??!
2 photos
Chromagen 300L Solar Boost

Chromagen 300L Solar Boost

1.3 from 60 reviews

Reviews

(0)
(3)
(0)
(8)
(49)
  • Build Quality
    1.6 (7)
  • Value for Money
    1.7 (7)
  • Cleaning & Maintenance
    1.7 (6)
  • Noise Level
    2.4 (5)
  • Temperature Consistency
    2.0 (6)
  • Heating Speed
    2.3 (6)
KevinP

KevinPPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews

Only lasted 5 years and 5 months!

published

Had the solar hot water unit installed in 2014. When installed, we found the mains water was not connected and when the electric boost had been tested the element was destroyed. The element was replaced but within 12 months we had to have the main valve replaced. Now 5 years and 5 months later the tank and valves have had to be replaced because they were rusted. The technician believes it is a result of the initial installation problem. Of course, it is 5 months outside of the warranty. Have purchased another brand.
Contacted Chromagen but never received a response!

Purchased in March 2014.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
George

GeorgeMurray Mallee, SA

  • 3 reviews

Chromagen 300L Solar Boost, a system and company to avoid!!

published

Unsuitable for Australian Conditions

published

System has continued to overheat from new. Relief valve has been replaced twice and distributor maintained it was normal for the unit to vent hot water to cool down, but not for 45 mins at a time. It has overheated on most days when temperature is 30 degrees or above. If this unit is exposed to the sun then it basically overheats. We are on tank water only so we cannot afford to lose so much water. Unit has been in use for 6 years, is now spewing out rust coloured water and we are getting rid of it. Unit was supplied as part of a builders package which I won't name. Avoid this product.

Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Chromagen 300L Solar Boost compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Office worker

Office worker

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Never go for it!

published

Purchased in May 2019.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Household Size 1 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
None

NoneSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Even too big for a boat anchor !

published

This piece of crap came with the house we built. If only we’d known.
After seven years of fettling, repairing and wasting my poor electricians time, we’ ve had a gutful...its going . A couple days rain and i flicked the boost switch on to help the solar water. Wife came home to no hot water.

Chromagen is a piece of crap! Dont ever go there, buy a quality Australian product. If thats not clear, ....its crap!

Purchased in September 2012.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
bashy

bashyGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Stay away

published

Shocking product and even worse customer service. It leaks, it's noisy and of course it's never the product's fault according to Chromagen. Unfortunately this piece of crap came with the house and we'll be bypassing it as soon as we get a chance.

Purchased in May 2016.

Build Quality
Noise Level
Value for Money
breakylover

breakyloverGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC

  • 3 reviews

Rubbish

published

In the 6 years we've owned a Chromagen solar hot water unit we endured one rusted out unit costing us over $300 in labour to replace under warranty. We are just about to replace our second 'release value' which has cost us not only in parts and labour but in countless litres of wasted water! This unit has cost us more than saved us with the solar component. We didn't have an option with this unit as it was installed under a spec builders contract but do you home work and stay clear of Chromagen!

Purchased in March 2013.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Helen

Helenmelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

very bad quality

published

our unit was installed by HENLY and it was leaking on my roof I do not know for how long at first the leak was very small and hard to detect but my water bills got bigger and bigger until one day
we had a huge fountain of water spouting on the roof I had to call a emergency plumber to disconnect the water from the panel on the roof and was told not to have it repaired because everything was rusted.Much cheaper to get a quality hot water system installed then put up with the poor quality of this. Since the solar panel was disconnected my hot water gas bill has actually gone down ?? Why do people still go for this product?

Purchased in May 2009.

Jeff

JeffSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 5 reviews

Not much trouble in 12 years

published

Had this brand since 2007 and the only major problem was a leak in the roof unit. Replaced quickly and the safety valve leaks a little , but it's 12 years old. Quite happy I purchased this unit. Jeff

Purchased in July 2007 at Todd's Plumbing Gold Coast for $1,799.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Noise Level
Value for Money
Household Size 2 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Chromagen 300L Solar Boost compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Greg P

Greg PSydney, NSW

  • 6 reviews

Unreliable product

published

Purchased in November 2008 for $3,200.00.

Build Quality
Cleaning & Maintenance
Value for Money
Household Size 4 person(s)
Functionality
Temperature Consistency
Heating Speed
See all answers

TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY

published

Purchased a 300 litre solar hot water system.Product is unreliable and a waste of money.Stopped working 3 times in 4 years.Replaced with a new unit but I had to pay for installation.$495 out of pocket.So called customer service is non existant.Complaint handballed and very rude service.Excuse made for getting cut off during phonecall.Hung up on more like it.Old unit rusted out around fittings and poor installation and poor water quality blamed.DO NOT PURCHASE THEIR PRODUCTS.

