??!
3 photos
Breville Bambino Plus BES500
3.9 from 22 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.9 (22)
  • Value for Money
    4.3 (20)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (22)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.5 (20)
  • Noise Level
    4.2 (15)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    4.4 (17)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.6 (19)
Previous
Next
Tim

TimSouth East Queensland, QLD

Makes fabulous coffee when working

published

Purchased in December 2019 at Myer for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderSunbeam Burr Grinder EM0430
See all answers
SusanL

SusanLGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Great coffee but irritating portafilter

published

Purchased in July 2019 at Myer.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Fussy Angus

Fussy Angus

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Breville nails the home espresso machine brief

published

Purchased in August 2020 at Amazon.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderBreville Smart Grinder BCG800
See all answers
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville Bambino Plus BES500 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Garry Hookey

Garry HookeySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent coffee machine

published

I posted a review regarding the DeLonghi Dedica machine. I returned the machine and was refunded. I now have a Breville Bambino plus machine. It works perfectly and is very easy to use. I also bought the Breville mini knock box which complements the machine. The bambino was $200 dearer but worth the money

Purchased in August 2020 at Appliances Online for A$478.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderKmart Anko Coffee Grinder
See all answers
Candy

Candy

  • 7 reviews
  • 1 like

I love it - a lot!

published

I love this little machine. Perfect coffee like a cafe and the automatic milk frother is great. Takes some getting used to and coffee needs be ground properly but if you learn what works for your tastes you won't be disappointed. The biggest plus for me is its small size and the fact it looks beautiful on my kitchen bench.

Purchased in July 2020 at The Good Guys for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderBreville Dose Control Pro BCG600SIL
See all answers
Ronnie

RonnieGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 15 reviews
  • 11 likes

OK but some annoying oversights

published

I got mine at the factory outlet in Brisbane with a minor dent which no one will ever notice.
Good looking and makes an excellent coffee.
Getting the portafilter in can be hard.
Sometimes the filter basket gets stuck to the machine.
Auto frothing is fine but I do it better manually.

Update:
Getting the portafilter in was hard and the filter basket sticks to the machine.
I did some DIY to modify the portafilter and it works fine now but I do think this was an oversight of Breville quality control.

Purchased in July 2020 for A$349.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderSunbeam Cafe Series Conical Burr EM0480
See all answers
CJay

CJayMontrose

  • 6 reviews

Injury and frustration awaits. Wait for the updated model.

published

It may have a lot of good points but if you have to fight for a coffee it’s not a nice experience. Bought this machine for mum for Mother’s Day. She’s 70, but still does 10 pushups every morning (on her toes!!) so is no weakling. She can’t quite get the group head handle into place as it’s so darn tight. I can get it in place but like all the reviews say, you’re bear hugging the machine to do so. We exchanged it for the barista express and life’s a dream for her every morning. Wait for the updated version where they get the seal/handle balance right. Breville your quality controllers didn’t pick this up..??

Purchased in April 2020 at The Good Guys for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
Milan P.

Milan P.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Nice when it works

published

This is the second time I had this machine fixed in 6 months. First time within the first month no hot water, boiler dead. Second time I can’t get it out of cleaning mode no matter how many times I run the back flush program. Would I buy it again, NO way. Rubbish reliability.

Purchased in December 2019 at JB Hi-Fi for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderBreville Dose Control Pro BCG600SIL
See all answers
Sarah K

Sarah KPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Fantastic automatic milk without a pod machine

published

Purchased in May 2020 at David Jones for A$371.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Noise Level
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville Bambino Plus BES500 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
SunGypzy

SunGypzySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Very disappointed

published

I am so disappointed with this machine.
Issue 1: The filter baskets get stuck in the machine after extraction. Difficult to remove.
Issue 2: Also, the auto milk frother does not produce the silky microform with my Bonsoy milk, no matter what setting (heat / froth strength) I'm setting it on. I used the Breville Creatista at work for years, which has an auto milk frother as well, with outstanding results every single time.. I wanted to get away from the capsules type machines, so I choose the Bambino. Brilliant idea, gorgeous looking little machine, but frustrating to use and does not deliver. Im also struggling to get a good coffee out of it, but thats most likely user issue then the machines.

Purchased in May 2020 at David Jones Retail Stores for A$350.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Vanessa B.

Vanessa B.Perth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Great machine

published

Purchased in April 2020 at Appliances Online for A$424.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Natalie K.

Natalie K.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Brilliant machine

published

This machine makes a fantastic coffee. I wanted an upgrade from a pod machine coffee and the chance to use a variety of beans (due to environmental impact of pods). I had to purchase a grinder separately. Once I perfected my grind and style, I can consistently make a perfect coffee. It is way better than barista made coffees at cafes and I am a coffee snob! I have friends who have bought really expensive coffee machines and I have been unimpressed. Temperature etc is great and the automatic milk frother is great, but I prefer to do it manually for the perfect latte. You do need a fine grind for delicious coffee. It’s also very small and looks great on the bench. I’m so glad I bought this machine as it makes me happy on a daily basis.

