??!
1 photo
CGU Car Insurance

CGU Car Insurance

1.8 from 141 reviews

Poor insurance company

My car was stolen for two months,Without compensation, they also asked the investigator to conduct a comprehensive investigation of me, including your income, your friends, call records,After two months, the police found my car. I need some repairs. They still try to stop me from repairing.I haven't fixed my car until now.During the claim period, you must pay for your insurance.Don't apply for this insurance company. They only try a thousand ways to make no claims! Very bad

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeNo
1 comment
Hi Julian, for any theft and malicious damage claims we need to follow proper steps and procedures to prevent insurance fraud. This helps keep all of our insurance premiums down so our customers are not paying for other peoples fraudulent activities. Insurance is a 12 month contract, choosing to pay monthly does not change this so to keep your contract valid you must continue to pay your instalments. Another example of this is if your claim is a total loss any unpaid premium is deducted from your sum insured that is paid. This is all included in your Product Disclosure Statement provided when you start a policy and when you renew one as well. If you would like help with your claim please message us on our Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/cguinsurance/ and let us know you have come from Product Review and we will help there. ~ Jono

CGU got my policy wrong after a month, yeah right.

Hit from behind 1 month ago agreed a figure after 3 weeks CGU got policy wrong and I have to deal with 3rd party insurer Asked to get pictures of car but it has moved from Dandenong to Pickles Dodgy.

Insurance TypeThird Party, Fire and Theft
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Car ModelHolden Commodore VZ
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
Hi Warren, not the way we want you feeling during a claim. If you would like us to chase it up - please message us by going to https://www.facebook.com/cguinsurance/ and let us know you're from Product Review. ~Natalie

Never again with this insurer

I made a claim after being involved in a collision. Imagine my horror when told less than 24 hours later by my "case manager" that they DON'T investigate and only go on the statements. As I said my INTENTION was to merge, the person who's supposedly supposed to work for me deemed me to be at fault. I hadn't changed lanes, the person on the phone who I initially contacted had written it up as I had, the email that I received said that I had, when I queried that and asked it to be changed, nothing was done. 85 days later when I ring to find out where the matter was at, was told it had been closed within days, had not been investigated because I was at fault and the other party had already been paid. When I escalated the matter was told that the initial woman who made the decision had admitted my liability to the other insurance company within days, had not sighted a statement or diagram at all, I was told she would be "retrained". When i pushed further was again told that the guy who was looking into would not change the decision, had not sought any CCTV footage himself had not read the statement or seen a diagram from the other party. Also stated if I could supply the CCTV footage or wanted the phone calls listened to I had to pay! Needless to say I have cancelled my car insurance and home and contents policies with this company and hope anyone else considering this company be very cautious, they're not working on your behalf at all.

Value for Money
Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Car ModelMazda 2
Claim MadeYes
Claimant is the policy holder Yes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim DateMarch 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
Hi nothappyjan, I appreciate how frustrating your claim has been. I am sorry to see you have already left us as a customer. But if you would still like to escalate your complaint further please Please PM us with your policy/claim details to our Facebook page via messenger: https://www.facebook.com/cguinsurance/. Just let us know you're from Product Review and include your name, DOB, address and contact details. ~ Jono

Terrible doesn’t even begin to describe this company

3 weeks ago a CGU client ran into the back of our car. Our car is unable to be driven. My husband was waiting so long on the phone to get through to CGU that twice he gave up. When he finally got through he was told there was “a hold up” but no further details. CGU have made no effort to contact us despite photos and their form being forwarded from the panel beaters.
We a struggling with one car- 2 of us working full time and a school child. We are NOT at fault!! Why should we be made to wait! Disgraceful lack of service and understanding. Would never insure with CGU

