??!

Reviews

4.4

57 reviews
5
(42)
4
(6)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(3)
Previous
Next
snoofy

snoofyNorth Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Not good

published

Used it on my BMW r1100rt 1997 model and had to change it the next day. Motor got Noisy and Rattalee. And yes it was motor bike oil 20w50 DON'T USE IT

Purchased in September 2020 at Repco.

RYZR

RYZRGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 9 reviews
  • 3 likes

Best engine oil I've ever used

published

I've used this oil at 10k intervals in my 2005 Santa Fe V6 and 2004 Prado 120 V6 petrol motors for years.
Always drains nice and clean, great value when on special at any retailer for a fully synth oil.
Both vehicles run like new, never had a spanner on the motors approaching 200k.
Love that its Australian made and owned too.
Recommended.

1 comment
Penrite Oil
Penrite OilPenrite Oil

RYZR, Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review.

Lee

LeePerth, WA

USED PENRITE HPR 5-40 10 YEARS

published

Never had any problem with our Toyota Camry 2009 Sounds like a sewing machine 225.000 km Still going strong! I would recommend this product anytime! Did a head on a Tarago 1.000.000 km used also Penrite HPR 5 "no Problem"

1 comment
Penrite Oil
Penrite OilPenrite Oil

Hi Lee, We appreciate you for taking the time in leaving us this positive review. We are glad you have had a good experience using our products on your Camry and Tarago.

Engine Oils

Find out how Penrite HPR Range compares to other Engine Oils

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Chris P.

Chris P.Greater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

This is good.

published

I have 2013 Toyota camry hybrid. This oil is very good quality for the car. Always runs smoothly. But I want to ask for 97 civic b16a, is this fit?

Purchased in September 2019 for A$40.00.

1 comment
Penrite Oil
Penrite OilPenrite Oil

Hi Chris, Thank you for leaving us such a positive review. Please contact our Technical Team on 1300 736 748 or email lubetech@penriteoil.com.au and we can give you a personalised recommendation for your Honda Civic.

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

5 STARS

published

I have used Penrite oils in my cars for the last 20 years. I can’t fault the superior protection it gives, nor the value for money. I can’t recommend Penrite products highly enough!!

1 comment
Penrite Oil
Penrite OilPenrite Oil

Thank you for your on-going support NavMan71 and for taking the time in leaving us such a positive review.

Tony

Tony

  • 19 reviews
  • 2 likes

An Excellent Performing Engine Oil

published

I've used this engine oil in my car many times, and it has always performed to an excellent standard. It is of excellent quality, and will last easily for up to 10,000 kms as it is fully synthetic. You can actually feel the power and the performance this adds to your cars engine. Worth every dollar you pay for it.

1 comment
Penrite Oil
Penrite OilPenrite Oil

Hi Tony, We appreciate you taking the time in leaving us such a positive review on our HPR 5 product.

Great all round oil in cars and motorcycles

published

I use HPR 5 and have been for about 8 years now. My 2010 Yamaha R6 has 130000ks on and found this oil has no drop off point especially with the clutch and gear changes. (See my photo below). I always wait till Repco (or other retailers) have a good special like 30% off then it becomes so cheap. Although Penrite have a dedicated motorcycle range, HPR 5 has been tested and proven in my bike so why would I change. I also use Penrite 5w-30 premium mineral in my RX-8 with good reliability so far. Give Penrite a try.

Purchased at Repco.

1 comment
Penrite Oil
Penrite OilPenrite Oil

Hi Ben, Thanks for taking the time in leaving us such a positive review. We appreciate your on-going support.

Type R Civic...this puts the life back into the motor

published

I own a JDM 2004 Honda Civic EP3 type R... This is the ONLY oil I'd choose. VTEC relies so heavily on oil, and this stuff has given me the best results! The engine actually sounds better, it's quieter. I've used other oils, but now I know I shouldn't have

Purchased in January 2020 at Repco for A$91.00.

1 comment
Penrite Oil
Penrite OilPenrite Oil

Hi Matini, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a kind review! It is very much appreciated.

Chris S.

