??!
1 photo
QBE Car Insurance

QBE Car Insurance

1.4 from 279 reviews

Just spend more elsewhere

It’s not worth the money you save. It doesn’t add up to the total headache of dealing with this company. Started out with 4 policies, cancelled them all over time.

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo

If only these guys fought for me as hard as they fought against me.

Over 2 months to get policy paid out but didn't mention they were keeping the GST. Didn't even look at my vehicle for a week after the accident. Now it's 11 months since my "not at fault" accident and QBE tell me "we have recouped our losses, so we will not pursue the other insurer for your out of pocket damages", even though they told me they would. I got hit by a courier van, now I am $18000 out of pocket and counting.
Made an official complaint, they found in their favour.
My Advice is go straight to the AFCA if you need to claim with these guys.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateSeptember 2018
Claim ApprovedYes

DISGUSTING

I was told they would pay my emergency towing, after 1 week still not payment so I couldn’t get my car, was advised I can use my hire car as I pay extra, none of their companies in my town had an account with them so they couldn’t help me. Disgusting wouldn’t waste my money on them QBE is also ANZ bank.
Should be shut down, no Aussie and continuously have to repeat why I’m calling.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
1 comment
Hello, we're sorry to hear about this experience. We will PM you for some details to look into it

Bad,Bad,Bad

Can i just say how sorry i am to post that QBE has been a massive let down ,when i purchased a bike in early March had and accident then made a claim everything seem to be o.k .When i did't receive an up date per progress i tried to call the number provided many times for 20 plus minute segments i began to form an opinion.Iv'e been riding and insuring motorbikes for many years with no claims until this one which was recommended by the Motorcycle dealer (KTM) Sydney .At the time of purchasing the policy i opted to have Accessories covered also I.E Helmet, protective gear etc ,so when i sent my Apparel claim form and damaged gear to them some weeks later QBE sent me an email saying i would only receive $99.00 for the helmet which wouldn't cover the price of a replacement helmet let alone the Interphone (Helmet Intercom) which was also damaged in the accident and with that they said i hadn't listed it in the policy .I didn't list anything it's just not covered .Be very careful people ,this is bad practice

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelKTM Adventure Bike
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
2 comments
Hi Tony, we're sorry to hear about this experience. If you can reply to our private message with the details, we can look into itTell me what details you would like Ben policy number ? X863727M1 Claim number ? X2000679

My lawyers probably going to call

Sold my motorcyle 6 months ago. Cancled the policy. QBE continued to take take out of my bank acc after numerous phone calls to make them stop. Then they asked me to prove i sold it , so had to go to Service NSW for proof of sale(which cost money). Said they would send out a cheaque within 13 days. Waited for 2 weeks then rang them to ask what was going on, seems they sent it to my previous address, but when asked to confirm my details, my new address was confirmed by QBE. Today is the 12th of july. QBE origanly sent the cheque on the 22nd of may. I sold my bike in february and canceled the policy the same week. QBE just want me to say keep the f+×÷=n money so they can surpass their $700 billion dollar profit for 2018. I know that if I owed QBE money, they would be on my case every minute of the day. Now the tables have turned and they dont want to give back what they took. Is it illegal for someone to take money from your account without permission, because permission ceased when the policy was canceled 6 months ago

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
1 comment
Thank you for your review, and we're sorry to hear about your experience. We will PM for some details and have a look into this

One star because I can’t choose no atat

Cancelling policy as competitors price for like for like policy $400 cheaper. Can’t cancel my own policy because I wasn’t the nominated driver. Then QBE thought it would be best to tell me I didn’t set up the policy no matter that I had the name and time of the phone call when establishing the policy.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelToyota LandCruiser 200 UZJ200R Sahara
Claim MadeNo

worst insurance company

I would have give 0 stars, but had to give 1 star minimum...Hopeless customer service, wait for ages on the phone, not open at convenient times, cannot understand non english speaking people. Had my son listed as driver but was not advised that when he got his P plates, he would no longer be covered...had an accident and they declined the claim, I expected a big excess, but definitely not that I would not be covered...Disgusting! AVOID at all costs, RAA is cheaper anyway...

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Car ModelToyota RAV4
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
Hi Florence, we're sorry to hear about your experience. You can raise this with our complaints team https://www.qbe.com/au/about/governance/complaints and they can review it

The worst insurance company I have ever delt with! Be aware!!!

QBE looks after their best interests.
QBE told me that my vehicle is a ride off and not worth fixing.
I knew that my vehicle could be fixed for half the panel beater's quote.
The panel beater gave QBE an over inflated quote to fix it.
However I found out that my vehicle was sold to the panel beater from QBE.
QBE told me that my vehicle was a statutory ride off.
QBE won't disclose that my vehicle was sold and for how much.
I have lost money, because QBE would not pay my whole finance amount for my vehicle, the actual value of it and have ruined my claims history.
QBE mishandled my claim causing me financial and emotional stress.
QBE= LIARS NO NOT TRUST THEM WITH YOUR INSURANCE POLICY

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
1 comment
Hi Pelagia, we're sorry to hear about this experience. We recommend escalating this to our complaints team for review - https://www.qbe.com/au/about/governance/complaints

Worst insurance company ever!!!!

