??!

Buying the best vacuum cleaner

Whether you’re jumping into your first vacuum purchase or looking to upgrade to a shiny new machine, you’ll want to have the best knowledge possible on hand. This buying guide will explain which type of vacuum would suit you most, how much you can expect to pay for one, and which features are worth looking out for.

Read now

Reviews

2.8

237 reviews
5
(72)
4
(27)
3
(16)
2
(29)
1
(93)
  • Build Quality
    2.5 (20)
  • Value for Money
    1.8 (20)
  • Ease of Use
    2.5 (20)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    2.1 (20)
  • Product is used
  • Noise Level
    3.6 (19)
  • Pet OwnerYes (12) · No (8)
  • Clogging Issues Yes (4) · No (16)
Previous
Next

Worst vacuum cleaner I’ve ever owned-can’t rate it

published

Purchased in November 2016 for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
swiggins

swigginsHobart, TAS

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

The worst vacuum cleaner ever

published

We have had this vacuum around 3 years. It was advertised as all filters being washable. But that is not true. The one filter that constantly needs cleaning is not washable. This is why the machine constantly stops to self-clean and then loses suction. Bosch replaced the filter once, as they know there is an issue, but it has happened again only about a year after that. We have given up and bought a Miele. Expensive mistake as the Bosch cost over $700.

Purchased in April 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Total Rip Off!!!

published

Went well for 2 years then red sensor light started coming on & stopping vacuum every 30 secs. Happens constantly now. Tried cleaning all filters & rotating head every time but still keeps shutting off. Chord retracts during use & won’t fully return leaving a metre outside. Hard to manoeuvre as keeps flipping on its back upon turning. It’s heavy to push back onto its right side. Most expensive & WORST machine I have ever bought at $600. I will NEVER buy Bosch again & be letting everyone not to go near them like the plague!!!

Purchased in January 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Bosch Relaxx'x and Zoo'o compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
CeI

CeISouth-Eastern Region, NSW

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Great at first

published

Purchased in August 2014 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Linoleum
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
CeI
CeI

I sent an email to the above address, as suggested, but have heard nothing since. Great work Bosch!

Red light no suction

published

I didnt realise this was so common. Wish I had before we purchased a Bosch.
We weren't happy with the level of suction at first but thought that we had spent the money and if we looked after it it'll last us forever.
Within weeks of passing warranty we started seeing the red light.
Wasn't much better than a broom to start, now it's more of a scraper.
If this is so common surely there's a common solution, or should I be looking for a new vacuum?

Purchased at Joyce Mayne Physical store for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Product is used Monthly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Ian

IanSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Worst vacuum cleaner ever rang Bosch they are not interested will never buy Bosch in anything

published

Worst vacuum cleaner ever stops going into sensor mode filters are clean dont buy Bosch they are not helpful
Just want to sell you a filter which could buy another cleaner for

Purchased in January 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Ian,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your vaccum. If we can be of any help to you feel free to call us on 1300 369 744.
Regards,
Bosch Home Australia

Ian
Ian
Jan

JanSydney

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Terrible product

published

I am very disappointed with this product. Not long after the warranty ran out the machine started stopping and the sensor light would come on. I would clean it but it would still happen. I took it to a service department, had it repaired which cost almost $300. Just over 12 months later it is having the same problem.
It is not worth the cost to have repaired again so will just get rid of it.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
Timmarshall

TimmarshallSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

My first ever Bosch product - and last.

published

Bought the Bosch Athlet Zoo'o Pro Animal vacuum cleaner about a year ago. Worst electrical product I've ever bought. Battery lasted barely 9 months and the thing couldn't even suck up typical household crumbs due to a clear design flaw with the head, where you give it a tap after switching off and all the crap collected in the head falls on the floor. Terrible product. Bosch should stick to whatever it is they do best. Not sure what that is, but it's not vacuum cleaners.

Purchased in July 2018 at Harvey Norman for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

Hi Timmarshal,
Thanks for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We're sorry to hear that you're having issues with your vacuum.
We'd like to help, if you contact us on 1300 369 744 well investigate for you. Regards,
Bosch Home Australia

Tracey T.

Tracey T.South East Queensland, QLD

What a big disappointment and waste of money

published

Ive had the same problem with my vacuum cleaner - I rang Bosch - after cleaning all the filters - completely wiping it out thoroughly- only to be told (we arent aware of the problem) heres a service place to take it too - when spending the amount of money I did on it - I would expect it to last more than 12 months- and the service I received when enquiring about it was terrible- Im really disappointed and upset

1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Bosch Relaxx'x and Zoo'o compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Suzi

SuziGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

So dissapointed

published

When i purchased this product was happy with the power and suction but soon the problems begun, the same issues as everyone else seems to be having. Cuts out all the time and cant even get through the whole house withput it stopping completely. Its been serviced, has new filters and filter in the barrel gets washed now after each use which still hasn't solved the issue. Wrote to Bosch...no response. Called Bosch...customer service agent was not helpful at all. Seems i am another customer who has had the same experience. Not a positive one which is very dissapointing. Its not an old machine and most vaccuum brands last for years.
Now I am wondering how Bosch will help?
Not a cheap machine.

Purchased for A$800.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Loz

LozMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Not impressed

published

Not great for the price I paid for it. It's okish when it works. But it works rarely. We are currently undergoing a full house renovation and the vaccum can't handle it. It can't handle the dust, it always stops to self clean or sensor control or whatever it is. To stop it from frequently stopping we always have to empty it out, even then that doesn't help. The vaccum will randomly just stop sucking up dust and you need to shake it to get it to work again. Also the cord is useless. It won't wind itself up, only winds back up if I force it.
Not happy at all with this vaccum. It's rather useless.

