??!
3 photos
Bosch Compress 3000

Bosch Compress 3000

3.2 from 27 reviews

Reviews

(11)
(3)
(1)
(4)
(8)
  • Build Quality
    3.3 (4)
  • Value for Money
    2.5 (8)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.3 (4)
  • Noise Level
    2.7 (6)
  • Temperature Consistency
    3.6 (5)
  • Heating Speed
    3.6 (5)
Tom N.

Tom N.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

I am happy with it so far.

published

Got this as a cheap alternative to a battery. Run it mainly during solar hours, but early on I realised our night showers mean we need it to be allowed to run until about 11pm if necessary. This it's fine, but we don't run it later since it does produce a bit of noise, but not too much and have not tried the low noise function. Speaking of the functions, they are ok but the computer is really unintuitive. I mean really bad. I had to watch the video about 4 times to reproduce the steps an I'm an electrical engineer. In this day and age, surely it's cheaper to fit it with wifi and a web server than to install an LCD screen with obscure symbols on it!
Super cheap to run. If you have solar, definitely get a heat pump hot water cylinder.

Purchased in October 2019.

Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
aquatrek

aquatrekTasmania

  • 2 reviews

Heap of JUNK

published

Bosch Compress 3000. Failed after only 3 years. Thats why you only get a 2 year warranty because it is expected to fail. A con if ever there was one. So much for German 'quality'.

Purchased in April 2016 for $2,800.00.

Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Christopher

ChristopherWestern District, VIC

  • 2 reviews

Expensive piece of junk

published

Failed after just 2 years will go back to standard heater ,very dissapointed,so much for German quality,wont miss the racket it made either do not waste your money on one of these.

Purchased in March 2017.

Noise Level
Value for Money
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Bosch Compress 3000 compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Poor after sales service

published

Purchased in November 2015 for $3,000.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
oldmate

oldmateSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Bosch no longer bringing this unit into Australia

published

We discovered the Bosch Compress heat pump is no longer being brought into Australia when we had some issues recently.

Typical when the going gets tough the product line is dropped.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Deeb

DeebPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews

Very disappointed

published

Purchased in May 2018 at URECO for $3,000.00.

Value for Money
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
4 comments
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Deeb
Deeb
Deeb
Deeb
Vanessa

VanessaSydney Surrounds, NSW

Four years old and its cactus

published

Purchased in January 2015 at Powerland for $2,500.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

Hard water issues

published

Had one of these fitted to our brand new house it has continually come up with fault EO-9 ( which means purge system) after four weeks got in touch with Bosch I was told system needs purging after plumber came and purged it it failed again two days later rang Bosch they sent there plumber around and was told these facts
They have problems if you have hard water issues the plumber has told me it will cost me $2500 to install water a softening filters for this appliance to run correctly
My advice is to do your homework first on what your waters like before you purchase this model

Purchased in November 2018.

4 comments
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Yorkie
Yorkie
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Hi Yorkie, ProductReview's platform does not give us the functionality to contact you directly. Please get in touch with us at our toll-free number 1300 30 70 37 any time during the weekday during the hours of 7:30am and 6:00pm (AEST).

Smithy

SmithySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews
  • 12 likes

Impressed and Happy

published

We chose this unit to put into our new house when it was completed 3 months ago. We have been very impressed with the unit and the savings to run it. We have it set up to run in the morning early when the solar panels are generating power. The noise is not really an issue. It is outside the laundry and it only runs for a short time anyway to heat the water. We have 3 bathrooms and have plenty of water to use more than one bathroom at a time. It only took my partner a short time to work out the programming of the unit and the plumbers seemed to be able to install it without any major issues.

Purchased in September 2018 at 1st Choice Hot water and Plumbing (online) for $2,800.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 3 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Bosch Compress 3000 compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MoMo

MoMoTraralgon

Avoid at all costs

published

Three weeks after connection and still not running right!! Bosch service team have tried to fix it and it fails every time after they leave. There hasn't been continuous hot water since it was connected. Bosch sales person will not replace it with a new one!!! Save yourself the stress, and avoid!!!

Date PurchasedSep 2018
4 comments
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating
MoMo
MoMo

I'm in contact with a Bosch representative...when the problems are resolved to my satisfaction i will update my review with the results.

MoMo
MoMo
meggle

meggleTanunda

So noisy

published

We bought a Bosch Compress 3000 DW and find it so noisy, we need to shut all the windows otherwise it wakes us up, thank goodness our neighbours are not in their house very often otherwise we would get a major complaint from them. Does anyone else have a very loud unit, is this usual for them, if so we will need to end up replacing it at a major cost because it is unbearable.