You are better off having NO insurance than going with QBE!!! My car got hail damage. Taken in to get fixed. When I got the car back it had MORE damage than what it had when it went in! Sunroof was broken! Front headlights scratched! Seals around headlights melted! My Mercedes is now absolutely wrecked! No help. No customer service. They couldn’t care less! $1000 excess and my car is ruined! QBE is the worst!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Car ModelMercedes-Benz M-Class W163 ML 350
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Hi Robyn, per our response to your message on Facebook, if you can please PM us the details of the claim and a contact number, we can take a look into this

Worst Insurance ever

QBE is the worst insurance ever. Had a car reverse into me. Cleary at fault and told QBE it was his fault. They told me I’m not liable then they changed their minds and said I am. They never call back. Useless

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJune 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
2 comments
Hi Peter, we're sorry to hear about this experience. We will PM you for some details and look into it.Really bad service, all their services are based in the Philippines probably paying 40 pesos per hour. Really poor.Im changing to AAMI

Best Green Slip

For compulsory third party insurance......Green Slip, QBE makes it super easy, providing the best (cheapest) quote, and all applications available online (for standard cars/drivers). I've got two cars, and both Green Slips are through QBE. Renewal reminders always sent when due to make it easier. I always check at comparison sites to make sure QBE is best for me...and it remains so. Thank you QBE

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelHonda Jazz
Claim MadeNo

Terrible, Unprofessional and Dishonest Service

I had my first claim ever lodged with QBE, Staff has no idea about the full claims cycle always thrown around to different people in a call center in Manila i believe. No updates were ever provided. The smash repairer they recommend had a very poor rating and upon request they agreed to change the repairer but then no update or call in 2 days and when I called back they said the repairs have already commenced and nothing can be done about it. Repairs are taking forever for a minor bumper impact. Requested the details of repairs long ago and which was never provided. Had to call multiple times to get the hire car extended due to the delay in repairs by their recommended smash repairer. Definitely will not recommend. claim is still pending.. will update again on quality of repairs.

21/06/19 - car is still not repaired even though the assessor said it will be ready to be picked today. The representative by name of [name removed] below only asked for a claim no. And did Nothing else in the file. It’s worse service than I got when I had a claim in a developing country. SHAME ON YOU QBE - hope your claim head [name removed] AND CEO [name removed] reads this so that they understand what crap service they are providing to the day to day Australians.

WONT RENEW OR BUY INSURANCE FROM QBE EVER.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Car ModelToyota LandCruiser 70 VDJ GXL
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
3 comments
Hi Ajay, we're sorry to hear about your experience. We will PM you for some details and look into this ~BLSBen the last message I got from you was requesting a claim no. Which I provided straight away. Sad to see the level of complacency in QBE. Just a note for people reviewing this “I never heard from Ben ever”.Hi Ajay, we're sorry we didn't respond to the original message, but per our private message yesterday it was escalated to claims at that time and we were advised it had been followed up. As you have indicated it wasn't, we have followed them up again yesterday and are chasing a response for you.

Dishonest. Contradictory. Breaching confidentiality. Unprofessional. No integrity.

QBE client totalled the back end of my car with motorcycle, and made a claim, great! all sorted, right, WRONG! A month later I’m still chasing QBE to pay out claim settlement release. I’ve been lied to, and have been told contradictory information from staff. I’ve had other QBE clients policy information emailed to me (breach of confidentially) It’s a pretty straightforward claim of $2800 in damages to my vehicle which they have agreed to pay as per claim settlement release form, but having the money put into my bank account is another story. Just keep on getting stuffed around by them. Now after making a complaint through their complaints department I’m thinking that I’ll probably have to go through the AFCA Ombudsman to retrieve the money owed. If you want sleepless nights and a headache, then I would recommend QBE insurance, however if your after peace of mind, then you should probably deal with an insurance company that cares.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeThird Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
1 comment
Hi Silver, we're sorry to hear about your experience. We will PM you for some details and take a look into it ~Ben

Disgusting customer service

Absolutely terrible customer service! They are quick to take your money off you for excess but take weeks to pay you your money that you are owed! They don’t get back to you regarding any complaints you lodge and don’t communicate between their departments! I even got a complaint confirmation email to confirm I lodged a complaint but then they tried to recall it! How unprofessional is that?! Never go with this company! I have warned you!

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelKia Cerato
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateMay 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Hi Erin, we're sorry to hear about your experience. We will PM you for some more details and look into this ~BLS

Third Party Insurance

QBE’s third party insurance for bikes is a rip off, many others offer comparable policies for approximately 1/3 less and when called their customer service was called they don’t care.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeThird Party Property Damage and Third Party, Fire and Theft
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
1 comment
Hi Paul, we're sorry to hear you didn't find our rates competitive. We will pass this on. If you have any specific further feedback, you can PM us ~BLS

There When You Need Them

A guy reversed into the side of my car, I simply exchanged details and walked away.
It actually felt good, I wasn't even upset.
QBE handled everything, no worries.
QBE are reasonably priced premiums and easy fortnightly payments.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelHolden Trax
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Hi Irene, we're glad we were able to help!

