??!
1 photo
Sunbeam GrindFresh EM0440

Sunbeam GrindFresh EM0440

MPNs: 2327 and SEM0440
3.5 from 41 reviews

Reviews

3.5

41 reviews
5
(14)
4
(13)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(10)
Previous
Next
irishpete

irishpete

  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Good while it lasted.

published

Purchased for A$99.00.

Great value. Compliments my EM7000 perfectly. Best espresso ever.

published

All grinders and all espresso machines need to be cleaned regularly or they fail to satisfy. Fresh-ground beans are oily and sticky so will eventually clog up both machines. This grinder gets bad reviews when it has been assembled incorrectly. We had hiccups at first and now have a reliable routine that keeps it reliable. After a lot of use it did need the burrs re-shimmed and luckily we could do that. All burr grinders will eventually need this done.

Purchased at Second hand for A$150.00.

2 comments
tfe
tfe

Old dry supermarket beans will never produce great espresso. You must buy fresh-roasted beans for reliable results.

Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello tfe,
Thank you for the great review and helpful tips!

Jess

JessSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • Verified purchase

Sunbeam EM0440 Grinder Does Not Grind to Fine

published

Bought this grinder from Amazon. First time grind produced coarse coffee even though setting is fine grind. Sunbeam Customer Care sent two (2) washers but the grind is still not so fine. Another set of double washers was requested which I fitted under the burr. The grinder is now working fine with the added washers.

Purchased in January 2020 at Amazon for A$69.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Jess,
Thank you for your Feedback.

Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Find out how Sunbeam GrindFresh EM0440 compares to other Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
RedBren

RedBren

  • 2 reviews

Good Value

published

Good value for the $’s. Not too noisy, grind is fine for filter coffee. Just ensure correct assembly after cleaning as per previous posts. Only downside is coffee grinds held in spout at end of grind - easily dislodged with a couple of taps (now part of my grind ritual).
Recommended

Purchased in December 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$78.00.

1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello RedBren,
Thank you for your GREAT review!

Micemeat

MicemeatHobart, TAS

  • 27 reviews

Auto Grinder

published

Great grinder, makes it easy and fresh!
Easy to setup, nice adjustment for grind consistency and work well.

However can be messy at times, comes with a nozzle to aim and improve lost coffee/spread however even so still makes a large mess of coffee grind around the unit.

Ordering a metal peace that makes the coffee head wider and taller to prevent this from happening.

Purchased in December 2018.

2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam
Micemeat
Micemeat

Static it is for sure, This has however happened since new, I will give this a go, when I have a chance.

Thanks,
Jordan.

Christine

ChristineFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 8 reviews
  • 9 likes

Second Sunbeam Grinder, it's performing well.

published

Purchased in May 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$99.00.

2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Christine, thank you for the review, we value feedback given by customers...

Christine
Christine

A product that is faulty from the start

published

I bought this with a sunbeam espresso machine. Spent quite a few days trying to get the thing to grind correctly. Upon doing a little search on google I discovered that it is common for these grinders to not grind your coffee fine enough for an espresso machine as it should be coming with an extra washer. Sunbeam are aware of this also as when you call them they will send you an extra spacer to try fix the problem. So 3 calls later and a 3 weeks of waiting for the part to arrive, I add a spacer to find that it has changed nothing. Will be demanding my money back this week. Product should not be on the shelf.

Date PurchasedSep 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

HI I.S, sorry to hear. It must be something else so yes, please return to store of purchase

Don fromthe West

Don fromthe West

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Value for money

published

i had mixed thoughts about this product based on some of the less positive reviews but Sunbeam seem to have fixed up all the issues. I put it together without reading the instructions. Big tick. No need to assemble the grinding wheels - all done already. Another tick . Sunbeam have added a rubber (silicon) 45 degree nozzle to the hard plastic spout so 99% of coffee goes into the group. tick. Will check the grinding wheels to see if i have missed something but all seems to be wring well. It seems to be very good value for money.

Date PurchasedOct 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Thanks for the great review Don!

Andrew Westcott

Andrew WestcottHobart

  • 2 reviews

Average

published

It does the job. I'm sure there are better grinders that are more consistent. But it is cheap and effective enough for the purpose. It is however poorly designed. Quite an amount of grind stays behind inside and builds up on itself unless the machine is shaken or bashed, or a brush is inserted to get at the grounds. Maybe a little too compact? Particularly messy when coming out. Static maybe?

Date PurchasedJun 2018
1 comment
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hi Andrew Westcott,
Grinders do tend to be a bit messy when grinding, always looking at ways to improve our products so thank you, we will take on board...

Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Find out how Sunbeam GrindFresh EM0440 compares to other Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Gaz

Gaz

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like
  • Verified purchase

A good little coffee bean grinder.

published

I bought a Sunbeam EM0440 coffee bean grinder on the net from Amazon, and was delighted on its quick arrival. I tested it straight away after reading the instructions and found it to be very easy to use and it has a good progression indicator of coffee grounds, from very course to very fine. The cost was very reasonable for the product. Very happy with my purchase of the Sunbeam GrindFresh EM0440. Cheers.

Date PurchasedApr 2018
2 comments
Sunbeam
Customer C.Sunbeam

Hey Gaz,
So glad you are pleased with the Grinder, agreed it is at a good price point for the performance. Thank you for the positive review...

