4 photos
Breville The Barista Pro BES878
3.0 from 21 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Breville

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    2.9 (18)
  • Value for Money
    2.9 (19)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (19)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    3.9 (18)
  • Noise Level
    3.5 (18)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    3.8 (15)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.0 (15)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
  • More
    Thumbnail
nadsy
nadsy
  • 7 reviews
  • 7 likes

Great machine, excellent frothing, super fast heat up which I love

published

Purchased for work as the local coffee shop has deteriorated to undrinkable levels. As it turns out I love the super quick heat up time so much that I'm keeping it at home.

Quality of the shot is good, grinder is as excellent as my independent grinder.

I have seen others say they aren't happy with the steamer, mine is great, but you do need to pre-purge it. A small price to pay for a machine that is ready to go as soon as you turn it on.

Love it !

Purchased in June 2021 at The Good Guys for $837.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
HannahP
HannahPPerth, WA
  • 3 reviews

Good compact size, but average machine, puts out ok shots. Is quiet to use. Really useless steaming wand however. Pushes out a heap of water before actually steaming, takes a long time to heat/froth half a cup of milk. Wish I had of looked at the reviews before purchasing!

Purchased in February 2021 at Harvey Norman for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Gaven J.
Gaven J.Central Queensland, QLD

Great coffee, Terrible quality. Repeated broken machines. Drawn out help and repair process. Limited repairers in Qld.

published

Purchased in October 2019 at Harvey Norman for $699.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville The Barista Pro BES878 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Sonya
SonyaGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews

Very disappointed.

published

Originally purchased in May and by November the machine was blowing out smoke and tripped our safety switch.
Breville replaced the machine and within a month the replacement started to play up. The grinder was tripping up and down. Sent to Breville for repair under warranty who reported that no fault was found and wasn't able to be replicated by their technician.
Got my machine back and the fault was still present.
Now have a $900 machine that is not usable. What a complete waste of money. Have requested a refund so lets see if Breville come to the party otherwise there is my $$$$ down the drain.

Purchased in January 2021 at Harvey Norman for $900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
beck
beckSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great coffee, Terrible quality. Repeated broken machines

published

Purchased in September 2020 at The Good Guys.

Build Quality
Value for Money

Related Articles

Previous

The best kitchen appliances in 2020!

Whether you love or loath being in the kitchen, our community of reviewers have determined that out of almost 5,000 appliances on ProductReview.com.au, these are the best available!

Nathan S.
Nathan S.1 Nov 2019
the-best-kitchen-appliances-in-2020

Budget Coffee Machines, Bread Makers and Food Sealers

In quarantine and in need of fresh coffee, bread and longer lasting food? Read on for more information on kitchen appliances that won’t break the bank and help see you through self isolation during difficult times.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.27 Mar 2020
budget-coffee-machines-bread-makers-and-food-sealers

Best Fridges and Dishwashers in 2020!

These large kitchen appliances are the backbone of your kitchen, meant to last you many years. The initial cost of a fridge or dishwasher is high, so to make sure you're not buying a lemon, here are the best fridges and best dishwashers of 2020. Our reviewers have provided detailed ratings for important factors to consider when choosing a refrigerator or dishwasher, such as Noise Level and Internal Layout.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.12 Nov 2019
best-fridges-and-dishwashers-in-2020
Next
Saffa Magic
Saffa Magic
  • 2 reviews

Perfect for a medium kitchen setup

published

Quick and Efficient machine with little fuss to setup.
Digital display works well.
Grinds and dispenses coffee as as indicated. Coffee espresso works consistently. Steamer heats up very quick. Time will tell but so far so good.

Purchased in October 2020 at The Good Guys for $899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Shenanigans
ShenanigansBrisbane
  • 39 reviews
  • 31 likes

Makes great coffee, but take the time to dial it in!

published

Purchased in September 2020 at Harvey Norman for $849.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Reasonable
ReasonablePerth, WA
  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

We built a kitchen with white gloss cabinets

published
Mr Tonegawa
Mr TonegawaSydney, NSW

Bes878 barista downgrade

published

Breville used to make quality product
I purchased barista express and it lasted a good 7 years with at least 5000 cups of coffee
However with barista pro bes878 it has gone down in quality tremendously and just subpar
This is due to the parts component that was used in the machine. The T connector valve cracks after a year of use thus spraying water into the machine. Causing malfunction and flood (as indicated by other users)
The in built grinder also cant grind extra fine. It only goes to medium grind after some usage

Its a nice cosmetic machine but rubbish internally. Just terrible

  • Thumbnail

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville The Barista Pro BES878 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
dave w
dave w
  • 2 reviews

Only fair

published

Ok on double shot useless on single shot. Changed grind and time amounts as per manual, machine just clogs up. Even put grind to max coarse, will not operate on single shot on any setting

Purchased in July 2020 at Harvey Norman for $900.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Viv
VivWollongong
  • 2 reviews

Two faults identified within a week of purchase, repair/replace on faulty part only with around 3+ weeks turnaround

published

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
E.M
E.MSydney, NSW
  • 2 reviews

Great machine, quality design

published

Purchased in May 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for $789.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Nathan
NathanPerth, WA

Machine is great...when it works

published

Machines main system board died after a few months. Have a replacement warranty but they won’t replace it. Customer service has been terrible and don’t want to know about it!

Purchased in November 2019 for $879.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Matt
MattSouth East Queensland, QLD

Do not buy. Leaks water.

published
  • Thumbnail

Purchased in May 2020 at David Jones for $900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
jadan
jadanSydney, NSW
  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

Broke in less than 6 months - no explanation why

published

Purchased in January 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for $799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville The Barista Pro BES878 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Questions & Answers

Lotta H.
Lotta H.asked
The Barista Pro BES878BSS4JAN1 (Stainless Steel)

When I push the power button the machine lights up and a beeping sound starts for a few seconds. The machine won’t start brewing but I can get hot water and the steamer works. Anyone having the same problem?

No answers
Corina S.
Corina S.asked
The Barista Pro BES878

My machine won't complete a flush cycle. I have followed instructions, it begins and shuts off within 4 seconds. Screen returns to ready but still displays flush.

1 answer
Reviewer R.
Reviewer R.

Did Breville not help?

KathL
KathLasked
The Barista Pro BES878SST4JAN1 (Sea Salt)

Considering purchasing the Breville barista pro (sea salt) however concerned about the overall paint finish as some consumers commented on poor finish and resultant scratches after short time.

No answers
See all Breville The Barista Pro BES878 questions

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Breville The Barista Pro BES878

Details

Compare all 3 Breville The Barista Pro BES878
CategorySemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines
Price (RRP) $1,199.00$1,199.00$1,199.00
Water Tank Capacity2 L2 L2 L
Dimensions 404 x 353 x 417 mm404 x 353 x 417 mm404 x 353 x 417 mm
Weight9.1 kg9.1 kg9.1 kg
FeaturesDisplay PanelDisplay PanelDisplay Panel
Milk FrotherSteam WandSteam WandSteam Wand
Bean GrinderIntegrated Burr GrinderIntegrated Burr GrinderIntegrated Burr Grinder
Coffee Bean Capacity250 g250 g250 g
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Colour / FinishBrushed Stainless SteelBlack Truffle
Compare all 3 Breville The Barista Pro BES878
Visit official website
  • MPN: BES878, BES878BSS, BES878BTR and BES878SHY2JAN1

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.