Transparency
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25Yes
Claim MadeYes
7 comments
Hi Sarah, thank you for bringing this to our attention. I Appreciate our Settlements line can have long wait times and absolutely understand how important your car is for your family. If you are not at fault you are still able to go through your own insurer and have them liaise with us on your behalf. This will save you the trouble of managing the claim yourself particularly since you already have a relationship with your insurer. They should also be able to provide you a hire-car and have the cost of the hire car included with the cost of repairs. Alternatively if you are uninsured or would like to continue with our settlements team for another reason our Social Media team can reach out to our Settlements team to contact you to help. Please PM us with your policy/claim details to our Facebook page via messenger: https://www.facebook.com/cguinsurance/ /. Just let us know you're from Product Review and include your name, DOB, address and contact details. ~ JonoJono I realise your job is to try and help however nothing you have suggested was remotely helpful. I wasn’t able to put all the details on my first statement as it was too long and complicated. The bottom line is it should never get to the point that people are SO frustrated they complain. In my job if I treated my clients as CGU has treated us I would have been fired long ago! It is now over 5 weeks since our accident and our claim is still not resolved. The assessor gave his estimate to CGU over a week ago. Still we have heard nothing! Even when we receive any reimbursement it will never be enough to replace the reliability of that car nor will it compensate for the incredible inconvenience your lack of service has caused. Shame on you CGU. You have forgotten you are dealing with people who deserve to be treated with respect, sympathy and understanding. I can only hope others have read this and maybe that saves them from the same treatmentSarah, we can definitely understand your frustration and apologise that 5 weeks on and your claim is still not sorted. As Jono has earlier mentioned we are more than happy to escalate this and get your claim looked into and chased up for you. If you wish to have us pass your details onto the settlements team, please Facebook PM us your details. ~Natalie

Hopeless service from CGU

we were with CGU for over ten years. we have never make a claim until recently i had a car accident and i was my fault. CGU was quick at getting my car fixed but did not deal with the third party insurer properly. I was told by the third party insurer that CGU did not even respond to her emails and phone messages. Eventually I received a letter from the third party insurer that i must respond within 7 days otherwise they will take legal action against me. Cant understand why they are not doing the work when all information have been given.

Another thing, they keep putting me on the phone to people who either can't understand or speak English properly or people who have not idea what is going on with my case.

Absolutely hopeless company. we are changing our car insurer. CGU, not recommended at all.

Insurance TypeComprehensive and Compulsory Third Party
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim ApprovedYes
1 comment
Hey Angeline, we're disappointed to see this experience has left you feeling this way! Has the matter with the third party insurer been sorted yet? If not, we can help you get this looked into. I'd just need you to contact us via our Facebook page: facebook.com/cguinsurance with the claim number. Hope we can help get things back on track here Angeline! ~Jamie

one of the worst cgu insurance case manager totally no knowledge

hot line doesn't work. I have been hung up on several times. I have been waiting in line for more than 45 min.
Your team doesn't resolve anything. Doesn't call back when they say they would. Dragging out to pay for my claim and I can't get my car repaired
Absolutely ridiculous and useless company. one accident aske pay do claim to spertate what a joke.. give me a date to fix car next may 8th 2019... they said not sure what will happen . no contact nothing further information

Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim DateApril 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
1 comment
Hi Kumar, sorry to hear you are unhappy with your claims experience. If we can help, please PM our Facebook page with you claim number, name and address and we can escalate your comments to the claims manager to hopefully get this resolved for you as quickly as possible. ~Kaz

Appalling experience - still dragging on through numerous communication breakdowns

Having been with CGU for years we will be looking elsewhere to cover insurance for all our family and business vehicles. I'm in the middle of a vehicle claim that has been ongoing since October and am appalled at the repeated communication failures that continue to this very minute. From the telephone system being in a state of disrepair and not up to the task (almost guaranteed to get cut off during a transfer then told repeatedly that it is a 'hot transfer' issue that has been going on for months) ..... to the photographs of my car being sent through to the assessor and getting lost in the system .... to finally being reunited with my car and literally not recognising it as the smash repairer had resprayed wrong colour as he was never given details or photos of the car .... to the seemingly endless following up as the 'promised return calls' never arrived ... to the unanswered emails ... I'm on the phone now and the CGU rep on the other end has blamed a previous colleague for not being 'much chop' and keeps calling me 'love' [I am not your love; I am a customer] ... to the complaints process being directed to the wrong person. How CGU survives in the modern world of business is beguiling. I suspect I'll get a note saying "Thanks for the feedback and we're sorry ... blah blah ... please contact us on facebook. No, I don't use FB for that and no I'm not calling yet again to discuss and never hear from anyone again. CGU is a broken entity and I would recommend people take their business somewhere else.

