??!
1 photo
Commonwealth Bank Travel Insurance

Commonwealth Bank Travel Insurance

Credit / Debit Card Insurances, Comprehensive, Essentials, etc...
1.9 from 54 reviews

Reviews

1.9

54 reviews
5
(9)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(38)
  • Value for Money
    2.1 (15)
  • Transparency
    1.7 (12)
  • Customer Service
    2.1 (14)
Previous
Next
Richard

RichardGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 8 reviews
  • 4 likes

Close your CBA account and go elsewhere

published

A Royal Commission has not deterred this company from selling dud policies. Travel Insurance taken out 5 months before pandemic was useless and not worth a cent. Claim denied so now out of pocket thousands. Only way to talk to this bank is to leave and go elsewhere. Been with them for life but when you lose so much money in one hit due to dud insurance agreements, go elsewhere. Policy taken out in good faith well before pandemic means nothing.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateAugust 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Mark I.

Mark I.Sydney, NSW

  • 2 reviews

I'm impressed by how smooth the handling of my claim was!

published

I lost my $2000 phone whilst travelling, and when I came back I made a claim. Although the police report was in another language, and the ink was very light among other details that insurances might argue about, still my claim was approved without any questions or arguments in the predefined timeframe, despite being in the middle of the coronavirus crises. I think I'm going to stick with them for good.

Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth America
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

Government travel ban, worldwide pandemic, doctors reccomendation for safety of pregnant wife= NO CLAIM

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationAustralia
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateFebruary 2020
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Travel Insurance

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Pointless, not real insurance

published

Just finished going through the process of attempting to claim for items stolen from a hire car. Basically so many wriggle words in the PDS that almost nothing was covered, got a $5 approved reimbursement.. pathetic.

DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks

Another bank deception

published

Been a member of the Com bank for 40 years, and after they recommended their credit card travel insurance,then to find out afterwards that it doesn’t cover the Coronavirus.I felt that the bank has continued on there misleading ways.BUYER BEWARE.Considering I activated the policy six months ago,before paying $27,000 for our holiday.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Dan

Dan

  • 3 reviews

Thanks for nothing

published

After choosing this card insurance, thinking that it was a reward for being good customers for decades I have just found out like many others that it is useless now with the corona virus problem. If I read the small print correctly, you go OS get sick and they can relate this to the virus you are wiped. If you hear of problems in the media and go you are wiped. This also applies if the Government gives a warning and you go. Also we paid nearly a $1000 extra to cover any pre-existing conditions, I wonder if they will refund us this? I thought all policies were supposed to be transparent and easily understood by the average person.
Never again will I use this service. PS I think we are covered for werewolf bite but will check the fine print.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
See all answers
Pinkelli

Pinkelli

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Absolutely useless - don’t use it

published

Activated the policy prior to Corvid-19 outbreak. Policy does not cover medical claims or disruption to travel (if I go and am affected by the virus) or cancellation (if I don’t) ... I also note that the cover doesn’t include loss of ‘valuables’ ... which makes me wonder what they actually do cover ... I’m still going on holidays, will manage the risks (having done the research on Japan they’re relatively minor) and will cancel all CBA accounts when I get back (including affiliated banks) and encourage as many others of my friends and family to do the same.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEast Asia (e.g. China, Japan, South Korea)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Orestes

OrestesBrisbane

  • 4 reviews
  • 32 likes

The card and free insurance you should avoid.

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Honoured 100% of my claim without debate

published

While others have criticised this insurance, I only have high praise. I travel frequently and always read the PDS carefully whenever I purchase insurance. This time I took the free travel insurance as it offered everything we needed. When my father sadly died requiring a sudden return from our trip the call centre staff were sympathetic and helpful. Yes you have to book and pay your own way home, but I expected that, and yes the claim form is a little arduous to complete, but they did not dispute any of my expenses and paid promptly once the death certificate was provided. If you read the PDS and it has what you need then I highly recommend this travel insurance.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope, North America (inc. Hawaii) and South-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimOther
Claim Resolution Time1-2 months
Claim DateOctober 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Travel Insurance

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Steve

SteveMelbourne

  • 2 reviews
  • 3 likes

Zero zero zero star...Don't use commbank's travel insurance "Covermore by Zurich Australia

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim Resolution Time2-4 weeks
Claim DateSeptember 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Teenager
See all answers
Unhappy66

Unhappy66AU

  • 48 reviews
  • 73 likes

Absolutely Useless Policy

published

Phone was stolen with cash inside the wallet, whilst the phone on table with arm touching it. Provided evidence of the fact of the withdrawal amount as they requested this. Came back with a response stating that the cash must have been on my physically and denied cash aspect of claim.

