??!

How to compare car insurance to find the best policy for you

With so many car insurance providers and policies on the market, dipping into the policy pool can be confusing. Use this guide for tips on how to find the car insurance that's ideal for you.

Read now

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    1.7 (43)
  • Transparency
    1.7 (41)
  • Customer Service
    1.7 (46)
  • Claim Resolution Time3+ months (14), 1-2 months (8), 1-2 weeks (2) and 2-4 weeks (1)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (17) · No (10)
Previous
Next
terry

terrySouth Australia

  • 11 reviews
  • 8 likes

e card scam

published

Received email from QBE if you select us for ctp you will receive $50 voucher .That was a month ago ,still waiting, Insured with them for 12 months ,would like to know if i can change

Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Tmi

TmiSydney, NSW

Disgusting

published

I feel disgusted just spent 30mins on phone trying to get car insurance only to get told they can not insure me as I have a criminal conviction.
Yes I made an error in judgment and have paid the price.
They didn't ask what I had done just we can't insure you!!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
LBH

LBHMelbourne

  • 3 reviews

Outrageous price increases. No customer loyalty.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how QBE Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

This Pamela kapplas that she work in Qbe office claim she is been very rude

published

This Pamela kapplas that she work in Qbe office claim she is been very rude and not good worker. I been waiting so long and nothing get anything back. She should quit her job. Very bad. I will never ever go with Qbe again.

Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Peter

PeterSydney

  • 9 reviews
  • 12 likes

Disgraceful behaviour

published

I was not the policy holder but a third party who's vehicle was damaged by their client.
Their client admitted liability and put in a claim but they ignored my letters of demand.
I had to threaten to take out a court order against their client to get acknowledgement from them.
If i do go through that process it would be their poor client fronting up to court.
This has not been settled to this date and have to may take out a court order.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderNo
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Asked for my CTP

published

I have made many request,s for my CTP to be sent out early i made 3 phone calls still waiting.... last e.mail QBE sent was CTP will be sent in 3 to 7 days to day is 8th day zero nothing . I made a complaint to them , they sent mail back saying they did not have enough Information to look into my complaint i send the reg number of my motor bike . i will say the staff are nice to talk to but i like to get a result .

Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Bazcar

BazcarSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 26 reviews
  • 18 likes

Kindness

published

Kindness? What's that? These days it's all money and political correctness. QBE have impressed me yet again. Not only have they given me a discount on my insurance, they have given their customers access to to have free counselling sessions with a company by the name of a Assure if they are in need during this Covid debacle. I don't care if there is some sort of agenda, I still think it's a wonderful thing to do. Ten gold stars to QBE

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelToyota Camry
See all answers
Sveno

SvenoGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Waiting for Refund unlawful transactions.

published

Waiting for refund after unauthorized transactions on my account, by this insurance company. Just giving me the run around trying not to pay me MY MONEY. In my opinion steer clear of this company. Dishonest transactions by qbe. Disgusting service, actually lack of service.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Bobby

BobbySydney Surrounds, NSW

Very pricey, nearly double of the other insurances.Sustomer service is not friendly.

published

I just applied for a green slip over the phone, customer service were not really friendly.
Ripped me off with the quote, I have noticed after I already purchased it.
It was nearly 80% more expensive than the other insurances.
The authorities should monitor such issues, and they should set guidelines for such services.

Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how QBE Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sherina maqbool

Sherina maqboolSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely crap insurance.

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeThird Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderNo
Claim DateJuly 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Wiser now

Wiser nowSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Had a positive claims experience

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelMitsubishi ASX XB
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

pathetic, frauds

published

Got this pathetic insurance for our new car. Someone hit the rear door while reversing like an idiot. We put the claim through. They said we were not at fault and we starting the repair. Half way through the repair they changed it and said we are at fault and now we have to pay the excess. Bloody frauds. DO NOT GO WITH THEM.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holderYes
See all answers

QBE CTP really the worst provider

published

I was involved in a high speed rear-end accident. The car I was driving was totaled,
(beyond repairs), I was seriously injured. The other car has QBE CTP insurance.
QBE did minimum treatment and ruled my injuries as 'degenerative
due to old age',
I have to engage neurologist at own expense to fight the case because QBE
ruled my case as minor injury. I am still fighting the case.
QBE call centre does not know the claim number that QBE has assigned. It is
the worst insurance company in town. Avoid it at all costs.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderNo
Claim DateDecember 2018
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Mark D.

