??!
1 photo
Budget Direct Travel Insurance

Budget Direct Travel Insurance

Comprehensive, Domestic, Last Minute, etc...
3.6 from 439 reviews

Reviews

3.6

439 reviews
5
(213)
4
(83)
3
(15)
2
(9)
1
(119)
  • Value for Money
    3.3 (168)
  • Transparency
    3.0 (136)
  • Customer Service
    3.1 (151)
Previous
Next
Luke

Luke

  • 2 reviews

Perpetual waiting and broken promises

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
See all answers
Craig O.

Craig O.South East Queensland, QLD

Like all of Budget Direct insurance, great until you claim

published

Travel insurance PDS clearly covers for pandemics and confirm by phone. The prior to cancelling they confirmed by two separate phone calls. When it comes to claiming they don't respond, delay and then deny on obscure clauses. I have never made an insurance claim in 25 years, a loyal customer of any insurance company. I had other insurance with budget direct but why would you bother if you can't claim when needed. I do not recommend them to my worst enemy. I hope people keep reviewing dealings with them and not just the cheap price.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
See all answers
parrott_ice

parrott_iceMelbourne

  • 12 reviews

stay clear

published

As with travel agents, budget travel insurance is dragging its heels in assesing insurance claims. Have provided info more than once but they keep asking for the same info. My elderly father is waiting for money both from Flight Centre (another ripoff) and budget direct for over 3 months. Hard earned down the drain. Once bitten....

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
Travel Insurance

Find out how Budget Direct Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Karen D

Karen DSydney, NSW

Disgusting, never ever use this company

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
2 comments
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Karen D
Karen D
Ruth

RuthSydney, NSW

Do NOT recommend!!! Lied to by staff!!!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers
2 comments
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Ruth
Ruth

Thanks, have just sent an email now. Looking forward to your response.

Daisy

DaisySydney, NSW

terrible, customer service lied to me

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Nicholas

NicholasSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Very disappointing Service

published

Terrible service, no communication on the progress of claim, unprofessional customer service ethics towards their customers. They don’t follow their own PDS , which leaves them open for legal action. Call center staff are rude. Terrible claims service. Still waiting for claim outcome that I lodged in March .

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
7 comments
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Nicholas
Nicholas
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct

Hi Nicholas, thank you for your response. We do appreciate your feedback and our aim is to respond/communicate within a timely manner and we are sorry that this was not the experience you had.

Scott

ScottSydney, NSW

Terrible claims service - not following or adhering to their own PDS

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth America
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Brigitte

BrigitteSydney, NSW

Worst company I have ever dealt with - DO NOT USE

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Travel Insurance

Find out how Budget Direct Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Are they serious?

Are they serious?Western Australia

  • 10 reviews

Last chance for them to do the right thing then I think a class action needs to be started.

published

Top comprehensive cover purchased in JULY last year for a two-week trip beginning of April for two 80yr olds. Trip canceled due to Covid-19. Budget Direct has refused to cover them, happy to take the $900 for the policy though, shameful to take advantage of two elderly pensioners. Sending a strongly worded request to appeal on their legal responsibilities as per the terms and conditions this week. If that fails I will be taking this further and seeking a class action against budget direct. I will let you all know their response, if they reject it again I will be back asking who else wants to join.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
1 comment
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Marvin M.

Marvin M.Mid North Coast, NSW

Budget Direct Came Through In the End

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
See all answers
3 comments
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Marvin M.
Marvin M.
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct

Hi Marvin, thank you for your response and am pleased to hear the outcome of the matter.

singles

singlesWanniassa 2903, ACT

Rubbish travel insurance company, time for an enquiry into the travel insurance industry.

published

I purchased travel insurance from this company in January for a trip to India in May. Trip was cancelled due to borders being closed. Silly me thought we would be covered by travel insurance. Not so according to the travel insurance company of the year. Denied as the trip was cancelled by the operator, in fact it was cancelled by the overseas service provider, after all what service could they provide. Used this company several times without making a claim. Would I recommend them or use them again. Not likely. Any excuse to get out of paying our claim. Full of excuses.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
6 comments
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
singles
singles
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct

We can understand why the trip was cancelled due to Covid-19. Once your email is received the appropriate department will review it further.