Date PurchasedOct 2017
Graham

GrahamWentworth Falls

  • 8 reviews
  • 16 likes

Low Cost to Run, Very Satisfied

published
Date PurchasedJul 2017
Ronnie Norris

Ronnie NorrisMelbourne

Bosch Hot Water Heat pump very good

published

The Bosch Hot Water Heat Pump we purchased from Specialized Heating and Cooling is very good and the savings off our home energy bills are amazing, if I was you I would replace your electric or gas units with a Bosch Heat Pump it’s ideal and works great all year around with the unit working down to -7 deg and a dB of 41db or program it to turn off and night and back on in the morning so 0 dB over night.

Date PurchasedNov 2017
Michael P

Michael PMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Energy bill savings

published

I bought my Bosch Hot Water Heat Pump form Swan Plumbing and I’m very happy with the savings now off me energy bills.
Bosch Hot Water Heat Pump is amazing and the guys that installed it did a great job connecting it also to my PV system which if me even more savings.

Date PurchasedSep 2017
Dave

DaveGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Works well with big savings on bills.

published

Had the system for a few months in a very cold location in hills east of Melbourne. Works well. Easy to install, big savings on power bills (about $3 a day) and no dramas with hot water running out. You can set the temperature of water easily so can have it as hot as you want (to within safety limits). Programming is easy, but to be honest unless you know what you are doing systems best to be left on standard settings imho.

The system is designed for a 3-4 person household. If you want more hot water you need a bigger system... and will need to pay for it.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Bosch Compress 3000 compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Runs out of hot water

published

This hot water unit is a complete dud. We are a family of 5 and we can't even get 4 showers before we run out of hot water. We have new house and in the process of ripping it out and replacing it. Very disappointed as this is the biggest unit Bosch makes

Date PurchasedMay 2017

programming

published

I agree the unit with solar panels is great. However the programming manual is not well written and unit interface not intuitive to setup, Has anyone written a simple set of instructions?
( and for some strange reason i need to write at least Fifty words. I have now do that.

Date PurchasedNov 2016

having trouble programming the system

published

The plumber installed the system and it ran fine for 3 days, now it has stuck on Auto and only heats the water to 37o. I rang for help on the 1300 number on how to re set it and couldnt get any satisfaction. We are in the country and not close to a plumber.

Date PurchasedMar 2017
savydog

savydogKEPPEL SANDS

Great system to use with PV Solar

published

Very happy with this system. We used the built in settings to only operate between 10 am and 3 pm and had our electrician wire us onto general supply. As we have solar this means we are not feeding back to the grid at 7c but heating hot water first. Family has 6 showers a day and we have not run out of hot water even a bath now and then on a Sunday afternoon. 43 units of power used in one calendar month (QLD summer) the heat pump transfer really makes use of that power. Once a week the system high heats on a legionaries setting, just have to remember on that night we need to add more cold water as what comes out is quite a bit hotter.

Date PurchasedSep 2016

Thank God for Bosch

published

The town house that I bought had an instant hot water system..1st quarter $350. 2nd qtr $510. 3 rd qtr 816. YIKES
Bosch 1st qtr which includes 3 weeks with the instant hot water....$206.
Everything I read about this system is true..the only negative thing I can say is that when I rang Bosch c/service for more information, the person i spoke with knew less than I did & wasn't interested in helping.

Date PurchasedNov 2016
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Phil

Philasked

I have recently installed a Bosch 3000 heat pump hot water system. My issue is the LEG cycle. It seems to go on for over 14 hours. At one stage I had to turn my heater off and on again to reset the system back to Auto.
I run on solar power so having the LEG cycle work into the night is not desirable. I have set the LEG cycle to start at 0900 during the day. There was no draw down of water for the period ( I was checking to make sure this was not extending the LEG cycle)

1 answer
aquatrek
aquatrek

Hi Phil. My unit eventually wouldnt even maintain a heat cycle despite many resets and time manipulations. I am in a remote area and the cost for a callout plus unknown repairs/parts was prohibitive. It had failed just outside the 2 year warranty. So I installed a Sanden unit. The Bosch went to the tip. Good riddance.

Dave Tompkins

Dave Tompkinsasked

Hi. I turned the temperature down on our Compress 3000 this morning. This afternoon I went to check on the temperature and there's no menu.

1 answer
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Hi Dave, you may need to try resetting the system. Press the OK key for 3 seconds to reset. If the problem persists, please get in touch with us at 1300 30 70 37 any time between 7:30AM and 6PM (AEDT) on a weekday.

Naomi M.

Naomi M.asked

Hi, we keep finding our unit not coming on and not being able to get the menu on to see what is happening. This happens every few months for a couple of days. Any help would be appreciated.

1 answer
Bosch Hot Water & Heating
Robert B.Bosch Hot Water & Heating

Hi Naomi, we're so sorry to hear about the issues that you've been experiencing with your unit. We would suggest that you reach out to one of our authorised contractors. Please get in touch with our customer service team at 1300 30 70 37 any time from 7:30am - 6:00pm (AEST) during the weekday, and they will be able to assist you in getting in touch with a service agent.

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Hot Water & Heating representatives

Download manual

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.