Customer Service
3 comments
Hey Chris, we are sorry to hear this experience has been so lengthy and frustrating for you and do want to help. We do ask customers to contact us with their details via Facebook as this is a public page and we don't want them sharing their information here. However, if you don't mind, you can just post the claim number this complaint is referring to? We can then follow up on this with the right team for you and have someone call you back within the next 2-3 business days. We know you're very upset and really do want to help any way we can here. Thanks Chris. ~JamieHi - I am not using Facebook and already have a complaint in process. I’ve heard the ‘We’ll get back to you’ and heard nothing to date - just excuses of why a ‘former colleague’ was below par and shifting the blame. As I state in my comment, CGU’s communications are a broken entity. ChrisWe understand Chris and are sorry to hear we have let you down so much and lost your trust. If you change your mind and would like us to follow up on this complaint for you, just let us know. As I said, you can just leave your claim number here and we can go from there. Thank you. ~Jamie

Absolute Sh*t

Phone line doesn't work. I have been hung up on several times. I have been waiting in line for more than 45 min.
Your team doesn't resolve anything. Doesn't call back when they say they would. Dragging out to pay for my claim and I can't get my car repaired
Absolutely ridiculous and useless company

Insurance TypeComprehensive, Compulsory Third Party, Third Party Property Damage, Third Party, Fire and Theft and Veteran, Vintage and Classic Vehicle
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
7 comments
Hi P M R. Thank you for sharing your experience, it's certainly not to the level we aim to provide. If you would like more assistance with your claim use this link to our Facebook page to reach out via messenger: https://www.facebook.com/cguinsurance/. Just let us know you're from Product Review and some more information about your claim. ~ JonoHi, I don’t need any help! I need your ‚case worker‘ to do his job and finish my cad without stalling so I can finally get my car repaired. I need them to actually do their jobs and maybe even call back as they have promised so often. Why don’t you go and help them do their job as they are incredible slow and useless and seems to need a bit of help, instead of browsing the internet to find out that no customer is happy with that company. Just change something and you wouldn’t have to read all those reviews... Just do your job!We appreciate you're very frustrated P M R and we do want to help. If you change your mind and would like us to follow up on your concerns with the claims team for you, please PM us via the link above. We aren't directly a part of the claims team but we want to help any way we can. Thanks P M R. ~Jamie

Make the process more stressful, upsetting and horrible.

We decided to use cgu after getting a small discount through our bupa insurance. Unfortunately my husband was involved in a accident and our car came off worse. First thing i did once we did the police report was ring cgu. The first lady was helpful and polite and after taking details let me know that the claims officer would be in touch with in 1 business day. They were. They explained that it would be 2 to 3 business days for the assessor to be in touch. After that i got a email disputing the claim from the other driver. So i rung cgu and said that we were at fault. I was told i needed to pay the $600 excess asap, otherwise my claim would no proceed and then emailed a invoice for the $600. I paid this the next day. I then rung them that day and was told to give it a day for the money to show up. On the friday, 4 days after accident the crash repair company rung and said that the car would be looked at that after noon. It was, and at 4:30pm we rung them and was told it looks fixable. Rung Cgu about the excess payment, told its still not it. Monday morning (yesterday) i got a call from the crash repairer who informed me the car is a write off, come get your stuff and plates so we can move it to the yard for the cgu assessor. We rung cgu that afternoon, still no excess and then i was told that they will just deduct it from the payout. Not once since the wednesday has cgu rung, i don't know where the car is, i don't know where my $600 has gone. I have 5 children and it was the family car, so right now i can't get them anywhere. We did eveything right and everything that was asked only to seem very let down by this company, i am now moving the hubbys work car insurance and the contents insurance to another provider.
Update for Wednesday 6th of Feb. The car is now getting re looked at in their "yard", after my husband spent another 20 minutes on the phone to them. Again he had to call. And threaten to take the matter further. the lazy crash repairs had report for 5 days and no one at cgu would think to ring them and ask about it. The assessor who rang me this afternoon was very friendly but again I'm still in the dark as to what is going on. All I want is to know if it is a write off or if it's going to be fixed.
So far one call from cgu and one call from the assessor. And 2 from a useless crash repairer.
I have also been informed that I was not informed that I could choose my own crash repairer. On the first call I was asked if I wanted my car towed to the closest cgu approved repairer. Which is 20 minutes from where I live. I only found out after the crash and car was removed that I didn't have to use who they told me to take it to. Who had a report for 5 days and then rung to tell me it's a write off with out actually getting cgu assessor opinion on first. And that getting me to remove plates was jumping the gun.
Update 14 Feb. Nearly a week after being told it's a write off we are no closer to getting the pay out so we can start getting a new car. I HATE CGU. STAY AWAY

