??!
1 photo
Cooper S/T MAXX

Cooper S/T MAXX

4.1 from 69 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (11)
  • Value for Money
    3.5 (11)
  • Noise Level
    3.0 (11)
  • Off-Roading Frequency
  • Wet Weather Handling
    3.5 (12)
  • Durability
    3.8 (12)
  • Dry Weather Handling
    4.2 (12)
Previous
Next
Jaydon

JaydonPerth, WA

  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent tyres

published

Road noise is not even in this equation. I've had all-terrains and mud-terrains and these are almost like a normal highway tyre for noise. Upgraded from AT3's which gave 90,000kms+ usage. I had a few sidewall and tread punctures having taken them to places that most wouldn't. Upgraded due to armor-tek technology. Cooper tyres do cost more but I believe getting 90K+ in kms is the value

Purchased in November 2020 at Tyrepower for A$450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage200 km
Car ModelToyota LandCruiser 200
Off-Roading FrequencyMonthly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Brad

BradNorth Western Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great off road tyre

published

Very little road noise, extremely good in wet weather, wear very well for a semi mud terrain tyre, tough as nails sidewalls. Over 40,000kms on some very ordinary roads and no punctures yet! Definitely the best tyres I have had by far. Hankook ATM’s previous to these lasted 30,000km and at least 20 punctures in that time. Would definitely recommend, I was told coppers had dubious carcass construction before buying, but I got 80000km+ from AT3’s on a previous vehicle. Glad I made the change to the St’s

Purchased in June 2019 at Copper city tyres for A$310.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage40,000 km
Car ModelFord Ranger PX.II / PX.III
Off-Roading FrequencyWeekly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Scott

ScottSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews

200 series landcruiser

published

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage60,000 km
Car ModelToyota LandCruiser 200 Mark II 4.5L Twin-Turbo Diesel Sahara
Tyre Pressure Used34 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyYearly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
4WD Tyres

Find out how Cooper S/T MAXX compares to other 4WD Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
carmoda

carmodaSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 19 reviews
  • 7 likes

The warranty mileage is a marketing fantasy.

published

So I've been running Coopers ST Max on my 70 land cruiser and the tires have 80,000 km warranty, I've done 50,000klm on them and they are almost completely worn out. I have not undertaken demanding four-wheel-drive driving and my four-wheel-drive is not especially heavy. This is the third set of cooper tyres that have not met warranty. They have performed quite well, but given the premium price you expect them to last as advertised.

Purchased in June 2016 at Tyrepower.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage50,000 km
Car ModelToyota Landcruiser
Tyre Pressure Used50 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyYearly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Simon Minton Connell

Simon Minton Connell

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Torture tested

published

Purchased in March 2017 at Tyrepower for A$450.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage65,000 km
Tyre Pressure Used42 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyWeekly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Jamie

JamieHunter Region, NSW

  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Very Noisy

published

They have great handling characteristics but I can't believe how much drone these tyres produce at any speed. I have had extremely aggressive mud terrains that don't produce as much road noise as these. I really can't see me buying these again.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage15,000 km
Tyre Pressure Used36 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyMonthly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers

Best tyres Ive ever had

published

Purchased in November 2011 for A$425.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage170,000 km
Car ModelToyota HiLux MK7.III
Tyre Pressure Used38 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyYearly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers

Wrong choice of tyre

published

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Car ModelIsuzu D-MAX RC.I
Off-Roading FrequencyWeekly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Ossie

OssieGoldfields, WA

  • 2 reviews

Great off-road tyre but

published

Purchased for A$485.00.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage40,000 km
Car ModelToyota LandCruiser 200 Mark II
Off-Roading FrequencyMonthly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
4WD Tyres

Find out how Cooper S/T MAXX compares to other 4WD Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Noisey as !

published

40 thousand km and noisey as, blocks wear uneven, and its not the wheel alignment, not happy at all ! I wouldnt fit these if they were free ! ,id like to know how long thet are suppost to last !

Purchased in May 2018 at Australasian Vehicle Buying Services for A$330.00.

Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage40,000 km
Tyre Pressure Used40 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyYearly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
DodgyWestpointAutos

DodgyWestpointAutosSouth East Queensland, QLD

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Noisy and Uneven wear

published

Fitted to PxII Ranger from new and have to rotate these tyres every 5,000kms to even the wear out but road noise and fuel consumption still high.
Happened to drive Ranger Raptor with BFG KO2's and couldn't believe how quiet they were.....last pair of Coopers for me.

Purchased in July 2016.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage41,000 km
Car ModelFord Ranger PX.II / PX.III
Tyre Pressure Used40 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyMonthly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Matt

MattVictoria

Excellent traction on rd rock & very good in mud, excellent puncher resistance.....but

published

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
Value for Money
Noise Level
Incentivised ReviewNo
Tyre Mileage15 km
Car ModelPajero NW DI-D
Tyre Pressure Used36 PSI
Off-Roading FrequencyMonthly
Functionality
Wet Weather Handling
Durability
Dry Weather Handling
See all answers
Elijah

ElijahMONKLAND

the strong existence.

published

The sound of the tyre will be flooded by wind noise, which is relatively obvious compared with the suburban and urban expressway tire noise. The start is slightly sluggish but the brakes, handling performance and mute effect are very strong. The normal urban area certainly increases, the pattern design is relatively rough, the strong existence.

