2 photos
Cover-More Travel Insurance
3.5 from 2,565 reviews · View Statistics
Listing monitored by Cover-More Travel Insurance

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    2.4 (390)
  • Transparency
    2.4 (340)
  • Customer Service
    2.4 (397)
  • Claim Resolution Time
    • <1 week (25)
    • 1-2 weeks (50)
    • 2-4 weeks (42)
    • 1-2 months (48)
    • 3+ months (55)
  • Claim ApprovedYes (117) · No (140)
Previous
Next

Reviewer Photos & Videos

  • Thumbnail
  • Thumbnail
William M
William MGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC

Terrible Customer Service

published
Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Mark W
Mark WSouth Australia

Not worth the paper the policy is written on

published

Visited far north Queensland, virgin cancelled our return flight due to Covid. Re-booked with Qantas, and had our claim refused because our claim 'doesn't fall within any of the defined events listed'
That was the whole point of taking out the insurance in the first place! To ensure we would be covered if we incurred an issue with our travel. Typical of insurance companies.so we are now over $1100 out of pocket, due circumstances beyond our control.
Will never use this company again, and certainly wouldn't recommend them to anyone.

Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Nick
NickCanberra 2600, ACT

Don't bother.

published

Took out CoverMore for a trip. My $140 suitcase was damaged on the trip by the airline or baggage handlers. CoverMore paid $7. Appalling. Yes the policy was easy to set up. I did not feel it was good value. Yes they resolved within a couple of months.

Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Will
WillGreater Melbourne (Inner), VIC
  • 7 reviews
  • 3 likes

Cover nothing

published

Travel to Queensland, permit revoked at airport because of covid restrictions in Victoria . Told to purchase return ticket by authorities . Returned home and rang cover more and told no claim available , yet others have had refunds as stated on this site

Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Cover-More Travel Insurance
Claims T.Cover-More Travel Insurance
Will
Will

721100128844

Cover-More Travel Insurance
Claims T.Cover-More Travel Insurance
Travel Insurance

Find out how Cover-More Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Michael B
Michael BSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

Absolutely terrible product & company

published

Fair value but it’s true value became apparent when I was required to make a claim. A payment of AUD$286 for a Apple Mac, damaged beyond repair, (purchase price USD$999 plus taxes), less the excess, was calculated. Be wary of depreciation - 60% in my case. This was extremely disappointing and there is no way I’d use this company ever again.

Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Cover-More Travel Insurance
Claims T.Cover-More Travel Insurance
Michael B
Michael B

I’ve already spoken to a representative and they informed me the terms of the policy were met. I won’t be using Cover-More again. Very disappointing.

Michael B
Michael BSydney, NSW
  • 3 reviews
  • 2 likes

What a disgrace. Don’t even bother!

published

What a disgrace. I used Cover-More for a three (3) month trip to the US & Mexico from Dec 2020 through Feb 2021. During the trip, I suffered irreparable damage to my Apple Mac on a flight. The laptop cost me $999usd plus taxes less than 3 years ago. The end result, after depreciation & my excess was a payment of $286aud. I’ve contacted Cover-Less in an attempt to have my claim reviewed and the 60% depreciation figure lowered. No reply after one week!

Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Free T.
Free T.Perth, WA

Cover absolutely nothing

published
Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Cover-More Travel Insurance
CM T.Cover-More Travel Insurance

Hi Free, we are sorry to hear about the dissatisfaction with our service. We would love to investigate further, can you please provide your policy number?

Free T.
Free T.

I gave you the opportunity to call me and you haven't bothered. If you are in fact interested in contacting me, you already have my phone number. Not meaning to sound rude but I won't hold my breath

Cover-More Travel Insurance
CM T.Cover-More Travel Insurance

Related Articles

Previous
Super Funds Awards 2020!

A good super fund can make a substanial difference to the amount you retire with. From retail super funds to self managed super funds, view reviewer ratings for the top-rated super funds of 2020!

