??!
5 photos
Audi Q5 8R.II

Audi Q5 8R.II (2012-2017)

TDI, TFSI, TDI Sport Edition, TFSI Sport Edition
3.6 from 16 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

3.6

16 reviews
5
(6)
4
(3)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(2)
  • Build Quality
    1.0 (1)
  • Value for Money
    1.0 (1)
  • Acceleration / Power
    2.0 (1)
  • Handling
    1.0 (1)
  • Braking
    3.0 (1)
  • Fuel Efficiency
    2.0 (1)
  • Interior Design
    2.0 (1)
  • Boot Size
    2.0 (1)
  • Features
    2.0 (1)
  • Comfort
    2.0 (1)
Previous
Next
GRP

GRPGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Terrible car, worse customer service from Audi

published

2014 Q5 owned since new. Riddled with problems over the years. Has been recalled several times. Now an airbag crash sensor has failed during an Audi service and they are refusing to fix the problem. Claiming a sensor is a consumable item

Purchased in January 2015.

Build Quality
Value for Money
TransmissionAutomatic
BoughtNew
Year2014
Performance
Acceleration / Power
Handling
Braking
Fuel Efficiency
Design
Interior Design
Boot Size
Features
Comfort
See all answers
Jane

JaneMelbourne

  • 4 reviews

this is a perfect car for us

published

The car size is perfect and just enough sitting room. It is easier to steer than Q7. And it is perfect for a family of 4-5 and with a pet! We have this car for more than 5 years apart from occasional flat tyres (may be due to driving skills) no major repairs needed to be done.

BadgeTDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014
SDL75

SDL75Sydney

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Good SUV for family but I miss my Mercedes Benz C-Class for quality

published

I definitely prefer the fit and finish of the Mercedes Benz C-Class I had previously. Shame it started falling apart which I expect will happen to the Q5 based on my friends' experiences. The 2.0 TDI doesn't quite have the power or responsiveness I need to feel safe. Get the bigger engine! It also feels less airtight with notable road noise and excessive windscreen condensation. Otherwise it's running well, 15 months in. No complaints about the AUDI service centre which is the best I've experienced.

BadgeTDI Sport Edition
Engine Size2.0 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedMar 2017
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Audi Q5 8R.II compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mitch G

Mitch GAU

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Too many issues for a luxury car

published
BadgeTDI
Engine Size3.0 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedDec 2014
starzz123

starzz123

  • 7 reviews

Air conditioning is a dissapointment

published

Bought this car in Jan 2014 with high expectations. Not happy with the air conditioning since day 1. Brought it back to the showroom few times and were advise that there's nothing wrong with the AC. Fan noise is loud but not much air coming out from it. It does blow cold air but I feel like there's something blocking the air so the performance is not maximum.

Sun visor clip snapped on the 3rd year. First time experiencing this, had much older car and never snapped the sun visor clip.

BadgeTDI
Engine Size2.0 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJan 2014
Gagab

Gagab

  • 9 reviews
  • 8 likes

Dont buy Audi - worst customer service | useless audi service

published

My Audi 2011 has had several significant problems in recent time. Firstly the megatronic unit on the transmission failed at approximately 60,000Km. repairs to this were relatively straight forward with a repair bill of approximately $3,000. Then transmission light started coming and I took to sudi 3 times, they charged me everytime but were not able to fix the issue. Local mechanic charged be 120$ and fixed the issue which Audi service center did not by charging 4000$
Even after the replacement of PCB unit of transmission CAR is not working well, it rolls backward while standing on red light . I took it back to audi service and I was adviced to use a handbrake everytime I stop at the red light so that car should not roll back.

BadgeTFSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedJun 2011
hanna

hanna

  • 11 reviews
  • 12 likes

Comfortable & pleasant drive,

published

Compared to the previous AUDI models I have experienced (& admittedly they all constantly offered more than i've expected), the Q5 is a completely new excitement. I have had it since 2015, though compared to A4 the acceleration is not as quick but the ease and comfort of driving is just irreplaceable.

