??!
3 photos
DermaVeen Oatmeal Shampoo

DermaVeen Oatmeal Shampoo

3.5 from 22 reviews · View Statistics

Reviews

  • Value for Money
    3.2 (6)
  • Causes Irritation Yes (1) · No (6)
  • Smell
    3.6 (5)
Previous
Next
Apichart Branjerdporn

Apichart Branjerdporn

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

It contains SLS Sodium Laurel Sulphate

published

My first time using Dermaveen shampoo and conditioner. Because it contains SLS which causes headaches, redness and itching I would never use it again. German studies of 2000 people 42% had adverse reactions. I have sensitive skin. But this product caused itchy scalp which I do not want. Do not use this product use a more natural one with no dangerous contents.

Purchased in September 2020 at Chemist Direct for $24.00.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Mixed opinion

published

I am using this product both shampoo and conditioner because I seem to have an allergic response to many toiletries. The product is lovely to apply, albeit another review also commented on the difficulty of squeezing the conditioner out of the bottle. Unfortunately, every time I wash my hair with this product I sneeze and sneeze, so I'm really wondering what they've put in it that causes such a reaction.

Purchased in June 2020 at Woolworths.

Value for Money
Smell
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
katespetruvia

katespetruviaSydney

  • 27 reviews

Best shampoo for dry scalp

published

Anything that has oatmeal is an absolute best friend of my body. This shampoo is not an exception. The shampoo is so smooth and after 2-3 uses, I think i'll have to ditch my conditioner!

Purchased in May 2020.

Value for Money
Smell
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Shampoos & Conditioners

Find out how DermaVeen Oatmeal Shampoo compares to other Shampoos & Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Amy

AmySydney, NSW

  • 3 reviews

Great product

published

I have itchy sculp n dry hair. After the first time use, my hair is so smooth even without using conditioner, I thought maybe it was because the way I blow dry my hair, I gave it another go, it still gave amazing result. Best shampoo ever. Love this product. Will continue purchase.

Purchased in March 2020.

Value for Money
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Fay

FayGippsland, VIC

  • 3 reviews

Relief

published

I had become allergic to the shampoo I had been using for 2 years, think they changed the formula, nearly scratched myself to death. Pharmacy worker recommended this product, three shampoos laterm all my itchy skin was gone, what a relief.

Purchased in April 2020 for $17.49.

Value for Money
Smell
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Angel

AngelVictoria

  • 24 reviews
  • 4 likes

Dries out your hair

published

Purchased in September 2018 at Chemist Warehouse Physical Store.

Value for Money
Smell
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Stevie890

Stevie890

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

My saviour!

published

Great for sensitive, dry & inflamed scalp. Now i'm recovering. Mix it w/ water in a container when washing every other day together w/ same brand of conditioner. My hair loss is becoming lesser so I'm getting my hair thicker back. Thanks so much Dermaveen, hope it would work and help too to others who are feeling helpless to their condition.

Purchased in March 2019.

Smell
Incentivised ReviewNo
See all answers
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Love it

published

I bought this shampoo after noticing dandruff around my hairline, my friends have always told me i get dandruff in my hair too. My scalp is dry but my hair gets oily, and every past shampoo has left my hair stripped of oils and kinda dead looking.
Anyway i bought this shampoo because my scalp was itchy and it was a little expensive in my eyes but it works amazingly! My hair is shiny and i have less fly-aways. It just looks really nice so im happy after first try :)

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Emily Yap

Emily YapAdelaide

  • 2 reviews
  • 1 like

Great for daily wash!

published

It seemed that I have not been getting the right hair shampoo here until I came across this oatmeal range from Dermaveen! Although it doesn't smell as good as other hair shampoo, It's perfect for daily wash as it's gentle to scalp. My scalp was initially too dry and flaky but this shampoo has completely changed my hair condition after I started using it! Unlike other hair shampoo which could be too harsh on scalp, this shampoo soothes and nourishes the scalp! Love this product and I don't think I'll be switching to other hair shampoo!

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Shampoos & Conditioners

Find out how DermaVeen Oatmeal Shampoo compares to other Shampoos & Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all
Kat t

Kat tHunter Region, NSW

  • 2 reviews

Loved this product

published

I have been using dermaveen for my hair for a few years; stopped dry itchy he / so good! But lately it is just not helping anymore; if he formula has changed, why?

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
caveat_emptor

caveat_emptorAU

  • 33 reviews
  • 50 likes

Doesn't work for me

published

I had used Neutrogena T/Gel for many years with excellent results but I switched to DermaVeen to save money. Two weeks later and my itchy, flaky scalp has returned with a vengeance, so I have no choice but to return to Neutrogena. Very disappointed with DermaVeen.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

New formula doesn't work for me!

published

I have been using the shampoo for 20 years very successfully for dry and itchy scalp. Recently I have had dry and itchy scalp and have now noticed that there is a new improved formula. I notice of another reviewer has had the same problem. When I ring the one 800 number on the back of the bottle it tells me that that number is not available from my mobile phone. I would really like to talk to someone about this. On a more positive note I also notice that the words oatmeal shampoo are now bigger on the bottle which is really good for we people who can't see without glasses or contact lenses in the shower .