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.7 Nov 2019
super-funds-awards-2020
Credit Card Awards 2020

Whether it's the sign up bonus, rates and fees, or reliable customer service that you look for in a credit card, a credit card is often used everyday, so it's important you choose one that meets your needs and that you're happy with. These are the top-rated credit cards this year, as decided by ProductReview.com.au reviewers.

Wendy Z.
Wendy Z.19 Nov 2019
credit-card-awards-2020
What Is Peer-To-Peer Lending?

Peer-to-peer lending is quickly gaining popularity among Australian borrowers and investors. If you've never heard of it before, this 2 minute read will give you a quick rundown so you can decide if P2P lending is right for you.

Nathan S.
Nathan S.14 Nov 2019
what-is-peer-to-peer-lending
Next
Grant C.
Grant C.Central Queensland, QLD

Dont use if you're using to cover covid lockdowns.

published
Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
Cover-More Travel Insurance
CM T.Cover-More Travel Insurance
Andrea G
Andrea GGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 5 reviews

Peace of mind every time I travel

published

I have used Cover-more for years for holidays in Australia, the USA, and South Pacific. The last time I booked, I had just been diagnosed with an allergy, and the Cover-more team was really helpful in guiding me through the assessment process so that I was comfortable about my level of cover. Good value, easy to speak to an agent if you have questions, and they also tailored a package to suit travel on a freight ship to Cape York!
When COVID restrictions impacted travel they contacted me and offered a refund. I was amazed.

Value for Money
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Travel Insurance

Find out how Cover-More Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Cathy Perry
Cathy PerrySouth East Queensland, QLD
  • 2 reviews
  • 2 likes

Very disappointing!

published
Value for Money
1/5
Transparency
1/5
magoo
magooGreater Melbourne (Outer), VIC
  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Existing user

published

We've used Covermore for all our past Travels, never made a Claim, used for peace of mind.
APRIL 2020 Covid stopped trip, got cancelled 2 weeks prior to departure, via Flight Centre, Scenic Tours and Covermore all money was refunded, Very grateful no issues some delay , as was expected, thoroughly satisfied customer. Thanks Neil and Sharon

Value for Money
5/5
Transparency
5/5
Cover-More Travel Insurance
CM T.Cover-More Travel Insurance
Liz J
Liz J
  • 2 reviews
  • 5 likes

Query on policy inclusion or exclusion couldn't be answered by online chat

published

Question was regarding Cancellation Cost. I just wanted to confirm that the prepaid Motorhome hire in NZ would be covered under cancellation section as this is our major travel cost. Couldn't tell me and advised I go to a broker. I confirmed I wasn't asking with regards to insurance of Motor Home. First time user of Covermore will check elsewhere.

Customer Service
2/5
Incentivised Review No
Cover-More Travel Insurance
CM T.Cover-More Travel Insurance
Travel Insurance

Find out how Cover-More Travel Insurance compares to other Travel Insurance

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
John
JohnGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC
  • 3 reviews
  • 3 likes

Useless phone system

published

Rang 4 times..3 times the phone calls cut off..then no knowledge of the policy at all on the phone .
Will try and cancel from inception now as they don’t provide support

Value for Money
3/5
Transparency
1/5
Cover-More Travel Insurance
CM T.Cover-More Travel Insurance
Nev J
Nev JWestern Australia
  • 2 reviews

Covermore application

published

Overall application form fairly straight forward but some quirky aspects are annoying such as putting in a second person wipes out information from applicant 1 Velocity number disappears multiple times

Incentivised Review No
DestinationAustralia
Claim Made No
Cover-More Travel Insurance
CM T.Cover-More Travel Insurance
Rebecca K.
Rebecca K.
  • 4 reviews
  • 3 likes

Awful if you need to make a claim

published

I have had my family yearly policy with covermore for years. When the time came to making a claim they did not want to pay for anything. They then said I could cancel my yearly policy as I had not been able to travel due to Covid. When I submitted this they asked for proof I had not travelled as this was a different department. Why bother having insurance when a company just wants to reject everything.

