??!
6 photos
Castrol Magnatec

Castrol Magnatec

10W-40, Fuel Saver 5W-30, STOP-START 5W-30, etc...
4.1 from 45 reviews

See the Best Engine Oils in 2019 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.

Reviews

Review distribution

5 star
30
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
2
1 star
7

Martin

MartinGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Excellent balance of oil protection/price

published

Over 150,000km keeps engine internals clean not 100% like synthetic would as there is a light oil lacquer in hot areas.
Can live with more frequent oil changes vs straight synthetic and minimal expense as my preference.
Works well and helps with cold piston slap than dealer oil I can hear a difference as time to quite is noticeably faster.

Purchased in September 2019 at Supercheap Auto Physical Store for $39.00.


Andrew Y.

Andrew Y.Darling Downs, QLD

  • 3 reviews

Do not use, unless from a new engine....

published

Into a 2.8 Rodeo turbo diesel @ 120K started smoking like Winston Churchill, can only hope it hasn't damaged the valve seals. Flush and go back to Valvoline Super Diesel. The best non Synthetic oil.

nexsus

nexsusadelaide

  • 3 reviews

oil is like horses for courses

published

my 2000 magna tj has done 275 kms so far i bought it with 80,000 kms and i think the magnatec oil is best suited for it.I once went 15,000ks without a service and the engine never skipped a beat the oil was very dark but not black,so i think the magnetic molecules does really work.

Purchased in July 2004.

Nick

NickSouth East Queensland, QLD

Rattle in the rockers

published

I have used magnatec for 20 years on my turbo cars and was very brand loyal as my cars never went wrong. I recently made up a 185kW turbo charged MX5 and it always had a rattle in the rockers until it built up oil pressure on start-up. I changed oil to old faithful magnatec and the rattle remained so next time round I thought I would push the boat out and go for a nulon full synthetic 10w-40 and hey presto no more rattle...... ever. I will now be recommending Nulon synthetic going forward and have also change my partners subaru oil to nulon.
I have now flogged off any magnatec I had in the garage for $1 on trademe (NZ version of ebay).

Purchased in February 2018.


Svgtr

SvgtrPerth, WA

  • 13 reviews
  • 1 like

Absolutely rubbish oil

published

Purchased in December 2015.


MarkEm

MarkEmMelbourne

  • 11 reviews

Good value and quality oil

published

Purchased in January 2019 at Repco for $30.00.


RonnyCraven

RonnyCravenSydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 40 reviews
  • 22 likes

Solved a deep-seated problem

published

Although our pre-loved Skoda Octavia came with a bundle of proof-of-service dockets the car was a total disaster gulping a litre of oil every 450ks accompanied by much smoke. Our mechanic took out the plugs and they were scarcely usable. The diagnosis was that the previous owner had run the car on lowest grade ethanol and supermarket oil. We ignored Skoda's recommended oil grade (too late for that anyway) and filled up with Magnatec 10W-40. Three tankfuls of 98 octane petrol and a set of new plugs later and we never knew anything was wrong. Been using Magnatec ever since.

Purchased in November 2018.


toyota

toyotaperth

sludge blocked oil strainer

published

would not recommend.... after using for this oil for more than 50 k plus.and regular 10k or less oil changes. last oil change at only 5k previously . engine oil light came on at idle and damaged the engine and turbo and needed a full rebuild, oil pickup screen was blocked with oily sludge...be warned.....

Carhilux kun26
Aris

ArisMelbourne

Perfecto

published

I tried a number of different oils from mineral(15w40 nulon etc)semi synthetic (10w40 megnatec etc) synthetic (Penrith 5w40 -Castrol edge 5w30 etc) till I came across megnatec 5w30 stop start great oil with a difference really happy finally oh and on a last note I also found nulon 5w30 an excellent oil

CarFord territory 2004 with 250 000 ks on clock

Perfect, Genuine

published

I have found a genuine oil after a long time. Car is very smooth and temperature of oil is 4-5 degree celcius lower than before. Car mileage is 192k and its 530i bmw. I have not seen any better oil than this is my career of over 20 years till date. Its liquid engineering.

CarBMW 530i E60

Arkie

ArkieAdelaide

Great oil

published

Before changing the oil to Castrol magnitec my car had noticeable tappet noise. Immediately after the oil change and filter replacement the engine was notably quieter. The engine definitely feels a lot smoother than before.
Definitely recommend this oil to anyone who wants to preserve their engine and reduce wear.

