??!

How to compare car insurance to find the best policy for you

With so many car insurance providers and policies on the market, dipping into the policy pool can be confusing. Use this guide for tips on how to find the car insurance that's ideal for you.

Read now
Buying Guide Banner

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    4.6 (354)
  • Transparency
    4.7 (328)
  • Customer Service
    4.7 (362)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (245)
    • 1-2 weeks (53)
    • 2-4 weeks (18)
    • 1-2 months (7)
    • 3+ months (7)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (327) · No (4)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
Sean franck

Sean franck

  • 2 reviews

Fraudulent policy

published

I had the policy fraudulently taken out on my name they made a claim in my name and when I first found out about from a email asking me how I found there services? I would not know cos I’ve had nothing to do with these rip off extra warranty company’s. I called up to tell them the situation I was spoken to very rude saying I was stupid since it’s in my name and the car dealership (Westside auto) had claimed under my name for a Ute that we brought from them and was told to go away basically. So if they are OK with fraud it’s a good sign to stay well away.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Conor S.

Conor S.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Absolute life saver!

published

Suddenly my ute broke down so I called awn and spoke with Jordan, he instructed me on what I had to do and the mechanic made the claim and the same day it was approved!! Very fast service couldn’t be happier! Also made a claim for tow truck reimbursement on Sunday night and got a call Monday morning saying it’s been processed! Overall was a great experiences

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateFebruary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Laura B.

Laura B.South East Queensland, QLD

Very grateful for excellent service and quick response.

published

My policy is good value. Claim was finalized promptly. Since the purchase of my vehicle in 2019. I was informed by mechanic of my vehicle’s problem after a service check up. I contacted AWN who informed me of the procedure to take. All followed and taken care of.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelRav 4
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how Australian Warranty Network compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Stephen S.

Stephen S.Hunter Region, NSW

Cover when I needed it.

published

Buying a second hand vehicle, and not in a great financial position, AWN breakdown insurance was literally my only fall back. My new car broke down 2 months after purchase. The part that broke was covered and repaired with a much more affordable cost to me. It took 2 weeks to repair. Their mechanic was good. I am glad I brought a vehicle with their insurance and didn't buy private.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeThird Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHolden Captiva CG Series II
Claim DateFebruary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Quick service

published

Vehicle breakdown involving the starter motor was quickly resolved when the vehicle was taken to the garage and repaired by the next day. Made a claim and AWN covered all the costs for new starter motor, labour etc. No fuss. Very happy with this insurance. :-)

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateFebruary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Pro_Jones_NT

Pro_Jones_NTDarwin

  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Very poor warranties and terrible customer service

published
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
SANG P.

SANG P.South West, WA

Always have good experience claiming with AWN

published

I had a 100k service and the mechanic told me that the condenser is leaking.

So I contact AWN and they instructed me to a auto electrical specialist in town for a check up and then claim was made and approved within a day.

AWN handled it very quick and soon it was replaced at a local shop.
Claim was approved in few hours.
No roadside assistance was required

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHolden Captiva CG Series II
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Michael G.

Michael G.Central Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Another great experience with AWN!

published

Couldn't be happier with AWN! One email and a quick call same day and my car's being fixed locally. Great customer service and fast reimbursement! Policy has paid for itself.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelJeep Wrangler JK Sport Auto
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateFebruary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

paul jensen

paul jensenSouth East Queensland, QLD

Radiator had a hole in it and they fixed it on the spot, Very happy with the outcome.

published

1/ Very easy to set up and understand.
2/ The claim was process in a timely matter on the same day.
3/ About 4 month purchased with car.
4/ Road assistance was not required.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHolden Crewman VZ (2004-2007)
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Car Insurance

Find out how Australian Warranty Network compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Ian V

Ian VMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Very impressed!

published

Excellent service. Couldn't be happier no fuss no problem. The car was towed to the mechanics, repair approved, and car back on the road in less than 24 hours... brilliant!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelHyundai i40
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network
KJ

KJWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

A life saver.

published

Honestly amazing, the claim was processed and car was fixed in the same day! It was a life saver as I did not have the funds to fix the issue

Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network
Aldi and Family

Aldi and FamilySouth East Queensland, QLD

Hassle free best in 20 years

published

I have been with AWN for just over a year and it has been nothing but 5 star.
Both claims were sorted within 1 day and both totalling $1200.
The staff who I dealt with on the phone were courteous, understanding and polite.
My family and I were facing financial hardship through the COV19 and these claims just relieved our stresses.
I have never had a claim accepted over 20 years so to experience this gives me hope and comfort to know there are company’s out there like this who operate.

Thank you AWN from Family of 7

  • Thumbnail
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelFord Territory SZ Titanium
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
2 comments
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network
Aldi and Family
Aldi and Family

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

G unhappy

G unhappySydney Surrounds, NSW

Can't wish for better

published

Awn gave aftermarket warrentee on my volkswagen transporter which the wiper ceased working when i needed it.
The policy gave good value and let me use my mechanic to do the repair.The repair was approved in a few hours after i sent the correct paperwork.
I've been with AWN for 7 years

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelVolkswagen Transporter T5.II
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateFebruary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Sam.O

Sam.OGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Exemplary quality of service

published

The level of assistance and support received when my car window recently stopped functioning was absolutely exceptional, but must add, every interaction with them over the years has been outstanding.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelFord Territory SX
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Jason h

Jason hWide Bay-Burnett, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Super excellent

published

Policy was only a few weeks old and my brake booster failed, AWN were so easy to deal with and my car was fixed in a few days with brand new part and done by a well known mechanic. Just fantastic I'm so impressed with AWN.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelIsuzu D-MAX
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Car Insurance

Find out how Australian Warranty Network compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pradeep D.

Pradeep D.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Problem fixed within 24 hrs of raising clean

published

Claim was raised and I was directed to take to approve repairer. Car was fixed by lunchtime the next day, very simple process. Great service from the repair shop as well.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelToyota LandCruiser 100
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network
Loukas L.

Loukas L.Western Australia

Operators with unpleasant attitudes

published

Older costumer service laser was rude and passive aggressive , was told different things by different people for example I took my car to a new mechanic because it was towed there without my choice but because they were not on there chosen provider list awn told me that they don’t have an account set up with them so I had to pay out of my pocket then the next claim I was told that it is possible to pay the company directly in the end which is frustrating and they should of done that to begin with

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelBMW 3 Series E93
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateJanuary 2021
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Raymond H.

Raymond H.Central Queensland, QLD

Excellent and Fast Service

published

I would recommend AWN to any customer buying a second hand vehicle. After purchasing a second hand European vehicle it had broken down twice with two different issues within six months which was quite upsetting. The mechanical breakdown department at AWN arranged a mechanic the same day on both occasions to fix the issues which only left me without a car for half a day. On the second occasion, I was 100km from my home town when I was broken down and AWN had me back on the road the same day within a few hours. While living in Regional Queensland it is hard to get service from warranty providers, but I happily recommend AWN simply for peace of mind.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelBMW 3 Series E46
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateOctober 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

Hi Raymond,
Thank you for sharing your claims experiences, our team members appreciate your feedback and your recommendation of our products and services.
All the best,
AWN Customer Support

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Emma w

Emma wSydney, NSW

Quick and efficient

published

Quick to respond to the claim. The team were able to help me via email and phone. New policy with my new second hand car so far so good. Very happy customer.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelVolkswagen Polo
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateDecember 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

Very impressive. AWN's Warranty did exactly what it said it would do!

published

Unfortunately various mechanical issues with my second hand Audi RS3 within three months of purchasing it. Fortunately had taken out a comprehensive AWN Warranty and after the inspection, AWN covered all the parts and labour without issue. A great investment with excellent service and can't fault their policies.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
See all answers
1 comment
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Page 1 of 41