Customer Service
1/5
Incentivised Review No
Cover-More Travel Insurance
CM T.Cover-More Travel Insurance

Questions & Answers

Will
Willasked
Cover-More Travel Insurance

hi i looking at travelling to a few country's world wide , i looking at yearly insurance . i am in Australia 67 years when i leave Australia am i covered for covid 19 if get sick

No answers
lynn
lynnasked
Cover-More Travel Insurance

Why do you keep a third of our travel insurance for June 2021,policy no 719000586914. When we queried your staff we were told to read fine print, all 83 pages of it.

9 answers
Cover-More Travel Insurance
Claims T.Cover-More Travel Insurance

Hi Lynn,

Thank you for providing you policy number.
This has been escalated to the policies team, please expect a phone call or correspondence from one of our team members within 1- 2 business days.

Kind Regards
CM

lynn
lynn

Still waiting to hear from someone, anyone??. Is this company still in business or gone with the travel agents?

lynn
lynn

Hello. Is anyone there???

Buffy
Buffyasked
Cover-More Travel Insurance

Hi, got travel insurance in Oct 2019, when I entered into this contract with you, covid-19 hadn’t been started yet! Our cruise was to be March 2020, which the ship company cancelled in March. Can we get a refund? Cruise company gone to an administrator.

Dianne

2 answers
Jen
Jen

Please address question to Covermore.

Cover-More Travel Insurance
Claims T.Cover-More Travel Insurance

Hi Jen,

We are unable to give an answer without reviewing the claim and policy coverage.
You can lodge a claim online via our online claims tool https://claims.covermore.com.au

Kind regards,,

CM

See all Cover-More Travel Insurance questions

Get an answer from our members and Cover-More Travel Insurance representatives

Cover-More Travel Insurance

Details

Compare all 7 Cover-More Travel Insurance
CategoryTravel InsuranceTravel InsuranceTravel InsuranceTravel Insurance
UnderwriterZurichZurichZurichZurich
Maximum Age Covered 99 years old99 years old99 years old99 years old
Medical Coverage
Overseas Emergency Assistance $10,000,000Not CoveredNot CoveredUnlimited
Accidental Death$10,000$10,000$10,000Not Included
Emergency Dental$10,000,000Not IncludedNot IncludedUnlimited
Pregnancy (max weeks) Optional cover for up to the 24th weekOptional cover for up to the 24th weekOptional cover for up to the 24th weekOptional cover for up to the 24th week
Resumption of Journey Not IncludedNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Hospital Cash Allowance$50 per day, up to $1,000Not IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Overseas Emergency Medical & Hospital Expenses$10,000,000Not CoveredNot CoveredUnlimited
Loss of IncomeNot Included$1,500$1,500Not Included
Permanent DisabilityNot Included$10,000$10,000Not Included
Luggage & Personal Effects
Theft of Cash Not IncludedNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Delayed Luggage $200 after 24 hoursNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Credit Card Fraud$3,000 as part of Travel Documents cover$3,000 as part of Travel Documents cover$3,000 as part of Travel Documents coverNot Included
Travel Documents / Passport $3,000$3,000$3,000Not Included
Maximum Single Item Limit $200 (Any Items)$300 (Any Items)$300 (Any Items)
Luggage & Personal Effects $3,000$3,000$3,000Not Included
Ancillary
Personal Liability $1,000,000$200,000$200,000$2,500,000
Rental Vehicle Excess Optional Extra$4,000$4,000Unlimited
Motorbike / Moped Coverage Optional cover for up to 200cc motorbikeOptional cover for up to 200cc motorbikeOptional cover for up to 200cc motorbikeOptional cover for up to 200cc motorbike
Domestic Pet Care Not IncludedNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Special Activities Packages
GolfIncludedIncludedIncludedIncluded
CruiseOptional ExtraOptional ExtraOptional ExtraOptional Extra
Adventure Not IncludedNot IncludedNot IncludedNot Included
Snow / SkiOptional ExtraOptional ExtraOptional ExtraOptional Extra
Compare all 7 Cover-More Travel Insurance
Visit official website

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.