Worst insurance company ever.

I got into an accident January of this year, only to have to wait 5 months to be told that no party was at fault.

The other party was a very old elderly man who failed to stop at a giveaway sign and drove straight into traffic damaging my car.

After being told that the other party was clearly liable this company comes back and tells me that each party needs to sort out their own damages.

So I have to pay $1600 to a useless insurance company that has done nothing for me. Meanwhile the other party think their reckless driving is ok.

Thank you for nothing QBE.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedNo

Their assessor tried to bully me into accepting $4000 less payout for a total loss of vehicle.

Constantly had to chase them up. Assessor original market value was $4000 less than what i eventually received. Assessor provided zero evidence at how he arrived at this figure. I had to pay for private valuation and fight for a figure that was closer to market value (still below). Very very slow process, I was without a car for over a 6 weeks .

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedYes

No trust in QBE car insurance

Twice let down by QBE - time to cancel my policy. After 30 years with few claims, I recently made my first two claims over collisions involving other cars. In both, QBE was quick to unjustly fault me, but unacceptably slow when afterwards challenged on accountability. In the first instance, I was able to give evidence QBE had not checked the reliability of the other driver's diagram and statement before making its decision. In the second instance, QBE again unjustly lay blame / liabllity on me, when I was clearly in the midst of saving myself from a hazardous situation forced on me by the dangerous and illegal driving of a huge semitrailer which left the scene. A witness was a third vehicle involved and also placed in danger by the semitrailer. Yet QBE improperly, unreasonably and unrealistically removed this whole context, necessary to an understanding of what happened for me during a sequence of hazardous events triggered by the semitrailer driver. The result was a QBE decision that gives a false and misleading impression that nothing at all happened to bring about the eventual collision. Clearly the collision was a matter of consequence, not of 'cause', but QBE ignored this.
QBE appears to unofficially adopt a quick 'n easy 'one-size-fits-all' policy, irregardless of the situation, and this gets in the way of fair and just decision-making. Is QBE looking after its own interests first at the expense of its paying clients?

,

1 comment
Hi Maggie, we're sorry to hear about your experience. We will PM you for some more details and look into this ~BLS

Valuation Matters

Claim.time frame within 2weeks-4 weeks

I have. Been with QBE for 2 years, and my car is the victim of car crash and I do not claim for my insurance.

I don't need any road assistance

I am the victim of Car Hit by Another Car, When I tried to claim my car to assess, everything running smoothly until the the assessor made the write off Decision to my car. The problem is the replacement value is too low despite for car repair, if I buy Another same car and condition of the year, I need to spend more more dollars. the policy that I am still not happy is insurance never replace the same condition car. what is the solution? my mobile phone 0426129607 , my Car Rego AY26GY. I worked for insurance company in overseas, I never felt headache like this... Just the documents problems in overseas, and that is not insurance company matters. I need the quick decision and mutual benefit. I never reject the value of the cash as long as the write off value is enough to fix up or buy another second hand car? The main problem is the replacement value is not enough for both of them, and I prefer to call QBE to increase another $600 , despite I need to spend more money to hunt another car at car dealer. I don't think this insurance company has the good negotiator, they stick on the price determined by the company regardless the real maket value

Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party and Third Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelToyota Echo XP
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMarch 2018
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Hi WIdjaja, thank you for your review. We recommend escalating this to our complaints team on complaints@qbe.com to be reviewed. We also recommend editing your review to remove your personal information ~BLS

Page 1 of 14

Questions & Answers

Mortgage protection. Qbe do not honour policy.
No answers

when my car insurance is due No 713750446332
1 answer
Hi Edmund, please contact our team on 133723 to discuss specifics of your policy.

I had a accident a month ago with my car been a customer with QBE for the last four years and never had any problems now my first time is coming up and the customer service is just terrible the sending me all the time different answers I've been called few times to be told I get answer in between 24 and 48 hours I don't know what I'm what I have to do but that's ridiculous I'm out of the car and they only answer why I get from QBE is he going to contact you how long can you stay together paper for art figure 4 ride off car
1 answer
I am sorry about the accident.. Do not rely on telephone calls . Make all contact with them by EMAIL only. The emails are evidence of what they are telling you. Emails give dates that show this long delay in attending to you.. You can show the emails in a complaint. I complained to QBE's Customer Care at head office in Sydney but they were not helpful either ! I have now lodged a complaint with the Australian Financial Complaints Authority (AFCA). Otherwise get legal assistance. I hope this helps you.

Details

QBE Car Insurance
CategoryCar Insurance
Contact Number 133 723
Other Insurance Types Offered Business, Home and Contents, Motorcycle and Travel
Coverage OfferedComprehensive, Compulsory Third Party, Third Party Property Damage and Third Party, Fire and Theft
Roadside Assistance OfferedNo

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.