Mark D.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

What customer Sevice?

published

Tried to do a CTP and switch companies and was easy for them to deduct cash for policy the system error no policy but cash deducted phone and told refund will be credited back but not sure when WHAT A JOKE

Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Sean

SeanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 20 reviews
  • 44 likes

Crooks. Avoid. Read ABC investigation August 4 2020

published

QBE are underwriters for ANZ NAB and several others. Avoid avoid avoid all forms of insurance from QBE and all resellers. Re employment insurance they commit fraud to avoid paying claims. Most likely extend this practice to all branches of insurance.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car Model2001-2007 Hyundai Terracan
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how QBE Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

DO NOT CHOOSE QBE, YOU WILL BE SORRY

published
Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Car ModelFord Everest UA II Trend
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claimant is the policy holderYes
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers

Avoid

published

Don't forget that your CTP insurance also covers YOUR injuries if you're the one at fault (or if it's a single-car accident). So if you value your life and health, do not go anywhere near this product. QBE denies, rejects, blocks all treatment if you're injured. They will not even help you for the most basic things. You'll be left with thousands of dollars out of pocket for medical expenses.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
DP

DPSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Bullies, terrible communication, lost emails, INEPT, a joke

published

I was involved in a both at fault minor accident in a car park. The woman was abusive, her car was beaten up. I stood in the sun on a Sunday for an hour to try and help her as the plastic bumper had popped off. I got a mechanic to help her. He said she just needed to get her camera senors glued back in "max $200" job. QBE contacted me in November, I provided my written evidence of what happened including photos. 7 months later they say they lost me email and demand I pay $2500 for the damage to her car. Abusive people at recoveries saying I have to provide evidence that I'm not at fault.. Pretty sure the burden of proof is on them. Reported to AFCA who said their conduct was shocking. Don't use them.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeThird Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Andy

AndyDarwin

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

you're warned - sometimes very poor customer service

published
Value for Money
Customer Service
Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
borrisnorris132

borrisnorris132

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

No Problems so far.

published

No problems with QBE so far and the cheapest insurance I could find. I got comprehensive insurance. Haven't yet made a claim, but the price during covid was very generous.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Page 1 of 16

Questions & Answers

terry

terryasked

CTP Car Insurance (NSW, QLD, SA)

Can i change my ctp insurance from QBE TO a more reputable company?

No answers
terry

terryasked

Car Insurance

Have you got call centres back in Australia now?

No answers
Anwar sultan

Anwar sultanasked

Car Insurance

Hi by mistake i put some number wrong in VIN what should I do

No answers

Get an answer from our members and QBE representatives

Details

Compare all 4 QBE Car Insurance
CategoryCar InsuranceCar InsuranceCar InsuranceCar Insurance
Other Insurance Types Offered Business, Home and Contents, Motorcycle and TravelBusiness, Home and Contents, Motorcycle and TravelBusiness, Home and Contents, Motorcycle and TravelBusiness, Home and Contents, Motorcycle and Travel
Coverage TypeComprehensiveThird Party, Fire and TheftThird Party Property DamageCompulsory Third Party (CTP Green Slip)
UnderwriterQBEQBEQBEQBE
Legal Liability Cover Included up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 millionIncluded up to $20 millionNot Included
Roadside Assistance Optional ExtraNot OfferedNot OfferedNot Offered
Reduced or Zero Excess Windscreen CoverZero Excess Optional ExtraNot OfferedNot OfferedNot Offered
Choice of RepairerAllowedAllowedAllowedNot Applicable
After Accident Care
Hire Car after an Incident

Optional extra, up to $1,000 up to 14 days

Not Included

Not Included

Not Applicable

Emergency Transport & AccommodationIncluded up to $1,000Not IncludedNot IncludedNot Applicable
Towing Costs IncludedNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Applicable
Hire Car after a No Fault Accident

Optional extra, up to $1,000 up to 14 days

Not Included

Not Included

Not Applicable

Essential / Emergency RepairsIncluded up to $500Not IncludedNot IncludedNot Applicable
Benefits
Pay As You Drive / Fixed Kilometre DiscountNot OfferedNot OfferedNot OfferedNot Applicable
Hire Car after Theft

Included up to $1,000 up to 14 days

Included up to $1,000 up to 14 days

Included up to $1,000 up to 14 days

Not Applicable

Lock and Key ReplacementIncluded up to $1,000Not IncludedNot IncludedNot Applicable
Transit Cover Not IncludedNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Applicable
Trailer & Caravan CoverTrailer only, up to $1,000Not IncludedNot IncludedNot Applicable
Child Safety Seats and PramsNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
New-for-old Car Replacement

Earlier of 2 years or 20,000 km from original registration

Not Included

Not Included

Not Applicable

Personal Property CoverIncluded up to $500Not IncludedNot IncludedNot Applicable
Uninsured Motorist Benefit Not IncludedIncluded up to $5,000Included up to $5,000Not Applicable
Accidental Loss or Damage
Malicious Damage / VandalismIncludedNot IncludedNot Applicable
FireIncludedIncludedNot Applicable
CollisionIncludedNot IncludedNot Applicable
Natural EventsIncludedNot IncludedNot Applicable
Theft or Attempted TheftIncludedIncludedNot Applicable
Compare all 4 QBE Car Insurance

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.