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
mj88

mj88Western Australia

  • 9 reviews
  • 1 like

My new favourite

published

I bought this Shampoo at my local pharmacy after everyday shampoos had been leaving my scalp irritated and very itchy. I'd previously used Selsun Blue to help with a sudden dandruff issue I had but found it quite chemical smelling and it left my hair looking fried. This shampoo is my new favourite, I don't think I'll switch to anything else for a long time. It smells lovely, washes my hair well and leaves it feeling silky and smooth. It also completely calmed down my irritated scalp after two washes which is exactly what I was after. I'd always prefer a more 'natural' approach to scalp care so this works really well for me.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Why have they changed the formula?

published

Have been using this product for a number of years and it was the only one I found that works for my sensitive scalp and skin. Started a new bottle last week that had a 'new improved formula' sticker on it. Now getting stinging and itchiness when I use plus hair feels like it has been stripped. Very disappointed.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mags

Mags

  • 2 reviews

no improvement

published

I have been using both Dermaveen Shampoo and Conditioner for psoriasis/eczema for a month. Not only is it not relieving my condition, I suspect it is slightly worse.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Shampoos & Conditioners

Find out how DermaVeen Oatmeal Shampoo compares to other Shampoos & Conditioners

Know better, choose better.

Compare all

Love this product

published

Was recommended this shampoo after suffering continuous itching patches on my scalp. I always previously used expensive salon shampoos & conditioners. Dermaveen makes my hair soft & shiny. The smell is a bit dull so I spray a small amount of perfume when hair is damp and it smells divine. Another thing I do is add a small amount of essential oils to conditioner like patchouli, sandal wood etc. I notice some reviewers have mentioned it's expensive. I always buy on sale at different shops.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!

Gentle, great for eczema and dandruff

published

Normal shampoo dries out my scalp, making my eczema and dandruff manifest more severely. I've found that this shampoo is very soothing, lathers well and does not give me an itch.

The down-side is the smell as I do love a nice fragrant shampoo + conditioner, while this one is very medicinal-smelling. It also makes my hair greasy after only a day or 2 without washing, while I could go for at least 3 days before.

Overall, great if you want a break from harsh chemicals on your sensitive scalp - it really provides relief from eczema and itching. However, not one I would use on a constant basis due to the smell and less effective 'cleansing' factor.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Pixal

Pixal

  • 4 reviews
  • 1 like

Been using for years, still happy.

published

Normal shampoo just irritates and makes my skin flare, been using this about five years, tends to leave my hair a bit limp if I condition also, so this is one shampoo you can use without conditioner even on colour treated hair. I will alternate this shampoo with poo bars etc, but still find they can irritate my scalp, I have never had "burnout" with this shampoo either. Reliable, safe, use it on your baby, play with other shampoos till your head hurts then use for the sweet relief, smells like almond essence. Now available in supermarkets.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Mondayitis

MondayitisGreater Melbourne (Metropolitan), VIC

  • 14 reviews
  • 17 likes

It's ok but not for me

published
Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Bassetluva

BassetluvaPerth

  • 8 reviews
  • 2 likes

So far so good

published

I have only used this shampoo 3 times but the results are promising. I am no longer getting an itchy scalp a day or so after shampooing and my hair is soft and shiny. Remains to be seen whether I am happy long term as numerous shampoos I have tried have not worked after a few weeks. Hence only 4 stars. I'm being cautious.

Similar opinion? Write a review on ProductReview.com.au!
Page 1 of 2
See all DermaVeen Hair Range reviews

Questions & Answers

Sharn

Sharnasked

Oatmeal Shampoo

Does anyone that is salicylate intolerant use the oatmeal shampoo & conditioner?

No answers
Nicky

Nickyasked

Oatmeal Shampoo

Is it safe for newborn baby to use?

No answers
Panda

Pandaasked

Oatmeal Shampoo

Hey all, does anyone know if you can buy it from overseas? Thank you!

1 answer
Pixal
Pixal

I don't know if it is sold overseas but if you want to buy it and get it shipped out chemist warehouse ships overseas and stocks the range.

See all DermaVeen Hair Range questions

Get an answer from our members

DermaVeen Oatmeal Shampoo

Details

Compare both DermaVeen Hair Range
CategoryShampoos & Conditioners
Release dateMay 2007
Compare both DermaVeen Hair Range

Visit official website
  • GTIN14: 09314057007327

ProductReview.com.au has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence our content moderation policies in any way, though ProductReview.com.au may earn commissions for products/services purchased via affiliate links.