Chris S.Sydney, NSW

Excellent Product and great protection for modern turbo Euro engines.

published

Ive been using this oil since seeing an engine oil comparison test by one of the motor magazines years ago. I switched to Penrite after seeing the wear protection it gave on the these tests. it beat almost all the other oils in the test except for some very very expensive racing oils. Great results. I highly recommend it. I was previously a Mobil 1 and Shell Helix Ultra oil user. This Penrite range of oils is in our three cars and perfoms so well. I change the oil every 10,000kms and I'm sure it would go for longer. I'm just over cautious and have the time and $$ to do it. :)

Purchased in October 2019 at Supercheap Auto.

1 comment
Penrite Oil
Penrite OilPenrite Oil

Hi Chris, Thanks for the opportunity to test our HPR 5 oil in your vehicle and leaving us a kind review!

Engine Oils

Find out how Penrite HPR Range compares to other Engine Oils

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Bill

BillPerth, WA

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

The Good Oil

published

Purchased in September 2019 at Supercheap Auto.

1 comment
Penrite Oil
Penrite OilPenrite Oil

Hi Bill, We are glad that you're happy with the change to our HPR 5 for your Ford Territory. Also thanks for taking the time in leaving us a positive review!

robbo

robboSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

Mazda T3500

published

My Mazda bus has 298K on the clock , Have used Penrite HPR Deisel for the past four oil changes . The old girl loves it , donk always sounds sweet . Also support Australian companies! Can't supply receipt for purchase as my last one was back in 1018 .

Purchased in October 2018 at Super Cheap Auto .

2 comments
Penrite Oil
Penrite OilPenrite Oil

Hi Robbo! Thanks for taking the time to review us and your positive feedback. We appreciate your on-going support.

robbo
robbo

Always positive when a product is good . Even using your chain bar oil now , sticks to chain well !

Denis Kilner

Denis KilnerCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

The oil is tops. but the size is not.

published

I have always found Penrite oils to be exceptional, and have used them exclusively in my Jeep Grand Cherokee. I am not very fond of the size of the containers available now, as I need 10.5 liters of oil in the engine sump and 4.5 liters in the transmission. It means that I have to purchase make up size containers at an increase in cost. As I wrote at the start Penrite oil products are 5 star. Kindest Regards Denis Kilner

2 comments
Penrite Oil
Penrite OilPenrite Oil

Hi Denis, Thanks for the positive feedback, we appreciate your support. We are continually trying to cater to different capacities and have recently brought out a 7L pack size. We will pass on your feedback in regards to larger than 10L pack sizes.

Denis Kilner
Denis Kilner
halohunter

halohunterGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

My hybrid love it, However should have gone with 10-30 instead or 10-40

published

My hybrid love it, even though i went a bit too thick should have went with 10w-30 or 10w40. I'm not sure if Toyota dealer even change my oil as every morning during cold start every time i put it in to gear I have that horrible scary click, now it is out of warranty, so the oil change myself, no more click during cold start and the engine runs quiter, when it needs to run cuz you know.... Hybrid

Purchased in September 2019 at Supercheap Auto for A$38.00.

2 comments
Penrite Oil
Penrite OilPenrite Oil

Hi! Thanks for taking the time in leaving us a review. We appreciate it.

halohunter
halohunter

No worries, however, can you guy update the logo, it looks old style and cheap, before i gave it a try, i thought you guy were some cheap chinese brand

Frederick Von Savages

Frederick Von SavagesAU

  • 4 reviews
  • 6 likes

Aussie owned & a great oil

published

Using the HPR5 5w/40 in the camry & it's a step up from the Gulf Western that was in it previously.
Kudos to the Penrite live chat people on their website,they are very helpful.
Bargain @ $36 from Supercheap when on sale for the 6 litre container
Next time i'll try the 10 tenths in the camry

Purchased in May 2019 at Supercheap Auto for A$36.00.

1 comment
Penrite Oil
Penrite OilPenrite Oil

Hi Frederick, Thanks for taking the time to leave us positive feedback. Your support is very much appreciated.

Svgtr

SvgtrPerth, WA

  • 18 reviews
  • 6 likes

High wear observed in oil

published

This is for a Magna 6G74 engine on LPG. Very poor experience with this oil that I bought based on the certifications listed on the bottle. The used oil had high copper amounts. It makes me question the validity of those claims.

