??!
3 photos
White Knight Laminate

White Knight Laminate

3.6 from 35 reviews

Reviews

3.6

35 reviews
5
(14)
4
(9)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(6)
  • Value for Money
    2.0 (5)
  • Painted Surface
  • Finish Quality
    2.2 (5)
  • Ease of Application
    3.2 (5)
  • Coverage
    4.0 (5)
  • Longevity
    2.7 (3)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Desiree G.

Desiree G.Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

Devastated - all my hard work has to be undone now

published

Followed instructions to the letter, using a kitchen measuring cup with mm gradations to be extra sure. Used the recommended foam roller. Surface is covered in roller marks - looks just awful. Will have to sand back once dry and start again. If anyone can recommend another way to seal my freshly painted laminate, please please help. I cannot bring myself to use this product again. Thanks in advance

Purchased in November 2019 for A$99.00.

Value for Money
Painted SurfacePreviously painted
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Omar

OmarSydney, NSW

Poor adhesion

published
  • +3

Purchased in February 2020.

Value for Money
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Longevity
radmila s.

radmila s.Canberra 2600, ACT

Don't bother, would give no stars

published

I followed the instructions, cleaned bench top several times, the laminate cleaner is awesome. We applied the primer, then the paint and it was looking great. I cleaned etc and applied the top coat, it left white specs of something all over the bench top, so I sanded back but couldn't get rid of it. I bought a new tin of the clear coat, applied it, and it looked fine, after 7 days we used the bench top, we were still careful and then it started scratching off and peeling all over. I followed all instructions and it looks awful. We spent two weeks doing this bench top, making sure it's dry, being busy etc.

Purchased in October 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$300.00.

Paints & Varnishes

Find out how White Knight Laminate compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
georgej878

georgej878

  • 4 reviews

GREAT RESULT

published

painted my benchtop with white knight products as per directions, primer, laminate paint, benchtop clear, easy as, benchtop clear i used a short nap microfibre roller 6 inch, mixed at 3 to 1, ie 100 ml hardner, 300ml other stuff, total 400mls, youtube video is wrong, he says 2 to 1, probably why there are mixed results, work quick and keep a wet edge and lay it back once, dont go back over it, anyway it turned out perfect for me and looks great.

Purchased in July 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$180.00.

Painted SurfacePlastic
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Longevity

Laminating bench top

published

I used all the correct laminate products for bench top
The top coat has left yellow stains on corners & in parts it looks like orange peel not completely happy about out come of this product

Purchased in May 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$120.00.

Value for Money
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage
Longevity
Bel

BelVictoria

Good result - including protective coating

published

I recently painted a laminate table and had a good result using White Knight primer, laminate paint and the protective coating topcoat. I followed the instructions on the can for mixing, but used a microfibre roller rather than a foam roller (thanks to this forum for the tip). The primer and paint process was no problem but the first coat of the topcoat looked a bit patchy and you could see the roller marks. I was more careful with the second coat to do long, continuous strokes as much as possible. This was more successful and although you can see some faint roller marks on close examination, for general use they are not noticeable. I am very happy with the end result.

Purchased in April 2019.

Value for Money
Karin

KarinSouth East Queensland, QLD

Protective coating

published

White protective coating is ok but came up like orange peel. Wont use it again. Not good for kitchen benchtop worried how it is going to last on the benchtop.

Purchased in April 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$105.00.

Value for Money
Painted SurfacePreviously painted
Usage
Finish Quality
Ease of Application
Coverage

Excellent product - but beware discrepancy in video versus can inatructions

published

I used this product a couple of years ago on an old kitchen benchtop, with excellent results. It remains hard and unscratched and easy to clean. However a friend has just asked me if she should use it. One problem I had when I used it is that the instructions on the video (excellent vid therwise) are different from the instructions on the can regarding mixing the topcoat hardener - vid says 2 parts A:1 part B, can says 3 parts A:1 part B. This is clearly why some people had major problems with this product. Problem is - I cant remember which I did! I think I followed the can. WHITE KNOGHT - CHANGE THIS ANOMALY AND YOU'D GET MORE SATISFIED CUSTOMERS!

Demig

Demig

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

the product a few years later

published

I've coloured my old laminate white a few years ago and it came up great. However, the top coat was a disaster as many others had mentioned and made it a decidedly yellow colour so it was rubbed off quickly.. After a while though, the white does yellow slightly so i did a top up a year later and came up great. the other colour splash was purple. Not so good and picks up smudges and finish wasn't as great. This was probably due to the pignment. But for a great quick fix, its a great product. The purple is going this weekend, so will undercoat and paint white and will review again.

