??!
1 photo
Combat Ant-Rid Liquid

Combat Ant-Rid Liquid

2.8 from 67 reviews

Reviews

2.8

67 reviews
5
(23)
4
(5)
3
(4)
2
(5)
1
(30)
Previous
Next
Thomas

ThomasSydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Ant rid does not work

published

I have used this product before many years ago. Worked perfectly at that time. Now the new product which I recently purchased does not work at all. Ants simply walk around the droplet along its paths. The ants stayed away from the droplet.

Purchased in March 2020.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Kitchen
chicken

chickenSydney, NSW

  • 23 reviews

Something has changed, it doesn't work anymore

published

Something seems to have changed, this used to be my goto product and was very effective at controlling the ants, even working outside quite well.

This summer's ant season and the Ant-Rid doesn't seem to be working at all, only effective at reducing the numbers a little bit before they come back with a vengeance a week later. I even went through 5 bottles.

I switched to the Talon syringe gel product and it did the trick.

Purchased in January 2020 at Coles for A$4.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Bathroom, Kitchen, Living/Dining Room and Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
MarkEm

MarkEmMelbourne

  • 16 reviews
  • 1 like

It works better than expected. Make sure you follow the instructions exactly.

published

We recently had an ant problem. Worse than previous years and was in somewhat impossible to handle.

1st time user of the product. Purchased a twin pack from Bunnings. Hardly used 1/4 of one bottle.

Black ants outdoors around the bins and slightly smaller brown ants inside.

I live in southern Victoria - so the effectiveness may differ depending on where you live.

I followed the instructions to the tee.

Ants were gone in just under a week. My observation was biggest drop in ant numbers was from the 2nd day of 1st application and became less everyday.

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Kitchen, Living/Dining Room and Outdoors
Pet OwnerNo
See all answers
Pest Control Products

Find out how Combat Ant-Rid Liquid compares to other Pest Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Pauline Poppi

Pauline PoppiFar North Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

What a shame the standard of the product has worsened

published

I have been using the Combat Ant-Rid liquid 50ml bottle for many years and have seen it go from a wonderful product to one that is governed by the almighty dollar, It used to be yellow in colour with a liquid that was quite thick, it then became thinner, and now it has become an inferior product that is runny like water with an opaque colour which makes it exceptionally hard to both see and apply when placed on a surface.

Purchased in September 2019 at Coles for A$4.10.

Infested Area Bathroom, Kitchen, Living/Dining Room and Outdoors
Pet OwnerNo
Kathy

KathyGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 2 reviews

The only one that works!

published

After a continuous battle with ants around the outside of my home and trying so many products and useless sprays I found that the ‘good ‘ol’ Ant Rid liquid is the only product that’s worked!
I placed some into small plastic bottle lids in areas where there were trails. I then placed half a brick or a large rock on an angle to cover the lid enough so the ants still could get to it but pets can’t get to it. Within a day or two the trails in those areas stopped. I continued to refill the lids with the ant rid until the trails stopped completely. You need to be persistent and top up the ant rid. Also, if the trails relocated, I just moved the ant rid to those areas.

Purchased in January 2020 at Coles for A$5.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
kBI

kBISydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Not effective like it used to be.

published

brought this product a few weeks ago and applied it a no. of times but ants keep coming. Applied every 2nd day and there are thousands of ants still coming. Seems like they have changed the formula and it no longer works. Going to go and buy another brand.

Purchased in December 2019 for A$5.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Kitchen and Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
John Lewis

John LewisSydney, NSW

Year two with Antrid

published

Last year Antrid worked and the ants disappeared. In the last 2 weeks ants have come into the kitchen and an application of ant rid seems to have no effect. John Lewis

Purchased in December 2019 at IGA .

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Kitchen
Pet OwnerNo
See all answers
jian53

jian53Richmond-Tweed, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Taking a while to work

published

Okay, here is the thing. The ant kill liquid appears to attract the little black ants in the kitchen. There are probably a few million ants in a nest. It is a slow poison that will take a few days to spread through the nest and reach a level of toxicity where it starts knocking over the ants. It might take a couple of weeks of regular doses for it to reach and kill the queen, but then the battle is over and the nest will die off. I am on day three, and the ants have not learned to avoid it, yet.

