??!
4 photos
Breville The Barista Pro BES878
3.3 from 16 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    3.1 (13)
  • Value for Money
    3.0 (14)
  • Ease of Use
    4.2 (14)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    4.1 (13)
  • Noise Level
    3.8 (13)
  • Product is used
  • Consistency
    3.8 (10)
  • Milk Frothing
    4.3 (10)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • More
Saffa Magic

Saffa Magic

  • 2 reviews

Perfect for a medium kitchen setup

published

Quick and Efficient machine with little fuss to setup.
Digital display works well.
Grinds and dispenses coffee as as indicated. Coffee espresso works consistently. Steamer heats up very quick. Time will tell but so far so good.

Purchased in October 2020 at The Good Guys for A$899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Shenanigans

ShenanigansBrisbane

  • 37 reviews
  • 30 likes

Makes great coffee, but take the time to dial it in!

published

Purchased in September 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$849.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Reasonable

ReasonablePerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 5 likes

We built a kitchen with white gloss cabinets

published
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville The Barista Pro BES878 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mr Tonegawa

Mr TonegawaSydney, NSW

Bes878 barista downgrade

published

Breville used to make quality product
I purchased barista express and it lasted a good 7 years with at least 5000 cups of coffee
However with barista pro bes878 it has gone down in quality tremendously and just subpar
This is due to the parts component that was used in the machine. The T connector valve cracks after a year of use thus spraying water into the machine. Causing malfunction and flood (as indicated by other users)
The in built grinder also cant grind extra fine. It only goes to medium grind after some usage

Its a nice cosmetic machine but rubbish internally. Just terrible

Purchased in November 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
dave w

dave w

  • 2 reviews

Only fair

published

Ok on double shot useless on single shot. Changed grind and time amounts as per manual, machine just clogs up. Even put grind to max coarse, will not operate on single shot on any setting

Purchased in July 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$900.00.

Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Viv

VivWollongong

  • 2 reviews

Two faults identified within a week of purchase, repair/replace on faulty part only with around 3+ weeks turnaround

published

Purchased in July 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
E.M

E.MSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Great machine, quality design

published

Purchased in May 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$789.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
GrinderN/A
See all answers
Nathan

NathanPerth, WA

Machine is great...when it works

published

Machines main system board died after a few months. Have a replacement warranty but they won’t replace it. Customer service has been terrible and don’t want to know about it!

Purchased in November 2019 for A$879.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
Matt

MattSouth East Queensland, QLD

Do not buy. Leaks water.

published

Purchased in May 2020 at David Jones for A$900.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville The Barista Pro BES878 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
jadan

jadanSydney, NSW

  • 8 reviews
  • 1 like

Broke in less than 6 months - no explanation why

published

Purchased in January 2020 at JB Hi-Fi for A$799.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Raegan M.

Raegan M.Hunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Worst machine I have owned. Broke 2 times within 6 months.

published

I can not state how disappointed I am in this machine and Breville. In less than 6 months of purchasing brand new, I have sent it for repairs twice. The first time it was tripping the power as water was filling the machines and pooling all over the bench. Two weeks after them sending it back, it stopped working. Not once have I been offered a new machine or refund. Each time it is away it takes 3 weeks and I am forced to buy coffee at cafes. Do your self a favor and buy another machine. It is not worth the money you pay for it - in face it cost you money!

Purchased in October 2019 for A$899.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Daniel

DanielSydney, NSW

  • 7 reviews

Great coffee machine

published

The machine does a decent coffee from super market beans.

With fresh beans you can dial in the grind with the shot clock and volumetric buttons and get even better results.

Steam wand is very effective.

Purchased in January 2020 at Harvey Norman for A$898.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Tarek I.

Tarek I.Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 4 likes

Excellent Machine, Very bad Customer Service

published

Perfect machine, I love it. Some days I don't want to go out so I can have my coffee. Bad customer service as I still didn't receive my Christmas Promotion which it has been more than 8 weeks now since I bought my machine. And every time I call they tell me next week or it is with Australia Post and I should receive it soon.