Purchased in January 2020 at Myer for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderBreville Coffee & Spice BCG200
See all answers
JamesW

JamesWHobart, TAS

  • 2 reviews

An awesome performing espresso machine in a small space saving design.

published

This unit produces great espresso as long as you dial in the coffee grind to the right fineness.
It produces 3 different levels of milk temperature and textures depending on taste and preference.

I would recommend this product to a starting out home barista or intermediate level coffee enthusiastic wanting to produce quick and easy espresso!

Purchased in December 2019 for A$450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Product is usedDaily
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Ann

AnnSydney, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 2 likes

Love everything about it except for one issue

published

The product looks good on a countertop, doesn’t take up space, ready to make coffee in 3seconds, and the frother auto cleans. That’s so much reason to love the product. One thing they missed out on which is a key part of making expresso is the tightness in locking the portafilter. You really need to exert some force and hold the machine to get it locked.

Purchased in January 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderBreville Smart Grinder BCG800
See all answers

Fantastic Machine but Breville do make better ones

published

Purchased in December 2018 at Myer for A$479.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderBreville Dose Control Pro BCG600SIL
See all answers
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville Bambino Plus BES500 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
praksplay

praksplayGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 5 reviews
  • 4 likes

Been using it for a year and can't imagine life without it!

published

Purchased in November 2018 at David Jones for A$450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderBreville BCG820 (Grinder)
See all answers
J.J

J.JSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Had it for three months and in for repair already

published

Suddenly stopped heating water/steam. Owned it for just over three months, and now in for a repair for min 4 weeks. It seems pretty unreliable considering it from Breville. Coffee quality is pretty average, but certainly easy to use. It is recommended for a person who is buy in the morning to prepare to go to work, and still has enough time to drop in for service centre during normal working hours. Breville won't orgranise pickup from your office, and you physically need to go into their authorised service centre.

Purchased in June 2019 at Myer for A$499.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderBreville BCG820 (Grinder)
See all answers
RJK

RJKPerth, WA

Brilliant for the first month but then problems.

published

I loved this machine for the first month so I was very disappointed when the 2 cup filter basket started to flow coffee from the left side only meaning I could no longer make two coffees. I contacted Breville and they said that due to the double wall filters, they are prone to coffee build up in the inner wall and they need to be replaced (and purchased) at least once per year and possibly every few months depending on how often it is used. I was sent out another basket but I still have the same issue. I really wish this machine worked properly because the size is great, it makes a nice coffee and the milk frother is perfect. I also think that for the price you should not need to purchase replacement filters.

Purchased in June 2019 at Myer Retail Stores for A$500.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedWeekly
See all answers
Ash

Ash

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Perfect consistent coffee every time,

published

Barista quality every time. Consistent coffee, temperature is adjustable to your taste, milk comes out perfect.
Coffee machine is nice and compact and doesn't take up much bench space at all,

Purchased in June 2019 at The Good Guys for A$485.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
nessjez

nessjez

  • 41 reviews
  • 29 likes

Fantastic machine for guilt-free coffee

published

I replaced a fully-manual machine with this a month ago and haven't looked back. Super-fast heat-up, pours a great shot, good temperature and froth, huge water tank - all done automatically. And no empty pod guilt.

Cons: it's lightweight so you have to hold it down to attach and release the portafilter. And yes I also have issues with the filter basket getting stuck, but a little wiggling releases it pretty easily.

Do NOT pay over $400 though - it's easily found with a 3 at the front of the pricetag.

Purchased in July 2019 for A$399.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Page 1 of 2

Questions & Answers

Claire

Claireasked

Bambino Plus BES500BSS (Stainless Steel)

Got my machine today, so excited.
But I can’t put the coffee arm into machine.
It clicks up but I can’t turn it to lock,,like I’m not strong enough.

2 answers
SunGypzy
SunGypzy

It is very stiff to start with but should loosen up over time. You need to use both hands. One to hold the machine steady and the other to turn the group handle. Hope this helps. :). Good luck with it.

Claire
Claire

Thankyou will keep trying...when I washed and put the little coffee holder back in it really clicked...hopefully that will help too..thanks

Joanne

Joanneasked

Bambino Plus BES500

I’d like to buy non-pressurised filter basket. What size should I get?

1 answer
Alan W.
Alan W.

54mm

Mrs. Christine Falletti

Mrs. Christine Fallettiasked

Bambino Plus BES500BSS (Stainless Steel)

Milk isn’t frothing as much as it use to even after cleaning the steam wand-anything else I can do?

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Breville Bambino Plus BES500
CategorySemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines
Price (RRP) A$599.95A$599.95A$599.95
Input Power1,600 W1,600 W1,600 W
Dishwasher Safe PartsNoNoNo
Water Tank Capacity1.9 L1.9 L1.9 L
Colour / FinishStainless SteelBlack TruffleSea Salt
Dimensions 310 x 195 x 320 mm310 x 195 x 320 mm310 x 195 x 320 mm
Weight5 kg5 kg5 kg
Milk FrotherSteam WandSteam WandSteam Wand
Bean GrinderNoneNoneNone
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Compare all 3 Breville Bambino Plus BES500

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.