??!

Car Insurance Buying Guide

Our buying guide will explain which type of car insurance would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Reviews

1.4

299 reviews
5
(20)
4
(6)
3
(6)
2
(8)
1
(259)
  • Value for Money
    1.6 (35)
  • Transparency
    1.6 (32)
  • Customer Service
    1.5 (37)
Previous
Next
Mark D.

Mark D.

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

What customer Sevice?

published

Tried to do a CTP and switch companies and was easy for them to deduct cash for policy the system error no policy but cash deducted phone and told refund will be credited back but not sure when WHAT A JOKE

Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Sean

SeanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 20 reviews
  • 43 likes

Crooks. Avoid. Read ABC investigation August 4 2020

published

QBE are underwriters for ANZ NAB and several others. Avoid avoid avoid all forms of insurance from QBE and all resellers. Re employment insurance they commit fraud to avoid paying claims. Most likely extend this practice to all branches of insurance.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car Model2001-2007 Hyundai Terracan
See all answers

DO NOT CHOOSE QBE, YOU WILL BE SORRY

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateDecember 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Car ModelFord Everest UA II Trend
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how QBE Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Avoid

published

Don't forget that your CTP insurance also covers YOUR injuries if you're the one at fault (or if it's a single-car accident). So if you value your life and health, do not go anywhere near this product. QBE denies, rejects, blocks all treatment if you're injured. They will not even help you for the most basic things. You'll be left with thousands of dollars out of pocket for medical expenses.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
DP

DPSydney

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Bullies, terrible communication, lost emails, INEPT, a joke

published

I was involved in a both at fault minor accident in a car park. The woman was abusive, her car was beaten up. I stood in the sun on a Sunday for an hour to try and help her as the plastic bumper had popped off. I got a mechanic to help her. He said she just needed to get her camera senors glued back in "max $200" job. QBE contacted me in November, I provided my written evidence of what happened including photos. 7 months later they say they lost me email and demand I pay $2500 for the damage to her car. Abusive people at recoveries saying I have to provide evidence that I'm not at fault.. Pretty sure the burden of proof is on them. Reported to AFCA who said their conduct was shocking. Don't use them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeThird Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Andy

AndyDarwin

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

you're warned - sometimes very poor customer service

published
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
borrisnorris132

borrisnorris132

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

No Problems so far.

published

No problems with QBE so far and the cheapest insurance I could find. I got comprehensive insurance. Haven't yet made a claim, but the price during covid was very generous.

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Jason gualtieri

Jason gualtieriHunter Region, NSW

Worst company in Australia

published

This company has to be the absolute worst insurance company in the country. I'm not with them thank God, but I get called by their call centre at least 6 times a day asking for all different names and am fed up.just for this strait harassment tactics I'd hope nothing more then for them to be reported by more and fined the maximum penalty possible, they call all day any times, Sundays, public holidays and has been going on for months.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelNissan Navara D40
See all answers

great customer service

published

Called up in the early evening. spoke someone on the phone and was very pleased with the customer service. they took my information, heard my problem and came up with a solution in no time at all. I am very happy with the result on the call and was not put on hold at all. I will definitely be using their service again

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelToyota Corolla
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how QBE Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Nav

NavSouth East Queensland, QLD

Never deal with QBE

published

Made claim in 2019, Now it has been more than 6 months still waiting. Rude customer service, not reliable. Worst car insurance company. Never Never Never Never Never Never use QBE.

Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateOctober 2019
Bec

BecSouth East Queensland, QLD

Worst experience after car was stolen.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
MYcity-Brisbane

MYcity-BrisbaneAU

  • 18 reviews
  • 23 likes

QBE has done themselves a huge disservice to have amateur overseas call centres

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
See all answers
Joz

JozGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 5 likes

Terrible

published

Extraordinarily bad. Our claim has been delayed for 6 months for no reason than QBE's inability to contact us. After two hours on hold to various people incapable of helping me, I was told to be polite. Then put on indefinite hold. One wonders why anyone would have these people sweep a sidewalk much less sell insurance.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeThird Party Property Damage
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder No
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Car ModelToyota Prius
See all answers
Michael

MichaelSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Excellent

published

The price is cheapest i could find. The customer service staff is beyond exceptional and helpful. I am so glad i decided to move from my old insurer to go with them.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Car ModelSuzuki Swift AZ GL
See all answers
Sayed F.

Sayed F.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Not even a legit insurance!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Car Insurance

Find out how QBE Car Insurance compares to other Car Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Robbie

RobbieGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

Overseas call centre is pathetic... Seem to be trained with same answers, no call backs, no resolutions!!! Never again..

published

It has been 4 weeks, since my accident. My car is sitting at the repairer, and still no answers from QBE. Farcical, All i want is an answer so i can move forward. Simple as that. The offshore call centre are a pack of puppets...

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateNovember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
Graym58

Graym58South East Queensland, QLD

Where is my $50 voucher?

published

Changed over to QBE for the CTP after being tempted by the promise of a $50 voucher. Its been almost six months now and.......nothing. How long does this take? Was it just a scam?

Insurance TypeCompulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
Ebsy Y.

Ebsy Y.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

Absolutely farcicle!!

published

Have QBE with both cars. My car had a deep scratch made a claim got a payout which unfortunately didnt have time to get repaired before another car smashed into the exact same spot and back of my car. Qbe refused to cover claiming the amount given would repair it all. We pay THAT much in insurance and they refuse to cover a second accident that was now my fault. Oh and the other parties insurance should cover it since it was their fault correct? Well they were with QBE too suprise suprise why they wouldnt cover it. Im so ticked off will never recommend and by the looks of all other reviews QBE is a FARCE.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Car ModelMercedes-Benz A-Class A45 W176 AMG
See all answers
Smith19

Smith19Victoria

Worst insurance company out there

published

In an accident I wasnt at fault in, it took 6 weeks to settle it with my car being a total loss.
I called them so many times with them doing nothing for weeks, they kept telling me incorrect information. It wasnt until two weeks in that they actually even moved my car from the tow yard to be assessed.
Customer service are very unhelpful, on hold every time I called and passed around to everyone. They dont document information so no one ever knows where the claim is at.
I recommend no one to ever go with this company, they make even the simplest things a huge hassle.
At a time when the last thing you need is more stress, QBE makes a lot worse.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
See all answers
Emardh Z.

Emardh Z.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

3 car collision and I am not at fault

published

Taking me around in circles and not identifying the exact issue. They mentioned they'll call me back regarding claim number: 560129785 but its been 3 months and nothing has been done

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
Insurance TypeThird Party Property Damage and Veteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Car ModelVolkswagen golf
See all answers
Page 1 of 15

Questions & Answers

terry

terryasked

Car Insurance

Have you got call centres back in Australia now?

No answers
Anwar sultan

Anwar sultanasked

Car Insurance

Hi by mistake i put some number wrong in VIN what should I do

No answers
dpaskal

dpaskalasked

Car Insurance

Is it possible to have my 0 (zero) demerit abstract for over 10 yrs from Alberta Canada, acknowledged by QBE for a reduction in insurance for my vehicle registered in NSW, Australia. If anyone knows or a rep from QBE can help with this please contact me at dpaskal@telus.net

No answers

Get an answer from our members and QBE representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.