??!
1 photo
Talon Ant Killer Gel

Talon Ant Killer Gel

4.0 from 58 reviews

Reviews

4.0

58 reviews
5
(38)
4
(3)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(8)
Previous
Next
Nathan

NathanHobart, TAS

  • 2 reviews

Great product for the price

published

I had an infestation of small black house ants in the walls recently. I firstly sprayed the outside of the house with surface spray, as there were ants nests outside. This stopped further ants from moving into the walls or allowing another colony from starting up again. The rest of the nest that was inside the walls, I placed the talon ant gel next to the trails inside the house and allowed the ants to eat the bait until it was gone. I had to use nearly the whole syringe and place the bait for multiple days, but it has rid the ants in my house. Very happy with the product and will use it again.

Purchased in April 2020 for A$8.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Bathroom and Kitchen
Pet OwnerNo
See all answers
Anthony

AnthonyNew South Wales

  • 3 reviews

Did not work with tiny brown ants

published

As stated in other reviews if you have small brown ants, don't bother.

I followed the instructions, put the gel in locations I the ants had been visiting. They came out later and just walked around the gel. One or two showed a bit of interest before continuing on.

Purchased in February 2020 at Woolworths for A$7.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Kitchen
Pet OwnerNo
See all answers
Higsby

HigsbySouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 3 reviews

The dogs ********

published

I've tried all sorts but Talon is the only one that works in a short time and lasts for a reasonably long time. Very easy to use. Good bye queen and your little devils.

Purchased in February 2020 for A$8.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pet OwnerNo
See all answers
Pest Control Products

Find out how Talon Ant Killer Gel compares to other Pest Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Penelope S.

Penelope S.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Fantastic

published

I have an ant problem and saw the advertisement and bought it to try it out.
If the dogs didn't eat their food the ants would attack the food within the hour.
I would spray with surface spray but they would come back. If I left something on the sink, they would be there. I read the instructions and it said not to leave food around one you put the gel down. So I picked up the dog biscuits and made sure there was no other food.
The ants were gone within a day.
Fantastic stuff.

Purchased in February 2020 at Woolworths for A$7.99.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Kitchen
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
Lisa

LisaHobart, TAS

  • 2 reviews

Most effective Argentine ant control.

published

I’ve had a serious Argentine ant problem for years and have spent lots of money and tried everything. Best thing I’ve ever tried. Applied it to base of wheelie bin, by morning far fewer ants yet coming from further afield!

Purchased in February 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$6.35.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Bedroom and Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
Marnz

MarnzPerth, WA

  • 7 reviews

Best on the market

published

Purchased in February 2020 at Coles for A$8.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Bathroom, Bedroom, Kitchen and Living/Dining Room
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
Jay

JayPerth, WA

Only Works on Some Species

published

If you have small brown ants, try something else!

If you have medium size black ants, this product is irresistible!

I used this product on both the medium sized black and small sized brown ants (same tube, same day, different locations outside).

Worked well on black ants. The small black ants surrounded all the 4 x ~5mm bait stations near the main entrance and gorged themselves. They couldn't stop eating the bait until it was all consumed.

Didn't work on small brown ants!!!
I applied on the paths the small brown ants were using. They then went around the baits and did not consume.

Purchased in February 2020 at Woolworths for A$13.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pet OwnerNo
See all answers
DWEL

DWEL

  • 2 reviews

Worked amazingly!

published

My kitchen was teeming with ants entering through gaps in the window. After I set a few drops along the ant trail and near it's nest, they were gone in a single day! I was so impressed. Still have half of it left even though all the ants are gone. By far the best product I have tried. Even though it's a small amount for quite a lot of money, the amount they give should last a while.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Kitchen
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
Caz

CazEAST GOSFORD

  • 7 reviews

Didn't attract the ants

published

I put the Talon ant gel where the small brown ants were coming from and around the cat food bowls they were eating the dry cat food and the wet food too. The ants just walked past the gel so I am looking for something else to kill them

Purchased in November 2019 at Coles for A$8.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Kitchen
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
Pest Control Products

Find out how Talon Ant Killer Gel compares to other Pest Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Mark

Mark

  • 5 reviews

Ok but I have used better

published

Its ok but expensive.
I now use borax powder mixed with sugar or honey.
Borax is still the cheapest and most effective i have seen.
Ant sand is useless against these small black ants they trudge all over it with no effect.
Another very good deterrent is mortein professional spray in a 2.5 litre spray container and Pest Xpert Pro spray crawling that you get from bunnings ..But make sure its the one with the nozzle that flips up and that its the Crawling one not the flying insect one.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Bathroom, Bedroom, Kitchen, Living/Dining Room and Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
Faith2407

Faith2407Sydney Surrounds, NSW

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Wish I could give it more stars

published

Purchased in January 2020 at Woolworths for A$8.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Bathroom, Bedroom, Kitchen and Living/Dining Room
Pet OwnerNo
See all answers
Summer48

Summer48Western Australia

  • 2 reviews

Truely amazing!

published

I have never written a review but always like to read them. The reviews for this ant killer were all positive so I thought I'd give it ago in my garden. I had a large ant trail running between 2 potted plants about 8 meters long. I dotted the gel along the ant trail one evening and by morning, the ants had completely disappeared! It's amazing stuff and super easy to use.

