1 photo
Talon Ant Killer Gel

Talon Ant Killer Gel

4.0 from 73 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best Pest Control Products in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Talon? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Pros

Kills entire ant colonies
Easy application
Low toxicity to humans and pets

Cons

May not work on small brown ants

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    3.5 (33)
  • Ease of Use
    4.8 (33)
  • Pet OwnerYes (16) · No (16)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
Bron
Bronsydney nsw

Didn’t work at all

published

Didn’t work at all for black ants in the kitchen. I tried it for 4 days and the ants don’t go anywhere near it. Surprising as this product has good reviews

Purchased in January 2022 for $9.

Value for Money
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Graham P
Graham PVictoria
  • 5 reviews
  • 3 likes

Doesn't seem to work on bull ants.

published

I have put 2 tubes of this down next to a newly found bull ant next, and after a week, they are still there. So i guess it doesn't work well for them.

Purchased in January 2022.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Incentivised Review No
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Drgt74
Drgt74Sydney, NSW

Amazing results overnight

published

Purchased in January 2022 at Woolworths for $8.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Happy Camper
Happy CamperGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 5 reviews

Best Ant Killer I Have Used

published

Over many many years I have tried lots of different products to kill ants. This one works for me. Very easy to use. Having trouble finding it at the moment but when I do I'll be stocking up.

Purchased at Bunnings Warehouse.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pest Control Products

Find out how Talon Ant Killer Gel compares to other Pest Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
terrywang
terrywangSydney, NSW
  • 13 reviews
  • 6 likes

Instant effect

published

Talon ant killer gen is probably the best ant killer I've ever bought. It's available in supermarkets so it's easy to acquire, it works indoor and outdoors, the effect is instant, it seem to have been formulated to attract ants immediately wherever dispensed (vertical or horizontal or other terrain), as long as it's on the trial of ant activity. Over time (several hours), ant activity will disappear, not sure if they can bring it back to nest and kill the queen(s). There may be cluster of ants get-together, by observation they seem to be poisoned waiting to die.

$8 for 5g, 1 day use seems to be quite expensive insecticide, may be I am below poverty line...

Purchased in October 2021 at Woolworths for $8.

Value for Money
3/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Joanne
JoanneSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • Verified

Works better than I'd imagined!

published

Just purchased this, within a minute literally of applying, swarms of black ants surrounded each bit of gel. Hoping this will eliminate the nest. Super easy to apply, not messy at all.

Purchased in October 2021 at Coles Supermarkets for $8.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Steve C.
Steve C.Greater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Brilliant Product

published

I’ve used this product in two different homes now, and have achieved outstanding results on both occasions. The gel has just wiped out a huge infestation of black ants in around 48 hrs. This is an amazing product.

Purchased in July 2021 at Woolworths for $8.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
RJK
RJKHunter Region, NSW

Didn't work on black garden ants

published

Purchased Talon Ant Killer gel from Coles three weeks ago and applied the gel at various locations where ants were entering the house and close to the ant nest entry points. as per the instructions provided. The gel was not in direct sunlight and protected from the weather.
Unfortunately the ants ignored the gel all together and it remained where I placed it for nearly a week until it deteriorated. ANTS one TALON GEL Nil.
Product batch number was FMB0A14004 purchased mid April 2021

Purchased in April 2021 at Coles for $8.

Value for Money
1/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
d.s.
d.s.Greater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 2 reviews

was skeptical at first... but....

published

massive ants outside the house in many locations. followed the instructions and found it worked great! the letterbox required another 2 applications before ants gone completely. turns out the main nest was inside the hollow brickwork of the nest. aha!

Purchased in March 2021.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pest Control Products

Find out how Talon Ant Killer Gel compares to other Pest Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
HendyB
HendyBSydney
  • 19 reviews
  • 10 likes

This one really works!

published

I did try quite few things and was really happy to find that Talon Ant Killer Gel does work.
The ants simply can't help themselves to eat the gel, and it's fast acting as well, I can definitely see significant improvement the next day.

Purchased in February 2021 at Coles.

Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ali M.
Ali M.Perth, WA
  • 2 reviews

Finally found one that works..

published

We have had a major ant problem for a few years and have even had Rentokil treat the walls as they had moved into the wall cavities. I have tried Ant Rid and other products but the ants ignored it or even moved the dry crystals out the way. They actually seem attracted to the Talon and crowd round it, its been a few days and I notice the ant run is lessening. Would definitely recommend giving this a go.

Purchased in January 2021 at Bunnings Warehouse for $10.

Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Movie Buf
Movie BufIllawarra, NSW
  • 3 reviews

Best I have found for black ants.

published

Easy to use and effective when used as per directions. I have only had success with black ants where it worked perfectly. Not useful for brown ants. I am still looking for something that does work with brown ants.

Purchased in November 2020 for $10.

Value for Money
4/5
Ease of Use
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pest Control Products

Find out how Talon Ant Killer Gel compares to other Pest Control Products

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Carol and Alan Benussi
Carol and Alan BenussiCentral Queensland, QLD

This is fantastic

published

used this inside and outside house also in pot plants had great success rate need to place in path of ants
Would definitely recommend this product
Easy to use no mess

Purchased in September 2020 at green shed yeppoon for $11.95.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

not worth the money

published

We had small infestation in our Bathroom we used this product with hopes that it will do job but after 2 weeks the problem become even bigger now move to other areas of our house .
We clear everything removed any food or possible attraction for the ants put bits on all of there trails and gel nothing now looking to contact a specialist.

Purchased in September 2020 at Coles for $8.

Incentivised Review No
Infested Area Bathroom and Kitchen
Pet OwnerNo
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
K M
K MCairns
  • 11 reviews
  • 14 likes

It works.

published

I had an ant infestation on my balcony and kitchen. They were everywhere. I tried the usual surface sprays which did absolutely nothing unless sprayed directly on to the ants.

I found Talon Ant Killer Gel at Bunnings and decided to give it a try. I put 1cm strips of it in several places both inside and outside. A few ants came to take the bait and I really didn't think it was working. 24 hours later I noticed hundreds of dead ants on the kitchen floor and outside. The unwelcome live ants stopped appearing at the same time and now, two weeks after the first application of the gel I still haven't seen any live ants since then. However I am finding hundreds of dead ones gathered together on the floor every morning so it continues to work.

Purchased in June 2020 at Bunnings Warehouse for $8.

Value for Money
5/5
Ease of Use
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Jamie K
Jamie Kasked

Does TALON Ant Killer Gel harm plants? I have black ants eating my dragon fruit tree and I want them to stop but don’t want to kill the plant

1 answer
jeff kornhauser
jeff kornhauser

no you only use a small 1cm blob near or on the ant trail

Bruce G.
Bruce G.asked

is it ok to use this product indoors?

2 answers
Steve C.
Steve C.

Most definitely, I used it indoors and completely destroyed an entire colony of ants.
As with all pest products, best not to use close to food preparation areas.

jeff kornhauser
jeff kornhauser

yes

DesD
DesDasked

what is the active ingrediant?

1 answer
jeff kornhauser
jeff kornhauser

it's in woolies... pop in and read the label!

See all Talon Ant Killer Gel questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

Talon’s Ant Killer Gel is a highly versatile gel insecticide that can be applied both horizontally and vertically. Ants are immediately attracted to the gel and transfer the gel via their bodies to the brood and queen of the nest, ensuring effective ongoing control throughout the colony.

Features

  • Kills the ants you can see and the ones you can’t
  • Kills the queen and destroys ants in the nest through delayed mortality allowing for transfers
  • Clear, non-staining, odourless gel
  • Can be applied to all horizontal and vertical surfaces
  • Low toxicity to humans and pets
  • Used by professionals across the globe
  • Can be used indoors and outdoors
  • Do not apply to surfaces that food contacts

What reviewers thought

This is a great product for the price which effectively eliminates ant infestations in and around the home. Some reviewers noted that the product doesn’t work as well on small brown ants.

CategoryPest Control Products
Deals WithAnts
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.