Purchased in December 2019 at The Good Guys for A$650.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
amac72

amac72Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 10 reviews
  • 9 likes

Great machine

published

I have had several home coffee machines over the years, this is the best one yet for the following reasons, it's ready to make a coffee in seconds, the time it takes to use the steam wand is only about 10 seconds, thereby eliminating the need for a dual boiler system. The screen is mostly intuitive and once you get used to it, is very easy. Only cons are the filters are not much use, better using the double and the machine moves a little when taking the group head out of the machine, but this may loosen with use. Otherwise a great device and quick to make a coffee.

Purchased in November 2019 at Harvey Norman for A$804.95.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedSeveral times a week
See all answers
Flan

FlanGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Excellent machine

published

I was convinced to buy this due to the reviews I had read about this machine.
Setup : simple.
Quality of coffee produced : excellent and consistent.
Machine is extremely quiet when extracting coffee shot.
Every setting can be adjusted to suit.
I get my beans from a local supplier (always fresh).
I would recommend this machine to family and friends without hesitation.

Purchased in December 2019 at The Good Guys for A$639.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Ease of Use
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Consistency
Milk Frothing
Incentivised ReviewNo
Product is usedDaily
See all answers
Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Find out how Breville The Barista Pro BES878 compares to other Semi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kangaroo Jack

Kangaroo JackSouth West, QLD

  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Stand out coffee machine for our outback coffee shop.

published

At half the size physically of the professional machine it replaces, for a limited output place like place where 30 cups a day is as much as we'd ever do really, this machine is a gem.
From cold, it is ready to pour in about 30 seconds, and the operator can manage the grind size and temp, water quality, the pour length. Everything really.
It cost under a thousand dollars, and looks like reducing our power bill by around 75%.
Highly recommended for either office or home use.

Questions & Answers

Nancy W

Nancy Wasked

The Barista Pro BES878BTR4JAN1 (Black Truffle)

We purchased a Breville barista pro in black truffle late November 2020. Within a week, an area of the black finish began to flake or chip off in 2 places, and in another place a few days later. Can we assume this is a fluke, or are there others who have had this problem? Breville customer service has been a lot of lip service but no tangible resolution after a month of correspondence! Not good for such a pricey appliance- there are others we could choose from! We still have time to return this (60days) to the authorized Breville retailer, so that may happen this week.

No answers
Richard

Richardasked

The Barista Pro BES878

Why does my steam turn off when milk is only at 58deg C ?

1 answer
Mr Tonegawa
Mr Tonegawa

My best guess is the faulty temperature sensor

Scott

Scottasked

The Barista Pro BES878BSS4JAN1 (Stainless Steel)

Hello I have a Barista Pro BES878 it is around 6 months old and is leaking water underneath the drip tray its only been doing this for the last week is there anything I can try before returning it to Hervey Norman, thank you .

No answers

Get an answer from our members and Breville representatives

Details

Compare all 3 Breville The Barista Pro BES878
CategorySemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee MachinesSemi-Automatic and Manual Coffee Machines
Price (RRP) A$1,199.00A$1,199.00A$1,199.00
Water Tank Capacity2 L2 L2 L
Colour / FinishBrushed Stainless SteelBlack Truffle
Dimensions 404 x 353 x 417 mm404 x 353 x 417 mm404 x 353 x 417 mm
Weight9.1 kg9.1 kg9.1 kg
FeaturesDisplay PanelDisplay PanelDisplay Panel
Milk FrotherSteam WandSteam WandSteam Wand
Bean GrinderIntegrated Burr GrinderIntegrated Burr GrinderIntegrated Burr Grinder
Coffee Bean Capacity250 g250 g250 g
Manufacturer Warranty2 year(s)2 year(s)2 year(s)
Compare all 3 Breville The Barista Pro BES878

Visit official website
  • MPN: BES878, BES878BSS and BES878BTR

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.