1 photo
Cooper S/T MAXX

Cooper S/T MAXX

4.1 from 71 reviews · View Statistics
See the Best 4WD Tyres in 2022 as rated by Australians on ProductReview.com.au.
Brand Manager for Cooper Tires? Register now and take advantage of ProductReview's Brand Management Platform!

Reviews

  • Build Quality
    4.1 (13)
  • Value for Money
    3.6 (13)
  • Noise Level
    2.7 (13)
  • Off-Roading Frequency
  • Wet Weather Handling
    3.5 (13)
  • Durability
    3.9 (14)
  • Dry Weather Handling
    4.3 (14)
Previous
Next

There are better options

published

Had a few sets of these tyres on work utes. Had consistent issues with tread wearing uneven (scalloping) even with consistent rotations. Also had many sidewall failures (blowouts) on the highway.

Purchased at Tyrepower.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
1/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Long lasting but noisy on the road when unevenly worn

published

Unfortunately I can't comment on the longevity as I'm unsure when the previous owner bought them. What I can say is that they have lasted well in the time that I have had them but although I have had them regularly rotated every service they have worn unevenly and make a lot of noise on the road. We drove from adelaide to gold coast and back and I believe this is when the uneven wearing occured. Being a hard tyre I've also noticed they can be a little slippery in the wet, but mostly before they warm up. I probably wouldn't buy them again but only due to the noise from the uneven wearing. I previously had cooper AT3 which I was very happy with.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
ESSA
ESSA South East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews

The best off and on road tyre ever designed.

published
Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Jaydon
JaydonPerth, WA
  • 5 reviews
  • 2 likes

Excellent tyres

published

Road noise is not even in this equation. I've had all-terrains and mud-terrains and these are almost like a normal highway tyre for noise. Upgraded from AT3's which gave 90,000kms+ usage. I had a few sidewall and tread punctures having taken them to places that most wouldn't. Upgraded due to armor-tek technology. Cooper tyres do cost more but I believe getting 90K+ in kms is the value

Purchased in November 2020 at Tyrepower for $450.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4WD Tyres

Find out how Cooper S/T MAXX compares to other 4WD Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Brad
BradNorth Western Region, NSW
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great off road tyre

published

Very little road noise, extremely good in wet weather, wear very well for a semi mud terrain tyre, tough as nails sidewalls. Over 40,000kms on some very ordinary roads and no punctures yet! Definitely the best tyres I have had by far. Hankook ATM’s previous to these lasted 30,000km and at least 20 punctures in that time. Would definitely recommend, I was told coppers had dubious carcass construction before buying, but I got 80000km+ from AT3’s on a previous vehicle. Glad I made the change to the St’s

Purchased in June 2019 at Copper city tyres for $310.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Scott
ScottSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

200 series landcruiser

published

Purchased in January 2020.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Simon Minton Connell
Simon Minton Connell
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Torture tested

published

Purchased in March 2017 at Tyrepower for $450.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Related Articles

Previous
Smart shopping tips to help you make the most of Black Friday sales

With Black Friday coming up on the 26th of November (and some deals starting well before), we’ve got some smart shopping tips to help you make the most of sales.

Clara V.
Clara V.15 Nov 2021
smart-shopping-tips-to-help-you-make-the-most-of-black-friday-sales
Christmas Gift Ideas for Mum

Since many mothers tend to spout selfless phrases like ‘please don’t spend any money on me,’ Christmas is a great opportunity to spoil your Mum. However, this can be a tricky feat if your mum hasn’t told you what kind of gift she’d be happy with.

Avleen M.
Avleen M.29 Nov 2021
christmas-gift-ideas-for-mum
The right to repair: which brands are making it easier for you to fix their products?

The right to repair movement in Australia is calling for companies to make it easier for their products to be repaired. Here are some electronics and appliance manufacturers who are starting to listen and make it more feasible for consumers to repair, rather than replace, their items.

Clara V.
Clara V.14 Feb 2022
the-right-to-repair-which-brands-are-making-it-easier-for-you-to-fix-their-products
Next
Jamie
JamieHunter Region, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 1 like

Very Noisy

published

They have great handling characteristics but I can't believe how much drone these tyres produce at any speed. I have had extremely aggressive mud terrains that don't produce as much road noise as these. I really can't see me buying these again.

Purchased in July 2019.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Best tyres Ive ever had

published

Purchased in November 2011 for $425.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
5/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4WD Tyres

Find out how Cooper S/T MAXX compares to other 4WD Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Wrong choice of tyre

published

Purchased in June 2018.

Build Quality
4/5
Value for Money
2/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Ossie
OssieGoldfields, WA
  • 2 reviews

Great off-road tyre but

published

Purchased for $485.

Build Quality
3/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Noisey as !

published

40 thousand km and noisey as, blocks wear uneven, and its not the wheel alignment, not happy at all ! I wouldnt fit these if they were free ! ,id like to know how long thet are suppost to last !

Purchased in May 2018 at Australasian Vehicle Buying Services for $330.

Incentivised Review No
Tyre Mileage 40,000 km
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
4WD Tyres

Find out how Cooper S/T MAXX compares to other 4WD Tyres

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
DodgyWestpointAutos
DodgyWestpointAutosSouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 6 likes

Noisy and Uneven wear

published

Fitted to PxII Ranger from new and have to rotate these tyres every 5,000kms to even the wear out but road noise and fuel consumption still high.
Happened to drive Ranger Raptor with BFG KO2's and couldn't believe how quiet they were.....last pair of Coopers for me.

Purchased in July 2016.

Build Quality
2/5
Value for Money
3/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Matt
MattVictoria

Excellent traction on rd rock & very good in mud, excellent puncher resistance.....but

published

Purchased in December 2018.

Build Quality
5/5
Value for Money
4/5
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Elijah
ElijahMONKLAND

the strong existence.

published

The sound of the tyre will be flooded by wind noise, which is relatively obvious compared with the suburban and urban expressway tire noise. The start is slightly sluggish but the brakes, handling performance and mute effect are very strong. The normal urban area certainly increases, the pattern design is relatively rough, the strong existence.

CarToyota Landcruiser
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Questions & Answers

Jeff
Jeffasked

Can I fit 315/75 16 to an 8 inch rim
Currently have 285/75 16 fitted to 8 inch rim
Jeff

No answers
Peter M.
Peter M.asked

Who deals with cooper tyres in hobart area

1 answer
Fired Up
Fired Up

Their website has a list

Elijah M
Elijah Masked

Hey guys I have got the cooper st/maxx tyres put on my 2018 hilux, I seem to get a lot of vibration in the Ute, through the whole cab, seats and everything, when driving on rougher sealed roads, haven’t taken it off road or on gravel as yet but I’d imagine it would do much the same if not worse, I haven’t taken it back into the shop yet, just thought I’d ask your opinions first! any ideas? thanks in advance

2 answers
Stefan
Stefan

I would be straight back to the shop, it sounds like a balance or alignment issue. Do a good visual check on all tyres to be sure they are identical specifications and there are no tread defects.

Stuart J
Stuart J
See all Cooper S/T MAXX questions

Get an answer from our members

Details

Category4WD Tyres
Width225 mm to 315 mm
Aspect Ratio / Profile55% to 85%
Rim Diameter15 to 20 inches
Load Index104 to 126
Speed RatingN, P, Q
Tread Life Warranty60,000 to 80,000 km
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.