Questions & Answers

Flip

Flipasked

Australian Warranty Network

Hi we currently have extended warranty, we have moved to Goolwa SA, do you have a recommended repairer in this area. Been very happy with your service so far. You fixed my daughter's car after we got coverage on hers as well as ours.
Regards Clive

1 answer
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

Hi Flip,

We do have repairers in Goolwa SA. Please contact us on 07 38025577 and we can direct you to the closest repairer to your current location.
Kind Regards,
AWN Customer Support

Sandy S

Sandy Sasked

Mechanical Breakdown Insurance

Can you tell me where can find out the actual totals of the benefit limits and the Aggregate Limit of a 5 year unlimited km policy? Are there excess costs incurred for repairs?

1 answer
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

Hi Sandy,

Thank you for your question.
AWN has a wide variety of Mechanical Breakdown products with varying coverages and claim limits.
You can find details on our products, including: terms, conditions, coverages, claim limits and full PDS's on our website: https://www.awninsurance.com.au/ExtendedWarranty.aspx

Prior to purchasing a Mechanical Breakdown product please ensure you read and understand the Product Disclosure Statement (PDS). A PDS contains all the information you require to make an informed decision whether the Mechanical Breakdown product you are considering is the right one for you.

If you require any further information, please do not hesitate to call us on 0738025577.
Kind Regards,
AWN Customer Support

Lu N R.

Lu N R.asked

Mechanical Breakdown Insurance

Hi, Could u possibly give me a quote for MBI on a used bt50 ute in good condition?

Regards. Doug

1 answer
Australian Warranty Network
AWNAustralian Warranty Network

Hi Doug,

Thank you for your enquiry.
AWN do not sell direct to the public, our insurance products are only available to be purchased through our 3000 selected licensed and authorised agents; motor dealerships, caravan dealerships, motorbike dealerships, finance brokers etc. throughout Australia.

If you would like to call us on 07 38025577 during business hours and we can direct you to an authorised agent that can assist you in the purchase of a new breakdown insurance.

Prior to purchasing a breakdown insurance product please insure you read and understand the Product Disclosure Statement. A (PDS) contains all the information you require to make an informed decision whether the product you are considering is the right product for you.

Kind Regards,
AWN Customer Support

Get an answer from our members and Australian Warranty Network representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Australian Warranty Network
Australian Warranty Network Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance
  • Discontinued
  • Award Winner 2021
  • 2020
  • 2019

Australian Warranty Network Comprehensive Motor Vehicle Insurance

4.7
(164)
CategoryCar InsuranceCar InsuranceCar Insurance
Coverage TypeMechanical Breakdown / Extended Warranty
UnderwriterLloyd'sLloyd'sLloyd's
Legal Liability Cover Not Included
Roadside Assistance Optional Extra
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverNot Offered
Choice of RepairerNot Allowed
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Included up to $100 per claim where you are more than 400km from your registered residence and the repair will take more than 48 hours

Emergency Transport & AccommodationIncluded up to $100 per claim if you are more than 400kms from your registered residence and the repair will take more than 48 hours
Towing Costs Included up to $100 per claim where your asset is unable to be quickly mechanically repaired or safely driven to an AWN Approved Repairer
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Not Applicable

Essential / Emergency RepairsNot Applicable
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot Applicable
Hire Car after Theft

Not Applicable

Lock and Key ReplacementNot Applicable
Transit Cover Not Applicable
Trailer & Caravan CoverNot Applicable
Child Safety Seats and PramsNot Applicable
New-for-old Car Replacement

Not Applicable

Personal Property CoverNot Applicable
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not Applicable
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismNot Applicable
FireNot Applicable
CollisionNot Applicable
Natural EventsNot Applicable
Theft or Attempted TheftNot Applicable
Discontinuation dateJune 2019June 2019
Compare all 3 Australian Warranty Network

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.