Gaz
Gaz

My grinder does the job with ease to my favourite consistency, thanks Sunbeam.

Mike

MikeTOOWOOMBA

  • 2 reviews

Good budget grinder

published

This machine initially would only grind very coarse until I worked out how to assemble it properly. You must set the upper burr in place in the top assembly before attaching the top assembly to the base. The upper burr then should sit lower than the surrounding rim. It now seems to be working fine.

Date PurchasedFeb 2018

Rubbish

published

Too coarse! dont waste your money. it will destroy your day as you will be drinking sandy coffee. I had to put my hand on top to push down to make it finer (the adjustment did not work properly). but it will not provide even fine coffee. so I gave up making my own coffee because this machine.

Date PurchasedFeb 2016
  • Verified purchase

How to fix grind that’s too coarse

published

The grind was always too course no matter how many times we reassembled it. I googled like crazy & found gold from someone called Sneedy on a whirlpool forum who said “You need to sit the top burr into the adjustment collar (rotate it until you feel it click' – the white marks should be aligned but more importantly it will sit lower than in any other position) *BEFORE* fitting both (as a unit) onto the base.” Thanks Sneedy! Worked a treat.

Date PurchasedDec 2017
Lex

Lex

  • 11 reviews
  • 4 likes

coffee at a new level

published
Date PurchasedSep 2017
GourmetEngPerth

GourmetEngPerthPerth

  • 14 reviews
  • 20 likes

Excellent Value - 3 WEEK UPDATE

published
Date PurchasedAug 2017
Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Find out how Sunbeam GrindFresh EM0440 compares to other Coffee Grinders / Roasters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Vicky H.

Vicky H.North East Victoria

The grind is too coarse

published

Recently brought an EM7100 coffee machine, and went back yesterday and purchased the EM0440 grinder. The grind is just coming out too coarse. On every setting, the grind is the same. I pulled it apart twice, and put it together again after reading some reviews. I cannot get the grind any finer. It will be getting returned to Harvey Norman. Extreamly disappointed.

Date PurchasedJul 2017

Excellent.. but beware of setting up the burrs correctly

published

A really great product when set up correctly. At first the grind was too course regardless of setting even though I had set up the machine as directed in the instructions. After reading other reviews I decided to take the machine apart and put it back together.. worked great the second time around producing a fine powder perfect for my espresso machine. If not for that initial issue, easily a 5 star machine.

Date PurchasedApr 2017
Frank Li

Frank Li

  • 3 reviews
  • 7 likes

Motor runs but burr doesn't move

published

Purchased from AppliancesOnline, received it today. Followed instructions to put it together but It doesn't work at all. I can hear the motor sound which suggest the motor is runs but the burr doesn't seem to move at all, no matter what setting it is at. The beans are not being ground.

Date PurchasedDec 2016
1 comment
Frank Li
Frank Li

Turned out the grinder was damaged in transit, refunded by ApplicancesOnline, later bought same model from the good guys and it works good.

Easy to use, makes great coffee

published

I have to say, this machine makes great coffee. I've been using a German made hand grinder for years. Thought an electric grinder would save time but was surprised to discover it does an even better job of grinding coffee than even the German hand grinder. My coffee actually tastes better! Adjustment and control is a breeze with the accurate dial ring and push button start/stop. Easy to disassemble and clean - once I learned how to do it. Saves so much time and has a well made Italian burr. I recommend the suggestion below of grind-tamp-grind-tamp to avoid making a mess. Once you get the hang of it, it's easy and tidy. I just hope it's reliable. Had it three months so far with no sign of issues.

Date PurchasedAug 2016
Phil

Phil

  • 2 reviews

I love this grinder

published

I've had my EMO440 for about a month now and I couldn't have expected more from a machine designed for home use. Like anything there has been a learning curve, but definitely nailed it now. My friend bought a Fiorenzato and paid $1200.00 for it and I haven't had the heart to tell him, "my coffee is equally as good". Oh and I should mention the bonus. I'm using half as much coffee as I was with my old grinder. Saving four or five bucks a week, it will have paid for itself in about 20 weeks.

Date PurchasedJul 2016
1 comment
Sunbeam
Brendan K.Sunbeam
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Swivelfish

Swivelfishasked

Was just cleaning the burrs....I have accidentally placed and turned the collar on my grinder before replacing the hopper.Now it is stuck tight, the lock button is depressed and I cannot move it or remove it to put the hopper on. How can I remedy this please!

Model EM0440

No answers
John K

John Kasked

on my grind fresh clean and put head back on turn half way round and has jammed

No answers
Wayne C.

Wayne C.asked

i cant get the gates to open. brought yesterday Sunbeam Barista Max

2 answers
Sunbeam
Customer CareSunbeam

Hello Wayne C.
There is a toggle on the back of the unit between the hopper and the Grind adjustment collar.
Turn that and the beans will fall to the grinder.

Trent D.
Trent D.

Hi where is this toggle? I received my barista max yesterday and when i lock the hopper into the machine and turn from locked to 0 the hopper gates stay shut and no coffee is ground. Was looking forward to a coffee this weekend and instead im staring at a 400 piece of metal and plastic that lights up

Get an answer from our members and Sunbeam representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.