Purchased in March 2019 at Woolworths.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Kitchen
Pet OwnerNo
See all answers
1 comment
jian53
jian53
Katrina Price

Katrina PriceBlacktown

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Still trying it out

published

Not sure yet. The ants didn't seem interested at first, but I had noticed that when I left a used coffee cup around they swarmed to it. So I tried the trick of putting a few drops of sugar based, liquid in the lid with the ant rid and they swarmed to it. Only just started using it so don't know but will follow with review. Have noticed that the ants seem to look a bit sluggish after they drink the liquid.

12 hours after placement all ants had disappeared and haven't seen any sign of them since. This is three days later.

Pest Control Products

Find out how Combat Ant-Rid Liquid compares to other Pest Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
cherry collins

cherry collinsWest Brunswick

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

ants are ignoring antrid.

published

I googled this because this once perfect product does not seem to work now. 2018. once a whole circle of ants ran to the droplet but now, I am lucky to get one. I got it to slightly work better, not much mind you..by sprinkling a little sugar over and in the ant rid...BUT I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO DO THIS. I wont be buying it again. either they changed the recipe or the ants are now self aware and not effected by it. DONT BUY IT.

Sam w

Sam w

  • 2 reviews

Ummm Ant Feed!

published
Phil_Parry

Phil_ParryAU

  • 4 reviews

Waste of Money

published

Some years ago Ant-Rid was the goto product and worked brilliantly. So I guess people like myself just grab the product based on the original product reputation. Not again. With all the changes that manufacturers have to comply with in this country now, I'm guessing that anything 'poison' has to be modified. Sheez!..wouldn't want to hurt ants now, would we. Anyhow, laid 4 baits right on the black line of ants. Watched for 10 mins. Not one ant was attracted. They just walked aound the bait (I think I could hear some ants laughing) and 3 days later, I still have an infestation. Oh well at least it comes in a nice packet. (sigh!)

Have Antrid change formula

published

Used to work great but lately the solution is more watery and the ants are not attracted to it any more, waste of money now ..does not work avoid this product.

Kitty girl

Kitty girlNsw, 2143

Ants ignore it.

published

First up, I'm reviewing the ant rid traps not the liquid. We have a severe ant problem in the caravan but the black ants just walked straight around or through the traps without even stopping! Think I'll go back to Borax and sugar.

Woody

WoodySydney, NSW

  • 12 reviews
  • 3 likes

Used to be ok

published

Recommended by a friend to use Ant-Rid liquid to fight ants problem. it works for the first few bottles but somehow the ants may have adapted to it and they eat and grow bigger than ever before. The ants keep coming back after weeks or month. Time to find an alternative solution

Pest Control Products

Find out how Combat Ant-Rid Liquid compares to other Pest Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
ElPistole

ElPistoleSydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Bam, and they're gone

published

I'd had ants appearing in fits and spurts around the apartment for weeks. I did a quick wipe down, then dripped the whole bottle of ant-rid in all the windows frames, along the base of the balcony doors and any other suspicious nooks and crannies. Well, since then - bang - all done! Nothing, not a peek. Could not be better than that! Fantastic.

Dave

Dave

  • 5 reviews
  • 1 like

Unfortunately. outcome was not significant.

published

I was having a moderated level severity ant invasion at my house. Had done some research online which lead me to this Combat Ant-Rid Liquid. Review was kind of bipolar. But i gave it a go anyway. The instruction said it will require consistency of application, which i have been doing it for 3 weeks. The amount of ant has decreased but still quite some of them were hanging around. It works but not to perfect standard as it calms

sculpter

sculpterWollongong

Combat Ant-Rid Liquid????? Finding recently purchased Ant-Rid useless ! ! !

published

Finding recently purchased Ant-Rid useless ! ! ! Where can I purchase Combat Ant-Rid , as ants are taking over my entire house in this very warm weather. We are on the coast near Wollongong.