Purchased in February 2018.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Linoleum and Tiles
Clogging Issues Yes
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Heath B.

Heath B.Launceston, TAS

Powerful performance

published

Well engineered and very powerful. We use it on carpet, tiles and floor boards. The power head attachment is so easy to clean due to the cleaver - easy to remove brush head. Only small criticism is the power head stalls / slows down sometimes as it is driven from the suction of the vacuum rather than its own motor in the head itself. The self cleaning filter is brilliant as I always forgot to clean our old filter. Huge bag less compartment which is easy to empty and reinstall. Very happy.

Purchased in July 2019 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$539.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Leah

Leah

  • 2 reviews

Self cleans every 30 seconds

published

I wouldn't recommend this vacuum at all. It self cleans every 30 seconds and it has always done this, regardless of how clean the filter is. I have had it sent off only to be told it was fine but it clearly isn't. Now it is out of warranty and after several attempts to get help from Bosch, I am stuck with a faulty expensive product which leaves me unable to purchase another one. Highly disappointed.

Purchased in March 2016 at Harvey Norman for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Daily
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Leah
Leah

Hi Bosch Home Australia
Sent an email as requested.
Thank you for your reply.

Kourosh K.

Kourosh K.Sydney, NSW

Biggest mistake I have made

published

I bought this 3 years ago and have had no end of trouble. It stops with the red light after every few minutes of vacuuming. Now 3 years later it just died. Wont turn on at all. My old dyson lasted 15 years. This was a bother to clean as well. I wont be buying Bosch again.

Purchased in April 2016 at Harvey Norman for A$479.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Jeff

Jeff

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Tired of all the problems.

published

1. Vaccum worked well when first purchased, both on carpet and hard floors. But then the faults crept in.
2. The sensor continually cuts in when working on hard floors but does not do this using the turbo head.
3.The cord has a mind of its own, it retracts when you don't want it to and then when you do want it to retract it fails to go all the way in leaving about a metre sticking out.
4. The turbo head now will not work properly only going at about half speed even though I have cleaned it.
5.The filter clogs easily.
6. I will not buy another Bosh.
5.The main filter requires constant cleaning an it clogs up easily.

Purchased in June 2016 at Harvey Norman for A$699.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Jeff
Jeff
Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Find out how Bosch Relaxx'x and Zoo'o compares to other Barrel Vacuum Cleaners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jörg M.

Jörg M.South East Queensland, QLD

Not worthy of the name Bosch

published

2 Stars, why? The suction on this machine is great, the tools which come with it as well. But then there's the self cleaning function, the worst feature Bosch could've put into this otherwise great machine. With 2 dogs you get dirt in your house, but do you really need to fully wash that filter after every time you vacuum? I already got the previous model replaced as it was constantly cleaning, the new one is the same. I'm so disappointed to have spent so much money on this machine, we own several other Bosch devices but we'll never have another one of their vacuum cleaners. If you buy a Bosch vacuum, make sure it hasn't got the self cleaning feature, if they have a machine without it.

Purchased in June 2017 at Harvey Norman for A$600.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
2 comments
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Jörg M.
Jörg M.

Hi,

I already had the previous machine replaced and now bought a new one. The service was good but the machine just wasn't up to the expected standard. I wish there was a machine bagless without this self cleaning function

Fiona J

Fiona J

  • 2 reviews

Keeps Stopping to Sensor Clean

published

Right from first use the Sensor Clean function keeps turning on after a couple of minutes. Tried clearing, cleanin filters etc. No change. And so it goes... Vaccum. Stop. Turn off and on. Repeat 50 times. Sent in for repairs nearly 2 months ago. Still waiting....

Purchased in May 2017 at Harvey Norman Retail Stores - Appliances for A$450.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Several times a week
Pet OwnerNo
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Danny

DannySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Very powerful and very quiet, but not perfect

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Catch for A$516.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Linoleum, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Michael

MichaelSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Just awesome & very quiet

published

I have never thought that it might be so quiet vacuum cleaner. I was simply shocked when I switched it on for the first time.

Using it on tiles and carpet with no issues.
Washable container is very big -- perfectly fit our house. Vacuum is also big so might be not very handy for someone.
Long power cord is good addition. And cord's retractor works fine.

A bit expensive. We expected to buy something cheaper at the beginning.

Purchased in September 2018 at Harvey Norman.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet and Tiles
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances

So much for German engineering!

published

Purchased in July 2013 for A$599.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Product is used Weekly
Pet OwnerYes
Floor Type Carpet, Tiles and Wood
Clogging Issues No
See all answers
1 comment
Bosch Home Appliances
Bosch H.Bosch Home Appliances
Page 1 of 12

Questions & Answers

Kristy K

Kristy Kasked

Bosch Relaxx'x and Zoo'o

My Zoo’o keeps intermittently stopping, its driving me crazy and I’ve only had it for about 2 years. Any advice?

No answers
Gael S.

Gael S.asked

BGS5225AU (All floor specialist, Black)

Hi just lettting everyone know i had same issiues,well there is a fillter on the top back near the carry handle that will be gross so have a look you will be suprised,if need help let me know,now the vaccum is a dream and the head spins like mad

1 answer
swiggins
swiggins

Thanks Gael we have tried to clean it but to no avail. The replacement Miele is a dream so far.

trent

trentasked

Bosch Relaxx'x and Zoo'o

The flexible tube adapter clicks into the the air intake but the flexible tube keeps falling out of the adapter when vacuuming
I need to carry the machine when using the various accessories
Easy fix or repair?
Trent Farebrother
[personal details removed]

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Bosch Home Appliances representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.