Value for Money
Customer Service
Insurance TypeComprehensive
Plan covers drivers under 25No
Car ModelHolden Captiva
Claim MadeYes
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateJanuary 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
3 comments
Hi jo l c, thank you for taking the time to review our product. If you would like the Social Team to escalate your concerns to the claims team you can drop us a line on Facebook Messenger. We don't directly manage claims but can certainly pass this on to a claims manager on your behalf. You should be feeling supported during your claims process, not how you have been left feeling. I hope we can reach a good solution for you soon so you and your family are back on the road ~RenaeThanks for the response, my claim was finally sorted, but company still took premium payments after the case was closed, still waiting on my refund.Let us know if you don't get the refund resolved jo~Renae

CGU/HBF the worst applying experience

Caveat: HBF and CGU is purely the same. CGU is the insurer for HBF. HBF quote was $2/month more expensive although I got a 5% discount from them due to home insurance :-) PDS, which I read from and to, is 1 to 1 among those. HBF, by the way, when did copy/paste lost some statements' endings :-D
Tried to apply via the CGU Website. For my brand new Tiguan Wolfsburg Edition 2018 + extras the maximum they offered in agreed value was ~$59K when I was paying $65K. The thing is, the car actually MY19 but was manufactured in Dec 2018. In REGO it's 2018. If I chose 2019 manufacture year, I'd be able to apply for a proper agreed value. Yet was not allowed by the insurer. Was registering in Jan 2019. My request via the Contact Centre to raise the agreed value to $65K was not approved, even via the manager. As a result: Have a nice day to CGU/HBF :-)
NRMA had max ~$63K but after a call to contact centre I was approved to $66.5K agreed sum. Excellent service acknowledgement credit goes to NRMA.

Hey HBF/CGU you have just lost a 3 yr old client and his loyalty. The flexibility and listening to client requests will be a benefit for you.

Outcome: Avoid those guys. Their attitude to the client shows what'd be next. Done.

P.S. for the same more or less insurance, YOUI offered a very funny quote of $254 per month whereas NRMA is about $180.

Insurance claim madeNo
3 comments
Hi William, thank you for your review and we are sorry to hear you have left us for another provider as we were unable to provide you with the agreed value you wanted for your vehicle. We will be sure to let them team know about your experience and thanks for taking the time to share this. ~KazDear Kaz, was it actually possible to make amendments? Your reply is about nothing. Apologies but I do not see here that you would resolve such issues for other customers in the future.Hi William. Unfortunately it is not always possible to insure a vehicle for the price that our customers would like to. There can be sharp differences in vehicle's prices depending on when they were manufactured, imported or even registered. I understand this can be frustrating however it looks like you followed the right steps by speaking with a manager to see if there was any other solutions for you. As Kaz has said we have passed your experience on to the underwriting team as feedback to identify way to improve for the future. But as I mentioned it is not always possible to insure a vehicle for the price a customer would like. ~ Jono

Terrible claims experience

Would not recommend Cgu as a Insurance company.