Horrible, I wish zero stars was an option.

published
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedNo
Alan

AlanPerth, WA

  • 4 reviews

Bad company poor ethics

published

I checked with budget direct (in writing) that I was covered before I cancelled my flights due to Covid. Come claim time they reject it on the basis I was 2 days early before 1 set of government advice even though smart traveller recommended 3 days before do not travel. They are a shifty company do not use them. Luckily Qatar airways agreed to give me a full refund otherwise I would have fought this.
Don't use Budget Direct

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical and Travel Delays/Cancellations
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
2 comments
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Alan
Alan
Sammy 05

Sammy 05Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Disappointing

published

I was very disappointed when I tried to claim on our domestic travel insurance for a holiday that was cancelled because of the COVID-19 outbreak. Budget Direct's PDS clearly states that they would cover us in the event of an epidemic. They are not true to their word.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateApril 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
2 comments
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Sammy 05
Sammy 05
Travel Insurance

Find out how Budget Direct Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Peter Kennedy

Peter KennedyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

Still awaiting outcome of claim

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther and Travel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
4 comments
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Peter Kennedy
Peter Kennedy
Peter Kennedy
Peter Kennedy

Actually, the email address you provided is not valid.

bearsticky

bearstickyGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 20 reviews

They do not pay claims, poor response!

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAfrica
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim DateJanuary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
2 comments
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
bearsticky
bearsticky

Hello, i contacted the Team on the email you recommended a week ago but again there is s no response??? If I dont hear back by 5th June, I shall proceed to lodge a formal complaint with the Ombudsman and ACCC.

Jatin K.

Jatin K.Perth, WA

Disgusted on how our claim has been handled.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAfrica
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
See all answers
4 comments
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Jatin K.
Jatin K.
Jatin K.
Jatin K.

Is there anyone that is in a similar situation as I’m willing to get lawyers involved to resolve this matter. Sick of big organizations taking advantage And dictating terms even when they are liable.

Terrible communication

published

Bought travel insurance in January.Company claims credit the same as refund. Was not advised this was the case when querying if I was covered even before travel alert issued for Stage 4. Never answers emails even after many calls advising I wanted to speak to my claims rep. No return calls either. Very poor customer service. Will not purchase any other insurances after this experience

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Josh

JoshSydney, NSW

No cover for international travel

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateMarch 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
1 comment
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct
Page 1 of 22

Questions & Answers

Antonia

Antoniaasked

Travel Insurance

I was about to purchase two policy of travel insurance through budget direct, which is one for my son, and the other one for us. After reading these reviews, espescially about Margaret's review, I wouldn't recommend to anyone, let alone to make the purchase. I've travelled to lots of place, never claim on travel insurance, and have used cover more and 1cover.

2 answers

Go with another company!!

Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct

Hi Antonia, thank you for considering us for Travel insurance and taking the time to share your feedback. We do appreciate and take seriously any feedback we receive regarding our customer's experience and insurance coverage we offer.

Taldree

Taldreeasked

Travel Insurance

I have examined the reviews on Budget Direct and it appears that it is wonderful Travel Insurance until you have to make a claim and that of course is the crux of the matter. Why should I choose Budget Direct or Allianz, when the reviews on 'CoverMore' travel insurance regarding the claims is far superior, and yes they are more expensive but at least they are honorable. I think a Royal Commission into Insurance providers is overdue.

1 answer
Budget Direct
Budget Direct A.Budget Direct

Hi Taldree, thank you for taking the time to write to us. We do take on all feedback received, as it is valuable in providing a positive customer experience. When considering Travel insurance we do recommend that your read through/compare the Product Disclosure statement to see what is covered and the conditions, limits and exclusion that apply, in order to select which Travel insurance is suitable for your needs.

Geoff D.

Geoff D.asked

Travel Insurance

underwriter

1 answer
Margaret
Margaret

Auto and General

Get an answer from our members and Budget Direct representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.