Purchased in June 2017.

1 comment
Penrite Oil
Penrite OilPenrite Oil
Engine Oils

Find out how Penrite HPR Range compares to other Engine Oils

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Jason

Jason

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Penrite HPR 5 is the best oil I've used.

published

I have a 2004 Corolla that has covered 340,000km, with the original engine, never having been replaced or overhauled. I've used Penrite HPR 5 for the last 3 changes, of which- every 15,000km. The engine is quieter and uses less oil (virtually no oil) compared to the other "fully synthetic" oils I've used. Outstanding product.

Purchased in March 2019 at Supercheap Auto for A$70.00.

1 comment
Penrite Oil
Penrite OilPenrite Oil

Hi Jason,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a positive review.

kev

kevMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

My car loves me for it

published

Since I purchased my Mitsubishi TL over 4 years ago, and converted to dual fuel, I have not experienced any problem, I now use Penrite for all my lubricating needs, my car is purrrrrrrrrrring like a kitten. So am I,
thank you Penrite!!

Purchased in January 2015.

1 comment
Penrite Oil
Penrite OilPenrite Oil

Hi Kev,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a positive review.

effie blues

effie bluesVictoria

ford 7.3 powerstroke superduty

published

the recommended oil as per user manual for f350 7.3 power stroke. either WSS-M2C171-C or CJ4 , CI-4 is the older american standard. hope this helps those trying get the right product as even the recommended by thr website doesnt give the accurate. most of time its the older CI-4.

Carford 1999.5 f350 7.3 powerstroke 4x4
Markwa

MarkwaPerth, WA

  • 16 reviews
  • 8 likes

Can't go wrong with Penrite

published

Used HPR5 for over a decade in my old car and it never used a drop of oil between services and ran as good as new. While the formula has changed a bit over the years I now use HPR5 in my new car and again never uses a drop of oil between services and runs nicely. I love Penrite oils and would recommend it over anything else.

CarNissan Micra K11. Ford Fiesta WT.
Maninder

ManinderMelbourne

Love it !!!!!!!

published

Used hpr 5 and loved my engine performance and mileage. Used Penrite engine flush as well when doing oil change. And you what oil is as clean on dipstick after 4000 kms as I have just changed oil now . Simply loved it . Was on special in supercheap bought 2 buckets of 10 litres for myself.

CarCommodore
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Kevin S.

Kevin S.asked

HPR 5 5W-40 (Full Synthetic)

Can I use this oil in crdi terracan

3 answers
Tony
Tony

Please refer to your owners manual as it will tell you the specific grade of engine oil recommend by the car manufacturer. Then go to your preferred automotive spare parts store and purchase Penrite Oil with the recommended grade of oil suitable for your application.

Kevin S.
Kevin S.

Ok

Penrite Oil
Penrite OilPenrite Oil

Hi Kevin, You are welcome to call our Technical Team on 1300 736 748 to get a personalise recommendation for your vehicle.

Dave U.

Dave U.asked

HPR 5 5W-40 (Full Synthetic)

Just put it in my 2010 911 Carrera, I hope it is as good as people say it is

1 answer
Tony
Tony

My mechanic, who has been a tradesman for over 30 years says it's the only oil he uses in all of his cars, high performance and luxury cars. He always uses it in my car and I find it to be excellent.

bob

bobasked

Penrite HPR Range

Today I bought Penrite 5 HPR 5w-40 engine oil and I was unscrewing the lid and I felt a few of plastic seals had been broken and once I opened the lid fully there wasn't any plastic/alloy inner sealed lid on it.? Not sure if the oils been tampered with or what.! Is the oil bottle suppose to have inner lid or they don't have? Most other brands have a sealed inner lid.

2 answers
Penrite Oil
Penrite OilPenrite Oil

Hi Bob, Please contact us on 1300 736 748 or email lubetech@penriteoil.com.au

Tony
Tony

Hi Bob, why don't you take it back to where you purchased the product and ask them? I'm not an agent or sales representative for Penrite oils. I'm a customer, the same as yourself. In the alternative, you can call the store you purchased the product and ask them.

Get an answer from our members and Penrite Oil representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.