 reviews

Not bad but not great...

published
BodyConvertible
Rohan01

Rohan01MELBOURNE

  • 21 reviews

Excellent car. Best I've had which is nice

published
Engine Size1.4
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeTDI Attraction
BodyHatch
Doors3
PJH

PJHAU

Audi A3 TDI

published
BadgeTDI Ambition
BodyHatch
Doors3

Good

published

Excellent

published

The cons I have written are small things that are easy to live with. Overall this is a fantastic car and is fair value for a prestige car. Early model 6 spd DSG transmissions had some issues, but the new 7 spd seems fault free.
Bought the 1.8TFSI in Jan 2010. Very refined car. Engine performance is astonishing for a 1.8. Build quality is excellent. Looks are great but that's individual taste. Handling superb as well.
Egg gas smell at time, have to raise the arm rest to use the cup holder which is annoying, and road noise at speed on a highway seems higher than most Jap cars. Also the doors are so tight. Brake pad dust on front wheel rims too.

BadgeTFSI Ambition
BodyHatch
Doors3
Engine Size1.8
1 comment
ukkelo
ukkelo
See all Audi A3 reviews

Questions & Answers

ignas

ignasasked

A3 8P.II (2008-2013)

I just bought a 2nd hand 2009 A3 & the gearbox thumps into gear, has rev'ed like in neutral, when in reverse, got stuck in particular gears & wouldn't change, repeatedly surges forward, backs off, surges forward, backs off when rolling forward slowly in gear, hard to park close to a wall as you don't know when it's going to surge forward. Anyone experience this?

7 answers
Anne-Marie
Anne-Marie

No, mine is perfectly fine and doesn't do this. Yours has a major problem. If bought off a dealer I'd have an inspection and have them identify the problem then take back under warranty.

Ryan
Ryan

Was the car serviced regularly including gearbox? Sounds like the previous owner may have skipped some maintenance there, either gearbox oil (this was an expensive service even in japanese cars that some japanese car owners also skipped), or slipping clutch (it is a manual gearbox after all, just with a robotic clutch)... If you bought from dealer then you should take it back or get it fixed under the used car warranty (at least some cost could be recouped). Too bad if private sale, that could be the reason the previous owner sold the car.... Didnt it do those stuff when you test drive it prior the purchase?

ignas
ignas

Hi guys,

Don't know how this forum reply works. I can't answer you individually. I'll assume you both get the same reply.

Anne-Marie, thanks for response. No, I bought it privately. Ha, my fault for not getting an inspection.

Ryan, Car serviced by Audi every 10K instead of 15K. No mention of gearbox oil needing changing. Receipts claim they check it. I will have it replaced anyway & see what happens. I didn't notice it at test drive & didn't notice for a few wks/mths afterwards. Seems worse when its hot.

One other poster said he got Audi to pay half $3K total of $6K to repair & it started up again after 3 mths. He quickly sold it.

Thanks Guys

Kurt Mikkelsen

Kurt Mikkelsenasked

A3 8P.II (2008-2013)

Audi A3 cabriolet from September 2010
Where can I find details about the car and a manuel in English?
Regards
Kurt

1 answer
Audiphile
Audiphile

Probably through an Audi dealer, Kurt. Can't find any online.
Nick

Get an answer from our members

Other Convertibles

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.