Date PurchasedJul 2014

Disgraceful product

published
Date PurchasedDec 2014
Kiran

KiranGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 12 reviews
  • 5 likes

Scam artists, Terrible Customer Service, Rip Off Agents, Run Miles Away When You Hear Their Name!!!!

published
Date PurchasedApr 2015
Susan F

Susan FAlstonville

Tank failed at 4.5yrs replacement at 2yrs

published

Chromogen 300L Vitreous Enamel Tank installed July 2012. Outlet joint at tank rusted and failed September 2016. Tank replaced under warranty. Outlet joint tank rusted and failed August 2018. Tank NOT covered under Warranty. Now up for total replacement solar hot water system - not Chromogen - with not recompense from Chromogen for faulty product. Now heard of multiple experiences with this product. Don't touch Chromogen

Date PurchasedJul 2012
Archimedean

ArchimedeanGippsland, VIC

  • 6 reviews
  • 3 likes

Jury Still Out on this Chromagen 300L Solar Hot water System but not very promising.

published
Date PurchasedMay 2018
Solar Water Heaters

Find out how Chromagen 300L Solar Boost compares to other Solar Water Heaters

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Old fashioned

Old fashionedPerth, WA

Warranty Customer service

published

System was installed on new home seven and a half years ago, solar panel started to leak just after the seven year warranty expired, contacted Chromagen to see if they would be prepared to come to some arrangement answer was a BLUNT No you are out of warranty.
I was not surprised that to replace the one panel it was no longer manufactured so had to purchase two.
Was made to pay up front then advised service call would be within 48hrs took them 9 days.
Installation done by Green Logic rubbish left on solar electric panels next to replaced panels.
Would not recommend either company both displayed extremely poor service.

Date PurchasedSep 2010
Shortysgirl

ShortysgirlYackandandah, Victoria

  • 19 reviews

Warranty not good enough

published
Date PurchasedApr 2016
Not Happy

Not HappyCentral Highlands and Goldfields, VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Do not buy Chromagen!

published

Two burst solar panels almost 1 year apart, first was no frost valve installed (Why I do not know) We live in a suburb known for frosts. Second was a faulty panel, also my hot water service rusted out within 4 years. Sure all under warranty but you get charged for call out fees for plumber. Last year it took 2 weeks for Chromagen to get a plumber out, which means my family had no water For 2 weeks. Never again!

Date PurchasedMay 2014

Less than 3 years old and this israeli made tank is KAPUT!!

published
Date PurchasedFeb 2016
Harvinder

HarvinderOfficer

  • 3 reviews
  • Verified purchase

The Worst hot solar water system in the world!!

published

Our rubbish Chromagen system is only two years old installed by Henley. First time the frost valve and now the joiner washers gone resulting in water leak wasting $570 on repairs. Never ever agree to have this piece of garbage installed! I haven’t saved more in bills than I wasted on this!

Date PurchasedDec 2015
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

LetsTalk

LetsTalkasked

I had a Chromagen solar Eternity gas boosted unit.
Installed around 2013 but not sure if it was ever eorking since the day it was installed. Recently went to check the PTR valve, cold water was squirting out and there was a rattle/rumbling sound when the valve was lifted as-if it was trying to get out the air trapped inside. The wayer in the tank was cold and do not seem heated. The wire leading to the panels (asdime it was the sensor) was half buried behind the downpipe. However I was still getting instant hot water from the Eternity gas boosted heater.
Reading the reviews is worrying and I am thinking if it would be a waste of $$ trying to fix it or just continue relying on the instant hot water service.
Any reason why I should call someone from Chromagen as the cost of call-out appeared worrying or should I use a licensed plumber?

3 answers
Kiran
Kiran

The moment you get the unit touched by a third party, Chromagen will relinquish all warranty on the product. The risk is too much compared to what you will lose on the call out fee.

If you want the unit functioning like it was meant to and it bothers you that the solar panels are not being utilised, then you are better off forking the callout fee. These guys will not bat an eyelid to pull a scam on you, so be extra careful when they are onsite.

LetsTalk
LetsTalk

Thanks Kiran. Mine is just passed 5 years so I wonder if there will be any warranty. A plumber came, spotted the pump had corroded. Advised don't bother fixing. About to decomission every part of the solar components and run with instant gas heating. Supply and usage $400 total cost for gas per year. If the instant heater goes, I will get everything decommisioned and replace with another instant gas heater quoted replace/install $1500.

Kiran
Kiran

You may just bypass the water going to the panels and continue using gas boosted hot water. The gas boosted component will not give way too soon, so eventually when it does you could get everything decommissioned and go for an instant gas heater. Why bother touching the installation when the pump is corroded and not pumping water to the panels anyways.

Leanne

Leanneasked

I have the 300L solar hws with tank on ground. We get creeking and banging sounds from the pipes a couple of times per week. Could you please advise what this maybe?

4 answers
Susan F
Susan F

Hi leanne
We too had creaking and banging sounds. Ours corrided at outlet at 4 and then 2yrs. I would suggest contacting chromogen service provider and getting full review of tank and all connections. Especially if less than 5 yrs and whilst still covered by warranty. Good luck. Susan

Old fashioned
Old fashioned

Hi Leanne
I have not had that problem but have had corrosion with a solar panel that was just out of warranty 7years strongly recommend you contact chromagen now as they will not take any responsibility if out of warranty I had to replace both panels at my cost

Archimedean
Archimedean

Hi Leanne,
As far as I am aware we have not had this issue. However I am curious as to where the creaking and banging sounds are coming from since we have had some rather mysterious creaking sounds coming from the roof space and have had occasional loud bangs and have not been able to identify the source.

MichS

MichSasked

Got a water leak from a Chromagen Eternity G20 solar hot water system.Its more like a cold water drip underneath between the gas supply elbow on the right of the system underneath the flue(or gas booster box).Can this leak be fixed do you know?...thank you

1 answer
Jack Beulah
Jack Beulah

I'm not a gas plumber ...so can't answer your question.

Get an answer from our members and Chromagen representatives

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.