CarMazda cx7

jerryChuan

jerryChuanMelbourne

  • 8 reviews
  • 11 likes

Good oil

published

After changing engine oil from nulon long life to Castrol magnates, actually nothing changed much. What I can notice is it is more easier to rev up a little bit when accelerating. Other things like fuel economy, noise level, power does not changed much. I’ll say this is a good oil, concerned with its price, and it’s a "full" synthetic oil. Sometimes even cheaper than OZ brand Nulon and Penrite.

Car2008 Toyota Camry

Mick M

Mick MMelbourne

  • 17 reviews
  • 14 likes

Excellent oil.

published

Been using Magnatec oil for many years, and wouldn't use anything else. It does exactly what it says it does, and the engine in my car loves it. Oil pressure is strong on start-up, and keeps strong even when hot. The previous oils with similar viscosity I used caused my engine's lifters to tick when hot, but not with this oil. The engine spins freely, and effortlessly. HIGHLY recommended oil!

Car1997 Ford Probe GT

suspicious review by "Someone" using wrong viscosity

published

Username Someone says, "Horror. The oil thickens for unknown reasons and chokes the engine. Like a glue." If that's true, it's probably because he used 10w-40 in cars that call for 5w-30. Misapplication equals product bashing? Like there already wasn't sludge in a 20 year old beater and other older cars? Also in the USA Magnatec is full synthetic.

Car2013 Honda Accord

Best ever

published

My Ford xr6 loves it and still very clean after 5000ks. Wouldn't use anything else...Anyone who says it sludges up must is lying or just plain out bull shitting them self's. Go grab a bottle and try it for your self. I promise you won't be disappointed.I won't use anything else.

CarFord xr6

Synonym for no quality

published

Horror. The oil thickens for unknown reasons and chokes the engine. Like a glue. I have never seen so much sludge in the car, although I was forced to change it at 2-3k km because I start losing it for some reason. Fuel economy is nonexistent with it. My mechanic recommended it to me and I used it in three petrol cars (my friend used it also, and had the same problems on diesel). When I took over the repair of the car in my hands, I used many oils and I never had such problems. I honestly would not recommend it to anyone.

CarFord Escort, VW Polo, Ford Focus

Chloe.L

Chloe.LMelbourne

  • 7 reviews

Best on the market

published

Brought this oil from Supercheap Auto on a few ocassions now because it has been the best we have ever used in our 2010 Ford Territory.
The car actually does run better and so much smoother from the first drive. Is definately worth the money and if you buy through Supercheap Auto and are a member and it goes on sale then you get some money back.

Car2010 Ford Territory Auto Petrol

Denny16

Denny16Western Australia, 6011

  • 38 reviews
  • 13 likes

High quality oil I could feel as soon as I drove after the oil and filter change !

published

I have used many types of engine oil in the past but never really felt any REAL difference. Granted that , psychologically, I felt that high quality oil surely is good for the engine. However, with the Castrol Magnatec 10W30, well, I could feel a difference !!! The car runs smoother and I could feel it !

CarMazda 6, 2005 ( May 2005 upgrade) , GG series, 2.3l, 5 speed auto.

Robert

RobertAuckland

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Quality oil

published

I have always use this oil for many years and am pleased with the manufacturer's claims. My cars have run exceptionally well with using this oil. I try to purchase a few cans of this oil when it is on specials. The service intervals of my cars are usually 5000 to 7000 kms.

CarHonda Civic, Toyota Levin, Toyota MR 2, Toyota Corolla, Mazda 3 and Mitsubishi Galant

Sam

SamSydney

  • 4 reviews

Do the job

published

Used this oil for toyota echo and i replaced this oil every 6000 ks and found this oil do the job, so i recommended this oil from now and i bought this oil castrol 10w40 when it can be half price at auto stores and thanks to magnatec technology
.

CarToyota Echo 2005

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

M bell

M bellasked

Would 5w/40 professional engine oil be ok for my 96 discovery 1300tdI automatic.

1 answer
Andrew Y.
Andrew Y.

A heavier grade oil would be recommended, Go to the Castrol web, and look up the manufacturers advice


Kiran.k

Kiran.kasked

I own a 98 Toyota Starlet with 145,000kms on the clock. Just want to know if the 10w40 Castrol Magnatec oil will be suitable for my car?Was using Yacco oil but it's no more available on the market. Thanks.

No answers

Aryan T.

Aryan T.asked

This oil suitable for bike?

1 answer
Andrew Y.
Andrew Y.

I would go for a specified motorcycle oil. Each manufacturer make them and have an recommended oil for your bike.


Get an answer from our members and Castrol representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.