Date PurchasedJun 2016
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how White Knight Laminate compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Margy

MargyTenterfield NSW

  • 2 reviews

Dont use the final Protection

published

I recently painted our benches and loved the outcome then I applied the final protective coating and what a disaster that turned out to be. Im pretty devastated as much as I tried to get rid of the lines they are there and have spoiled my great paint job. Where to now???

Date PurchasedJul 2018
Lindsay5710

Lindsay5710Metropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 11 reviews
  • 11 likes

Instructions need revision by manufacturer.

published

Good product but instructions and demo videos need reviewing. Primer and laminate paint coats are simple.Top coat mixing ratio differs between can and 'expert' on video. DON'T use foam roller. Works best with 230mm microfiber roller, wider roller gives less lines. I tried manufacturers recommendations on top coat, having to sand back and reapply laminate paint coat before trying top coat again due to the horrendous lines and bubbles left by foam roller. Good product overall with practice.

Date PurchasedMar 2018
shootingstar

shootingstarWOULDN'T U LIKE 2KNOW, Nsw

  • 59 reviews
  • 1 like

No complaints

published

I used this approximately 7 years ago on my kitchen cupboards & it's still looking as good as ever!
It was my only option at the time unable to afford a new kitchen, definitely can't complain about this paint.
I guess like most painting preparation is the key to a long lasting & good result.

Date PurchasedMay 2009
Ron

RonMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes
  • Verified purchase

Excellent alternative to a new kitchen

published

Had exactly the same results as the 1st reviewer on the list, final top coat was a disaster using the foam roller, lines everywhere, looked a mess!. Primer and laminate paint were no problems using a microfibre roller. I'm now in the process of sanding off this hardener coat and to try the mohair roller instead as suggested. I will post again later with the results.

Date PurchasedSep 2017

Excellent alternative to a new kitchen

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Bronwyn

BronwynAdelaide

  • 2 reviews

100% happy

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Paints & Varnishes

Find out how White Knight Laminate compares to other Paints & Varnishes

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bobsky

BobskyMid North Coast, NSW

  • 13 reviews

Works as advertised

published

It adheres well to laminate surfaces giving a durable coating. I applied this 18 months ago to pantry cupboards that are subjected to tins and jars being dragged on the shelves.
There are no signs of the coating lifting or even marking.
I strongly suggest cleaning the surfaces with sugar soap, and then thoroughly wiping them down afterward to remove residue. The seperate Laminate Primer is an essential step in achieving a good result.
Also use a 25mm synthetic bristle brush to cut in, then finish with a high density foam roller to achieve a satin smooth surface.

Date PurchasedDec 2015
Fiona292

Fiona292Canberra

  • 11 reviews

Excellent product that really works

published

I used the tile paint years ago and that worked perfectly and gave me the confidence to use the laminate paint on kitchen cupboards. White Knight have a great instructional video, follow the instructions faithfully and you can't go wrong. It's a lot of preparation but it's so important. I'm delighted as I've saved thousands of dollars. It's really helpful if you're not in a rush and can leave cupboard doors off for a few days to cure.

Date PurchasedMar 2016
KES..

KES..Melbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Sadly not great!

published

Very sorry I tried this product, couldn't get the roller marks out, ( bought the reccomended rollers ) i was hoping the clear would help the overall look but it didn't and now the bench can't be used without leaving scratches on it. Complete waste of time and money. Never again.

Date PurchasedJan 2017

Excellent result

published

Using Micro-fibre 100 roller covers I achieved excellent finish with both primer and and 2 coats of laminate.
Only a very gentle sandpaper was required before coats.
I painted our 20 year old yellowish kitchen white. Very, Very pleased. I watched a video on how to do it and followed it. I am not normally handy at painting.

Date PurchasedMay 2017

This product is rubbish and should be against the law to sell

published

The primer doesn't flow and leaves roller marks and if you don't rub them out they show on the next coat so after rubbing them out you need to prime it again which starts you all over again If you manage to get the paint on you have streaks from the roller so you have to give it a scuff and try again When you finally get to the clear your problems really start Give yourself a brake Don't buy it it's crap

Date PurchasedMar 2017
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

roy t.

roy t.asked

can laminate paint be sprayed

1 answer
georgej878
georgej878

well you can spray pretty well anything you can brush or roller on "IF" you know what your doing..

Warren W.

Warren W.asked

Is it advisable to lightly sand between coats of the 2pak protective coat

1 answer
georgej878
georgej878

just a light scuff with a grey scourer from auto paint shop and use a tack rag (bunnings etc) to remove dust, most important..i actually used haymes acrylic on the doors with an adhesion primer turned out great..

Peter M.

Peter M.asked

Is laminate paint acrylic

1 answer
Omar
Omar

The primer is acrylic but the top coat is oil based.
It was the 1st time I used that combination you would think it to be stronger if the primer was also oil base.

Get an answer from our members and White Knight representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.