My claim has been going for a month I am not closer to finding out if my car will be a write off or repaired the car was towed 3 weeks ago to a repairer after numerous phone calls of cgu wanting me to drive the car without tail lights and a front and back windscreen.

The repairer they towed it to apparently cannot assess hail damage so was advised the car will be towed to a hail cente 50 mins away.

Car has been there 5 days and has still not been assessed.

They cannot tell me where my car is how it was kept if has further water damage from being left in the rain.

Even though I am speaking with a lady from there I have been no closer to a resolution.

According to berowra community page the best insurers for claims have been budget direct and you i so do your self a favour and avoid cgu.

I am an ex employee of IAG use to work for Nrma I've lost all faith in them after this experience.

I have given them to 5pm Thursday to advise if my car will be written off or repaired . I will be writing to A Current Affair to tell my story and lodging a complaint with AFCA.

Avoid CGU

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Hi Tara, thanks for your review. That certainly does sound like a long time to wait. Could you PM this page or our Facebook page with your claim number so we can escalate your complaint to the claims manager so we can see if we can get this resolved more quickly for you. ~Kaz

20% Premium Increase

After 3 years with CGU (as underwriter for Bendigo Bank Insurance), with no claims (ever!), I was surprised when my annual premium increased by 20%. When they were phoned I was given the usual, pre drafted, spiel about the cost of repairs increasing, I am getting older (a major insult - I am 63 and still working), the car getting older (4 year old Mercedes), the area I live in being high risk (I haven't moved) and the fact it is financed (no it isn't - but why should that matter?). One phone call to one insurance company and CGU's premium was already reduced by 28%. Penalising loyal customers for being loyal and not claiming isn't a sound business model. On face value the cost of the banking enquiry is being passed on via secondary products.

Insurance claim madeNo
2 comments
Hi Gary, thanks for your review regarding your renewal premium. Our underwriting team determine your premium according to the data they evaluate. Your insurance premium is based on the likelihood of a claim being made on your policy in the future. The rating factors which affect your premium are indeed the age and make, model of your car, the location where the car is kept and the driver age and driving history. Every company offers different benefits and features with their policies so pricing will differ from company to company. We will be sure to pass on your thoughts to the team, thanks again for sharing your comments. ~KazKaz, based on your assessment I am an ageing driver with a poor history driving a poor car in a poorly rated suburb - otherwise there is no justification for a 20% increase in premium. Surprising, given Mercedes is a well rated vehicle and I have never had an accident, let alone a claim and my suburb is deemed low risk (I checked) and I drive less than 5,000km per year. Perhaps my luck is due to run out. I have insured with a competitor at a 28% discount to your quote (and a reduced excess by 25%). No need to respond.

Medical treatment

My child had an accident almost causing near death 4 years plus. CGU is the insurance company for the company. Having to deal with these monkeys and still today they have treated my child like a nobody and have made my child feel it too. They continuously send him too specialist after specialist which is causing more harm to my child mentally and physically. I wish there was someone whom has had an accident like my child that works for CGU that can relate to my child as I know these office monkeys sitting behind a desk is only reading from a book and not the reality of the situation. We just want this company and employer to fix what they know is wrong with him but like to take the piss out of a person who was normal but now suffers PTSD and other serious medical symptoms. Believe me if my child even thinks of suicide or succeeds we will ensure CGU and the doctors CGU pay off will be legally held responsible. CGU is good for nothing.

Insurance claim madeNo
1 comment
Hey Angry, sorry to hear about the accident to your child, we wish him all the very best with this recovery. We would like to escalate your concerns to the correct area, could you PM this page or our Facebook page with full claim details to allow us to do this, many thanks. ~Kaz

Horrible

I have had the worst experience on the phones, they allowed me to create a policy but not under my name so i couldn’t cancel it:/ and then getting through to them was terrible. Plus there are no benefits, I put it on hold for a few months as my car was off the road temporarily and then they put me back on the road and charged me a heap of backpayments out of my bank without my permission

Insurance claim madeNo
2 comments
Hi Cassandra, thanks for your review. Sadly we cant put policies on hold so you would have needed to cancel the policy if you no longer wanted to insure the vehicle. Only the policy owner can amend and cancel the policy so if you chose to create a policy in another name, they would be the ones to cancel. ~KazStill not happy with how this third party communication went... lacking highly

Customer service is terrible!