BadgeTDI
Engine Size3.0 TDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2015
Steve R

Steve R

  • 2 reviews

Very happy with the Q5

published

Just bought a Q5 to replace my VW Touareg. I have the 2.0 diesel Quattro. Great value for money, especially as I bought it in a run-out sale. The car is very comfortable and well appointed. It might not be the fastest thing off from a standing start (especially when the stop/go function is operating), but once it gets wound up, it's brilliant - smooth ride and very confident feel in corners. Audi don't make claims that the car is an off-roader, but I didn't need that capability. Instead I wanted something that was sure footer and economical for some long country roads.

BadgeTDI Sport Edition
Engine Size2.0 TDI
TransmissionManual
Date PurchasedApr 2017
doctorpat

doctorpatAU

  • 7 reviews
  • 5 likes

Very nice idea but some fundamentally flawed details that need fixing

published
BadgeTDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedOct 2012
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Audi Q5 8R.II compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jedlan

JedlanSydney

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Great safe car

published

Owned it for 3 years now. Great car and I Can't wait for the next gen Q5 in 2017.
This one handles well albeit a little light on response. Quite quick for its weight. Interior finish is very nice, As i expect of all Audi's. Controls are intuitive and easy to navigate.
Negatives-burns too much oil -1ltr per 1800kms but for the economy and performance suppose it's ok.
Will definitely be buying the next gen Q5!!

BadgeTFSI Sport Edition
TransmissionAutomatic
Date PurchasedSep 2013
Engine Size2
Doglover33

Doglover33Adelaide

  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Amazing - beautiful, smooth, stylish

published

Have a 2015 Q5 TFSI Petrol, handles so well. It is so quiet and I love the look and feel of it as well. I test drove so many cars but it was the interior and dash of this car that made me fall in love with it! Very fuel efficient and had no issues so far. Also we had the best customer experience!

BadgeTFSI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2.0L
Alex T

Alex T

  • 2 reviews
  • 9 likes

Scary stalling experiences

published

Brand new 2015 q5, less than 3k on the click. Automatic car stalls on me in traffic! Took it in for review, but stall did not register on the computer -must be driver error (I am not sure how you stall an automatic)....
2 months later, car stalls as I am turning right into a round-a-bout -extremely dangerous situation as I was only half way around. This time alarm sounds. Managed to get it going, and no one hurt.
Turns out it needs a new gear box. I hope this fixes it as this problem is seriously scary.
Anyone else had this of late???

BadgeTDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size2..2l
Sharon

SharonSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Not the car I dreamt of

published

The car has a great engine (3 litre diesel ) and is powerful and quick however it does t feel luxurious inside. The seats are not particularly comfortable, it's difficult to adjust the heating/cooling while driving .
The size of the car is great and it is easy to park.

BadgeTDI
TransmissionAutomatic
Engine Size3l
Linda3088

Linda3088Canberra

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Stalling Q5 when cold

published
Sammy

SammyMelbourne

Excellent.. Love it 2014 Q5

published

No complains.. Purchased Brand New 2014 TFSI.. Very smooth and comfortable drive.. Great looks..Most beautiful car i have ever driven...

BadgeTFSI
Engine Size2.0L
Midsize / Medium SUVs

Find out how Audi Q5 8R.II compares to other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
JamesAustin22

JamesAustin22Melbourne

  • 10 reviews
  • 7 likes

Excellant design, reliability and quality

published
TransmissionAutomatic
BadgeTDI
Engine Size2.0 TDI
1 comment
Joanne06
Joanne06
See all Audi Q5 reviews

Questions & Answers

peter

peterasked

Q5 8R.II (2012-2017)

Hi, my Audi Q5 2l TDI just stopped whilst i was driving into a car park. i tried to restart the engine, although was only partially successful for about 1 second. When i attempted too restart the engine it only just turned over like my battery was flat, and that was it.
the only engine light to come on was the Glow plug pre engine heating light.
when roadside assistance came he did find that engine drive belt was significantly damaged.
i have had a new belt fitted and a new battery as well, although still have no success.
the mechanic is talking about a new starter motor, although i can't see how tis could cause the engine too shut down.
does anybody know if the engine shuts down automatically if the drive belt fails, and if so does it need to be reset so the engine can then start again.

should anyone have a suggestion i would love to hear it?
thanks, peter

2 answers
Gagab
Gagab

Hi Peter
I have no experience on the same, I have not faced this issue

Simmo
Simmo

It's possible that the timing belt has jumped if the drive belt has wrapped around and jamed up.

Get an answer from our members

Other Midsize / Medium SUVs

Previous
Next

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.