Purchased in January 2020 at Woolworths for A$8.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
CJ114

CJ114South East Queensland, QLD

  • 9 reviews

Best thing since sliced bread!

published

Read the reviews here as we had an ant infestation outside and I didn't want them being an annoyance on Christmas day.
Went and bought 2 packs (there was no way one would be enough!) Well, I used the first pack and in half an hour - no more ants! Still have the second pack unopened!

Brilliant product.

Purchased in December 2019 at Woolworths Physical store for A$6.35.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pet OwnerNo
See all answers

Works very well on household ants in SE Queensland

published

We put small amounts of the gel along ant trails and within minutes they encircle it and take it away apparently killing the nest. Sometimes ants of the same or a different type are seen exploring along the old trails and with the application of a bit more gel they disappear as well. Great stuff, too expensive, however, when you can't locate the nest for a good spray with liquid ant poison it is the next best option.

Purchased in December 2018 for A$8.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Kitchen, Living/Dining Room and Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
Deb8177

Deb8177Melbourne

  • 3 reviews

The Ants didn't touch it!

published

Squeezed it out in a few different places. Even into the gap where the ants were coming from. Not one ant went near it. The stuff just dried up and the ants continued on. Another waste of money.

Purchased in April 2019 for A$7.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Kitchen
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
Pest Control Products

Find out how Talon Ant Killer Gel compares to other Pest Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Reg

RegSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 4 reviews

Cost of product.

published

Yes it seems to have some effect in reducing the infestation but my gripe is the price for such a minute quantity. Please Selleys, market a bigger pack at a more reasonable cost per gram.

Purchased in March 2019 at Woolworths Physical store for A$8.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Outdoors
Pet OwnerNo
See all answers
MikeG

MikeGSouth West, WA

  • 6 reviews

Didn't work for me

published

We have tiny ants, they ignored Talon ant killer. I tested their preference with a number of different flavours from the kitchen. They weren't attracted to vegemite, honey, worcestershire sauce or Talon ant killer. They were somewhat attracted to BBQ sauce but went ape over peanut butter. I'm currently trying peanut butter and boric acid mixture. I also found that Talon ant killer dried up to a hard lump after a day.

Purchased in March 2019 at Coles for A$8.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Bathroom, Living/Dining Room and Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers
Dwayne C.

Dwayne C.South East Queensland, QLD

  • 11 reviews
  • 2 likes

The only product that works

published

Purchased in February 2019 at Bunnings Warehouse for A$9.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Kitchen, Living/Dining Room and Outdoors
Pet OwnerNo
See all answers
Debbie K.

Debbie K.Sydney, NSW

It really works.

published

The packing is changed to black unlike the photo above. I applied it indoor and outdoor at about noon. The ants were all gone in the evening. Thanks for the reviews in this website.

Purchased in February 2019 at Woolworths for A$8.00.

Ease of Use
Value for Money
Infested Area Kitchen and Outdoors
Pet OwnerYes
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Pete

PeteSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

The only complaint comes from the ants

published

We were suffering the worst infestation of ants in our house in thirty years. After a few simple applications of Sellys Talon, there isn’t an ant to be seen in the house. Well done Sellys!

Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Tony P.

Tony P.asked

What is the treatment if you get some on your skin?

1 answer
Lisa
Lisa

no big deal, just wash it off.

Maurice B.

Maurice B.asked

We have been poisoning ants in our home with talon ant gel for over a week now, ants just love it however still no sign of any effect on the ant numbers. We have used three syringes so far but the ants are still there. How long does it take before the ants start to die?

2 answers
Penelope S.
Penelope S.

Hi Maurice,
My ants died within a day there were no more ants.
I put a little in various locations around their ant trail, so if they missed one, they would get to another.
I guess you need to get to the queen, If you can find the trail closest to the queen I would put quite a bit there and do not leave other food lying around, like dog/cat food etc.

Lisa
Lisa

The ants you are battling are probably may be Argentine ants, tiny bronze coloured things, They build super colonies. There are multiple queens in the colony. If your infestation is severe it will take time and patience. Baiting is more effective during winter months as natural food sources become harder to find. Learning all that you can, there is plenty of information online about any pest species online, leaves you better equipped to understand and therefore control them.

Annie C.

Annie C.asked

How toxic is Talon for people and the environment

1 answer
Marnz
Marnz

Harmful to pets and children, don't know about the environment but guessing since its a chemical then yes. Disposal is wrap in paper then put in a plastic bag then bin.

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.