I called to ask one question regarding the details of my policy and the person who I talked to was super arrogant and impatient. The only answer he gave to me is to ask a lawyer!!! My enquiry is relating to the policy details, why should I go to a solicitor? This is the worst customer service I have ever had!!!!!

Insurance claim madeNo
1 comment
Wow Joan, that certainly doesn't sound like the level of service we strive for at CGU. If we can help with a question about your policy please send us a Facebook message and we can help. ~Kaz

Stalls at Every Step of Claim Processing

As a person assisting a claimant, I can say CGU is possibly the worst insurance company I have dealt with in 25 years. CGU under-valued the vehicle, claimed it had tried to contact the claimant when it had not, claimed it had not received information from the claimant when it had, and on multiple occasions delayed for days or weeks on quick administrative processes unless we phoned CGU and complained about nothing being done. If you insure with CGU, expect to have to do this over and over and over again for every step of the claim process. If CGU staff need something from you in order to take the next step in the claim process, they probably won't tell you. They'll probably wait until you ask why nothing's happening. Then they'll do nothing with what they receive until you phone them again. When they say they'll process a payment "right now", that means they'll submit it to two authorisers, which will take more time. Then, after that, they will say it takes 3-5 days to reach the recipient's bank account, when there's no justification for that. And this is all after they've already done nothing for nearly a week after receiving what they said was the last documentation they needed - when the crash was 2 months ago. I have virtually no evidence that this company does anything required of it until a complaint is raised indicating that it hasn't been done.

Insurance claim madeNo
1 comment
Hi James, sounds like you have had a very frustrating experience. We certainly do not want our customers or assistants feeling like that. If the claimant would like to PM via Messenger their personal details and claim number we can refer their complaint on to claims, and escalate to Management on their behalf. ~Renae

Slow and Dumb

Two weeks since the non at fault accident and CGU haven’t even bothered to check to see if the vehicle is at the destined repairer. The extra cost car hire inclusion in the policy is a joke too. It only lasts for 21 days - come tomorrow 14 days would have passed and our vehicle is still left in no mans land. Urgency or follow-up is sadly not a priority of CGU’s. Avoid!
Get this too, we must fork out of our own pocket the cost of car hire for any period over the poultry 21 days CGU offers and then try to claim the cost back from the at fault party’s insurer without a guarantee of being reimbursed.
This company is more like CGFU!
And ... don’t get me started on all the contradictory information received from nearly everybody spoken to at CGU during this claim. I must mention the rude and abrupt phone transfer to a repairer without being advised of being transferred to and having to call back CGU to after this to resolve another issue I was on the phone about. Rude, arrogant and unhelpful!

Insurance claim madeYes
1 comment
Hi there, thanks for the review. We are sad to hear about your recent claim experience with us. We can see why you are frustrated, not hearing from your insurance company during a tough time just adds fuel to the fire. We don't feel comfortable leaving you feel this way and would like to help. Please feel free to PM us your claim and contact details. I can organise a call back from our claims team for you to discuss your concerns and next steps within 24 business hours. We are keen to get the feedback to the consultants who you have spoken with during the duration of the claim too. Happy to help! ~Rubie

1 1/2 hours (2 calls) to transfer to my new vehicle then see what happens

Over 7 years with CGU. I thought I had my new car covered from 08.11.2018 but then I get a cancellation letter dated 13.11.2018 in the mail saying cheque to follow. It was suppose to be a simple transfer from existing car to a new one and at no stage did I request cancellation per the latest letter. I dealt with Liz based in Manila, Phillipines who advised me of the e/premium $109.95 & I tried to pay but she said I could not as I had to wait for the paperwork to arrive (5-10 days) so I could check it’s accuracy & then I could ring up & pay. Policy would be a new one (internal system generated only) but I would keep the same policy number. So I am not really sure now whether I am covered or not. I suppose another call needs to be made tomorrow the 16.12.2018