Nam

NamCanberra 2600, ACT

  • 2 reviews

Terrible product-Waste of money

published

Terrible product.Ant just passed and went straight to where they get attracted... but not ANT RID ever. So struggling, never ever used this product again. Waste of money and time.

Natasha

Natasha

  • 6 reviews
  • 1 like

Waste of money!

published

I have always sworn by ant rid but it has become useless. I know it can take time but we have been using it for weeks and the ants just avoid it. It seems a lot more watery than it used to. Perhaps they have changed the formula. I wouldn't recommend it anymore.

Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Ginger K.

Ginger K.asked

How come the ant rid gel isn’t thick anymore?
The last bottles I ever had would drop down onto the window ledge and stick up like a gel bubble, it was a darker brown colour too.
The new dual packet ant rid I bought at Bunnings is light like a pale yellow colour and drips down and spreads across the ledge like water. Then the ants don’t hover around it like a sperm to an ovum (that’s what they use to do)
The new ant rid - the ants just walk around it like it’s water.

I’ve been using ant rid for a few weeks now and nothing had happened - it’s like it’s a fertilisation drug - more and more and more ants are coming

2 answers
MarkEm
MarkEm

I'm a 1st time user and so far it has worked really well. I applied it at night as there is generally less movement around the house - not sure if that is of any help.

Pauline Poppi
Pauline Poppi

As I stated in my review, the quality of the product has deteriorated every time I purchased one. This is my third bottle.

Bett

Bettasked

I have placed ant baits around door in laundry. They seem to have one track going
along the base of the door. The baits have been there for 8 days they seem to go away for a while and then come back again. How long does it take to work?

5 answers
Katrina Price
Katrina Price

Hard to say, we placed some drops in an old lid, I then poured in some left over coffee. The sugar in the coffee attracted them and they drank the poison with the liquid. They were gone in about 12 hours. Without the sweet liquid they didn't seem interested in the bait.

Jay
Jay

Bett - Do yourself a favour, go find Talon Gel and try that.. Personal experience recently with Antrid especially the baits is it was hopeless and nothing like it once was. Same experience as you, they came and then go and you think great, then they back again and often totally ignore the baits.. we persisited for about 3 weeks and gave it up with Antrid..

Use a bit of Talon Gel and in less than a day no more ants and not seen them there since. You do this and watch the 'MASSIVE' invasion of ants and they will not go past the gel which you can put anywhere, vertical, Horizontal even upside down on a ceiling if need too.

Had one other invasion in lounge room, same deal put out a couple 1cm long string of Talon Gel, within a day the ants gone never seen them back.. Talon is dearer (about $8 a tube) but absolutely worth it and worked for us 100% and at the moment outside in our region it is a massive invasion of ants absolutely everywhere, have not bothered with them outside as there are billions and billions of them, but they do not come into house anymore... Still have the tube we opened in storage for just in case, not needed so far for months.. Good luck...

Bett
Bett

Thank you for your information will give a try

drift

driftasked

the ants seems to be drinking it and dying or drowning instead of collecting it and bringing it to the nest. i tried to put the ant rid in a cap at first but that seemed to make most of them drown so i moved to just putting pools of it on the kitchen counter but now they are just dying while still surrounding the puddle of ant rid. am i using it wrong?

1 answer
cherry collins
cherry collins

Well after some ant trouble and finding the borax mixture didnt work here and at first the antrid did not work....I finally have a solution, partly due to help from others and partly my experiments. I went back to antrid, which the ants would not go near before. There seems to be a trick to it someone pointed out....USE ONLY ONE DROP of antrid in any one spot......you can put one drop, in as many places as you want, but only one drop....and they seem to go for it.....but use a larger circle of it and no, they wont eat it. The second thing is, I had to drop a few grains of sugar into the art rid and around it.....not too much because we want to be killing them, not giving them dessert. lol. After trying this, it seems to work well. Good luck.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.