CarToyota Landcruiser
  • Verified purchase

Cooper Tyres

published
Car4WD - Hiluxes, Dual cab Cruisers, 200 Series, and some odd Prado and Nissan 4wd's
Moose

MooseGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

So much for warranty

published
Car100 series Landcruiser
4WD Tyres

Find out how Cooper S/T MAXX compares to other 4WD Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Exceptional performance and value

published

I have achieved 125,000klm and have an estimated 20 - 25k left on them I love at rover heads the departure point for Fraser Island I spend a lot of time there fishing now I'm retired. I have made 2 trips to Darwin have had no punctures, or differential problems.

CarGreat Wall X240 wagon 4x4
Stefan

StefanBerrara

Who said they were noisy?

published

I had decided on the ST Maxx based on some personal recommendations and the reviews posted but I had expected to have to tolerate some additional road noise. Even putting aside the fact that it’s a 76 Series Landcruiser I couldn’t hear any road noise and definitely less than my previous tyres. Was thrilled to bits about that! Yet to test them in the mud but plans are on the kitchen table for that!

Car2008 Toyota Landcruiser 76 Series
Joel

JoelMutitjulu

Perfect off road tyre

published
Car2011 Isuzu Dmax

Excellent so far

published

These tyres are great on road so far, I haven't been off road yet with them. Comparing the tread pattern and look, road noise is far less than many other A/T tyres. Good grip on wet surface as well. I have done 5,500 kms in 4 months and happy to give 5 stars now.

CarToyota LC200 Sahara

Great tyres!

published

I've had these tyres on my car since new 38000km they would have at least another 50k in them, excellent road and off road handling and feedback. Pressure, rotation and wheel alignment are critical with these tyres as they are a bit less forgiving in that department and heel and toe quite rapidly.

CarFord Ranger Xlt Px2
Page 1 of 4

Questions & Answers

Jeff

Jeffasked

Can I fit 315/75 16 to an 8 inch rim
Currently have 285/75 16 fitted to 8 inch rim
Jeff

No answers
Peter M.

Peter M.asked

Who deals with cooper tyres in hobart area

1 answer
Fired Up
Fired Up

Their website has a list

Elijah M

Elijah Masked

Hey guys I have got the cooper st/maxx tyres put on my 2018 hilux, I seem to get a lot of vibration in the Ute, through the whole cab, seats and everything, when driving on rougher sealed roads, haven’t taken it off road or on gravel as yet but I’d imagine it would do much the same if not worse, I haven’t taken it back into the shop yet, just thought I’d ask your opinions first! any ideas? thanks in advance

2 answers
Stefan
Stefan

I would be straight back to the shop, it sounds like a balance or alignment issue. Do a good visual check on all tyres to be sure they are identical specifications and there are no tread defects.

Stuart J
Stuart J

I'm assuming all the basics are checked or attended to by the tyre fitter/supplier
Ie Each wheel balanced and alignment all good at time of fitment - and that the vibration has occurred only after the Coopers went on?
Not too sure what your original tyres were but some of the newer HiLuxes we have seen have come standard with a road-bias tyre which run quietly and smoothly on bitumen. The ST Maxx is quite a blocky thing and will run noisy and a bit viby on bitumen, but not to the extent that it intrudes into the cab.
If you can't cover the noise by turning the radio up (hahaha) then it sounds like you have a greater problem than that
If you have access to an old set of tyres (still legal tread but on the way out) swap the Coopers out and see if the vibes stop
Unfortunately, if you do find that the Coopers are the source of the problem you then enter the world of despair that is the Coopers "Warranty Process"
Unless you have a really good supplier - or a lot of time and money to spend pursuing an American Company internationally - then you are pretty much doomed
If you can make it more expensive for Coopers to ignore you than it is to replace the tyres (or refund your money !!!) they may act in your favour
To this point I do not know anyone who has had successful Cooper-factory warranty replacement
The 'Warranty' replacement is usually provided by the local supplier (often at his own expense) so HE doesn't get a bad name for supplying tyres that have failed or have been faulty at time of supply
I do know suppliers who will no longer stock Coopers - in Brisbane,Townsville, Mackay, Rocky, Blackall, Longreach - citing that as one of the reasons
Coopers make more consistent quality TV ads than they do tyres
Good luck

Get an answer from our members

Details

Category4WD Tyres
Width225 mm to 315 mm
Aspect Ratio / Profile55% to 85%
Rim Diameter15 to 20 inches
Load Index104 to 126
Speed RatingN, P, Q
Tread Life Warranty60,000 to 80,000 km

Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.