Insurance claim madeNo
3 comments
Hi Greg S, I just replied to your other message saying your policy number would be included in this review? I am unsure if the system has automatically hidden it for privacy reasons? To be able to look into this matter on your behalf I just need to locate your files. Thanks in advance ~RenaeAfter another 3 calls & another 1 hour & 35 minutes on the phone talking to 2 people in Manila & finally one in Australia I cancelled my cover. Hard copy documents when received were wrong along with system and staff not knowing what they are doing and revised premium was over the top. If I could rate my experience it would be no stars at allThanks for letting us know GregS, we are really sorry the service you received was not up to scratch, we will be sure to pass on your comments. ~Kaz

On hold

As I write this I'm on hold. It took 1 hour and 5 minutes to get through, and then I got put on hold again. 1 hour and 42 minutes later, I think I'll give up.

Insurance claim madeNo
3 comments
Hi Beriev, Sorry the hear that the phone lines have been so delayed. If there is anything the Social Team can assist with, please feel free to PM us via Facebook Messenger ~RenaeI don't use Facebook so not an option. The only reason I'm leaving this comment is to make you aware of how bad the delay is, otherwise you have no way of knowing.We appreciate that Beriev, we have passed on your feedback to the team to let them know. ~Kaz

Shocking

Loyal cgu customer for almost 20 years. I got the new car insurance policy it went up $ 144 dollars when i phoned cgu about in they given me three reasons no 1 it was my post code no 2 it was my age and no 3 that i was going to make i claim so i went online for a quote and the price for i new member was $360 dollars less so as a loyal customer you get nothing as a new customer you get a great deal even after you email cgu the new quote never ever again with cgu not even a good recommendation policy is now cancelled.

Insurance claim madeNo
2 comments
Thanks for your honest feedback 'ebay for ever'. You should not be left feeling like this - your renewal should be a competitive quote whether you are renewing or a new customer. If you would like the Social Team to follow up on this matter please PM us your policy details. Once again, we appreciate your review but apologise that you have experienced this after your long term loyalty ~Renaepolicy 23b808303700 16 thanks for the offer renae but as usual cgu is not goingto look in to the case as the team manager claims she tried to solve the matter by phone o the 4 nov and the 5 and the 6 cup day she must have phoned the wrong number because i do not have any calls registerd on my phone now i have 8 different quotes so the best way was to cancell the policy and go with some one else i'm thinking of taking the matter to current afairs as cgu even after having received my emails has not tried to do anything all i get is $ 2 to $3 dollars off

Page 1 of 8

Questions & Answers

I have full comprehensive private use car insurance with CGU will this insurance cover me if I am doing deliveries for the chemist I work for?
No answers

I have just been told by CGU that if my car is a write-off (after an accident that was not my fault), the remainder of my premiums for the year (11 months remaining) would be deducted from the "market value". Is this common business practice?
2 answers
Hi Peter, thank you for your question. Unfortunately it is common practice, not just with CGU, even if there is only one month remaining, as it was in my case. They even deduct the remainder of the registration and you have to chase it back from the Department of Transport. Cheers NicaIt's correct that is is common practice. Whether you pay in one lump sum or monthly instalments, it's still a 12-month contract and states this clearly in your PDS. If you want to pay only 1/12th of what you agreed to pay them, then you should be happy to accept only 1/12th of the market value.

Anyone know how much a cancellation fee is from CGU car insurance?
2 answers
Sorry Annie I can't help, I will be cancelling but my insurance is a long term one, i just assumed for me that I will just tell them I have changed insurers. Best to ring them.As far as I know, if your premium is fully paid for a year and decided to cancel it before the expiry date, e.g. six months before it expires, you will be refunded of the remaining unspent months. If you are paying monthly, it will cease on the month you cancel your policy. Check your policy to make sure...

Details

CGU Car Insurance
CategoryCar Insurance
Contact Number 13 24 81
Other Insurance Types Offered Home and Contents and Travel
Coverage OfferedComprehensive, Third Party Property Damage and Third Party, Fire and Theft
Roadside Assistance OfferedNo

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.