The phone they only compensate for purchase price and not the rrp. Makes it difficult when the phone was a one off sale or a gift as they only give the purchase price. Never again!

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim Resolution Time3+ months
Claim ApprovedNo
See all answers

Google is considered a '3rd party provider' (so no compensation)

published

When I lost my flight ticket due to no fault of my own (the airline, WOW air, shut down overnight with no warning and no compensation for customers) I called the Commbank Insurance people. They told me that Google is considered a 3rd party provider, so they could not refund my ticket. They said this was written on page 46 of their booklet. This seems like a good way of getting out of paying insurance to customers. Nobody reads 46 pages of an insurance policy, let alone 1 page, and Google is probably the go-to provider for 9 out of 10 people, so to call it a 3rd party provider is not appropriate. They are the main provider. This is not reasonable. I'm disappointed with this insurance policy.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimTravel Delays/Cancellations
Claim DateAugust 2019
Claim ApprovedNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Erskie

ErskieBrisbane

  • 10 reviews
  • 1 like

Thankful for them..

published
Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationSouth-East Asia (e.g. Bali, Vietnam, Thailand)
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimMedical
Claim Resolution Time1-2 weeks
Claim DateJuly 2019
Claim ApprovedYes
Insurance Cover ForAdult and Child
See all answers
Steve

SteveMetropolitan Adelaide, SA

Never again CBA insurance!

published

Do not choose CBA Travel Insurance, It does not cover you properly, only cover your overseas medical assistance if it is fitt in the policy, but if you bring back any problems from overseas and it is cost you thousands of dollars after you back then they will not cover your expenses.
I will never use CBA Ti. again!
Also, the claim is horrible. It takes about 20 min to get someone to the phone to talk with.

Transparency
Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationEurope
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers

The reviewer stated that an incentive was offered for this review

Consumer 123

Consumer 123Melbourne

  • 12 reviews
  • 9 likes

'Free' but if you have to pay for expensive add-ons it's uncompetitive

published
Value for Money
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForSenior
Travel Insurance

Find out how Commonwealth Bank Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
MJ K

MJ KAdelaide

  • 26 reviews
  • 21 likes

Worst free travel insurance..Don't trust them

published
Claim MadeYes
Type of ClaimLost/Stolen Property
Claim Resolution Time<1 week
Claim ApprovedNo
Shaun

ShaunHobart, TAS

  • 2 reviews

Their phone operators are a bit curt

published

I just had a call to the claims line and the operator seemed as though she couldn't wait to get me off the phone. They answered almost immediately (which is a positive), but almost seemed like they have an incentive to keep the call short!

Customer Service
Value for Money
DestinationNorth America (inc. Hawaii)
Claim MadeNo
Insurance Cover ForAdult
See all answers
Carly

CarlyPerth, WA

  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very happy with free credit card insurance claim

published

I use the complimentary international travel insurance that comes with my credit card every time I travel. I put in for 2 claims this year for a bali trip that was cut short due to the earthquake. I found the process to be easy, great customer service and received full claim with no trouble and a speedy manner. Very impressed and will continue to use each time I travel.

Insurance claim madeYes
Br00

Br00Sydney, NSW

  • 5 reviews

Speedy Resolution of Claim.

published

We cancelled our trip to Lombok after the earthquakes. We submitted a claim for our return air fares. We included letters from the airlines proving that we did not take the flights.
Two days after the submission, we received a call to advise us that our claim was succesful.
A further two days and the correct amount of fund was deposited in our account.
We are very happy with this travel insurance and will continue to use the product.

Insurance claim madeYes
Brian

BrianAdelaide

Very happy

published
Insurance claim madeYes
Page 1 of 3

Questions & Answers

Kate R

Kate Rasked

Travel Insurance

We paid a deposit of $8000 (50% of cost of tour). This was for a 20-day tour of Russia and the Scandinavian countries commencing on 22 July 2020.
We have a Diamond Awards credit card which we use for all our travel insurance.
Because of the Coronavirus we will not be undertaking this trip this year.
Please advise if we are entitled to claim refund of deposit.

No answers
terrym

terrymasked

Travel Insurance

are flights covered

No answers
never again0101

never again0101asked

Travel Insurance

How do you get hold anyone to complain to ???I have tried but to no avail .

No answers

Get an answer from our members

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.